Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pheasants with the gape

• 14-09-2013 9:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

Hi All a question for ye I have 2 large Club pens on the go 1 with 120 birds and 1 with 200 birds every couple of weeks (that's 2 lads) I have to dose with medicine as they get the gape ( a coughing problem and can kill ) have any of you dosed with lime the pen or dug up the pen or have any other ideas as to how this can be managed as to the best out come for the Birds, as I am told it can stay in the soil for the next season, Liming the pen has been suggested as I said, any help please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

Yeah, I dug one of my pens one year and limed it after an outbreak of gapes, but since then I always feed the poults with wormer at regular intervals until the start to leave the pen. Haven't had any problems with gapes since that time so hard to say if the digging and lime did any good. I would suggest using the feed with wormer as soon as you get them and then again the following month. If the birds are leaving the pen by the start of september then that will probably do them as when they spread out they are less likely to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

we lime the pens in april and have a medicine mix in with the water supply
    (we use 1 of them cubes with the steel frame.topped up when needed with tap water.)
    not sure of the name of the medicine but can find out if needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

I think it's called Flumanol, but I may have spelt it wrong, and the cage thing your talking about is called an IBC, otherwise known in the chemical industries as an Intermediate Bulk Container. holds 1000Ltrs of liquid, my God just lost it going back to me mad years, anyway thanks very much everyone for the comments and PM's. always the same old names but than it's the same in the Clubs same people doing the work.

Thanks lads and Lassies.:D:D:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

Good luck with it anyway and hopefully it all works out for ya

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    I think it's called Flumanol, but I may have spelt it wrong,

Flubenvet ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

Our pen had gape this year too, first time ever, lost two or three birds by once we had enough wormed they were grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

flubenvet all the way, it's great for everything that's bad for game and poultry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

we use levacide in the drinking water,its a wormer for cattle and sheep and works just fine,gapes is a red worm in the throat,when they multiply they block the breathing tube in turn suffocating the bird,they pick it up by eating slugs and snails that have come in contact with the birds droppings,we limed our pen but to no advantage

dicky82 wrote: »
    flubenvet all the way, it's great for everything that's bad for game and poultry.

Does any 1 know anywhere in the midlands flubenvet can be got. Tried a few places and couldn't get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

You chance mceoins?
    Im sure theyd have it and deliver??

uote="djflawless;86590884"]You chance mceoins?
    Im sure theyd have it and deliver??[/quote]

I didn't see it on the site but will be down wit him in the next day or 2 .ilk chance him and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

Does any 1 know anywhere in the midlands flubenvet can be got. Tried a few places and couldn't get it

Most vets keep it in stock, try ringing around a few local ones. If you have gapes in your pen, you need to move fast. The birds get emaciated very quickly and even if you kill the worms, they may be too far gone to recover (especially now the weather has gone cold and wet).

I tried a few local vets but to no avail. I don't have gapes thank feck but be handy have some in case I.need it

Anyone selling game grower pellets near you? The one I buy has the wormer in it already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Half-cocked

mallards wrote: »
    Anyone selling game grower pellets near you? The one I buy has the wormer in it already.

That's another option but I've discovered that you need to remove all other feed from the pen as the poults will only eat the medicated feed if there's nothing else!

Sound I do buy the pellets which is Medicated already, and bags of non medicated. I was just wondering if anyone had a better option, the birds are on wheat at the moment they we taken off the pellets 3 weeks ago. and I do remove all other food or wire of the feeders in the pen, then dose with Medicated food they grand now, as there in and out of the pen daily, thanks for all the tips lads its time to start filling the feeders outside the pen and the forest's beside us now.;) was explaining the process in work the other day and the co -workers were amazed, I feed the young birds get them to adults release them then shoot them, I told them not to say anything that the Pheasants don't know yet.:D;)

Thanks All.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

i had to order it from the uk. from petdrugsonline

I was talking to a man who knows a lot about grower pellets and the medicated ones and he told me the medicated ones are not as good as a proper oral dose. They cant use the same amount or same ingredients in it due to regulations so thats why I wanna get the flubenvet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Sika98k

At this stage your birds should be off pellets and on wheat a week or 2.
    So if you haven't kept any treated pellets back you have a slight problem.

My solution in previous years is set out as follows.
    Off to your local vet for a bottle of Curazol,a general wormdoser for cattle and sheep. Next Lidl/Aldi for a cheap bottle of cooking oil.
    Clean out a cement mixer.Throw in 2 or 3 sacks of wheat,contents of the bottle of cooking oil and half or 2/3rds of the bottle of Curazol. Churn it around for 5 or 10 minutes.The cooking oil helps the Curazol stick to the wheat.
    Remove all the old feed from your feeders in the pens and chuck in the now treated wheat.
    The remainder of the Curazol mix with a couple of gallons of water and put it in the drinkers.It does not remain in solution so a hot day is a great help as the birds keep on drinking and you keep on topping up the drinkers.Keep on sloshing it around to remain in solution. A bit tedious but it does the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

would parazole be any good for pheasants if mixed in with water you know the one for dogs and cats.

shotie wrote: »
    would parazole be any good for pheasants if mixed in with water you know the one for dogs and cats.

It could be if it is a worm treatment. Your vet would be better qualified to answer that. A bottle of Curazol at 33 Euro wont break the bank.Its a big bottle !

Sika98k wrote: »
    At this stage your birds should be off pellets and on wheat a week or 2.
    So if you haven't kept any treated pellets back you have a slight problem.

My solution in previous years is set out as follows.
    Off to your local vet for a bottle of Curazol,a general wormdoser for cattle and sheep. Next Lidl/Aldi for a cheap bottle of cooking oil.
    Clean out a cement mixer.Throw in 2 or 3 sacks of wheat,contents of the bottle of cooking oil and half or 2/3rds of the bottle of Curazol. Churn it around for 5 or 10 minutes.The cooking oil helps the Curazol stick to the wheat.
    Remove all the old feed from your feeders in the pens and chuck in the now treated wheat.
    The remainder of the Curazol mix with a couple of gallons of water and put it in the drinkers.It does not remain in solution so a hot day is a great help as the birds keep on drinking and you keep on topping up the drinkers.Keep on sloshing it around to remain in solution. A bit tedious but it does the trick.

Would you not put x amount of the Curazol to x amount Ltrs of water how do you know the strength of the mix in the water.

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Would you not put x amount of the Curazol to x amount Ltrs of water how do you know the strength of the mix in the water.

Mix it so that it has a good milky appearance. Its not rocket science and you will not overdose them.There is no risk of their feathers falling out :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭moloney

fenben 10 its a worm dose for cattle also panacur u need the one with 10 percent fenbenazlo in it anything stronger and u will do harm 1 mill per litre of water for five days do it at three week intervals or twice and that will cover it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 WATERFOWLER

Best thing for gape is dose in liquid form and mix with drinking water once every 2 weeks works very well for me.Hope this helps