Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4 or 5 Day Skiing Break Around 17th March

• 14-09-2013 7:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭

A group of us want to go skiing over the holiday weekend (17th March 2014).

Problem: We only want to go for 4 or 5 days max (due to school).

I am struggling to find FLIGHTS to ski resorts for this duration?

Any suggestions for beginner skiers.

The KEY issue here is finding flights - Out Thursday, Back Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭dzer2

Dublin Munich with aer lingus will leave you close to Austria. Otherwise a connecting flight through the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

Dublin to Geneva / Zurich with Swiss via Ebookers tend to be around 200 Euro including bags.

Resorts like Flaine might suit quick transfers and tons of good deals for short stays.

Engelberg in Switzerland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Almadon

If you can get a flight to Salzburg , then Sol (& other resorts) is only an hour away. Ryanair fly Salzburg, or used to anyway. Sol is excellent for ski and craic, and proximity to Salzburg & Munich.:D

Soll has terrible skiing, only being part of the ski welt saves it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 sheva

If flying to Zurich try booking directly through Lufthansa website. For me it worked out cheaper than ebookers for the 2 occasions recently.

When booking through Lufthansa you can choose to fly outbound with Swiss Air and return with Lufthansa, or vice versa. Handy as both will charge a ridiculous amount if you only fly one way only.

The last flight leaves Zurich at about 7.30pm so you can enjoy a half day on the slopes before making your transfer.

Also consider Aer Lingus where the return flight is at about 9.30. Allowing you almost a full final day on the slopes if your resort is close enough to Zurich.

For transfer times and frequency around Switzerland by train use http://www.sbb.ch/en/home.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭dewsbury

Hi I am the original poster.

Can anyone recommend an actual RESORT that is easy (greens/blues) and accessible from Dublin.

I.e. I need more than just Airport suggestions (Yeah, I know I asked for this in the first place!)

Thanks again!

dewsbury wrote: »
    Hi I am the original poster.
    Can anyone recommend an actual RESORT that is easy (greens/blues) and accessible from Dublin.

Anywhere on the Skiwelt, tons of cruisy easy runs there, Westendorrf, Flachau, Soll.

Flaine in France less than an hour from Geneva plenty of skiing for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭dzer2

Ryanair to Memmengen will leave you about 2 hours from skiing in Austria also there are a few spots in Germany you can access from there by train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭fannymagee

Dewsbury it sounds like Soll would be great for you, the only issue is that the snow might not be great by Paddy's day. That said, conditions there were fantastic for Paddy's this year, so hopefully it'll be the same for 2014! Local Seilrenne (roperace) was that weekend too so great craic on the slopes! Flights to Munich for that weekend are really cheap right now, but if you want to book somewhere snow sure for that weekend you'd prob be better to book somewhere higher up. Otherwise just check on here later on in the season if you don't mind last minute booking- lift pass & accomm will be cheaper by then too.

the only issue is that the snow might not be great by Paddy's day

That says an awful lot about Soll!!!! I have never had a concern about snow at that time of the year.

fannymagee: It is probably only fair that you declare your vested commercial interest when reccomneding Soll to people on here. The forum is not an advertising service.

Fattes: Lol!! Since when does loving a place mean I have a vested commercial interest?!

I recommend Soll to people I think it might be appropriate for- it's not a blanket recommendation! And as I've said before, I think it's unfair of you to always follow a post from me with something negative about Soll. It's trolling, I get it, but I think it's silly. You clearly can't stand the place, but the hoardes of people who go back every year beg to differ.

Out of curiosity, what sort of 'vested commercial interest' do you think I have?!

For the record, I would like to make it clear that I have absolutely no commercial interest in promoting Soll as a ski destination, I just love the place. I came on here to pass time while I wait for the season to start, and when people have asked for opinions or advice I have given mine. I'll be in Soll for most of the season, so if anyone wanted any help or advice about the area during that time, I was happy to give it.

You are clearly a veteran of these threads and you have a different opinion to me, does it bother you that much that I have a different perspective?! And as regards advertising on here, I think you're the one doing that, not me.

Now back off and stop newbie-bashing- that's against forum rules too :-)

You are clearly a veteran of these threads and you have a different opinion to me, does it bother you that much that I have a different perspective?! And as regards advertising on here, I think you're the one doing that, not me.

Now back off and stop newbie-bashing- that's against forum rules too :-)

Trolling? You may need to look that up, providing informed opinion supported by facts is not trolling, look above I actually recommended the Ski Welt but its snow record is questionable – (Figures with comparison below)!

Newbie Bashing? You are either very sensitive or new to the internet! Can you show any point in this thread/Forum were I have commented on you personally, Can you show any point where I have been aggressive or anything other than courteous to you? I have questioned Soll’s snow record and the quality of skiing available with a 1km bus ride to the hill from the village nothing else . Its called providing balance. Nothign more or less

You have stated in another thread that you are out there all season? So can assume you ski bum the season?, and don’t work there, if that is the case I withdraw the commercial interest.

As for my commercial interest U]none[/U] my ski instruction work in Ireland is all voluntary I make no income from it, any advice I give on equipment contains the caveat I work for a major snow sports manufacturer but there are tons of examples where I have recommended kit that is not produced by them – See boot fitting/goggles/helmet threads as an example.

You stated the snow was poor mid-March which is inaccurate; Solls best snow is actually from the last week in Feb to the end of March, as is the case with most European resorts. Soll breacks the 100cm mark normally at the end of Feb and increases untill 2/3 week in March. If you relax and take the posts for what they are information nothing personal, you might enjoy it around here a little more.

The figures below cover the highest recorded snow depth for the last week in Feb to the End of March in CM on a year average from 1999-2012, (SnowForcast.com/Weathertoski./SkiclubUK) most are comparable to Soll in elevation and aspect except Obergurgal which is totally different but there as an example of how deep snow depths can be in a top class resort. Stats are compiled through a Macro from (SnowForcast.com/Weathertoski./SkiclubUK)

Soll
    130 123 115 108
    Mayrhofen
    133 130 129 122
    St Gervais
    162 159 158 148
    Obergurgal
    175 177 173 173

[QUOTE= fannymagee: It is probably only fair that you declare your vested commercial interest when reccomneding Soll to people on here. The forum is not an advertising service.[/QUOTE]

This is what I am referring to- you have directly accused me of having a "vested commercial interest" which I don't, and I have no idea what you based that accusation on. Nor am I a "ski bum". Believe it or not there is life in Soll outside of the ski slopes.

And I get it, you can copy and paste snow records. Well done.

Now, again, stop trolling my posts :-)

No this is not Trolling to any extent no matter how often your say it, its normally called adult informed discussion supported by evidence if you are not mature enough to support your point or except and debate any rebuttal you really are in the wrong place on an internet message board.

If you work or are employed in a business in Soll any increase in tourist numbers is probably in your interest as tourism is its primary economic driver. But as above I am happy to withdraw it if you think I am wrong and well it is a ski forum so the assumption is reasonable.

Its slightly more than a cut and paste it’s a compilation of the 3 primary snow reporting websites in Europe run through a simple Macro to work out an average from all three rather than relying on one or the other, and it evidences that your statement in relation to skiing in Soll on the 17th of March is somewhat inaccurate.

Fattes, thank you for withdrawing that accusation. Maybe we can put our handbags down now ;-)

I wasn't offering a comparison to any other resort re: snowfall, I was just saying that if the OP was going to be on low blues & greens, they would not be guaranteed the best conditions for Paddy's Day. That said, I agree with you, conditions are generally still good at that time- there was good skiing well into April this year.

From what I can tell, you know a little about a lot of places. I know a lot about a little place. Like you, I can help people out if they need an opinion or advice, but it will generally be related to Soll.(Unless it's related to telemarking, in which case I might venture a little further afield).

So there you are, full disclosure. Soll is where I know best, and I love it. That's my only vested interest ;-)

you know a little about a lot of places.

I know a lot about a lot of places, I work an awful lot in the snow sports industry, I regularly ride with some of the top mountain sports pro's out there across, racing, big mountain and freestyle and am lucky I have skied on 3continents & get to about 20 resorts a year.

So I have a pretty valid comparison for most resorts out there.

Fair enough, as I said I don't ever claim to compare resorts, I stick to the one I know- and I don't stand to make any profit from it.

I just want everyone to have a chilled out, fun holiday- if that's what they're looking for. Not everyone wants to spend their week dodging crevasses ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,233 ✭✭✭joeguevara

I would recommend fly to Salzburg (Can go by Ryanair) and go to Obertauern. Good for beginners and intermediates with a few black ski runs as well. Decent ski schools. Nice village with good few bars for après ski. Been 2 years since I was there but I liked it.

fannymagee wrote: »
    Fair enough, as I said I don't ever claim to compare resorts, I stick to the one I know- and I don't stand to make any profit from it.

I just want everyone to have a chilled out, fun holiday- if that's what they're looking for. Not everyone wants to spend their week dodging crevasses ;)

Emm not one resort I have recommended on this thread has a glacier or fear of crevasses. Most are beginner to intermediate focused resorts.with excellent services & access without a 1km bus ride to the slopes The problem with only knowing one resort is there is no perspective or comparison.

The Majority of injuries that occur while skiing in resorts occur in densely populated home runs, the majority of ski related knee injuries are slow backward falls in soft snow! Now knowing Soll as well as you do those variable soft snow and busy home runs should sound familiar surely!

Oh lord, I never said you did! If I want to recommend a particular resort based on what someone says they're looking for, well then that's what I do- no comparisons to other resorts. So shoot me :-)

PS thanks for the lesson in soft snow ski injuries, that was super helpful ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭teacherhead

You could fly to Oslo and try the resorts near lillehammer. I was there for Paddys weekend a few years ago it was grand, plenty of snow.

Drinking would break you though very expensive, but worth a look!

teacherhead, Skiing the Fjords from a boat is close to the top of my bucket list! Nice suggestion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭teacherhead

Hafjell is the closest resort to lillehammer as far as I know plenty of skiing there for 2 or 3 days imo, nice Olympic downhill run too. It's about 15 min from lillehammer itself. The town is well served by trains from Oslo.

Yes Norway ticks a lot of boxes in terms of great skiing, lots of snow based activities and picture perfect resorts- it's all so different!! Be prepared to eat reindeer for every meal though lol! What teacherhead said is very true though, do NOT go to Norway on a piss-up, it will break you- you can expect to pay up to €18 for a pint of beer! The lift passes are very reasonable though, and the skiing is amazing. If you love your skiing more than your beer & cash isn't an issue, go for it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

We usually head to Slovakia (Jasna chopok) book our flight in Jan (Bratislava) so it works out around 100 lids return and we stay in a 4 star hotel about 10/15 mins away from the slopes for 20 quid a night for a room between 6

Beers are about a euro and if you head in to Jasna you can get a big slap up meal with all the trimmings for less then a tenner! That's there prime snow season too! I love it over there! They just installed a new lift for this season too, I'm heading over for two weeks at xmas which could go either way as i haven't seen much on the long range snow reports and the Low Tatras top at just over 2000m but fingers crossed! it's just too cheap not to give it a try!

SpaceCowb0y You know much about Kranjska Gora? Might need to pick your brain please if you do.

THanks

Hi Fattes

Can't say i know anything about Kranjska to be honest as I've never been! The only reason i found out about Slovakia is because a friend of mine moved over to Prague a few years back and started heading over to Slovakia where his missus is from as they can drive there in a few hours! Great find though and highly recommend it for anyone looking for a good trip on a budget! we got 2 weeks accommo for €350 which is feck all really! 20 euro for the train from Brat to Liptov and you're right there basically!

I would have to imagine Kranjska would have decent snow though just based on its location (yes i Google mapped it :p) between Austria and Italy. you heading there soon?

Have an invite to some FIS races out there, in December & seriously thinking about it? Appreciate the advice.

Ah nice! I'd be all over it so, always like trying new places out! And if the FIS are holding an event there i'd imagine the area and conditions will be sweet!

SpaceCowb0y ha ha ha Never dealt with FIS have you :D:D:D:D

Races are actually organised & held by local clubs, including World cup races. I have only heard good things about the resort & would love to go, just getting there might be a bit to much hassle for a weekend race unfortunatley.

Haha no i can't say i have... what with my prejudice against skiers to begin with :p i would have nothing to do with one of your events!!!

Although i do have to give some credit to ski racers as their speed terrifies me!

I have no idea how you would get there but i use skyscanner.ie for all my flights and it's usually great for getting cheap flights if your willing to jump on a train say after the flight to get you to your destination!