Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Somewhat of a low ebb....

• 12-09-2013 1:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭

Jaysus... finished up my (first) racing season last weekend in Charleville, I'm kind of on a downer since what with not heading out every evening to do specific stuff on the bike. Have a few Sportives pencilled in to wind down but I find myself planning the winters training and next years targets already like 3 days later ffs...last night I even washed some overshoes and flourescent jackets!!

Such a consuming sport....I never imagined it would be like this!!!!

Isn't it great though?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

ericzeking wrote: »
    Jaysus... finished up my (first) racing season last weekend in Charleville, I'm kind of on a downer since what with not heading out every evening to do specific stuff on the bike. Have a few Sportives pencilled in to wind down but I find myself planning the winters training and next years targets already like 3 days later ffs...last night I even washed some overshoes and flourescent jackets!!

Isn't it great though?!!

Have kids, that'll sort you out. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Anything that requires a lot of commitment is like that when it ends.

Hence why post-dissertation blues is a real thing and top athletes often struggle emotionally after they retire.

It's just like a break up, something filled a large part of your life and now it's gone.

Time for you to get a CX bike methinks ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

Do 40 or more races next year then.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Hence why post-dissertation blues is a real thing....

Think I've been hit with this...absolutely flat out with writing up and racing/training until last week and now nothing...

Been feeling crappy ever since, really crappy, don't even have the motivation to go out for a coffee spin right now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Brendan Hennessy

Lads,

Vintage bikes got me out of a rut too - engages the mind, gives an alternative 'to do' on rainy days, involves a bit of trading and you can really look forward to the sunshine on them. A bit like taking a vintage car out on a Sunday spin but with minimal expense.

Just a thought to overcome your blues,

Brendan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭LennoxR

ericzeking wrote: »

Isn't it great though?!!

I know this feeling and I'm just a sportive rider. Whenever I train for a big event and then do it, I do tend to get a bit of a downer afterwards. Like after I did the Sean Kelly a few weeks ago, which I intended to be my last big one of the year.

Plus I just finished writing something up so that's gone too now! But just shake yourself out of it and plan new things! (On and off the bike)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

My heart goes out to yiz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

daragh_ wrote: »
    My heart goes out to yiz.

We're just looking for a shoulder to cry on :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

colm_gti wrote: »
    We're just looking for a shoulder to cry on :pac:

Stay away from the shoulder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭bogmanfan

Try a spot of mountain biking, or even BMX just to mix it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Briando

Same thing here too, a little lost as to what to do now.

But I love the turbo trainer for some reason and looking forward to getting it out again and re-subscribing to trainer road, find my sufferfest DVD. Gonna beast it this winter... BEAST IT!!!111eleven

Isnt there some boardie spin on soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

Nobody seems to be recommending REST,If your after riding a full season you need to get away from the bike for a while,i raced from march to mid august i was sick of it at that stage,take about 3 weeks off only riding the bike when you want to with no structure to it drink a drop of wine or what ever your poison is and have a catch with non cycling buddies,review your last years goals and think about where you want to be next year and pretty soon you will be mad for road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

These feelings everyone mentioned are exactly what it felt like when I lost my job. Two years later gave me some hindsight. I tried putting those Benefits Spins together but ultimately there were too few taking part.

My experience is to stay organised and plan your days. Even if its watching the vuelta, decide to maybe ride the turbo while watching it. But above all else... Leave the house for awhile each day. Do something in town or walk around the house or something. You'll find you've not left in three days if you're not aware if it.