Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Betst time of the year?

• 12-09-2013 11:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭

Lads i reckon this is the mildest time of the year in relation to workload, doing jobs like fencing and building where i couldnt get the opportunity earlier in the year. Also with the dark nights a few scoops in the local will be obtained:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Going forward...

Quiet time on the farm. Hedgecutting and dung to do. Some more silage to pick up later on too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

yeah, once the silage and bales are in its a quite few weeks. going to get the slats empited soon then once the 1st lot of calves get weaned its back to the busy time of the year.

depends on what type of farming your doing, milking cows will be the same for much of the year just depends on what else needs to be done. tillage lads would be be quite now expect for some late cuts an some winter cerals before gettign ready for the maize and beet season.

friend of mine is in tillage no beet anymore just cerals and his quite time is november to jan and in early summer. this is usually time of the year he'll take a break, used to feck off for about 2 months every year, usually go to oz or nZ for a bit of harvest work and then take a month some where else be back home in time for ploughing in january. once everything was cut baled and sown in october he would get all his gear into the shed do any repairs and there they would stay till next year. sowing season in spring would be mental as would july august and sept. may and june would usually be handy enough mostly spraying and small bit of hay contracting.

another friend of mine is a contractor and for him the quite time is just coming up to christmas. once the slurry season is closed he is quite. but once january rolls around it all starts again, slurry, ploughing, sowing then into silage season and the harvest, baling and more slurry, maize and winter sowing. like he says by the end of the year he is just burned out. books two weeks in the sun and does nothing for a bit. when he gets back home he says its into the office and closing off the paperwork and following up on the bills for year end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Autumn calving, so back in the thick of it again now :( once the 1st cut is done, and bull out with the cows things quieten off for most the summer here though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

This is my quiet time as well. I've had time to sort out a dry stone wall that's been annoying me for ages! Only other thing on the horizon is a heifer is due to calf next week - hope that works better than the last one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

very busy at the moment for some reason or another, going around like a blue arse fly. getting animals organized for winter, reseeding, feeding animals at grass, and short days. getting used to be back working under lights again. got a pair of xenons on the tractor for this winter which are the business for long dark hours work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

very busy at the moment for some reason or another, going around like a blue arse fly. getting animals organized for winter, reseeding, feeding animals at grass, and short days. getting used to be back working under lights again. got a pair of xenons on the tractor for this winter which are the business for long dark hours work

Boy racer Bob now :D:D

For me, it is probably the spring sowing season or the harvest.

I'm afraid silage doesn't do it for me.

From now on is relatively quiet though so that is holidays finished and back to concentrating on the day job for 5 days a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭capslock88

Nothing nicer than the long mild hazy evenings around the mid-end of june...cows all have bellies full, thrown off happy out...plenty grass...winter far away (hopefully!)...silage made....around ten in the evening you'd nearly be tempted to sleep outside with them!...i always think those evenings are as good as it gets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭hedgecutting eddie

Its my silly season 12hr days cutting hedges , hopefully weather stays like this for few months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Its my silly season 12hr days cutting hedges , hopefully weather stays like this for few months

Have you a coco contract or is it all tillage farmers? When did the season open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭hedgecutting eddie

Muckit wrote: »
    Have you a coco contract or is it all tillage farmers? When did the season open?

No all farmers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

KatyMac wrote: »
    This is my quiet time as well. I've had time to sort out a dry stone wall that's been annoying me for ages! Only other thing on the horizon is a heifer is due to calf next week - hope that works better than the last one!

fair play to ya for sticking to the drystone wall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I'm not a fan of this time of year to be honest. Hate to see the evenings getting shorter and the slide into winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

We used to give a neighbour a hand to cut silage around early July. When the silage was done his wife would arrive up in the pick up with the barbecue on the back and she would cook up a storm in the field. Ya wouldn't want to leave the place at all and nearly curl up on the stacked bales afterwards for a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

She must have been a far out relation of whelan1s!! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

This is my favourite time. All done on farm save a few autumn calvers.

Rugby season back. Took my youngest for his first time today. He had been watching his brothers for the last few years, took to it like Bob in a bordello

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Muckit wrote: »
    She must have been a far out relation of whelan1s!! :P
    ah shtop it would be a terrible climb back into the tractor after the feed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

my my my wrote: »
    fair play to ya for sticking to the drystone wall

Would you believe I did a drystone walling course about 10 years ago?? One of the maddest weekends I've ever spent - I wasn't able to stand straight for ages after. I like doing jigsaw puzzles so walling seems to suit my mindset!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Lambing time for me, weather turning, longer days, all the potential of the year to be realised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

January for me. Calm before calving kicks off in feb. Usually finished up in job for few weeks then too so gives chance to prepare for New Year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭sheebadog

Two times: first would be the end of November, first frosts, bright moon, waiting patiently for Woodcock to come in.
    Second would be Feb. or March when days start to lengthen and spring starts to creep in.