Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you need to be able to swim to join the guards

• 11-09-2013 11:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 31

Does anyone know if you have to be able to swim to join the guards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

In previous recruitment campaigns it was not a requirement. However, it has been recommended that this be changed for the upcoming recruitment drive and that everyone should have a swimming certificate.

So nobody can give you a definite answer, it could go either way. Swimming is a great life skill to learn regardless though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Garda97

In previous recruitment campaigns it was not a requirement. However, it has been recommended that this be changed for the upcoming recruitment drive and that everyone should have a swimming certificate.

So nobody can give you a definite answer, it could go either way. Swimming is a great life skill to learn regardless though.

How do you get a swimming certificate?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Garda97 wrote: »
    How do you get a swimming certificate?

Send on €100 and I'll post one back to you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

You need to be able to tread water for 10 minutes, and you also need your 25 meter badge and 50 meter badge.

Send on €100 and I'll post one back to you.

Awh aye :L

You need to be able to tread water for 10 minutes, and you also need your 25 meter badge and 50 meter badge.

I cant swim, is it hard to get those things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Section_4

I cant swim, is it hard to get those things?

If you can't swim you will find it hard to achieve a sufficent standard to warrant receipt of any swimming certificate.

If you are serious about a career in AGS now would appear to be the time to learn how to swim so that you can meet any swimming standards that AGS decide to implement in the upcoming recruitment campaign.

Section_4 wrote: »
    If you can't swim you will find it hard to achieve a sufficent standard to warrant receipt of any swimming certificate.

If you are serious about a career in AGS now would appear to be the time to learn how to swim so that you can meet any swimming standards that AGS decide to implement in the upcoming recruitment campaign.

What is the AGS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Personally I think if swimming is introduced as a requirement its a bit ridiculous!!

A gards job isnt to go hopping into rivers surely thats the duty of the lifeboat coast gaurd civil defence?

Fair enough introduce the driving and first aid,

My opinion myself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

So the guard is supposed to stand on the riverbank twiddling his thumbs while someone drowns? He'd look a right plank.

Swimming is hardly onerous, of course it should be required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

rovoagho wrote: »
    So the guard is supposed to stand on the riverbank twiddling his thumbs while someone drowns? He'd look a right plank.

Swimming is hardly onerous, of course it should be required.

Yup

Gardai are not trained or mandated to perform water or river rescue

i even think they cam be disciplined as it a breach of H&S

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

What is the AGS

An Garda Síochána.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 jpmduffy

There's no requirement to swim to join the Guards. You will be thought when you start training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭annlewis

If the new requirements are introduced we'll surely need to be able to swim. It was one of the recommendations for new applicants. So it could be introduced to this drive shortly.

It isn't being introduced for new applicants, they've scrapped that idea.

jpmduffy wrote: »
    It isn't being introduced for new applicants, they've scrapped that idea.
    Oh have they ? And are the other recommended requirements gone too do you know ?

Yes the other recommendations are gone also. Pass leaving cert with Irish, English and Maths is the only requirement.

Just wondering how you know this ?
    So it's all the same as the other drives ?
    I thought they would introduce these to eliminate people straight away

I work in training. Yes the entry requirements will be the same as previous, but with huge demand for very few places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭dunner515

I work in training. Yes the entry requirements will be the same as previous, but with huge demand for very few places.

Can you provide a link mentioning that the recommended requirements have been scraped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

WilcoOut wrote: »
    Yup

MY wifes nephew is a guard , he jumped into a river and pulled a women out whiles on duty,wasn't disciplined, i think i still have the clip in the paper,was treaty like a hero and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    MY wifes nephew is a guard , he jumped into a river and pulled a women out whiles on duty,wasn't disciplined, i think i still have the clip in the paper,was treaty like a hero and rightly so.

plenty of em do it and fair play to them - they should get their commendation

but i said that they CAN be disciplined, not that they will!!

Wouldn't be too quick to believe this poster folks. Anyone can set up a brand new account and claim whatever they like online.

PSNI have just introduced an IT qualification for their new recruitment campaign which has caught a lot of people off guard.

If AGS is really what you want get the recommended requirements squared away just to be on the safe side.

I for one wont be believing anything until I see it in an official capacity,

that goes for even the actual recruitment opening itself,

Wouldn't be too quick to believe this poster folks. Anyone can set up a brand new account and claim whatever they like online.

PSNI have just introduced an IT qualification for their new recruitment campaign which has caught a lot of people off guard.

If AGS is really what you want get the recommended requirements squared away just to be on the safe side.

What class of an IT qualification?

Saw that in the PSNI Recruitment thread. It looks like it threw alot of people off as they weren't expecting it.
    I think they said an ecdl would do the trick or equivalent, I am open for correction there. I haven't read all the posts. Just looked around earlier.
    Perfect opportunity for the guards to introduce the recommended requirements such as swimming or the ecdl, or any of the others.....
    Better get going on them !!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Minimal educational requirements but in reality applying with a pass leaving won't get you too far

What class of an IT qualification?

From the join PSNI website:
    Applicants are required to have a recognised IT qualification. Recognised IT qualifications include European Computer Driving License (ECDL), Essential Skills ICT, CLAIT or a Higher Level qualification in an IT related discipline.

Applicants will be asked to provide original and photocopies of IT qualification certificates at Assessment Centre.

No sign of JPM Duffy since?

possible troll id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Yup

Yes, because that's what important, not breaching H&S even though a persons life is at risk. If your annual report is more important than a persons life, then I don't think uniformed service is for you.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1324586/Drowning-mans-pleas-firemen-refused-to-aid.html

Please don't tell me you are a Garda, WilcoOut.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

More'n my jobsworth ma'am. It's like teachers that complain about kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭rasper

Gardaj are called first emergencies can be first on scene , not being able to swim or being scared of heights is a bit pointless

Does anyone know if you have to be able to swim to join the guards?

This was the original question.... you didn't have to be able to swim before but we still don't know if it will be a new requirement for the new campaign. Swimming was taught in the college previously. There was a poster a few posts back that said the new requirements will not be introduced...we will all find out in a few weeks I suppose.

annlewis wrote: »
    This was the original question.... you didn't have to be able to swim before but we still don't know if it will be a new requirement for the new campaign. Swimming was taught in the college previously. There was a poster a few posts back that said the new requirements will not be introduced...we will all find out in a few weeks I suppose.
    I hope they don't put that requirement in :/

Or any of them :(

Do you know any good degrees to do in college for the guards?

Prior to applying you mean ? Any degree would help..it gives you insight to college, studying and you'll have gained alot of experience through it. I'm not being funny now or anything but you could have all sorts of college degrees coming out your ears and not be successfull at stage one..the aptitude test and thats the end of the road for your application.
    You could have no college education behind you and do brilliant at the aptitude test and be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 killy91

Prior to applying you mean ? Any degree would help..it gives you insight to college, studying and you'll have gained alot of experience through it. I'm not being funny now or anything but you could have all sorts of college degrees coming out your ears and not be successfull at stage one..the aptitude test and thats the end of the road for your application.
    You could have no college education behind you and do brilliant at the aptitude test and be fine.

Here's hoping. I'm half way through mine but I've always wanted to be a Garda, was too young the last time recruitment was on. Also would anybody know what elements is the appititude test based on? e.g. numeric ability, etc?

How old is too old for the Guards?
    And do they still turn their noses up if you have a criminal record?
    (only joking about criminal record).

SCOOP 64 wrote: »
    How old is too old for the Guards?
    And do they still turn their noses up if you have a criminal record?
    (only joking about criminal record).

The upper age limit is 35.

Yes.

Thats me out!
    (not the criminal record bit)

What would be better degree to do business, law, social or computers? And please don't just answer by saying any degree or you just have to be able to talk to people. There's going to have to be a cut off point when they start recruiting because so many are going to apply for it so people with degrees are going to have a higher qualification than people with the leaving cert! So if anyone could tell me which degree would be better, thanks

There is no one type or area of study that will better equip you to be a Garda over another. There are certain bodies of knowledge that may prove to be more useful during a career in AGS (ie a law degree would trump a degree in ceramics). The holder of a higher level degree in any topic will be equally well received by AGS.

Choose a college course that you feel drawn towards in a field that offers real career prospects. Ideally your college course will provide you with good education and broad exposure to industry so you have an alternative career path should your ambitions to join the Gardaí fail.

Remember a degree does not make someone an expert in their particular field rather it allows them to demonstrate they have a depth of rounded knowledge in their field of study.

With regards to educational requirements the cut off has been and will remain at leaving certificate or equivalent level. The wheat will be separated from the chaff through numerous aptitude tests prior to multiple interviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scouser

discus wrote: »
    Yes, because that's what important, not breaching H&S even though a persons life is at risk. If your annual report is more important than a persons life, then I don't think uniformed service is for you.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1324586/Drowning-mans-pleas-firemen-refused-to-aid.html

Please don't tell me you are a Garda, WilcoOut.

I dont think its fair to jump on this poster like that

all he did was state a fact

AGS is not the water rescue service - this is correct

Gardai face many and multiple risks. a persons life that is in danger will always supersede H&S but always remember the golden rule 'do not risk your own safety'. thats paramount

that story from the daily mail is tragic. but what if the untrained men attempted a rescue and perished? instead of 1 drowned man we then had 2 or 3?

same as the gardai - they are not equipped or trained to perform water rescue and they put themselves at risk undertaking these actions. if they pull it off, great! if they dont, we have a double tragedy

If i saw a person in difficulty i would help, as im sure wilcoout would too, but if we perish, we only have ourselves to blame as we are not trained to deal with this type of emergency

I was pointing out the role of the Gardai as law enforcers and keepers of the peace

the daily mail story is tragic but i feel it highlights the exact point I was making about untrained, illequipped people taking a risk

My point about AGS is the same as asking an ambulance crew to respond to an armed robbery or expecting a soldier to tackle and chemical plant fire - they are not equipped or trained to undertake such tasks

what I do when I am in uniform is the same every shift - my best