Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What makes you happy

• 10-09-2013 9:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭

Survey in the paper today we are the 18 happiest nation in the world, what makes you happy, for me its going back down to the home place and going out for a few scoops with the brother and father and talking farming and football with them and the mother given out to us for keeping the ould lad out all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

I'll be happy when herself knows how to make me happy.
    other than that cattle thriving, and progression in what whatever im at whether that be farming or the real job. I also get a great kick out of the auld man enjoying changes round the place.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

popa smurf wrote: »
    Survey in the paper today we are the 18 happiest nation in the world, what makes you happy, for me its going back down to the home place and going out for a few scoops with the brother and father and talking farming and football with them and the mother given out to us for keeping the ould lad out all night.

>3 ton /ac spring barley put a smile on my face recently.;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Good Weather, always puts a pep in my step!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

when you dont have to covet your neighbours tillage fields any longer
    bs09.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

great feeling heading to airport when going on holidays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Well did you buy or lease? :-) more power to you

Muckit wrote: »
    bit of expansion with a digger i love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Is happiness attainable? Maybe contentment for a few short minutes when the sun is shining, cattle are all out grazing and all of yours are alright.

MfMan wrote: »
    Is happiness attainable? Maybe contentment for a few short minutes when the sun is shining, cattle are all out grazing and all of yours are alright.
    Cheer up man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

What do you regret?
    What makes you happy?
    Ye're all getting very soppy tonight :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

Muckit wrote: »

lease on this holding;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

stanflt wrote: »
    lease on this holding;)

fair play stanflt, on the milking block is it? many acres?

leased 45 acres beside me too last week for 10 yr from 1st jan 14, in tillage at the moment but i reseeding that and farmer fencing and watering it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

case 956 wrote: »
    fair play stanflt, on the milking block is it? many acres?

leased 45 acres beside me too last week for 10 yr from 1st jan 14, in tillage at the moment but i reseeding that and farmer fencing and watering it

How much does it cost to lease land and do you pay annually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

A weed free field of young sugar beet on a damp growthy evening. You can see the little buggars growing. Sad I know. otherwise, get lucky :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

200 euro a acre annually but cant go up more than 5% annually that the deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

what about rent falling? how binding is your contract when say after 5 years and the landlord is looking for 250 ac and you dont want to pay it as similar land locally can be gotten for 170?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

a clear tb test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Seeing the young fella tearing through tackles like theywere nt even there last saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Is that the going rate around your parts or did
    convienience etc make paying that bit extra worthwhile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

When the last crate of roosters is dug and the god awful harvester is put away for another year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Baling a good crop of grass and not a sign of a cloud or any unusual noise from the baler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

stanflt wrote: »
    when you dont have to covet your neighbours tillage fields any longer
    bs09.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Stan I know it's negative here at times but setting your farm is a bit extreme.

Herd of xbreds would cheer you up!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭popa smurf

Thanks for ye feed back, Interesting stuff if you are into what makes people tick Myself personally have in the last 5 years lost 75% of my income, I am a self employed landscaper but herself has picked up the slack and i am spending a lot more time doing family stuff than i did when i was working 70 hour weeks and i am a lot happier for it.