Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rude Bus Éireann Driver

• 09-09-2013 11:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭

This is an old thread but it looks like nothing changes in seven years at Bus Éireann.

I took a four hour journey on a provincial express from Dublin today after a long bus and plane trip that started early in the morning. The express bus departed about three minutes late from Bus Aras and was then further delayed by other factors, including a long detour due to road works. Scheduled arrival time at Monaghan Bus Station was 19:40 hrs. with departure time of 18:55 hrs. according to the Bus Éireann timetable. The actual time of arrival at the station was 18:53 hrs. There was no announcement about the length of the stop-over but the driver did say to a couple of people who were going out the door that it would be 10 minutes. A gentleman who was alighting from the bus mentioned something about 15 minutes and was told by the driver that he could take fifteen minutes if he liked but that she would not be there when he came back. Approximately five minutes after the bus stopped and as people were buying food in the Bus Éireann shop, an announcement was made over the public address system that the bus was now leaving. Both my travelling companion and I had just purchased coffee but had no time to drink it. We rushed outside and I decided to make the best of a bad situation by taking my coffee on board, only to be told that no hot drinks were allowed on the bus. The vehicle was not exactly in the luxury travel bracket and certainly not as lavish as the Aer Lingus plane that we had drank coffee on earlier in the day so this rule was difficult to understand. The bus departed from Monaghan Station at approximately 19:03 hrs. and arrived at the final destination at 20:47 hrs. just two minutes late.

The driver must be commended for getting her passengers to their destination safely and almost on time. Some of the reasons for the delay in arriving late in Monaghan, such as the road works, were beyond her control and others were not. However, in trying to make up for lost time her treatment of the paying customers in Monaghan was totally unacceptable in that the time gained was at the expense of her passengers. It would have been better to take a fifteen minute break in Monaghan during the four hour journey and to arrive late at the final destination and also to be a bit more courteous to her customers. Driving a bus on a long journey is obviously a stressful job but that does not excuse the abrupt attitude of the lady in question. She did seem to be in a better mood towards the end of the journey but by then she had already blotted her copybook.

I am just relating my experience and don’t particularly care what happens after that but it would be nice to have some sort of apology from Bus Éireann. It makes no difference to me as any future bus journeys to or from Dublin will be with John McGinley Coaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭horseburger

I'm wondering, perhaps that the driver needed to be in Letterkenny as soon as possible, for the bus to be used for another service bus route?

I don't know, but it might explain why, after arriving late in Monaghan, why the driver didn't stop for a full 15 minutes.

I just saw on the Bus Éireann website, that there is a bus number 491 service from Letterkenny to Ballybofey at 9.05pm and wonder, is it possible that your bus, due at 8.45pm, would be used for that service?

On the route 491 timetable, these buses leave for Ballybofey 20 minutes after the number 32 buses are due in Letterkenny, so I wonder is the same bus used.

There are numerous buses from Letterkenny to Ballybofey during the day until 9.05pm, so I wonder are the number 32 buses that arrive in Letterkenny used for this service to Ballybofey. If so, it would explain the need to arrive there in time.

For example there is a 491 service to Ballybofey at 7.05pm and 9.05pm, and there are number 32 buses from Dublin, due in Letterkenny at 6.45pm and 8.45pm.

Taking into account the traffic delay you mention, if it had stopped at the station for five more minutes, it would have been behind schedule arriving at Letterkenny and may not have been there in time to be used for another service.

http://www.buseireann.ie/pdf/1282318474-491.pdf

http://www.buseireann.ie/pdf/1360752941-032.pdf

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 53 ✭✭xxerogravity

I dont really see any issue here except for the fact that you are annoyed you lost a 2 euro coffee. Annoying yes, but probably best in future to be more on the ball with these short breaks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭solas111

I'm wondering, perhaps that the driver needed to be in Letterkenny as soon as possible, for the bus to be used for another service bus route?

I don't know but it might explain why, after arriving late in Monaghan why the driver didn't stop for a full 15 minutes.

I just saw on the Bus Éireann website, that there is a bus number 491 service from Letterkenny to Ballybofey at 9.05pm and wonder, is it possible that your bus would be used for that service?

On the route 491 timetable, these buses leave for Ballybofey 20 minutes after the number 32 buses are due in Letterkenny, so I wonder is the same bus used.

There are numerous buses from Letterkenny to Ballybofey during the day until 9.05pm, so I wonder are the number 32 buses that arrive in Letterkenny used for this service to Ballybofey. If so, it would explain the need to arrive there in time.

For example there is a 491 service to Ballybofey at 7.05pm and 9.05pm,
    and there are number 32 buses due in Letterkenny at 6.45pm and 8.45pm.

Taking into account the traffic delay you mention, if it had stopped at the station for five more minutes, it would have been behind schedule arriving at Letterkenny and may not have been there in time to be used for another service.

http://www.buseireann.ie/pdf/1282318474-491.pdf

http://www.buseireann.ie/pdf/1360752941-032.pdf

That is a possibility but as no explanation was given by the Bus Éireann driver it can only be speculation. It was the abrupt and unhelpful manner of the lady in question that was more annoying than anything else. I am guessing that most people would have been reasonably happy if some explanation had been forthcoming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

solas111 wrote: »
    This is an old thread but it looks like nothing changes in seven years at Bus Éireann.

I took a four hour journey on a provincial express from Dublin today after a long bus and plane trip that started early in the morning. <snipped>
    I am just relating my experience and don’t particularly care what happens after that but it would be nice to have some sort of apology from Bus Éireann. It makes no difference to me as any future bus journeys to or from Dublin will be with John McGinley Coaches.

Could someone confirm the hours that the driver would have been allowed to drive, I suspect that they were fast approaching a 45 minute mandatory rest break and that may well have been the reason, who wants to spend 45 minutes stuck anywhere?

I dont really see any issue here except for the fact that you are annoyed you lost a 2 euro coffee. Annoying yes, but probably best in future to be more on the ball with these short breaks,

No, I could not care less about the coffee and I don't know what price it was. What I do care about is rudeness and bad service. We probably get what we deserve in this country because nobody is prepared to complain.

solas111 wrote: »
    No, I could not care less about the coffee and I don't know what price it was. What I do care about is rudeness and bad service. We probably get what we deserve in this country because nobody is prepared to complain.

Unfortunately in this litigious society we live in, I can see why the bus driver felt the need to enforce the no hot drink on board rule. Equally the driver was under time pressure to get to the destination. The result of that is you didn't get to drink your coffee which is why you feel aggrieved. I'm not sure how the situation could have been avoided, at least on the part of the driver

Perhaps the driver should have handed out leaflets
    http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Tachograph_Enf/Drivers_Hours.pdf
    Unless the driver lived in Letterkenny I imagine they had a return journey to fit in within the shift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭worded

Get a small flask OP?

worded wrote: »
    Get a small flask OP?

Thank you for the helpful suggestion but it is the principle rather than the consumption of the beverage that is more important to me.

Four hours on a bus is a long time and a fifteen minute break is not an extravagant demand on such a journey. Some people went to the rest room and they could easily have been delayed and some others probably needed to stretch their legs after sitting in a confined position on the bus for a long time.

I sympathise with the driver as I can imagine that she was under pressure but the situation was handled poorly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

What principle??? OP it seems to me that in your mind a person simply trying to do their job is rude. The bus was already running late, the driver indicated to those who asked how long the stopover would be, the departure was announced on the PA, she was following regulation regarding hot beverages on the bus and this is all rudeness? Did she raise her voice at any time? Did she swear?
    The only rudeness I can see is in your suggestion that better the bus be late and give everyone a longer break than try to keep to the schedule. You weren't the only person on the bus, maybe other passengers wanted to get in as soon as possible did that ever occur to you? Maybe she was anxious that her supervisor would be unhappy that she took too much time in the stop over! Maybe she was only given clearance to remain in place by Monaghan bus station for ten minutes! Maybe she's not obliged to explain herself to anybody at all?
    I guess all these possibilities are secondary to your precious cup of coffee. If you choose not to use Bus Eireann in future I think you'll find them very grateful.

By the way your replies to other posters are beyond the levels of snobbery as is your whole attitude. And don't give us your pithy nonsense about your expectations regarding other nations, except for Germany I've never come across any particularly well run transport system in every country I've ever visited. In fact in Germany you wouldn't even have been allowed off the bus so give the Ireland bashing a rest.

Cue immature, snobby response!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

Horrible thread to read, horrible attitude and I'm not talking about the bus driver.... The sense of self entitlement of some people is a reason why I hope to never again engage in a job , like said bus driver, where dealing with the public front line is a prerequisite. You got to where you were going op... You missed out on a coffee. Life sucks eh?.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭jayobray

The timetable gives an arrival time and a departure time in Monaghan. It does not guarantee a 15 minute break if it arrives late. Fair play to the driver for allowing 10 minutes even while running late, in part due to the long detour due to roadworks, and arriving at the destination almost on time. Surely if the bus arrived late you could not expect a full 15 minutes to be given?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I've just had to clean this thread up. Don't make personal snipes about other posters, and if you're the victim of such a snipe, report it. Do not respond on thread. "He did it first"/"He started it" is a defence that stops working in primary school

I think it's completely unfair to be targeting the bus driver based on the information given here today.

OP - I dont think you are cut out for the realities of bus travel which involve a lot more people than just you. You should get a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,184 ✭✭✭SteM

I don't understand why the OP bothered to buy a hot coffee knowing that they would only have 10 minutes to purchase and drink it? Considering that they knew that the driver was giving no leeway to the passenger that asked for 15 minutes why chance it?

OP surely you knew that you wouldn't have time? Maybe you didn't know about the rule of no hot drinks on board but it's hardly the bus driver's fault that you didn't know about it or she had to enforce that rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gufnork

Oh ho. Rude bus drivers. Don't get me started. Galway to shannon service. My god, there's a grey-haired driver on that run, forget the day and time I'm afraid since it was a few months ago now, but good god I've never experienced that degree of rudeness before. It wasn't even so much what he was saying, but rather the way he was saying it. No-one getting on the bus could do or say anything right by him. In between dealing with customers getting on and off he was whistling away to himself quite happily so I can only assume he just hates people, a lot.

Anyway, I think the moral of the story is, some bus drivers seem able to abuse customers with impunity. I don't understand it.

I feel your pain OP. I really do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

The one thing I hate about this forum is that everyone seems to think that drivers are angels sent from heaven.

They're not. They're ordinary people, they can be cranky, rude and unhelpful as the next guy. They can also be polite and dilligent and many other good qualities.

The crux of the matter as I see it is, the OP was on a long journey and as they alighted at a rest stop, they were told they had ten minutes to go to the shop and come back.

THEN, she cuts the break short 5 minutes when people were in the middle of purchasing or eating/drinking said purchases. This, I believe is what the OP finds unacceptable, and rightly so. If she had said 5 minutes in the beginning it would have been more reasonable.

Then when people's feathers are already ruffled she decided to tell them a rule she could have told them when alighting so as not to have people in the position to bring something onboard she knows (but they don't know) is not allowed!

Now, what she did isn't worth a public crucifixtion - she was probably under stress as another poster said to get the bus back on time, she may have gotten a call to hurry up while people were in the shop. But she works in a position where dealing and being courteous to the public is part of her job. If I'm having a crappy day in my (retail) job, can I take it out on the customers? NO. I'd get reprimanded and rightly so.

At the end of the day, a bit of courtesy goes a long way.

And to note, the OP didn't go storming around calling the driver a "b*itch" and "Stupid woman driver" or anything to that affect really, he was just airing his grievances and was being quite polite about it to boot. But I don't see anyone airing their grievances with him in such a polite manner.

One last point that everyone keeps latching onto: HE DOESN'T CARE ABOUT THE COFFEE.

I'm out.

The crux of the matter as I see it is, the OP was on a long journey and as they alighted at a rest stop, they were told they had ten minutes to go to the shop and come back.

THEN, she cuts the break short 5 minutes when people were in the middle of purchasing or eating/drinking said purchases. This, I believe is what the OP finds unacceptable, and rightly so. If she had said 5 minutes in the beginning it would have been more reasonable.

The OP said that bus arrived at 18:53 and departed at 19:03. That is 10 minutes. The driver didn't say 10 minutes and then enough time to drink and eat, the driver said 10 minutes. The announcement was made after 5 minutes so that people would start making their way back to the bus.

Again, it's not the driver's fault that the passengers don't know the rules about taking drinks on board - I'm sure it's on a sign as passengers get on the bus though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

SteM wrote: »
    The OP said that bus arrived at 18:53 and departed at 19:03. That is 10 minutes. The driver didn't say 10 minutes and then enough time to drink and eat, the driver said 10 minutes. The announcement was made after 5 minutes so that people would start making their way back to the bus.

Again, it's not the driver's fault that the passengers don't know the rules about taking drinks on board - I'm sure it's on a sign as passengers get on the bus though.

I read it wrong so!

How do you know there was a sign? If there's no sign it's up to the driver to tell people, preferably BEFORE they attempt to bring on the hot drinks.

Don't know if there is a physical sign on the bus but it is there in the small print of the web site
    Customers are not allowed to take onto a Bus Éireann bus, or any bus operated for or on behalf of Bus Éireann, any hot food or hot drinks.
    http://www.buseireann.ie/inner.php?id=324

I read it wrong so!

How do you know there was a sign? If there's no sign it's up to the driver to tell people, preferably BEFORE they attempt to bring on the hot drinks.

There's no need to be like that, not my fault you read it wrong before commenting.

I don't know there was a sign. Just that I've seen signs on Bus Eireann buses about this as I've gotten on them before. It might not be on all of them though.

If there was no sign it's absolutely not up to the bus driver to tell every passenger before they get off the bus. Should the driver go through all of the T&Cs with all of the passengers before they get off the bus at every stop? The T&Cs are on the website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

It says in their bye laws that no alcohol but didn't see anything about any other drinks?

I may have missed it but I thought some coaches had fold down tables and were allowed especially on long distance to consume food and non alcoholic drinks.

Also find the op putting up such a heading for the post very strange the driver seems to have done nothing wrong.

I was expecting to see the driver held everyone up to do their shopping or something....

From the site:
    Customers are not allowed to take onto a Bus Éireann bus, or any bus operated for or on behalf of Bus Éireann, any hot food or hot drinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

SteM wrote: »
    From the site:

So no different to DB and possibly private operated also, also depends on the driver some don't notice and do have better thing's to be doing.

Well spotted on their site;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Beer Assistant

Here is why hot drinks ie take out cups of coffe/tea are not allowed on coaches.. usually people leave a small amount in the bottom of the cup and place the cup on the floor when finished, when they arrive at their destination cup is left on the floor and gets kicked over by the next person to get on the coach,
    and a service bus would not have tables, some touring coaches have tables for comfort on long journey's, but in this small country very limited amount of touring coaches would have tables the country is not big enough to be on a coach so long to need them,

You should of bought water.

Here is why hot drinks ie take out cups of coffe/tea are not allowed on coaches.. usually people leave a small amount in the bottom of the cup and place the cup on the floor when finished, when they arrive at their destination cup is left on the floor and gets kicked over by the next person to get on the coach,
    and a service bus would not have tables, some touring coaches have tables for comfort on long journey's, but in this small country very limited amount of touring coaches would have tables the country is not big enough to be on a coach so long to need them,

You should of bought water.

Hi

to add to your point, on the train, when the attendant comes down the carriage with the trolley, serving the tea/coffee and soft drinks, they can only serve hot drinks when they stop at your seat.

Recently on the train from Dublin to Cork, I decided - after the attendant passed my seat to serve the next block of seats - to get a hot drink, and I got up and asked if I could have a coffee he said he couldn't serve it to me.

I understood from his explanation that this was because, as I was standing, there was a risk that when I carried the drink back to the seat, that I might spill it, perhaps over another passenger.

I understood that, so I got a can of coke instead!:)

I have seen notices on buses on many occasions, about hot food and drinks not being permitted on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Hi

I have seen notices on buses on many occasions, about hot food and drinks not being permitted on board.

Oh these bloody humans...and their nature !!

I watched a little one-act play recently on Parnell St,where a Driver for a Private Commuter Coach operation was asking/telling intending passengers to dump their coffees.burgers etc as they boarded.

I was close enough to hear some of the interaction,which was all very compliant with even some "Oh I'm sorry I forgot" comments thrown in..No drama,no argument,just respectful compliance......great eh ?

On a recent Saturday,busy afternoon journey...I waited on Westmoreland St for a young lady laden with a bit of baggage,who when she arrived,turned out to be carrying a large Open Cup of Tea,complete with Tea-Bag and stirrer...no cash or card ready,but plonks the Cup onto the dash,spilling some of it in the process...."Scusey Pleesey My dear,sez I,you'll hafta dump that tea if you've no lid for it..."

....."ARE YOU FOR FCXXKIN REAL ?...I'M ONLY AFTER BUYIN THE BLEEDIN THING ETC ETC ETC...."

Luckily her bark was worse than her bite and she actually got off to sip her Earl Grey in peace,but her strong rebuttal indicates a very definite attitudinal difference between what Public and Private systems are expected to tolerate.

It's as if NOBODY is responsible for anything on State Owned systems,therefore anything goes,whereas few would attempt to bring a mule onto a private operators vehicle.

My own pet hate is finding gooey half eaten banana's stuffed down between seat cushions,particularly if the heating is on......:p

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Hi AlekSmart

In my earlier response to this post, I suggested that it may be the case that the number 32 bus that the OP was on, needed to be in Letterkenny to be used for another service from Letterkenny, that same day, and that this may explain the need to leave Monaghan as soon as possible to arrive at the destination on time.

Do you think that it is possible that this bus may be used, for another service, shortly after arriving in Letterkenny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Hi AlekSmart

In my earlier response to this post, I suggested that it may be the case that the number 32 bus that the OP was on, needed to be in Letterkenny to be used for another service from Letterkenny, that same day, and that this may explain the need to leave Monaghan as soon as possible to arrive at the destination on time.

Do you think that it is possible that this bus may be used, for another service, shortly after arriving in Letterkenny?

Sorry Horseburger,As I'm not a Bus Eireann centred driver I really can't say.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Sorry Horseburger,As I'm not a Bus Eireann centred driver I really can't say.

No problem,

thanks for your reply, I just thought,if that was the case, it may explain the reason the bus left Monaghan, when it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Since you mention flights, just to point out, you can't bring your hot drinks on them either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,593 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

No problem,

thanks for your reply, I just thought,if that was the case, it may explain the reason the bus left Monaghan, when it did.

I doubt that the driver would have any more duties after that - she probably just wanted to get home on time, which frankly isn't that surprising.

There are no later departures on route 491 - they are route 64 workings from Derry to Sligo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

No problem,

As far as I know the bus would not have been used for local services after arriving in Letterkenny but the issue of the working time directive would probably have come into play. The driver would be obliged to take certain mandatory breaks and if they arrive late then they may also have to depart late on the return to Dublin. This used to happen a lot in busaras with the Galway buses. They used to leave busaras late because they arrived in late from Galway and the drivers are legally obliged to take their breaks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

There's a definite need for an authoritative body such as the RSA to actively publish what is and what's not allowed on buses, and it could also mention the fact that the driver has the last word regarding food and drink etc, etc.

Look at any buses pulling up at night spots at the weekends, how many kids with drinks in their hands?

Some operators even allow smoking still FFS.

These ops are afraid to clamp down for fear of losing bus loads every weekend.

Bit off topic, apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I have seen on several occasions on the Dublin Donegal route drivers not allowing hot drinks on board yet they bring one on for themselves. I mentioned this a few times to inspector in Cavan and was told they are entitled to have them. When I question passenger safety I was ignored!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Beer Assistant

frag420 wrote: »
    I have seen on several occasions on the Dublin Donegal route drivers not allowing hot drinks on board yet they bring one on for themselves. I mentioned this a few times to inspector in Cavan and was told they are entitled to have them. When I question passenger safety I was ignored!!

The driver more then likely has a place to put the cup and wont be throwing the cup on the floor with the small bit of coffee in the end of the cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

The driver is in the drivers cab not the passenger area so is not a risk to the safety of the passengers from scolding, unless the driver gets up and goes for a walk through the passenger area with his hot beverage, and if they do that when the bus is moving you have bigger problems than scolding.

So driving with one hand while he drinks a hot liquid is safe? What if he had to brake suddenly and spilled some on themselves while driving? While these scenarios are hypothetical they do happen. And yes I have been on the same route and watched a driver drive away from cavan station while holding a coffee/tea in his hand.

I have also been on a bus on the same route and watched two drivers race to the next town overtaking each other a few times. I raised this in an email with Bus Eireann and heard nothing back!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

So driving with one hand while he drinks a hot liquid is safe? !!

Is taking a hand off the wheel to change gears unsafe?

What if he had to brake suddenly and spilled some on themselves while driving?

He'd probably spill some on his crotch area, which would be incredibly painful.
    This searing pain would most likely cause a loss of concentration and even cause the driver to remove both hands from the wheel as he frantically tries to fan the area around his scalded balls. In trying to stand up and peel the burning hot trouser material off his manhood, he inadvertently steps on the accelerator and the bus plunges off the carriageway and over a large embankment at the side of the road, it falls 20m before hitting a large fallen tree which flips the bus onto its roof, it catches fire and explodes in a massive fireball, killing everyone on board.
    Jesus - the horror.
    Why?
    Why did he drink that coffee?
    Why didn't he listen?
    Why?

That is an essential part of his job, drinking hot drinks is not!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

That is an essential part of his job, drinking hot drinks is not!!

What about listening to the radio?
    OK or not essential and potentially distracting and dangerous?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Some operators even allow smoking still FFS.

Who ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

He'd probably spill some on his crotch area, which would be incredibly painful.
    This searing pain would most likely cause a loss of concentration and even cause the driver to remove both hands from the wheel as he frantically tries to fan the area around his scalded balls. In trying to stand up and peel the burning hot trouser material off his manhood, he inadvertently steps on the accelerator and the bus plunges off the carriageway and over a large embankment at the side of the road, it falls 20m before hitting a large fallen tree which flips the bus onto its roof, it catches fire and explodes in a massive fireball, killing everyone on board.
    Jesus - the horror.
    Why?
    Why did he drink that coffee?
    Why didn't he listen?
    Why?

change gear? what was he driving??? AN AEC REGENT or something?

Lapin wrote: »
    Who ?

Some of the rough and ready private guys, mainly out at the weekend only using minibuses.

They'll carry anyone they can, leaving the ones who try to uphold standards looking as if they're nitpicking.

Anything goes in rural Ireland really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

cdebru wrote: »
    The driver is in the drivers cab not the passenger area so is not a risk to the safety of the passengers from scolding, unless the driver gets up and goes for a walk through the passenger area with his hot beverage, and if they do that when the bus is moving you have bigger problems than scolding.

If a driver got up and walked up and down his bus with a hot coffee in his hand mid trip about the last thing I'd be worried about is spilt coffee on the passengers :pac:

Could have it on autopilot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I think the OP has had sufficient answers from all possible sides at this stage, and the last couple of hypotheticals are just beating a dead horse.

lxflyer wrote: »
    I doubt that the driver would have any more duties after that - she probably just wanted to get home on time, which frankly isn't that surprising.

There are no later departures on route 491 - they are route 64 workings from Derry to Sligo.

hi

I didn't mean that the driver would be driving another service, but that perhaps the bus may be needed for another service.

I saw that there are buses for Ballybofey from Letterkenny, that depart 20 minutes after the buses from Dublin are due in Letterkenny, and I thought perhaps the buses from Dublin may be needed for these, and that this might be one reason for the need to leave Monaghan as soon as possible, as the bus was already delayed.

For example there is a 491 service from Letterkenny to Ballybofey at 5.20pm, 7.05pm and 9.05pm, and there are number 32 buses from Dublin, due in Letterkenny at 5pm, 6.45pm and 8.45pm.

(The OP was on the bus that leaves Dublin at 4.45pm and due in Letterkenny at 8.45pm)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,593 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

For the second time, there are no route 491 departures at 1905 or 2105 - look at the the timetable again.

They are clearly marked as route 64 services that are shown in the 491 timetable for the purposes of completeness.

The 17:20 departure is the only route 491 bus departure of the three you listed Nd it would be covered by a locally based vehicle.

lxflyer wrote: »
    For the second time, there are no route 491 departures at 1905 or 2105 - look at the the timetable again.

They are clearly marked as route 64 services that are shown in the 491 timetable for the purposes of completeness.

The 17:20 departure is the only route 491 bus departure of the three you listed Nd it would be covered by a locally based vehicle.

My mistake, I wasn't familiar with the route 64 service, I didn't realise that the route 64 was the Derry Sligo bus.

Thanks for clarifying that, I had thought that the number 32 buses from Dublin may have been needed for another service from Letterkenny and when I saw the 491 timetable, I thought that may be the case.