Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Octavia VRS or Superb Elegance 170

• 09-09-2013 4:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭

I'm on the hunt for a new (to me) car. My budget is €15k plus my '08 Mondeo which has 265k km on the clock and needs a few jobs doing.

I was originally thinking of a Skoda Octavia VRS but having test driven both a 170bhp Superb Ambition and a 140 BHP Superb Elegance now I think that a 170 BHP Superb Elegance would be nice :)

My requirements (in order of importance):
    1. Reliable
    2. Comfortable
    3. Capable of carrying 4 adults + baggage on a fairly regular basis (probably once per week).
    4. Reasonably economical
    My annual mileage is about 22k (miles).

I'm looking at the following cars:
    1. 2012 Superb Ambition 170BHP They're looking for €18k + T/In. I liked the power and it was a nice drive. Colour is ok. Went to look at an Octavia and the one I went to see wouldn't start so ended up test driving this one and liked it.
    2. 2011 Superb Elegance 140BHP After driving the one above I went to look at this one to compare. Asking €19.5 + T/in and more or less showed me the door when I tried to negotiate. I liked all the toys and it was a very refined and comfortable car to drive but I think that colour combo might be a bit old man'ish?
    3. 2010 Octavia Combi VRS I haven't test drove this one or seen it in the metal but I rang about it and he gave me a ballpark figure of €14,500 + T/In. I don't need an estate but I kinda like the look of them but I'm not sure about buying one when I don't need it.
    I've also been in contact we www.wesourcenecar.com in Clonmel and they say they can get me a 2011 Superb Elegance 170BHP with 1 owner and 45k miles for €15.5k + T/in. I've had a look at carzone, donedeal etc and even Cargiant and I can't see better than this.

Anyone any insights to offer me on the cars above, this dealer or anything better out there that might suit my criteria?

Thanks is advance for your help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Id get the octavia. Doesnt look too bad in an estate.
    I couldnt look at the superb every day......too fat arsed and ugly;)

Tbh Op any decent sized daysul will suit your criteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Both are perfect for what you want

Just down to personal preference

Try and get a extended test drive in both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'd say option 1 myself.. 2.0 TDI vs 1.9 which you'll notice the difference in in a car like that, plus it's a 170 model. Also a year newer and cheaper than the 2nd. Prefer the colour too.

Wouldn't be mad about the Octavia estate at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The 140bhp is a 2.0 TDi also despite what the advert claims. The 1.9 TDi was only 105bhp and was discontinued by 2010. Have that 140bhp engine in my Passat CC and it has plenty of usable power, test drove the 170bhp in an A6 and didn't think it was hugely more powerful, not enough to pay a premium for it anyway. You could always get the 140bhp remapped for a lot less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

I was gonna look at this car but going to buy a different vRS this weekend. They are lovely car to drive and better looking than the Superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

Two very different cars.

Your passengers will love you for getting a Superb. However, it will be very dull to drive. Very "old lad" car, irrespective of colour.

They'll fit in the Octavia, and, it is your car.

I ditched a 5 series for a 3 series because fun trumped my passenger's comfort.

You are paying the bills. Drive what makes YOU happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

If you're used to the comfort of the Mondeo the vrs isn't even on the same planet. Noisy enough too. I'd go with a 170 elegance superb if you can get a good one, preferably in estate.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I was gonna look at this car but going to buy a different vRS this weekend. They are lovely car to drive and better looking than the Superb.
    Thats imported, you'd think they would clean the fricking flies and squashed bugs off the front of the car :D

VRS for me, Superbs are for auld lads (and before anyone mentions my age..) :D

Gud luck with which ever you choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Repolho

bazz26 wrote: »
    The 140bhp is a 2.0 TDi also despite what the advert claims. The 1.9 TDi was only 105bhp and was discontinued by 2010. Have that 140bhp engine in my Passat CC and it has plenty of usable power, test drove the 170bhp in an A6 and didn't think it was hugely more powerful, not enough to pay a premium for it anyway. You could always get the 140bhp remapped for a lot less.

Just checked the reg on mywheels.ie and it says its a 2.0 170. Thats what I thought when I looked at it as it had the red DI but the saleman was adamant it was 143 to be exact.

No wonder I didn't notice any less power than option 1.

If you're used to the comfort of the Mondeo the vrs isn't even on the same planet. Noisy enough too. I'd go with a 170 elegance superb if you can get a good one, preferably in estate.

I think the estate definitely looks nicer but I've no need for an estate car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Repolho wrote: »
    I think the estate definitely looks nicer but I've no need for an estate car.
    Just because you have no need for one doesn't mean you shouldn't get one!

Got an Octavia VRS in the end. Thanks for all the replies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Got an Octavia VRS in the end. Thanks for all the replies.

Have you driven it yet? What do you think?

Jesus. wrote: »
    Have you driven it yet? What do you think?

Been driving it for a few days now. Very happy with my decision to go with an Octavia over the Superb; the Superb is just too big a car for my needs!

My car history has been Fiesta (1.25 zetec), Focus (1.6 TDCI 115bhp) and Mondeo (1.8 TDCi 125bhp).

The VRS is a lot more powerful than anything I've owned before and I think I'm a little drunk on all that extra power. It doesn't feel amazingly quick off the line, you wouldn't be stuck to the seats when accelerating but when you want to overtake it just seems to go no matter what gear you are in! Mines a 6 speed manual and the gear shifts are very smooth and the gears seem to be much better spaced out than my old mondeo.

Road handling is very good, the car just sticks to the road and you can really drive through the bends on twisty country roads. Its definitely more "bumpy" than my old mondeo and you would notice all the imperfections in the road surface but I wouldn't call it uncomfortable. Steering could be a bit "sportier" though, its very light. I haven't figured out all the gadgets yet so I hope there might be some settings that can be changed. I wouldn't take any marks off the car for it though, it goes where you point it :)

I suppose the main reason I went for a VRS was that it seems to be such a good all rounder - practical & frugal when you need it to be and lots of fun when you want to put the foot down.

I have my vRS about 13 days and I'm getting 55+mpg. Delighted! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Never once got near that in 60k in one!

when you want to overtake it just seems to go no matter what gear you are in!

The joys of a torquey diesel :)

Well wear

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

You must be doing it wrong :p

mik_da_man wrote: »
    You must be doing it wrong :p

Yeah doing it all wrong but the 5 O are out on the roads a good bit these days!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

U must have taken out the pedal :D Mine is circa 45-50 MAX.

There was almost a full tank in it when I picked it up and I haven't refilled yet so can't give my mpg. I'll be well happy if its that good! Will probably refill tonight and I'll report back tomorrow.

Is that the on-board computer reading or the real figure, BigGreen?

Fair play to ye mate, that's good going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Well wear! Wheres the pics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

Howdy,

Considering getting one of these myself in the future. Glad to see you're happy with it! Any pics?