Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ideas to keep 5 mental kids under 5 entertained!?

• 09-09-2013 10:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭

Hiya,

Having a small wedding (40ish), civil ceremony. We decided early on didn't want kids at it, but I feel we should have our own nieces and nephews there cause they ARE family and I feel we'd (I'd) regret not having them there. He's concerned they're going to ruin it basically because one nephew of his in particular is absolutely MENTAL and cannot be controlled and then the other siblings follow suit when he goes crazy! I know this could be annoying during what we want to be an intimate and chilled day but don't want to have to leave them out.
    SO! I need ideas as to how to keep them occupied on (what could be a cold, damp) spring day. If I don't come up with something he's going to dig his heels in and insist we have zero kids. I find older kids are easier to entertain but this age is difficult, especially when they're nuts! HELP LADS!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Not a lot you can do at the ceremony but if you're having a hotel reception then consider using a hotel that is oriented towards families as they have facilities that keep kids occupied such as games rooms or kids sessions during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭Nicman

Not a lot you can do at the ceremony but if you're having a hotel reception then consider using a hotel that is oriented towards families as they have facilities that keep kids occupied such as games rooms or kids sessions during the day.

Yes, I forgot to mention we already have the whole thing booked etc so no changing that and the hotel is a run of the mill country hotel that doesn't especially cater for children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭foggy

The easiest thing to do would be to have them at it for just part of the day... maybe there for the start of the cermony and then they could watch a dvd in a hotel room while that's going on. and then somebody to take them away again in the evening.
    It's very exciting for small children and I would imagine that they would only make each other alot more hyper than if there was only one or two of them there.
    It's also up to their parents, perhaps the parents might not want them there at all?

foggy wrote: »
    The easiest thing to do would be to have them at it for just part of the day... maybe there for the start of the cermony and then they could watch a dvd in a hotel room while that's going on. and then somebody to take them away again in the evening.
    It's very exciting for small children and I would imagine that they would only make each other alot more hyper than if there was only one or two of them there.
    It's also up to their parents, perhaps the parents might not want them there at all?

Well that's what I was hoping - that someone could take them in the evening when we're having our meal etc etc but at the last family wedding even though they had arranged a babysitter the kids only went up with her around 10 and their Mum disappeared about an hour and a half later up to them for the night so it killed her day too. I know they want to bring them, put the feelers out with my own sis already and I'm gathering from talking to friends that ANY mum would be highly offended if the B&G told them to leave their own nieces/ nephews at home! its toughie cause with a small wedding loud kids running around the place would be alot more noticeable than at a big wedding and we don't want them taking over. That may sound selfish to some but I've been to a million weddings, all family ones and almost all my mates, and this is just one day where we want things to go OUR way and not rotate around some kids you know. Like at the last family wedding in the middle of the vows his nephew said (in a much louder voice than even the priest) "Mum when are we going to the hotel this is boring"! Yikes, id kill him if that was during ours :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭clint_silver

as per many previous threads, a DVD room if possible.
    Let the kids have their meal during starters so parents can enjoy their meal uninterrupted so maybe hire a clown for 2 hours during dinner after theyve tucked away their nuggets/sossies/pasta/whatever.

coloring books, lego, wii, xbox, clown.. quite easy to keep them entertained. if they want mammy theyll come in no matter what.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

We had our nieces and nephews at our wedding also. As a lucky coincidence there was a Volvo promotion on in the hotel the same weekend and they had a bouncy castle in the garden. We didn't see the kids all afternoon...

as per many previous threads, a DVD room if possible.
    Let the kids have their meal during starters so parents can enjoy their meal uninterrupted so maybe hire a clown for 2 hours during dinner after theyve tucked away their nuggets/sossies/pasta/whatever.

coloring books, lego, wii, xbox, clown.. quite easy to keep them entertained. if they want mammy theyll come in no matter what.

Yeah that's it I guess is that I know they'll want to be in with all of us regardless of what's going on outside but I could try. Maybe the manager can loan us a room for the day where I can set up our own wii and games etc...worth a look for sure thanks for that.

Lucky you Tabnabs! We wont be that lucky Im afraid due to the time of year!! :)

Nicman wrote: »
    Yeah that's it I guess is that I know they'll want to be in with all of us regardless of what's going on outside but I could try. Maybe the manager can loan us a room for the day where I can set up our own wii and games etc...worth a look for sure thanks for that.

Lucky you Tabnabs! We wont be that lucky Im afraid due to the time of year!! :)

if the function room is big enough, set up a separate table in the corner, seen it done many times. everyones happy. if theres an xbox to be put on, face it away from the main tables with the sound off or with headphones. 3 or 4 coloring books out of the pound shop, lego, bags of sweets, plenty of cordial with plastic cups. win win. theyre occupied and parents can keep an eye on them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭moochers

Hey OP,
    There are great suggestions mentioned in the above posts especially the separate table with activities. Would you consider asking someone you know to baby sit (teenager) during the dinner and speeches. You'd have to pay them but it would be a lot cheaper than booking through the hotel.

Once the band and dancing starts its then up to the parents to watch their own kids. I wouldn't worry too much about this part because most young kids love dancing.

You can also drop it casually into conversation that you are not hiring a babysitter at night time to supervise their kids, they may then arrange alternative plans, like getting someone to pick up kids at nine. If they are staying in hotel overnight they will have to arrange their own babysitting.

If they are not happy with this, they can leave the kids at home.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

we had loads (about 25 and all under 10)of kids at ours incl our own and we had no issues.
    I put some games and colouring books and crayons on to 2 of the tables and sat the older kids away from their parents.
    We had 0 issues.

if the function room is big enough, set up a separate table in the corner, seen it done many times. everyones happy. if theres an xbox to be put on, face it away from the main tables with the sound off or with headphones. 3 or 4 coloring books out of the pound shop, lego, bags of sweets, plenty of cordial with plastic cups. win win. theyre occupied and parents can keep an eye on them..

Mmmm...headphones - I like! And by the time the sugar rush kicks in from the drinks and sweets it'll be dancy dancy time and nobody cares that they're hyper at that point! :) Love it! Thanks ;)

Moochers - totally agree, if they dont want to hire a babysitter they can leave em at home. For a second I mentioned getting one in to one of my mates and she rightly said why would I do that, it's not my problem to look after babysitters and she and you are right!

I know what you're saying moonbeam and I've seen that work too at larger weddings but with ours so small and so few kids there to entertain each other too it's not quite that easy - I saw this first hand at a wedding recently with 3 kids there and 25ish guests and they were bored, hyper and loud and it ws noticed :(

But yeah - thanks guys for all the suggestions, totally will be using your advice and ideas. I had the thing about getting toys and colouring books etc but just didn't see how it would work with them hyper but I can defo see it working if I set up a special kiddie table for sure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

In my opinion, children who need to be entertained at a wedding should not be at a wedding. They are obviously too young to be interested, and are simply a cause of hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Ever2010

We had a small wedding of about the same numbers - with about 7 kids. It was in a restaurant - we had a kid's table, and I raided the two euro shop for loads of cheap toys/games/books etc and put them all in a large vintage suitcase - the kids were all entertained. My brother in law (who's two were there) thought it was the best thing he had seen as all the kids were happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭HamSambo

I'm afraid the only option left is to kill the children.

HamSambo wrote: »
    I'm afraid the only option left is to kill the children.

by submersing them in a pool of skittles and jelly beans? eat your way out kids....

Ever2010 wrote: »
    We had a small wedding of about the same numbers - with about 7 kids. It was in a restaurant - we had a kid's table, and I raided the two euro shop for loads of cheap toys/games/books etc and put them all in a large vintage suitcase - the kids were all entertained. My brother in law (who's two were there) thought it was the best thing he had seen as all the kids were happy!

Wow that's a great idea, not to buy specific things - an OVERLOAD of toys and fun so they won't want to leave the table!! Would have to have a warning too that the toys must stay in that area or they'd be all over the room or hotel! I have a vintage suitcase already actually that would be perfect for it. Were there any toddlers in that 7? We'll ahve a 2 year old and 2 and a half year old...would they be liable to stay at this table too do you think? I also had an idea with photos (cause I do this with my niece and my expensive camera) - buying disposable cameras each for them and giving them a "job" of who can get the best photos and of the most people??? I think that would keep them entertained and also keep them from pulling out of the mammies for the whole day and night?

@Hamsambo - if this all doesn't work that will be plan B unfortunately ;);) :P

by submersing them in a pool of skittles and jelly beans? eat your way out kids....

Haha!! Creepy and fun at the same time :D

Wow that's a great idea, not to buy specific things - an OVERLOAD of toys and fun so they won't want to leave the table!! Would have to have a warning too that the toys must stay in that area or they'd be all over the room or hotel! I have a vintage suitcase already actually that would be perfect for it. Were there any toddlers in that 7? We'll ahve a 2 year old and 2 and a half year old...would they be liable to stay at this table too do you think? I also had an idea with photos (cause I do this with my niece and my expensive camera) - buying disposable cameras each for them and giving them a "job" of who can get the best photos and of the most people??? I think that would keep them entertained and also keep them from pulling out of the mammies for the whole day and night?

Dunno bout the disposable camera thing, they dont have display screens so they won't be able to see the finished product they until they're developed. Can see them getting bored quickly for what might be pricey for you. I've 4 kids u10 so am always trying new things. Coloring books, lots of crayons, Lego, console games will see u right.

Fair enough - thanks for that, you know best with 4 kids under 10 (eeek!) haha! ;) but I guess the advice is then keep it simple and stick to the basics that work :) thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭moochers

It might be a good idea to promise them a little gift (something from the two euro shop) if they are really good during the dinner. Bribes are a great incentive.

They are all under five they will probably need/want to sit with their parents anyway.

I'd have a separate table with toys etc, positioned right beside their parents table so they can come and go as they please between the two tables with minimum disturbance to the other guests.

Yeah...just mentioned all of this to himself and well, to say he's not pleased about them being invited is an understatement! Hahaha! Talk about delicate, gotta say Im finding it funny how hes reacting but at the same time his argument against bringing em at all makes sense. Still doesnt feel right though and my gut's not failed me yet.... *should have seen. His face*!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Ms2011

Gonna get the little ones at my wedding something like this:

We had a 9 month old and a 14 month old who were in high chairs near their parents. But the parents/grannies took them down to the kids area and they played with bubbles/books/slinkys etc

Actually the thing they got the most fun out of was the whoopie cushion! and the funny plastic glasses with attached moustaches. I think I spent about €25 euro on everything, plus they took most of it home with them afterwards. One of the 4 years olds said it was the best party he's ever been to!

Ever2010 wrote: »
    We had a 9 month old and a 14 month old who were in high chairs near their parents. But the parents/grannies took them down to the kids area and they played with bubbles/books/slinkys etc

Actually the thing they got the most fun out of was the whoopie cushion! and the funny plastic glasses with attached moustaches. I think I spent about €25 euro on everything, plus they took most of it home with them afterwards. One of the 4 years olds said it was the best party he's ever been to!

Those toys sound perfect, I had been thinking of the usual...lego, colouring etc but now that you mention it my fella bought his crackers nephew a whoopee cushion once and he knocked days out of it!Love the glasses idea too and the slinkys & bubbles. Lovely! Thanks so much ;) Out of interest, how many guests were at your wedding and of them how many were kids?

42 altogether ( I think - it was only 7 weeks ago - you'd think I'd remember!) and 7 of them kids - 2 were babies though. We had a late ceremony (4pm) a pint in the pub then off to the restaurant for 6ish... so by the time dinner finished and we all had cake and drinks it was 9.30ish - 10pm - so the kids were starting to get tired, and we headed back to the hotel for drinks, and the kids went to bed. It worked out perfectly in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Deedeecupcake

If you did want to run with your disposable camera idea, I've seen loads of wedding bingo ideas on tinternet. Lists of things they have to take pictures of at various stages of the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

Hi OP,

Have you looked into childcare/child sitting services? The Mrs knows 2 people who used one in particular who is qualified childcare professional that specialises in weddings. Seems to go as far as arriving in your house in the morning, getting kids dressed/fed, bringing them to church and staying with them throughout the meal/into the night etc if needed...

I can pm you the detail of this one if you want. Would probably cost a few quid but herself thought it was a great idea when she heard about it :)