Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bobcat/skid steer

• 08-09-2013 12:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭

Am seriously considering skid steer for yard scraping, moving calves, milk and work around the yard in the winter. I have had them in on hire before and love the manoverability

Do any of ye have one and am I mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

delaval wrote: »
    Am seriously considering skid steer for yard scraping, moving calves, milk and work around the yard in the winter. I have had them in on hire before and love the manoverability

Do any of ye have one

I have considered one but they dont fit in with what I need. ideally need something with more reach for pitting, loading at heights etc. but if it was for work on concrete, dung, grain, silage bales, yard scraping nothing will touch it for speed. Second hands look cheap but maybe this is for a reason. Lime contractor drags one around with him and he probably loads 30k tons a year. If you have lots of level ground and concrete they are serious tool
    and am I mad?
    thats an entirely separate question im not qualified enough to make conclusive decision on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

I have considered one but they dont fit in with what I need. ideally need something with more reach for pitting, loading at heights etc. but if it was for work on concrete, dung, grain, silage bales, yard scraping nothing will touch it for speed. Second hands look cheap but maybe this is for a reason. Lime contractor drags one around with him and he probably loads 30k tons a year. If you have lots of level ground and concrete they are serious tool it

Your bang on there. I think reach is the only issue but a neighbour uses one for cleaning out the sheds and he says it takes only half the time that a tractor takes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

thats an entirely separate question im not qualified enough to make conclusive decision on it

I love it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭6480

my neighbour says they are handy in the yard but no good to travel over the road and he gets the flu alot in the winter because of the cab and he says it doesnt help his back with all the bouncing it does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

It would struggle to fill a diet feeder.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I've seen a few go for less than 5k sterling on ebay, but how much would you have to realistically spend for something reliable enough. Reach is a big issue alright.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

td5man wrote: »

The feeder I have here you'd get tired filling it as there's a hole in it. I have a Jcb loader for the bigger jobs.

Do you have one?

It will be on concrete at all times

td5man wrote: »

contractor has one like this one that seems to have a serious lift height

http://twentywheels.com/view/428-new_holland_ls190_rubber_tire_skid_loader_bobcat_bob_cat_full_cab_ls180.html

would manage a diet feeder no problems

The feeder I have here you'd get tired filling it as there's a hole in it. I have a Jcb loader for the bigger jobs.

Do you have one?

It will be on concrete at all times

I think one would suit you, best to get one with high reach on self drive hire for a week, could be the best few hundred quid you could spend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

one coming here on hire tomorro to clean out the sheds... there handy but not very comfortable to drive....

does anyone that uses one where theres cowsh!te on concrete find they slip and slide....

i think i'd prefer one of these...
    http://www.weidemann.de/english/produkte.php4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

No skidsteer here, those new hollands have good lift and reach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

Have one here for the last 4 yrs. New holland ls170.
    As said, they're only suitable for yards. The tractor and loader does the shear grab work 6ft, for the winter and the skid steer does some scraping, bedding and shoving in silage. ( you ll shove in silage faster along a barrier than a person will walk, cleans out calving pens and calf pens.
    Very handy if you have a cow down, it will have her up and out into the field in minutes.
    During the summer, it lifts the fert bags for filling the spreader.
    I'd never be without one. You'd be amazed where you can go, and what you can do with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

maxxuumman wrote: »
    Have one here for the last 4 yrs. New holland ls170.
    As said, they're only suitable for yards. The tractor and loader does the shear grab work 6ft, for the winter and the skid steer does some scraping, bedding and shoving in silage. ( you ll shove in silage faster along a barrier than a person will walk, cleans out calving pens and calf pens.
    Very handy if you have a cow down, it will have her up and out into the field in minutes.
    During the summer, it lifts the fert bags for filling the spreader.
    I'd never be without one. You'd be amazed where you can go, and what you can do with them.

What make would you recommend and are they dear second hand. Perhaps I should go new. I will be using for exactly what you said. Could they be transported on a jeep low loader?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭maxxuumman

What make would you recommend and are they dear second hand. Perhaps I should go new. I will be using for exactly what you said. Could they be transported on a jeep low loader?

I'm really happy with the new holland. The reach is excellent. I use it to fill the dumper with dung when cleaning shed, so it's filling up to roughly diet feeder height. Ive never had to touch it for maintaince and service is cheap. The only other make I would look at Jcb because it is side entry. Don't know about the reach on that though. I haven't changed the tyres on it yet, but I have been told that they can be expensive.
    I got mine in 09 when construction machine were out of fashion, it had only 200 hours on it and I got it for 11k. I'm not sure but I think they are around 25k new.
    I'd need to check, but it's about 2 ton weight, A jeep would move it from yard to yard easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

If reach is a problem, you can fit them with high tip buckets too ad far as i'm aware. Looked into it here before for mucking out sheds. Seem a handy job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

You need good tyres and a good amount of concrete to really get the value out of them. travelling over rough ground is a sure way for back pain. Great power in the lift arms for general shoving and moving/handling material. I was surprised at the tipping height myself, but I think a diet feeder is just to high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

maxxuumman wrote: »
    I'm really happy with the new holland. The reach is excellent. I use it to fill the dumper with dung when cleaning shed, so it's filling up to roughly diet feeder height. Ive never had to touch it for maintaince and service is cheap. The only other make I would look at Jcb because it is side entry. Don't know about the reach on that though. I haven't changed the tyres on it yet, but I have been told that they can be expensive.
    I got mine in 09 when construction machine were out of fashion, it had only 200 hours on it and I got it for 11k. I'm not sure but I think they are around 25k new.
    I'd need to check, but it's about 2 ton weight, A jeep would move it from yard to yard easily.

Ya climbing over front implement wound put me off them so the side entry jcb would be more practical IMO. Would make quick work of feeding on concrete yard
    http://youtu.be/WdbKO0AsOXQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

friend has one for 5 years, filling diet feeder, scraping, cleaning out sheds. Its a good yoke but costly to fix as its very hard to get into the engine its so compact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

On my fourth one here would not be without one . Fork and wheelbarrow redundant and feeding time is half what a tractor and loader would do.
    Shear grab reverse able scraper cement mixer blae handler forks brush bucket .
    Loads bales in fields stack slurry moves all machinery around .
    Best make so far is the original bobcat made stronger, then ghel mustang case then new holland wouldn't t rate the Thomas belle or toyota jcb

Secondhand 12/14k would be best

Only issue I would have if your a little older climbing in and out otherwise the most versatile machine around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Loads bales in fields stack
    Are they able to handle bales alright, would you be able to travel any distance with a silage bale on the front?

Loads bales in fields stack
    Are they able to handle bales alright, would you be able to travel any distance with a silage bale on the front?

Yes it can load onto trailer collect and draw if yard was near . You have to know how to drive them properly as turning a little wider rather than tight doesn't t cut up the ground also get one big enough to do the job . Also for stacking straw you can put bales ontop and then lift them into place .

Mcardles in Monaghan have a good selection and john there knows his stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

there is a New holland here in work and the lads say its the one thing they wouldnt do without

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

one coming here on hire tomorro to clean out the sheds... there handy but not very comfortable to drive....

does anyone that uses one where theres cowsh!te on concrete find they slip and slide....

i think i'd prefer one of these...
    http://www.weidemann.de/english/produkte.php4

Once you get good at driving them the comfort level gets better.
    Sign of a bad driver when their bouncing around the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Considering one atm anyone know any good dealers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Considering one atm anyone know any good dealers?

M and S in Cashel have a few new and second hand in stock. Ive never dealt with them, but might be worth a try

Mcardles in Monaghan are very good on price and back up . Have bought a few and Lawrence won't let u down .

Bump

What kind of work are you planning for it. Mine is 52hp and has high reach. Look at https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=f_zmVfGQ8Pc at 3:50 to see the high reach.It has counter weights on the back. (It's rated to lift 800kgs) She'll stack Mchale silage bales 2 high, just about. It will bomb around the yard with 500kg fert bags and lift them in over a 3ton spreader no problem. The high reach means it can clean out calf sheds or calving pens and load into a trailer. Also with the high reach it is very handy for lifting downer cows

at 3:50 to see the high reach.It has counter weights on the back. (It's rated to lift 800kgs) She'll stack Mchale silage bales 2 high, just about. It will bomb around the yard with 500kg fert bags and lift them in over a 3ton spreader no problem. The high reach means it can clean out calf sheds or calving pens and load into a trailer. Also with the high reach it is very handy for lifting downer cows

What kind of work are you planning for it. Mine is 52hp and has high reach. Look at

Much the same as yourself, what height is yours? Is 2.1 m standard

Have a look here, it has the measurements on it
    http://www.traktorunoma.lv/lv/show-file?id=479
    2.1 lift height on the donedeal one doesn't look very very high but they have all different ways of measuring the height. The important height is the hinge pin height (F in the link above), that's the bit you need to get in over a trailer to tip.

Did you get a chance to look at any of M&S's machines. A quick trip down the road before the cows start calving ?

2.1 lift height on the donedeal one doesn't look very very high but they have all different ways of measuring the height. The important height is the hinge pin height (F in the link above), that's the bit you need to get in over a trailer to tip.

Did you get a chance to look at any of M&S's machines. A quick trip down the road before the cows start calving ?

Going tomorrow, no feeder so height not a problem. They have only 3 second hand ones, a Thomas 04, jd 98 and nh 08

It'll be good to see a few different ones in the same yard. A handy thing is a conversion plate, to let you attach any of the tractor buckets/grabs to the skid steer. I got mine thrown in when I was buying mine. Watch the hours, theyd should have much smaller hours than tractors, like to 09 should have ~2k, the older ones 3k. Half the hours you'd like in a tractor.iykwim.

Ya hopped in the 98 jd took off before I pressed anything, Thomas biggest machine of 3 nice machine but didn't like the controls. Really liked the nh 160, lovely to drive 1 800 hrs very clean but a bit pricey.