Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did I just get ripped off by a very well known Bike shop?

• 06-09-2013 8:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14

Hi guys,

I'm a long time lurker here but first time poster here, so please be gentle!

So basically I'm looking for some help/advice here.

First off, some background;

I decided recently after years of wanting to do so to get myself a bike. I've always been into endurance sports and was quite a good runner when I was younger. I'd probably consider myself to have a bit of talent when it comes to endurance sports, but chances are that's just me! I'm 26 now and as unfit as I've ever been, but changing that swiftly. I'm 6 foot and roughly 80KG, I'll drop down by about 10KG after about 8 weeks training. I wanted to get a bike to start cycling for fitness, getting to and from work and eventually building up to competing.

So I decided to buy a bike. I used the bike to work scheme to help fund me here, I spent the full 1000 euro. I was willing to put about 300-500 towards it also. This is the part where I should have came here looking for advice, what to buy, how much etc. But I didn't. Instead I decided to just go with a very well known bike shop in Dublin and trust their guidance. Possibly complete naivety on my part, but there you go.

So I go to the shop, I tell them I'm looking for a road bike for training and also commuting. We run through a few choices, I explain my budget and also explain that I not only want a bike, I want basic gear that I'd need too. The problem here is, I'm a newbie and don't know what I need. So that nice chap explains I'll probably need pump, bidon, helmet, pedals and a lock. Oh, and a bike. I explain I may need puncture proof tyres, as the roads around me are pretty much always covered in glass and other nasty stuff of that nature. He says that's no problem.

So the bike I went for was a Giant Defy 2. The dude just tells me I'm a large, I presume he knows what he's talking about so I go along with it. Looks like a nice bike, apparently has good brakes and gears, happy days! Price is 849 euro. He tells me I can use the rest of the money on the BTW scheme to pay for gear, and he'll throw in 80 euro worth for free too! Brilliant!

I was willing to buy shoes and other gear on the day, like I said I wanted to spend a good bit to keep me happy for a while.

So, I go to collect my bike a few weeks later. The guy I was talking to isn't in, so somebody else helps me out. He rolls out my bike, it looks so good and shiny! I mention then the extra gear I was promised and he literally says nothing. I tell him I need a helmet and he grabs one and lets me check if it fits. It does. He says, "There you go, your standard 60 euro helmet. Enjoy the bike!".

At this point I notice my bike has no pedals on it. I question him, his response is that they don't usually supply the pedals. WTF. I say I need pedals to cycle, so he goes over to a display bike and takes the pedals off them and puts them on my bike, they're the ones you slide your feet into. He says they're perfect for me. I also question the tyres on the bike, which look very fragile and used. He says, they'll be grand for you. And that's that.

So for my 1000 euro I got a bike at 849, helmet at 60 and pedals for the rest. Never mind the rest of the gear, but i can't help but feel those pedals shouldn't have costed that much? Am I wrong?

Also was promised free service after x amount of weeks, they won't answer my emails and I can't phone them from work. They only open during my working hours. I've tried to contact them so many times now but no reply. What can I do here?

Since they apparently won't help me, maybe you guys can. I have a few questions.

Did I get ripped off?
    Do I need a pump?
    Are the stock tyres fine?
    I presume they need to use the bike to make sure it's safe, does this explain the used tyres?
    New pedals shoes and cleats, help me, what goes with what, I just need entry level, please recommend some for me! Willing to spend roughly 150 euro here, will that cover them?

Any help is very much appreciated,

Thanks in advance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭Briando

I cant speak on what happened between you and the shop etc.

But do not skimp when getting a lock if you are in a city. Use at least 2 and not cable locks are they will be cut in seconds and your bike will be taken.

There are some good threads here on locks, do a search of the forum and read them, watch the videos of the scum robbing bikes and become aware.

Regarding tyres there are a few that provide good puncture protection.

For example Continental Gatorskins.

For pumps, most cyclists have a track pump, one of the ones you put on the ground and pump, rather than the little small hand held pumps since its hard to pump road tyres up properly with a hand pump.

You'll get lots of good advice here on the forum, well mostly good ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 skyvelolover

Thanks for the reply.

Regarding locks, I bought a basic one. My bike will either always be in my apartment, under me or when in work it will be in an underground locked carpark with 2 separate security doors with permanently manned security desks between the security doors.

Any advice regarding shoes? I searched the forum but there's so many posts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭redmaxi

In a word - yes. Typical practice of Irish bike shops when they see a newbie coming. I have heard loads of stories of being promised all sorts when doing the deal but not honoring anything when it comes to the crunch.
    When I was buying my first clipless pedals and shoes years ago the Gentleman working at a very well known bike shop in Cork city sold me tri shoes, I didn't know the difference and didn't mention tri to him at any stage - what a bunch of Langers 90% of them are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

On the bike front, I think that's probably a really good price for the Defy 2, I see one up for 1000 euro on mycycles.ie.
    As for the pedals, all bikes tend to be shipped without pedals so if it was straight out of the box I wouldn't be surprised. A lot of higher end bikes are sold with the assumption that the owner will be using his own preferred clipless set up.

Which pedals did you get in the end? What you're looking for anyways are Road shoes, with 3 holes on the bottom of them for the cleats. You should have gotten the cleats with the pedals. The pedals probably weren't 90 euro to be honest. Get the make and model and we should be able to tell you.

You definitely need a decent pump, that's for sure. You'll be looking to have your tires around 100 psi minimum.

Tires, they're probably brutal stock ones anyways, better off changing them for something nice like Continental GP4000s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Hi guys,

I'm a long time lurker here but first time poster here, so please be gentle!

So basically I'm looking for some help/advice here.

First off, some background;

I decided recently after years of wanting to do so to get myself a bike. I've always been into endurance sports and was quite a good runner when I was younger. I'd probably consider myself to have a bit of talent when it comes to endurance sports, but chances are that's just me! I'm 26 now and as unfit as I've ever been, but changing that swiftly. I'm 6 foot and roughly 80KG, I'll drop down by about 10KG after about 8 weeks training. I wanted to get a bike to start cycling for fitness, getting to and from work and eventually building up to competing.

So I decided to buy a bike. I used the bike to work scheme to help fund me here, I spent the full 1000 euro. I was willing to put about 300-500 towards it also. This is the part where I should have came here looking for advice, what to buy, how much etc. But I didn't. Instead I decided to just go with a very well known bike shop in Dublin and trust their guidance. Possibly complete naivety on my part, but there you go.

So I go to the shop, I tell them I'm looking for a road bike for training and also commuting. We run through a few choices, I explain my budget and also explain that I not only want a bike, I want basic gear that I'd need too. The problem here is, I'm a newbie and don't know what I need. So that nice chap explains I'll probably need pump, bidon, helmet, pedals and a lock. Oh, and a bike. I explain I may need puncture proof tyres, as the roads around me are pretty much always covered in glass and other nasty stuff of that nature. He says that's no problem.

So the bike I went for was a Giant Defy 2. The dude just tells me I'm a large, I presume he knows what he's talking about so I go along with it. Looks like a nice bike, apparently has good brakes and gears, happy days! Price is 849 euro. He tells me I can use the rest of the money on the BTW scheme to pay for gear, and he'll throw in 80 euro worth for free too! Brilliant!

I was willing to buy shoes and other gear on the day, like I said I wanted to spend a good bit to keep me happy for a while.

So, I go to collect my bike a few weeks later. The guy I was talking to isn't in, so somebody else helps me out. He rolls out my bike, it looks so good and shiny! I mention then the extra gear I was promised and he literally says nothing. I tell him I need a helmet and he grabs one and lets me check if it fits. It does. He says, "There you go, your standard 60 euro helmet. Enjoy the bike!".

At this point I notice my bike has no pedals on it. I question him, his response is that they don't usually supply the pedals. WTF. I say I need pedals to cycle, so he goes over to a display bike and takes the pedals off them and puts them on my bike, they're the ones you slide your feet into. He says they're perfect for me. I also question the tyres on the bike, which look very fragile and used. He says, they'll be grand for you. And that's that.

So for my 1000 euro I got a bike at 849, helmet at 60 and pedals for the rest. Never mind the rest of the gear, but i can't help but feel those pedals shouldn't have costed that much? Am I wrong?

Also was promised free service after x amount of weeks, they won't answer my emails and I can't phone them from work. They only open during my working hours. I've tried to contact them so many times now but no reply. What can I do here?

Since they apparently won't help me, maybe you guys can. I have a few questions.

Did I get ripped off?
    Do I need a pump?
    I presume they need to use the bike to make sure it's safe, does this explain the used tyres?
    New pedals shoes and cleats, help me, what goes with what, I just need entry level, please recommend some for me! Willing to spend roughly 150 euro here, will that cover them?

Any help is very much appreciated,

Thanks in advance!

Name the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Name the shop.

Don't. Generally it's fairly shíte when people call out the shops on here and they can't defend themselves.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Name the shop.
    As already mentioned by _Tyrrell_ - don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Beasty wrote: »
    As already mentioned by _Tyrrell_ - don't.

Then what is the point of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

reassurance for the op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I'm open to correction but isn't the shop obliged to submit a detailed breakdown of bike,accessories etc. for acceptance prior to supplying the bike. I assume they gave you a copy too.

As has been said, bikes don't usually come with pedals - although most shops will stick on a standard pair unless you specify the type you wish to have.

There is no point naming the shop. I mistakenly presumed that the shop was a big well known one so they'd help me and they wouldn't rip me off.

@_Tyreell_

Thank you, that advice helps me a lot.

The pedals are just pedals that you don't clip into, like your foot rests on them except a strap comes across the top of your foot, does that make sense?

So 100psi, I'll look into getting new tyres.

I looked around and apparently that is a good price for the bike so regardless if the pedals were not 90 looks like i still got a decent deal I think!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

The OP saw no need to mention it and _Tyrrell_ has already provided a reason for it not to be posted.

Now if you have a question concerning moderation PM the mods or report the post - do not respond in thread

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Going by your username, you should speak to the chap who organises the sky Velo cycles (there's one Sunday!)

The bike shop doesn't need to quote all of the gear, merely a bike model and their price. So I had a defy 2 quoted on paper at 1000 with a loose verbal agreement for the gear included.

The point of the thread is reassurance.

Also, very important question.

Any bike shops in Dublin near the city centre that won't rip me off if I go looking for shoes and gear?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Get your gear from wiggle, your company has a decent discount option there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

Those pedals are about 15-20 euro, just to add to this.

you still probably got a decent deal, as long as they do your first service for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

Sorry to hear of your experience OP. Pretty common I expect and like a number I have heard.

As previously said, you should have gotten an itimised receipt for the money you were spending. You should drop in and ask for it to understand what you were charged for.

Get your gear from wiggle, your company has a decent discount option there

They do?

Sunday morning 9am?

Indeed, check out the transport hub on the intranet for details

letape wrote: »
    Sorry to hear of your experience OP. Pretty common I expect and like a number I have heard.

As previously said, you should have gotten an itemised receipt for the money you were spending. You should drop in and ask for it to understand what you were charged for.

Although as I said I think I have gotten a good deal my one issue is with them not giving me what they said they would! I would have paid for it if they didn't say they would give it to me it has put me off shopping there tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mp31

OP... did you get a receipt from the original sales person listing all the items? If not then try and talk to the original sales guy who sold you the bike and the accessories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Does the above info equate to 90 euros for ordinary pedals? I'd say you should certainly be looking to go back, hopefully find the first guy you dealt with & complain/explain. I'd say, never mind being taken advantage of, I'd imagine that's basically an illegal sale. That sounds a disgrace.

No receipt for the items mentioned, I just took it as it was a stand thing to throw the gear in, thought nothing of it when it wasn't listed, as i said just presumed that it was the norm to throw in some freebies!

Idiocy on my part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭redzerredzer

Bring everything you got up to the shop.
    Ask for the manager.
    Tell him exactely how you feel and ask him if he is happy that you got a fair deal for your €1000.

Mistakes happen but every shop will want to make sure you are a happy customer.

Pm me the shop

pelevin wrote: »
    Does the above info equate to 90 euros for ordinary pedals? I'd say you should certainly be looking to go back, hopefully find the first guy you dealt with & complain/explain. I'd say, never mind being taken advantage of, I'd imagine that's basically an illegal sale. That sounds a disgrace.

Correct, 90 euro for ordinary pedals with straps.

I can't contact the shop for the life of me, I shall be dropping in next week though when I'm off.

Bring everything you got up to the shop.
    Ask for the manager.
    Tell him exactely how you feel and ask him if he is happy that you got a fair deal for your €1000.

Mistakes happen but every shop will want to make sure you are a happy customer.

Pm me the shop

I'd rather not mention the shop name as I said. Won't make any difference if I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

Correct, 90 euro for ordinary pedals with straps.

I can't contact the shop for the life of me, I shall be dropping in next week though when I'm off.

The pedals are worth less than 20.

As someone posted, you should call in and ask to speak with the manager and explain your feelings and experience.

A friend of mine had a similar experience and in the end just gave up. He was fed up trying to contact the manager and the sales person. He also had endless problems with his bike - i helped him with them.

Hopefully it will be better for you.

letape wrote: »
    The pedals are worth less than 20.

As someone posted, you should call in and ask to speak with the manager and explain your feelings and experience.

A friend of mine had a similar experience and in the end just gave up. He was fed up trying to contact the manager and the sales person. He also had endless problems with his bike - i helped him with them.

Hopefully it will be better for you.

Ok, so pedals were overpriced. But bike was good price so not all bad.

Only problem with the bike is a bit of noise when in big gears, rattling or something i think, which is why I wanted to arrange the service!

Doesn't seem to affect performance at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I'd go back to the shop and speak to the person you spoke to the first time and explain what happened.

The chain noise in the big ring on the back and front is normal and is called cross chaining, generally you shouldnt use the big ring back and big ring front at the same time, and same goes for the smallest ring on the front and the back.

Ride the bike for around 200-250 kms and then bring it back for a service, cables stretch when theyre brand new and they should tighten/tension everything up for you again on the first service (which is generally free)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

I wont bother commenting on the service you got.

Did I get ripped off?
    Well no, you got a defy 2 for the price i paid for a Defy 3. Not bad

Do I need a pump?
    Yes. 2 actually.
    Here is your track pump http://www.wiggle.co.uk/topeak-joe-blow-sport-ii-track-pump/
    Here is your portable one ( i cant recommend this enough, 120psi on the road is easy) http://www.wiggle.co.uk/topeak-mountain-morph-pump/

Garbage. Get two of these. Cheap light and strong! http://www.evanscycles.com/products/bontrager/race-lite-hardcase-tyre-ec001737

Your pedals (comes with cleats) http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-pd-r540-spd-sl-sport-pedals/
    Your shoes cheap but good http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-r10-road-cycling-shoe/

Also. Get spare tubes, repair at home and swap out on roadside. Repair kit. All this plus some basic clothes will see you motoring do NOT use those stock tyres, they will break your heart. You have a good bike, you dont need to use those guys but I would expect a service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Smokeyskelton

What colour is the bike, and what group-set was provided? If you look at the rear derailleur it should have the word "Sora" or "Tiagra" clearly printed on it.

The reason I ask is that €849 is the list price for the Defy 3 (2013 or 2014 model), and to get a Defy 2 for that price would be a good deal. If the shop was less than honest with regards to other parts of the sale, it is possible that they palmed you off with a Defy 3 rather than the agreed Defy 2. Obviously I'm not saying that happened, just that it is possible.

Maybe you got a good deal on a 2013 model as it was end of line. I don't mean to add to your paranoia, but just want to be sure you actually got a Defy 2.

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »
    I wont bother commenting on the service you got.

Did I get ripped off?
    Well no, you got a defy 2 for the price i paid for a Defy 3. Not bad

Do I need a pump?
    Yes. 2 actually.
    Here is your track pump http://www.wiggle.co.uk/topeak-joe-blow-sport-ii-track-pump/
    Here is your portable one ( i cant recommend this enough, 120psi on the road is easy) http://www.wiggle.co.uk/topeak-mountain-morph-pump/

Garbage. Get two of these. Cheap light and strong! http://www.evanscycles.com/products/bontrager/race-lite-hardcase-tyre-ec001737

Your pedals (comes with cleats) http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-pd-r540-spd-sl-sport-pedals/
    Your shoes cheap but good http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb-r10-road-cycling-shoe/

Also. Get spare tubes, repair at home and swap out on roadside. Repair kit. All this plus some basic clothes will see you motoring do NOT use those stock tyres, they will break your heart. You have a good bike, you dont need to use those guys but I would expect a service.

Excellent stuff, thank you for the post :)

Just what I was looking for.

What colour is the bike, and what group-set was provided? If you look at the rear derailleur it should have the word "Sora" or "Tiagra" clearly printed on it.

The reason I ask is that €849 is the list price for the Defy 3 (2013 or 2014 model), and to get a Defy 2 for that price would be a good deal. If the shop was less than honest with regards to other parts of the sale, it is possible that they palmed you off with a Defy 3 rather than the agreed Defy 2. Obviously I'm not saying that happened, just that it is possible.

Maybe you got a good deal on a 2013 model as it was end of line. I don't mean to add to your paranoia, but just want to be sure you actually got a Defy 2.

Bike isn't with me at the moment, it's sortof grey. I'm nearly 100% sure it's the 2 model. I think it has Tiagra on it. I'll check tomorrow morning. From the looks of the Giant website the bike i have is the defy 2 anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭easygoing39

This whole tale is fredtastic,I can't wait to see what spec skyvel posts up off his bike.Maybe he got ripped off,maybe he didnt!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

Any bike shops in Dublin near the city centre that won't rip me off if I go looking for shoes and gear?
    P&K Cycles on Patrick St., Pauline is sound, and you'd be dealing with an owner who cares about the shops rep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

best bit of advice i can give reguarding bike shops is to stay the fook away from them, go and do a good bike maintanance course and then buy everything on line at half the price.
    i havent read all the thread just the op's but yeah i'de say you got ripped off big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

best bit of advice i can give reguarding bike shops is to stay the fook away from them, go and do a good bike maintanance course and then buy everything on line at half the price.
    i havent read all the thread just the op's but yeah i'de say you got ripped off big time.

A course isnt necessary. I can strip and re-build my bike now purely from watching YouTube videos and reading online manuals like parks and Sheldon brown. I bought a tool kit in aldi and there isn't a whole lot else needed.

CJC999 wrote: »
    A course isnt necessary. I can strip and re-build my bike now purely from watching YouTube videos and reading online manuals like parks and Sheldon brown. I bought a tool kit in aldi and there isn't a whole lot else needed.
    there you go no more worries, way to go and that's the truth of it.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jk_Eire

I bought a Giant Defy 2 last week.

Bike : €849 is a good price for the Defy 2. It's €999 rrp everywhere not having a sale. Solid bike too.
    Got mine at €779 though :D

You'll need to pop into the shop after a few of weeks to get your gears and breaks tightened as they'll loosen up a little. Most bike shops include this, and a free service afterwards. You should chase them about this.
    You can do this yourself either with a bit of googling.

The place I bought provides 1 free service and 3 safety checks.

Pedals: The Giant Defy 2 comes with standard toe clip pedals included with the bike.

See spec here: http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-gb/bikes/model/2013.giant.defy.2/11833/56805/#specifications

Pedals - Wellgo w/ toe clip

Bikes generally come in a box and are assembled for display without pedals.
    When I test rode a few bikes they just stuck whatever pedals were at hand onto the display bikes I wanted to test ride. As somebody mentioned earlier, road bikes don't come with pedals. That's true for non entry level, but most entry level bikes come with toe clip pedals. Like these. : http://www.cyclesportandfitness.com/images/67-27-147_ultralight_road_pedals_w_clips.jpg

The Giant Defy 2 definitely come with pedals, so if you were charged for them, you were ripped off and not sold the bike as advertised.

Pump: Yep, important if you're out on a long spin and you get a flat.

Tyres: I got 10% of my bikes value to spend on accessories as part of the deal I got. I immediately bought a pair of Gatorskins as I commute to work through the city and the standard tyres wouldn't be as puncture resistant. The first 6 months on my old Giant Rapid 4 with Giant stock tyres saw about 12 punctures. I got one picture over the next 2 years when I swapped them with GatorSkins.

The stocks tyres aren't too bad though. If the bike you bought was take out on a few test rides, they'll be scuffed a little. Unless they look really worn, I wouldn't worry.

Bike size : Two things here. Firstly, you really should have tested a couple of sizes yourself. Secondly, any decent bike shop should really encourage you to do this and take an interest in getting you the right size.
    A large sound about right in a Giant Defy 2 though. I think 6' to 6'3 is the recommended height for a large.

It sounds like shoddy service to me and they staff really didn't give a ****.
    I had a similar service buying my first bike and found the salesman very presumptive and a little blasé. I wasn't as into cycling as much as I am now, so I would have been a little naive.

Any dealings with bike shops these days are much better as I know what I need to ask for the most part.

I'd definitely be trying to get back to the shop. Especially for being charged for pedals that come with the bike not following up and servicing agreements.

Derailleur has Shimano Tiagra on it.

Tyres were only lightly scuffed which I presume was from 1 r 2 rides before, no big deal.

The size seems right for me, I'm 6" but have long legs and it feels right.

So I got ripped off on the pedals but a decent price on the bike, considering it looks like the Defy 2 should have come with pedals.

I'll try chase them down about a service next week when I'm off. I am meant to get 2 free services with it.

Thank you guys for all the advice.

All in all I'm happy enough with the bike and what I paid considering what has been said. The service was absolutely shocking though. Man. I'm just surprised as I would have spent a lot more in the shop had my experience not been so poor.

It's amazing how off-putting people like the guy I dealt with was, I mean it seems like I'm clearly not the only one who has had poor experiences. Like what's the deal? Do they not want people to start cycling and spend money in their shop? Just seems strange to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭gaffmaster

If the shop didn't give you exactly what they offered you for the money you both agreed on, then the shop hasn't honoured their side of the contract. It doesn't need to be written down.

If you wanted to pursue things further you could contact consumer help or something. It's probably easier to try and meet the guy who promised you the free gear.

Most importantly: Enjoy your new bike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Derailleur has Shimano Tiagra on it.

What do the shifters say?

What else did you get for the €1000, just the pedals and a helmet? If so is it possible you just paid €999 for the Defy 2 and the €80 of freebies were the helmet and some cheapo pedals????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

It seems par for the course with bike shops here.

I've bought 3 1000EUR+ bikes in the last 3 months (not all for me!) from 3 different well-known shops in Dublin, and they didn't once measure before ordering, only one did any kind of fit on delivery (after I asked), one kept me waiting an hour on delivery, and one nicked an accessory off a bike sent back for its service and a bar change (because their sizing guess was wrong).

Honestly with each one of these purchases, I literally might as well have bought online and spent some research time assembling and fitting the bikes and accessories myself. Never again from me, but sadly the places will still make their cash from the lowest common denominator, selling bollocks uncomfortable ill-fitting bikes to people who don't know better.

happytramp wrote: »
    What do the shifters say?

What else did you get for the €1000, just the pedals and a helmet? If so is it possible you just paid €999 for the Defy 2 and the €80 of freebies were the helmet and some cheapo pedals????

No, I was offered the Defy 1 for 999 but I wanted gear so went with the Defy 2 for 849. This I am 100% sure of.

Shifters say Shimano Tiagra Doubles and Shimano Taigra 10 speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

No, I was offered the Defy 1 for 999 but I wanted gear so went with the Defy 2 for 849. This I am 100% sure of.

In that case you got a very good deal over all but it can't hurt to track down the original guy and see if he'll honor his promise and give you some free stuff. (Track pump, mini-tool, etc)

tiagra is pretty good fear not.
    when you get really hooken on cycling you will know to sus out everything on line and i do mean everything.
    www.bikediscount. for starters.
    anyway enjoy and be safe on the road.;)