Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Triailing shoe v Dribble bar

• 02-09-2013 10:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭

What are the advantages or not of both? Is one better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

surely if you set the dribble bar so the pipes are trailing the ground you would get the same effect for half the price and more durable to boot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

delaval wrote: »

drible bar - cheaper to run, wider working widths, less chance for the jockey to damage.

Trailing shoe - more moving parts, easier damaged, cleaner overall job, more power needed

surely if you set the dribble bar so the pipes are trailing the ground you would get the same effect for half the price and more durable to boot

More smearing with the dribble bar, wont part the grass if there is medium to high covers, if your running a tight rotation I would definitely go with trailing shoe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Any difference in the nutrient value or hit of the slurry?

Are they worth considering visa-vie splash plate?

Any difference in the nutrient value or hit of the slurry?

Are they worth considering visa-vie splash plate?

books will tell you trailing shoe is better at retaining nutrients. Frankly I think allot of the retaining nutrient value is a load of tosh in my opinion. the running costs will be higher than the cost savings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

There have been several false starts around here with dribble bars and trailing shoes none were in use for very long. Dribble bars don't seem to be worth the effort and trailing shoes don't seem to be mad about stones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

a lot has to do about when you spread your slurry. the tradional splash plate is proably the most cost effective way when spreading in sprig or authnm but the grass will not be grazable for a few weeks.

the dribble bar and trailing shoe allow the slurry to be spread in feilds during a grazign rotoation so by the time the cows are back in the grass can be eaten. dribble bars seem a cheaper system more simple solution tot eh trailing shoe. both would need a chopper to prevent any build up in the slurry from blocking the pipes.

i would say that a lot will depend on the quality of the slurry going out and how watery it is also if there is a high amount of things like stones it would be a disatar. dairy farmer near here has a trailign shoe only uses it during the grazing months and goes in after the paddocks have been cleaned off. he bypasses the shoe and spreads with a splash plate in feb and march.

brother in law uses both, they spread mostly during the spring and summer months, they use the shoe mostly in grazing areas and the dribble on the tillage and silage fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Never used the dribble bar but have used the shoe a bit this year and well impressed with it.very clean job,put 3.5 k out on covers close to 1000 and grazed our clean 10 days later with cows.think you'd proably get a better bang for your slurry with the shoe as its injected into the ground to the plants roots rather than smeared along the ground where it could evaporate etc.my contractor bought a shoe for his tank this year and think it set him back somewhere between 20 and 25 k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

drible bar - cheaper to run, wider working widths, less chance for the jockey to damage.

Trailing shoe - more moving parts, easier damaged, cleaner overall job, more power needed
    I agree. The less moving parts the better

If I had a small bit more power I would have a trailing shoe here, my biggest issues with slurry is the smell for locals as we have to spread allot of days to get tanks emptied coupled with a tight rotation and a trailing shoe it would be for me. I will grab a few pics of slurry applied 5 days ago with trailing shoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Regards trailing shoe, would the absolute optimum method, assuming you could, be trailing shoe on the umbilical system. Know theres a farmer in Derry who has his own umbillical and spreads slurry whenever he feels, less of a problem with poaching of ground ect. expensive measure no doubt.

Im not convinced of the dribble bar, think that its a half way house, but a half way job. leaves a thick line on top of the grass from what i have seen. realistically i imagine something like the trailing shoe where you are not praying for raining to come before any damage to the leaf occurs following application.

Horses for courses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Know theres a farmer in Derry who has his own umbillical and spreads slurry whenever he feels, less of a problem with poaching of ground ect. expensive measure no doubt.

What about keeping within the slurry spreading dates?

within the spreading dates i meant, , probably means he can get out early etc assuming hes tight for storage,
    im not trying to put some kind of a bias on this method,
    just was at a visit at his farm and his argum,ent was that he can hook the chord on and go off and spread the whole place in compariosn to drawing from tankers etc, i recall he used splash plate tho.

ive often wondered would it be financially viable to get a smaller amount of 20-30 acres done by contractor using chord and trailing shoe, and would they do it

just wondered did anyone else do this,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

ive often wondered would it be financially viable to get a smaller amount of 20-30 acres done by contractor using chord and trailing shoe, and would they do it

just wondered did anyone else do this,

They will do it. Contractors around us will spread a 4 bay slatted shed for about €150 per bay.

However, the biggest issue that we have had with umbilical contractors was their ability to no listen to us.

8 bay shed to put out on 40 acres. It was in 2 opposite directions from the shed. They had to roll up the pipe to bring it in the second direction. they got lazy and spread the whole tank on 22 acres. Never got him again. Next year, the other contractor complained about having to roll up pipe and basically we let him just put out half the tank and we spread the other half with own tanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

for the dairy man i'd say the shoe would be better, espically if you need to empty tanks during the summer, i see lads throwing it out on silage gound a i reckon its just a waste of time just bakes into the ground. you would have tanks filling year round with the dairy washings and any housing during bad weather so there would be a need to get a few loads out all the time. also there is supposed to no delay in gettign the paddock back into the grazing cycle.

i suppose you have to ask your self what size tank would you need and will you need more power to pull it as you'll need to have a chopper to prevent blockages. if you have to trade up the tractor that might push teh cost too far unless you want to get a big old second yoke just for puttign out the slurry

other thing would be to get in a contractor a couple of times to put it out with a shoe then use your existing tank to splash plate in the spring.

I spread mainly early spring and fall so according to ye no great advantage to me.

There doesn't seem to be many of ye with much info on it.

Ok I can use in covers of 1000 or use to reduce smell. Would that summarise it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

trailing shoe is a great job, no experience with other,

how much is it to get trailing shoe done a hour? €60?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

rs8 wrote: »

60 bucks an hour in my knock of the woods anyway,can spread about 4 2500 gallon tanks an hour on milking block

rs8 wrote: »

Do you find more nutriant uptake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭stop thelights

I happened to come across the dribble bar that goes on the back of the tanker by accident at last years ploughing. I think it was on slurry kats stand.

Anyway we priced it up and it was around 9grand plus vat and that's includes a hydraulic driven crusher yoke (haha). That needed no welding to fit to any tank.

At the time I thought it was great value but I'd much prefer to see how it actually performs in the field and what kind of job it does before parting with any money.

Do you find more nutriant uptake?

would it be worth your while getting in a contractor and comparing the performance verus your splash plate?

the other major benefit to any type of injector, trailing shoe, dribble bar is the ability to work in dry weather and not be damaging soil structure. Those 2.5k gls tanks are around 12 ton in weight on a single axle.

Covers were a little heavy in these two fields (contractor only comes twice a year so needs must) and there is smearing done where the wheels rolled over the grass other wise slurry harly noticeable and spread 5 days ago at 3k gals thick cattle slurry

Middle pic is of where the tanker must have passed 25 times entering and exiting the field. No mud on roads and not much of a smell helps keep neighbors happy and tanks getting emptied

the other major benefit to any type of injector, trailing shoe, dribble bar is the ability to work in dry weather and not be damaging soil structure. Those 2.5k gls tanks are around 12 ton in weight on a single axle.

Covers were a little heavy in these two fields (contractor only comes twice a year so needs must) and there is smearing done where the wheels rolled over the grass other wise slurry harly noticeable and spread 5 days ago at 3k gals thick cattle slurry

Middle pic is of where the tanker must have passed 25 times entering and exiting the field. No mud on roads and not much of a smell helps keep neighbors happy and tanks getting emptied

spotted a lone ragweed in the top left of pic1, your slipping up bob

yellow50HX wrote: »
    spotted a lone ragweed in the top left of pic1, your slipping up bob

thats young fellows for you nowadays, told to top the field and they leave the yellow flowers

Covers were a little heavy in these two fields (contractor only comes twice a year so needps must) and there is smearing done where the wheels rolled over the grass other wise slurry harly noticeable and spread 5 days ago at 3k gals thick cattle slurry

My crop production lecturer told us that 75% of compaction is carried out on the first pass. So " spreading it out over ten tracks in the field is worse of than tramping one bit to devil, what's people's opinions, I see controlled traffic farming CTF is big in UK In arable situations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

You also need to consider what the cattle are being fed on, unchopped baled silage I would imagine plays havoc with both!
    reilig wrote: »

However, the biggest issue that we have had with umbilical contractors was their ability to no listen to us.

8 bay shed to put out on 40 acres. It was in 2 opposite directions from the shed. They had to roll up the pipe to bring it in the second direction. they got lazy and spread the whole tank on 22 acres. Never got him again. Next year, the other contractor complained about having to roll up pipe and basically we let him just put out half the tank and we spread the other half with own tanker.

The attitude of both contractors stinks in my view, the customer is always right and if they didn't want to do it then they should have said....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

I have hand a contractor in for the last few years(trailing shoe)
    Noted that after silage cut last year that the bands of slurry were still clearly visible in the field the silage lads were having a laugh saying that the surrey for 2nd cut was already spread (thus I suppose was due to to drowths last year)
    Also noted at year end you could still see the combed look on the swards - I presume that the grass under the slurry actually died ( in paddocks I also noted that grass under cows wee also died and grass near ash trees looked like it would not recover )---I presume that in a more normal year this would not be noticeable ( I did not notice this in 2012)

In short low lovers (fec kin autocorrect in iPad) covers I recon splash plate is better because if dry weather follows the bands of slurry from trailing shoe can dry out and lift up and end up sitting on top of the grass.

My lad looks for 55+vat but at that price he is not getting much work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Hugh 2 wrote: »
    I have hand a contractor in for the last few years(trailing shoe)
    Noted that after silage cut last year that the bands of slurry were still clearly visible in the field the silage lads were having a laugh saying that the surrey for 2nd cut was already spread (thus I suppose was due to to drowths last year)
    Also noted at year end you could still see the combed look on the swards - I presume that the grass under the slurry actually died ( in paddocks I also noted that grass under cows wee also died and grass near ash trees looked like it would not recover )---I presume that in a more normal year this would not be noticeable ( I did not notice this in 2012)

In short low lovers (fec kin autocorrect in iPad) covers I recon splash plate is better because if dry weather follows the bands of slurry from trailing shoe can dry out and lift up and end up sitting on top of the grass.

My lad looks for 55+vat but at that price he is not getting much work.

was the slurry put out too thick/concentrated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Hugh 2

grazeaway wrote: »
    was the slurry put out too thick/concentrated?
    When I am paying contractor I prefer to have him spreading slurry rather than water.
    It was the lack of rain on 2013 that I blame
    Spread a few days when the season opened this year ( there is no sign of the slurry now ) (not that I went into the fields looking for it )