Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'99 Golf 1.9 SDI

• 02-09-2013 2:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭

Howye, lads.

I'm gonna have a gander at this later on this evening:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-golf-99-1-9sdi/5501783

I was hoping to tap into your collective wisdom and see what y'all think. I've been trawling through the motoring sections on Boards for the last week, finding out as much as I can about second-hand cars and what to look out for (panel colour, symmetry, fresh welds, oil etc. ), but I was hoping you could give me some feedback on this particular model. Is there anything that I should especially look out for?

At 1200 blips, it looks like a bit of a steal. I'm doing 110kms daily on main roads, and the little 1.1 206 is an animal for juice at 70mph+. It's time to move on.

All feedback is appreciated :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

May I ask why are you looking at the SDI version over the TDI? I think sdi are slow, but I assume your guarantied good mpg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Had an 01 bora SDI and sold about 5 years plus ago for 2.2k with less muiles than that. But the Golfs tend to hold their value.
    Overall it was a great car, quite basic but very reliable (there's nothing much to go wrong, no DPF's or turbos etc). Dead as a door nail, would really need to plan ovetaking well in advance. Overall was very good car for what it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

I read before that driving a SDI engine car, your heart beats a fewer slower per minute. Down to the 'relaxing' nature of the engine. Fewer gear changes are required due to the bucket loads of torque that comes from it.

The average VW TDI isn't exactly what you'd call unreliable but apparently SDI even more so. Basic principle, there's fewer parts to go wrong.

Fuel consumption about the same.

When getting insurance quotes in the past for a SDI Golf, it was a little less than a TDI because of so much less power.

That's my two cents anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭acri

May I ask why are you looking at the SDI version over the TDI? I think sdi are slow, but I assume your guarantied good mpg.

Purely based on the price. The engine type has no real baring on my decision. I don't really NEED the power (except for overtaking the painfully slow motorists between Kilcock and Trim :-\ ). The economy is what's most important to me. That and am I right to assume a decent-sized diesel engine will last me another few years? Even at 150,000 miles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

acri wrote: »
    Howye, lads.

I'm gonna have a gander at this later on this evening:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-golf-99-1-9sdi/5501783

I was hoping to tap into your collective wisdom and see what y'all think. I've been trawling through the motoring sections on Boards for the last week, finding out as much as I can about second-hand cars and what to look out for (panel colour, symmetry, fresh welds, oil etc. ), but I was hoping you could give me some feedback on this particular model. Is there anything that I should especially look out for?

At 1200 blips, it looks like a bit of a steal. I'm doing 110kms daily on main roads, and the little 1.1 206 is an animal for juice at 70mph+. It's time to move on.

All feedback is appreciated :)

There are a few slower methods of getting from A to B than that car, but most of them spend their days grazing in fields.

I had one of them as a company car (think it was a 01). It's only 68bhp, and is slower than molasses nearly 17 secs 0-60). Will be thrifty enough, prob mid-50's. The one you've linked to looks like a Baseline with added alloys, so very little by the way of creature comforts in there. That said, it looks pretty clean for its age, and theres not a lot can go wrong with them.

road_high wrote: »
    Overall was very good car for what it was.

Great. It needn't be anything special. At this moment, I just need something that can get me to and from work with minimal hassle, and won't cost me the earth.
    pajor wrote: »
    When getting insurance quotes in the past for a SDI Golf, it was a little less than a TDI because of so much less power.

Actually yes, this is another issue in choosing the car. Seeing as I've only had my full license for a few weeks, insurance is still a bit of a pain (even at 25). To be honest, I'm surprised I even got a quote for the Golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,655 ✭✭✭✭road_high

As long as you're not expecting too much as regards performance then go for it. I found the Bora supremely reliable and easily cheapest car I ever had to run in terms of MPG and parts. Coming from a 206 I would consider an SDI VW a step up!! :D

There are a few slower methods of getting from A to B than that car, but most of them spend their days grazing in fields.

Although it would be nice to have something with a bit of poke, but because of insurance, it simply won't happen for me.

Hopefully this time next year with a years no claims under my belt, I can finally get that 320Cd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I don't really NEED the power (except for overtaking the painfully slow motorists between Kilcock and Trim :-\ ).

They'll be stuck behind you :pac:

Seriously, even get an avensis 2.0 TD if you're worried about reliability

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭PN14

The SDI's are pretty much unbreakable however there is a draw back. You will not be passing any of the painfully slow drivers on country roads you mention above in one of your posts. If you do you'll be able to wind down the window and have a conversation with them.
    We had both the SDI & TDI mark IV golfs at work back in the day. While internally they are the same no one wanted the SDI's to be honest because they were that far behind the TDI's in normal driving performance (and by this I don't mean tearing up the road doing donuts).
    I put 200,000 miles in a Mark IV TDI model golf in about 4 years and for a car that had a hard life it was excellent apart from usual VW running gear bushings, cv joints and the like oh and bulbs as well. I hope you have small hands front headlights blow for fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 andrew1300r

Why would you bother looking at an sdi golf.. 68bhp compared to 90bhp or 110bhp.. I reckon the tdi's would be more economical on the juice due to far more torque available. Sdi Vw's were bought by tight arses who wouldn't pay an extra grand or so new for a tdi. They usually are a plain red which means the tight arses wouldn't even pay extra for a metallic paint colour ! Sdi' are pure dirt .Leave the sdi's to the caddy vans & seat inca's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They'll be stuck behind you :pac:

Seriously, even get an avensis 2.0 TD if you're worried about reliability

First thing I think of with a 2.0 TD is cracked cylinder heads.....

I drove an SDI Bora on a test drive and got very concerned that it wasn't going right. Then the owner said its fine its normal. Oh my :o

The 2.8 non turbo Daily van is quicker than it, even a Seicento, imagine the shame of being outpaced by a Sei! Sei would return the same mpg's too :p

As for mpg, my 406 on average about 45 combined, I scraped 53 from it one day. But it has nearly 3 times the power of an SDI :p

My advice is look at other options of that vintage with a turbo, when you don't have the power to get up that hill it'll drink up like a desperate mid 30's spinster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Great. It needn't be anything special. At this moment, I just need something that can get me to and from work with minimal hassle, and won't cost me the earth.

Actually yes, this is another issue in choosing the car. Seeing as I've only had my full license for a few weeks, insurance is still a bit of a pain (even at 25). To be honest, I'm surprised I even got a quote for the Golf.

I'm getting quotes for a Range Rover Sport and CLS320 CDI at 20. Where do you people look for insurance? :eek:

dgt wrote: »
    First thing I think of with a 2.0 TD is cracked cylinder heads.....

My one never missed a beat to be fair.

Next door neighbour has 2 identically engined D-Turbo carina E's last 14 and 8 years without issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

My one never missed a beat to be fair.

Next door neighbour has 2 identically engined D-Turbo carina E's last 14 and 8 years without issue.

A local taxi driver had 2 from new, both heads cracked. One was a 99 and the replacement was a 00. Often saw people coming into the yard asking for cylinder heads due to their own ones being cracked.......

Its a wonder there's any of them left on the road so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Rock solid engine though if you get a 90hp or 110hp TDI you won't be dealing with an engine that is less reliable. Fair enough, the SDI doesn't have a turbo that is going to go wrong on you but the TDIs of those power outputs will easily last you as long.

Those engine outputs (not 105, 115 or anything like that) will limit you to Golf/Bora/Passats of 1998 to 2002ish. I think some Audis of similar vintage should have the 110hp TDI.

The reason I would limit yourself to those power outputs is that roughly speaking 2002 brought a transition from one generation of TDI to another, which is where things begin to go wrong.

I have owned a 90hp TDI for 4 or 5 years now and not a problem with the engine. Nearing 195 000 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The SDi is a very economical engine/car but dangerously slow. Overtaking is more or less non existent unless its passing a tractor (drawing a heavy load) or a cyclist or something stopped.

I know you stated that mpg was a major factor for you but I'd advise you to go and test drive the car and see yourself how desperately slow they actually are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

People say the 1.4 75bhp golf is slow. Nothing is furthur from the truth. And I also have a 260+bhp car I drive the 1.4 with my foot welded to the floor,using the gears to get up to speed the 260bhp car not so. The only time I notice the slowness is overtaking which is not needed often. The diesel may not be as nice as a revvy petrol though.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

...Next door neighbour has 2 identically engined D-Turbo carina E's last 14 and 8 years without issue.

Did he ever own a Laguna? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

I had one for 2 months as a company vehicle. After 2 months I told them I was gone if they didn't give me one of the turbo ones.

Id compare it to a 1.2 petrol. Very slow. I could only get 36 mpg out of it because you spend so long at full throttle

Even moderate slopes on main roads it cant maintain 65-70 mph

Horrible engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Its a wonder there's any of them left on the road so.

The one I bought of you is still faultless, I only spent 30 quid on it so far on a window regulator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

OP I dont know where you are getting insurance quotes but I got insured on a 00 TDI 90 bhp 5.5 years ago when I was 17. Still have the car to this day, she is creeping up on 200k miles now and never, ever had any issue with the engine. Still on its original clutch too.

During this time I had a loan of an SDI golf for a few days. I was never more happy to return a car. Easily one of the worst cars available. It was a pig on diesel too, I put about 15 litres into it and got less than 120 miles. You spend your time with your foot to the floor and changing down gears to get it to move.

The thing just doesnt go, it will struggle to maintain 60mph, you can forget about motorway speeds unless the wind is at your back. Painful car to drive, trust me the TDI is just as reliable and easily more fuel efficient.

FBD, AXA, 123, Chill, 25plus, AA, Aviva, One Direct, nor First Ireland would quote me on a TDi. The chap at AXA was mad helpful, telling me my options are limited because I've only legally just hit the road on my own. For the craic of it, I asked AXA for a quote on an '01 320d. Six grand. Six.

It's all money, lads. All money.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I was a passenger in an Golf 1.9 SDI once (refused to drive it).

We were routinely overtaken by cyclists, disabilty scooters, milk floats, and even a couple of 1.4 Focuses.

I got out eventually and walked. Arrived before the Golf too.

FBD, AXA, 123, Chill, 25plus, AA, Aviva, One Direct, nor First Ireland would quote me on a TDi. The chap at AXA was mad helpful, telling me my options are limited because I've only legally just hit the road on my own. For the craic of it, I asked AXA for a quote on an '01 320d. Six grand. Six.

Something doesnt add up, an insurance company should not have any difficulty with producing a quote for a fully licensed driver on a 90bhp car. Have you a previous driving conviction or anything? Trust me, you are more likely to end up in a crash in an SDI than a TDI, they are so underpowered they are a hazard. Drive it and you will see.

I've 2 years as a named driver and I'm getting a quote on a CLS 320 CDI. Something doesn't add up.

I don't know what to tell you. No convictions, employed (if that matters), 25, no penalty points, no issues while on the Provisional, car is kept in a private underground car park at night and in a locked compound during the day.

Not worth the risk in their opinion, I guess.

Where do you live and what job do you do? Those are two important aspects on top of that.

I see the issue - no NCB.

Feck it, I went for it. I see what y'all mean about the lack of power. On the straight, the 1.1 206 can outpace it. But fuel economy is what I was after. And reliability. In the high revs, it's suckin' diesel pretty hard, but on the leisurely trip home, it's doing more than double my previous mpg.

Brake sensor sorted, front wheels put on the correct side, and new radio installed, I'm happy :)

Just one little thing. There's a short belt (about 16") to the front, down and left of the engine that's a bit frayed. Is this an urgent fix?

Thank you all for your feedback, by the by.

Try and get it included in the purchase of the car. Its the alternator belt, not expensive to replace unlike the timing belt.

I reckon whatever saving you get in fuel economy will be offset by the increase in tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭woody33

Good for you, well wear. (As they say in these parts.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭heinervb

Feck it, I went for it. I see what y'all mean about the lack of power. On the straight, the 1.1 206 can outpace it. But fuel economy is what I was after. And reliability. In the high revs, it's suckin' diesel pretty hard, but on the leisurely trip home, it's doing more than double my previous mpg.

Brake sensor sorted, front wheels put on the correct side, and new radio installed, I'm happy :)

Just one little thing. There's a short belt (about 16") to the front, down and left of the engine that's a bit frayed. Is this an urgent fix?

Thank you all for your feedback, by the by.

Hows it going now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

The irony of being 2 years late to a discussion about an SDI. ..