Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Educating Yorkshire

• 30-08-2013 5:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭

I think this looks like it could be good. :)
    I never saw, or even heard of Educating Essex but i'm going to give it a look over the weekend.

Educating Yorkshire starts on Thursday the 5th of September

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/educating-yorkshire/episode-guide
    Series 1 Summary

Filmed at Thornhill Community Academy near Dewsbury, Educating Yorkshire captures every detail of life in the school, from playground hijinks and inspirational lessons to life-changing events. It follows the work of Headteacher Jonny Mitchell to better the chances for all his students and build on successive years of improving exam results.
    Located at the heart of a diverse northern community and with a student population that is almost exactly half white-British and half British-Asian, the school offers a fascinating insight into modern school life in the UK. Told with warmth and humour, Educating Yorkshire explores the universally-recognisable themes of teenage life and those all-important pupil-teacher relationships that lie at the heart of everyone's formative years.

The trailer hooked me a little, anyone else planning on watching it?

Trailer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Wasn't there a similar thing a few years ago that was Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

tvnutz wrote: »
    Wasn't there a similar thing a few years ago that was Irish?
    Was there?

Never saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭johnire

Yes. It was on RTE 2 or 3 years ago. From memory it was filmed in a school in Co Meath. It was really good.
    Allyall wrote: »
    Was there?

Never saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

johnire wrote: »
    Yes. It was on RTE 2 or 3 years ago. From memory it was filmed in a school in Co Meath. It was really good.

Yeah I remember that, it was in some community school in Meath- a really good programme.

I'm watching this at the moment- I'm a secondary teacher so can really empathise with a lot of the stuff that's going on! Some kids are so so difficult to get through to.

And then some of them are real characters- kids that get themselves in trouble but underneath it all you'd have such a soft spot for them. I can't stop laughing at the one that shaved her eyebrows off, I'd say I'd love her and want to kill her in equal measures if I taught her!

I need to go to sleep but want to just get the last few minutes of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Woo, found a thread on this!
    I'm LOVING this show. I was delighted that blonde girl didn't get to go to her prom; she didn't deserve to.

fussyonion wrote: »
    Woo, found a thread on this!
    I'm LOVING this show. I was delighted that blonde girl didn't get to go to her prom; she didn't deserve to.

Yeah. She thought the Principal and the School had it in for her family.. Nothing to do with the fact that she's a useless bully and shít stirrer.

Felt really sorry for that group of lads, obviously in particular the lad that got picked on a lot, and lost control of himself. He took the blame too easily.

Good to see he went on to college with a letter of recommendation.

Allyall wrote: »
    Yeah. She thought the Principal and the School had it in for her family.. Nothing to do with the fact that she's a useless bully and shít stirrer.

Felt really sorry for that group of lads, obviously in particular the lad that got picked on a lot, and lost control of himself. He took the blame too easily.

Good to see he went on to college with a letter of recommendation.

I thought that group of lads were so lovely; their support for their friend was touching and a rarity to see.

Fair play to the lad for getting anger management.

That isolation room thing would have been a great thing to have back when I was a teen-I'd have hated being stuck in there on my own!

The principal in the Yorkshire school is a bit of alright :o

I thought that group of lads were so lovely; their support for their friend was touching and a rarity to see.

Fair play to the lad for getting anger management.

That isolation room thing would have been a great thing to have back when I was a teen-I'd have hated being stuck in there on my own!
    Yeah, they were a good bunch. Not into all the cráp around them. They were also a bit naive, but they stood up for their principles.

I think the isolation room is great too. Some of the schools here could take a few ideas from them.
    The principal in the Yorkshire school is a bit of alright :o

Erm.. Prob need a females perspective on that. :)

But the Staff seem pretty good. Able to talk to the kids.
    I thought it was a bit odd the way some of the pupils could curse etc. in class.

The kid that wants to be Prime Minister.. :D

He's brilliant!! :D

"My mam says i'm like an old mans head on a young boys shoulders."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I taught in a school that had 2 isolation areas so there are definitely schools here using it.

It's a great show. The staff seem very good and some of the kids are hilarious.

Yeah I did find it weird how the kids were allowed curse.
    Back in my day, (about 12 years ago), if you swore, you'd get a stern talking to and possibly detention.

I taught in a school that had 2 isolation areas so there are definitely schools here using it.

It's a great show. The staff seem very good and some of the kids are hilarious.

My school sent you to the library.. :( Which meant walking past the library and out the school gates for a period.

Then again, looking back, the way the school i went to was run, was appalling. Very limited and uncreative.

I like the way in that school, they also give each pupil a chance to explain their version. Nothing like that happened in mine.. Jaysis, i'm starting to feel hard done by now.. :o:)
    Yeah I did find it weird how the kids were allowed curse.
    Back in my day, (about 12 years ago), if you swore, you'd get a stern talking to and possibly detention.

Same. And if you spoke back, with any signs of anger (probably coming from you feeling unjustly picked on). Possible suspension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

I found it strange that the blonde girl had been excluded many times and was still allowed back on the premises. must be very distracting for the pupils and teachers to have that disruption in the class. The oul Christian Brothers boxed us around for minor things! Showing my age now! :confused: