Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your least favourite topic of conversation?

• 29-08-2013 6:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭

What subject gives you brain pain when somebody brings it up in a conversation?

I really hate talking about the recession because I care very little about it and can't bring anything to the table but that's only second.

Because I'm friends with a lot of teachers I have to endure a lot of conversations about teaching and it bores me to death. I respect teachers, I wouldn't be able to do their job but no other professional talks about their job as much in my experience. My own fault for my choice of friends I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Politics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Periods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Also the recession or when people start talking about what a ****hole Ireland is and how they hate it. I just switch off, it's always people that have never lived anywhere else as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Children, child birth, nappies. anything little darling related.
    People talking about their dreams. Would put a glass eye to sleep.
    Teeth and dentists. My phobia. Freaks me out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Z list Celebrities. Come to think of it, A, B, C....etc list Celebraties.

Celebrities being the theme of this post.

Celebrities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

Anything to do with religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

That local sports team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭GreenWolfe

Sports, especially football. I couldn't think of anything more boring, I tune out if people start talking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

[quote="lahalane;86273080"

Because I'm friends with a lot of teachers I have to endure a lot of conversations about teaching and it bores me to death. I respect teachers, I wouldn't be able to do their job but no other professional talks about their job as much in my experience. My own fault for my choice of friends I guess.[/quote]

I'm a teacher and I actually totally agree with you. I try to be very conscious of it if non-teachers are with us, must be both boring and irritating.

The topic I hate when people bring it up is religion. Serious buzz kill.

I also hate when people go on about their gym sessions and classes they took. I go to the gym and go swimming but I don't feel the need to mention it all that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

music.

Let me listen to it, fine. Give me tips on music you like, great. But stop endlessly talking about the jaysus "dissonance" or "signature cadence". :mad:

Corvo wrote: »
    Australia

Quite. Never understood the fascination. Almost exactly like America but further away than America, more expensive than America, not nearly as interesting as America, not as friendly as America and is had little of the history or culture of America, except the crap stuff they imported from America.

Baffles me why people rave about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

MadsL wrote: »
    Quite. Never understood the fascination. Almost exactly like America but further away than America, more expensive than America, not nearly as interesting as America, not as friendly as America and is had little of the history or culture of America, except the crap stuff they imported from America.

And if you pull someone up on it, they claim that you're just jealous?? I was in Australia for 8 months. The reason I am home is because I didn't like it so I am certainly NOT jealous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

I know. I totally zone out.

"Oh I can't wait to...you know...just get back to Perth. It's just like heaven and you earn so much money and the weather and the weed and the..."

And I'm thinking "Will you just ever feck off back there and take your kind with you"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Illness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

The weather.

I'm not sure I'm really Irish! :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Morbid things

Work

Listening to people getting the latest car suppose doesnt bother me as much since having a car of your own you take less interest in something if you little interest or not much to do with it.

Ailments

Or things that bore me to tears or hearing if they got the latest gizmo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Haemorrhoids.

Dammit Dad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Diets

• Site Banned Posts: 257 ✭✭Driveby Dogboy

or America...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Pensivepuca

"when you getting married" or "when you getting a fella". At the birth of my nephew my cousin, in all seriousness asked when was I gonna have my own child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Anything from the other person, tbh. I'm just waiting for my chance to talk, like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I hate 'celeb' fucks up' topics a la Miley Cyrus this week. I just have no interest especially an American teen who I've never seen in a movie or t.v and I've never heard a song of hers.

All I know about her was she swam out of Billy Ray Cyrus' balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

All I know about her was she swam out of Billy Ray Cyrus' balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Sports. I'm not really into sports but my mates are, so when they're having a conversation about football or something, i'm like the invisible man.

I suppose politics is a least liked topic of mine too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Anything from the other person, tbh. I'm just waiting for my chance to talk, like everyone else.

The opposite of talking isn't listening. The opposite of talking is waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Celebrities. And soaps and reality TV. Or "talent" shows.

I makes my brain hurt with utter, undescribeable boredom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Politics
    Cancer/heart disease/strokes/other serious illness
    People bragging about money
    Negative talk about the recession/corruption/Iraq war

or America...

Fair enough, I just never understood why people would travel twice as far to see the same stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Marriage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Politics
    Cancer/heart disease/strokes/other serious illness
    People bragging about money
    Negative talk about the recession/corruption/Iraq war

Is there such a thing as positive talk about any of these subjects?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

B0jangles wrote: »

Frank Lebowitz doesn't post here. You've lied to me B0jangles! That's your one.

• Site Banned Posts: 257 ✭✭Driveby Dogboy

doovdela wrote: »
    S...e...x
    yeah, same here.

probably because im not getting much, or any at all, recently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

I hate when people start talking about bad things that have happened to people recently....you know like bullsh*t gossip.

'oh jees I heard they're scrapped for cash. Sure didn't he divorce her there. You don't see him walking his dog anymore anyway. And sure look at him he stopped dieing the hair as well. Jees ya know things are bad when that fella stops dieing his hair. He's badly off. Sure the daughter's in college. Sure they must have loads of money. Anyway the washing is out and the spuds are boiling.'

I hate a few things about Irish people, but that's the definitely the big one. Bad mouthing gossip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Ya gossip/drama of any kind - not just a disliked topic, probably make me dislike the person too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭MissD93

religion .. i hate talking about it because its so vast and i don't want to come off like a d!ck head, also i don't like hearing peoples views on religion as they seem a bit biased and makes me like them a little bit less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The over-hype and over-analysis of blow-in fans of rugby.

Second only to the pedestrianisation of Norwich City in terms of tedious conversation