Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Learner driver without fully licensed driver - Risks are too low

• 28-08-2013 9:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Sniipe

I know of a learner driver (brother in law) who recently bought a car and wants to drive it with L plates and insured as a named driver. I'm trying my best to convince him to drive it with a fully licensed driver until he gets the exam. However he is bull thick on driving the car by himself. I know that a fully licensed driver is a good idea however he thinks he is good enough to drive by himself. To compound the matter his friends all do the same. His other siblings who are older don't help either and it seems like I'm over cautious compared to everyone else...

I've read recently that the fine for his act of recklessness if caught by the guards is a max fine of 1500 and perhaps some points.

This is not enough to dissuade him.

Its also not enough to dissuade him letting him know that he is a risk to others.

There is little to nothing I can do to help the situation for the better.

If there was a clause where the main insured driver of the car (which is my wife) were to get points and a fine then I would have enough power to stop him from driving as we could say its too risky for us.

Or if there were more guards on the roads checking - but alas that's not going to happen. I've only been stopped once in my 10 years driving around Galway city.

The final nail in the coffin - It appears that driving test take ages to wait for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Motor-Ed

Sniipe wrote: »
    I know of a learner driver (brother in law) who recently bought a car and wants to drive it with L plates and insured as a named driver. I'm trying my best to convince him to drive it with a fully licensed driver until he gets the exam. However he is bull thick on driving the car by himself. I know that a fully licensed driver is a good idea however he thinks he is good enough to drive by himself. To compound the matter his friends all do the same. His other siblings who are older don't help either and it seems like I'm over cautious compared to everyone else...

I've read recently that the fine for his act of recklessness if caught by the guards is a max fine of 1500 and perhaps some points.

Its also not enough to dissuade him letting him know that he is a risk to others.

If there was a clause where the main insured driver of the car (which is my wife) were to get points and a fine then I would have enough power to stop him from driving as we could say its too risky for us.

Or if there were more guards on the roads checking - but alas that's not going to happen. I've only been stopped once in my 10 years driving around Galway city.

The final nail in the coffin - It appears that driving test take ages to wait for.

Besides all the obvious legalities of not being accompanied etc.
    If the car is insured in your wife's name is it not then down as being owned by her. Therefore as the vehicle owner she is liable for who drives it. Her NCB is also at risk. For by all that let,s presume the worse case scenario and there is a fatal accident. Not worth the stress IMHO.

There are practically no delays on testing if a driver has met criteria. Has this guy applied yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭insignia33

We had this same issue and Aviva insurance told us if he crashed they wont be paying out as his insurance is void the minute he breaks the law and drives on his own.

So that might be a bit of an incentive for a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

insignia33 wrote: »
    We had this same issue and Aviva insurance told us if he crashed they wont be paying out as his insurance is void the minute he breaks the law and drives on his own.

So that might be a bit of an incentive for a person.

That's not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

That's not true.

Quite so. They'll pay out alright, but if you've been driving outside the terms of your license they are within their rights to pursue you personally for the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Sniipe

jimgoose wrote: »
    Quite so. They'll pay out alright, but if you've been driving outside the terms of your license they are within their rights to pursue you personally for the cost.

jimgoose, I haven't heard of this before, have you got source information?

Also I assume insignia33's statement is false?

Motor-Ed wrote: »
    Besides all the obvious legalities of not being accompanied etc.
    If the car is insured in your wife's name is it not then down as being owned by her. Therefore as the vehicle owner she is liable for who drives it. Her NCB is also at risk. For by all that let,s presume the worse case scenario and there is a fatal accident. Not worth the stress IMHO.

There are practically no delays on testing if a driver has met criteria. Has this guy applied yet?

My wife is the main driver - he couldn't get insurance on his own at a reasonable price. He also had to transfer ownership to my wife. As the owner though she is not liable for who drives it when it comes to named drivers. Sure she is the one who added him onto the policy as she is the policy owner.

This may be the route I'll have to go down - We'll have to say that if he continues to drive the car we will have to remove ourselves from the policy. Its not nice and will cause a rift (ah the youth of today!!)

jimgoose, I haven't heard of this before, have you got source information?

Also I assume insignia33's statement is false?

From Noel Brett last year:

“It is also worth pointing out that a learner permit holder who is not adhering to the requirements for that licence and who is involved in a collision will be covered for third party liability but their insurance provider may not cover any other costs and may seek to recover costs for the non compliant driver,”

http://www.rsa.ie/en/Utility/News/2012/Operation-Learner-Driver---43-of-learner-permit-holders-drive-unaccompanied/

What that other poster said is technically only partly-true, but the spirit of the thing is much the same.

...We'll have to say that if he continues to drive the car we will have to remove ourselves from the policy. Its not nice and will cause a rift (ah the youth of today!!)

Well rift this - if he drives that yoke unaccompanied, he has no insurance cover per sé to indemnify him in the event of things going pear-shaped and his causing damage. What he has is a couple of bits of paper that'll get him past the Gardaí. Dr. Goose prescribes three or four kicks up the hole, and tell him get himself in gear and quit acting like a seventeen-year-old with his head up his arse. ;)

Unfortunately a kick up the arse is something we cannot administer. He has no parental figures per sé either. We are doing him a favor but he thinks we are holding him back. The way I see it - is that he is a risk to himself and others until he has proven in a test that he is proficient enough. If I'm not there there is nothing to slow him down if he is going too fast or nothing to assist him if he is doing something wrong which could potentially endanger his or others lives.

There's just no helping some people. What kind of a driver is he overall, would you say? Would I be right in thinking he's about 20, or younger?

Yea, 19 Male. Is ok with me in the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,806 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Take the keys off him and keep them, he can drive when one of you are with him or not at all.

Why not go for a spin in the car with him. If you think he is a competent driver, then leave him be and let him enjoy the learning experience? If he's not competent (and is therefore a legitimate danger on the road) then book him lessons with a qualified instructor and work from there.

As a learner driver who drives unaccompanied for all of my journeys (spending at least an hour a day in the car), and as someone who has yet to cause any accidents or harm to anyone, I can safely that once I pass the test and get my full license, I will continue to drive as 'wrecklessly' as I am currently doing so.

A pink license will have no affect on my everyday driving style whatsoever.

Personally, I find the 'learner must be accompanied' rule silly, impractical and naive. I don't see the harm in it. I think a system where a person's driving instructor can formally approve them for solo driving would be a good idea (who better to be a judge of competence).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Why not go for a spin in the car with him. If you think he is a competent driver, then leave him be and let him enjoy the learning experience? If he's not competent (and is therefore a legitimate danger on the road) then book him lessons with a qualified instructor and work from there.
    "Legitimate" danger? You only have to crash once or hit someone once. I would consider someone without a full licence a hazard. Anyone who doesnt should be a learner too.Thats why people give learners space. The same space I afford to someone who is driving and I suspect is distracted or drunk. They all do random stuff.
    As a learner driver who drives unaccompanied for all of my journeys (spending at least an hour a day in the car), and as someone who has yet to cause any accidents or harm to anyone, I can safely that once I pass the test and get my full license, I will continue to drive as 'recklessly' as I am currently doing so.
    Theres a lot more to good driving than not being in an accident. Most learners doing there test have never had an accident. Half of them fail anyway.
    A pink license will have no affect on my everyday driving style whatsoever.
    Join the club but you'll have to drive to a minimum standard on a test first ;)
    Personally, I find the 'learner must be accompanied' rule silly, impractical and naive. I don't see the harm in it.
    Its very logical, all learners have done is pass a electronic quiz, the idea they can seat in buckle up and drive around legally would be stupid. As for enforcement it wont be hard for long. Soon it will be 2 points for being unaccompanied, 2 for no L plates and off the road if you receive 6 points. No need to bring learners to court anymore as is the current way.
    I think a system where a person's driving instructor can formally approve them for solo driving would be a good idea (who better to be a judge of competence).
    You mean like a driving test :confused: You can drive unaccompanied when you pass it. If you're a competent good driver you'll pass it with nothing to fear. If the test currently doesn't measure ones competency enough would a harder, longer test be better?

I personally don't mind learners driving alone but don't fool yourself into thinking they have an equal right to be on the road as full licence holders. If they did what's the point of the driving test. The 6 month rule should be scrapped then no one has the excuse not to have a full licence when they deem themselves good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

This is straightforward enough. Your wife should not allow anything which will increase her chance of having to pay more for insurance in the future or bring her into any contact with the law in relation to driving. The reason the insurance is cheaper is based on the main driver exercising some responsibility in relation to the vehicle, if this does not happen then the insurance is essientally a fraud. You have made an enormous contribution by facilitating this and your genorosity should not be abused. The learner permit is to learn, not drive about, and you should ensure that it is used as such. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

Insurance companies can and do not pay out claims for learners now. Aviva and Axa being two which push a learn to drive products. Brokers warned me to stay clear of Axa when I was getting coverage as they use a fine comb on every learner named driver claim.

My friend is a learner named driver and is not covered on his own, he's with Axa

Also if he has accident/tip you will lose your NCB which could cost you big and him being 19 will probably have the resources to make the difference.

Days 298 wrote: »
    "Legitimate" danger? You only have to crash once or hit someone once. I would consider someone without a full licence a hazard. Anyone who doesnt should be a learner too.Thats why people give learners space. The same space I afford to someone who is driving and I suspect is distracted or drunk. They all do random stuff.
    Theres a lot more to good driving than not being in an accident.

I wonder, statistically speaking, the percentage of crashes on our roads that are caused by leaner drivers, versus fully licensed drivers. As a learner, I've put a lot of time and effort into learning to drive around the roads in my town, the dodgy turns, awkward lanes, etc. and all the troublesome spots about the place. I've done 99% of this while driving for long periods of time in the night (when the roads are empty).

In daytime driving (when the roads are crowded, etc.) I operate smoothly amongst other traffic and would consider myself to be a very safe driver on the roads.
    Most learners doing there test have never had an accident. Half of them fail anyway.

To be fair, the test is not exactly an exact or 'be-all' measure of a person's driving ability. If I pass the white line at a stop sign I've failed the test. Despite that in real life, everyday driving, the stop line could be too far back to be practical. Or I could have successfully stopped at 10 other stop signs, but rolled slightly over one, and this could result in my failure.

Its very logical, all learners have done is pass a electronic quiz, the idea they can seat in buckle up and drive around legally would be stupid. As for enforcement it wont be hard for long. Soon it will be 2 points for being unaccompanied, 2 for no L plates and off the road if you receive 6 points. No need to bring learners to court anymore as is the current way.

I agree that going from sitting at a computer to a dual carriageway is not an ideal situation. I do think there should be two or three lessons made mandatory before you can apply for your learner permit, to ensure that you have some practical experience.

Introducing fines and points and what have you will not make any difference, as the Gardai generally don't enforce it anyway. They know, as well as the majority of motorists, that learners are generally competent and aren't on the road 'for the laugh', but instead to achieve something (be that going to work, etc.) and fining them for it is counter-productive.

The only people I'd like to see getting hit with such fines are the silly boy racer brigades that show up at all hours on a saturday night. I'd be certain a majority of the boy racers around the towns and cities are learners.

You mean like a driving test :confused: You can drive unaccompanied when you pass it. If you're a competent good driver you'll pass it with nothing to fear. If the test currently doesn't measure ones competency enough would a harder, longer test be better?

A flawed aspect to take into consideration is that if I fail the test because I did something minor, I have to wait 6(?) weeks before I can even re-apply for the test again. Also couple that with me having to do 12 lessons (Regardless of how quickly i pick up driving or competency at it). And after the theory test, I must wait 6 months before I can apply for the test the first time. This all serves to be merely a frustration to most learners who want to get out on their own.

I personally don't mind learners driving alone but don't fool yourself into thinking they have an equal right to be on the road as full licence holders. If they did what's the point of the driving test. The 6 month rule should be scrapped then no one has the excuse not to have a full licence when they deem themselves good enough.

As a general observation, I find it's the learners on the road (or at least cars with L plates) that act safest. Some of the worst encounters I've had are with older folks (nothing against them at all, as a whole. Of course there are always some that will be courteous and respectful, but I find that it's generally the older ladies and gentlemen who seem to be aggressive or clumsy on the road).

That said, cars acting unusually safe or unsafe are a minority. In my ~6 months of being on the road daily, 'hazardous' drivers (with and without L plates) are very much uncommon. I find the vast majority of drivers (including the L brigade) are pretty much par for the course with knowing what to expect. With the exception of red-light jumpers, which seems to be very common.

This is all in my own experience of course. Everyone's will differ. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Isn't the minimum fine 1000 euro?

nd wrote: »
    Isn't the minimum fine 1000 euro?

There are some people you couldn't convince even if the fine was €10000. The usual excuses get trotted out as in earlier post. Rules have to be set which work for the majority but there's always someone who feels victimised or its a money making racket. There's only one real penalty, is having to deal with the terrible consequences of an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Learner permit has to be valid 6 months and do the compulsory lessons before sitting test. Could wait 9 to 14 weeks aprox for a test date.

doovdela wrote: »
    Learner permit has to be valid 6 months and do the compulsory lessons before sitting test. Could wait 9 to 14 weeks aprox for a test date.

Bit of an exaggeration, its possible to get a test scheduled immediately after 6 months is passed once EDT completed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I know you can schedule test before six months are up with first learner permit but they still can't sit test until six months from valid date of first learner permit is up doesn't matter after that. I'm saying from date of applying for test till sitting it could take at least 10 weeks a month to two months usually. Well each time I applied from date I applied to date sitting it was nearly two months wait! 11 weeks first time 9 weeks second time. When i rang rsa i asked waiting times for centre in between tests was told waiting times was aprox 11 to 14 weeks.

The car is in your wife's name and your wife's insurance?
    Threaten to take him off the insurance and sell the car back to him and let him fcuk off finding his own insurance in his own name if he wants to be that thick
    Failing that, ring the guards and report him when you know he's out on his own

doovdela wrote: »
    I know you can schedule test before six months are up with first learner permit but they still can't sit test until six months from valid date of first learner permit is up doesn't matter after that. I'm saying from date of applying for test till sitting it could take at least 10 weeks a month to two months usually. Well each time I applied from date I applied to date sitting it was nearly two months wait! 11 weeks first time 9 weeks second time. When i rang rsa i asked waiting times for centre in between tests was told waiting times was aprox 11 to 14 weeks.

Well I have a guy whose permit went 6 months on 1st Sept and test is next week.
    He applied for his test during August and rang them on Monday.

• Site Banned Posts: 20 PatMustard5

I've been driving on the learner permit for over two years with the L plates down and only went through one checkpoint, just checked tax and insurance. I drive around 400KM a week. Failed the test in the first three months of driving for apparantly not looking right at a cross roads :rolleyes: . I havn't bothered with it since but getting a higher powered car in the next month or two so will have to get it to bring down my insurance