Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rotating Amber Beacon

• 24-08-2013 7:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

Evening all. I'm hoping someone might know a bit more on this topic than me.

Whats the official line on using a beacon on public roads? I have a single rotating amber beacon fitted to the roof of the van for going in on sites.

I was driving down the motorway near Naas yesterday evening 5.30 ish with a standard loaded builders trailer behind the van. The spray was heavy enough off the road decided to put on the beacon... "be safe, be seen" as they say!

Was driving for about 5 minutes when I was stopped by an unmarked Garda car and told to turn off the beacon?! They also asked for a trailer license, which I produced much to their annoyance it seemed. (They're starting to clamp down big on those now)

I did a Google on Amber beacons & Irish law but all I can find is Tractor importers disconnect them.

So what do ye reckon folks???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,074 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

id have thought you were being safe and doing the right thing switching the beacon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

id have thought you were being safe and doing the right thing switching the beacon on

Thats what I was going with, plus it's only a single beacon, ya see some lads out there with more lights on than Dublin Airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I can't see how having it on a van and trailer would be safer tbh. more of a distraction to other drivers. otherwise everyone should have them on their cars?

As long as the trailer is properly lit and has rear foglight (used appropriately) then why would you need more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

Well there is no mass to a trailer where as there is to a car / van.

I spent a year delivering machines with a jeep and trailer and the amount of drivers that almost cut in on the trailer or tried to pull out of a junction in the space behind the jeep and almost into the trailer.

I feel that having the beacon on drivers do a double take and then see the trailer.

And the trailer is lit up with 2x rear lights and outlined with red conspicuity tape, amber side marker lights & yellow conspicuity tape, also on the draw bar & white conspicuity tape on the bulk head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Seanieke wrote: »
    Evening all. I'm hoping someone might know a bit more on this topic than me.

Whats the official line on using a beacon on public roads? I have a single rotating amber beacon fitted to the roof of the van for going in on sites.

I was driving down the motorway near Naas yesterday evening 5.30 ish with a standard loaded builders trailer behind the van. The spray was heavy enough off the road decided to put on the beacon... "be safe, be seen" as they say!

Was driving for about 5 minutes when I was stopped by an unmarked Garda car and told to turn off the beacon?! They also asked for a trailer license, which I produced much to their annoyance it seemed. (They're starting to clamp down big on those now)

I did a Google on Amber beacons & Irish law but all I can find is Tractor importers disconnect them.

So what do ye reckon folks???

Your looking for the wrong information. What you need is obligatory lighting, anything other than this is illegal on public roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

For sites its a requirement.
    While driving on public roads its the equivalent of having hazards lights on.

But saying that bin lorries, motorway maintance vehicles of all sizes and types and breakdown vehicles have and use them.

Ive not been stopped myself but there appears to be a crackdown on trailers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭dhog4n

I had this conversation with a Garda at the Terenure show last year.

Apparently flashing lights of any description are illegal on anything other than an emergency vehicle.

It doesnt matter what colour either but they will get partucularly upset about someone using red or blue as they are specifically reserved for the emergency services. No exceptions for slow vehicles, large loads, contractors vans etc.

I went and looked it up afterward and that was how the legislation looked as well. I don't have a link to hand but google should turn up a few references.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭westdub

From
    S.I. No. 189/1963 - Road Traffic (Lighting of Vehicles) Regulations, 1963.

Restrictions on flashing lights.

42. No lamp (other than direction indicators) fitted to a vehicle shall show or be constructed or adapted so as to be capable of showing a flashing light unless such light is invisible to persons outside the vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

It's about time it was changed for tractors, in the UK all slow moving vehicles (under 26mph?) have to have a flashing beacon when on major roads. The majority of tractors use them as do abnormal loads.

There's some mis-use, you sometimes see tow trucks with them on at motorway speed for no good reason. No doubt it would develop in to a free for all here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

101sean wrote: »
    It's about time it was changed for tractors, in the UK all slow moving vehicles (under 26mph?) have to have a flashing beacon when on major roads. The majority of tractors use them as do abnormal loads.

There's some mis-use, you sometimes see tow trucks with them on at motorway speed for no good reason. No doubt it would develop in to a free for all here!

I agree. Slow moving tractors, machinery etc should have beacons to stand out. Incidentially, in most EU states/AUS/NZ/USA slow-moving vehicles (even Amish horse-drawn carts!) must have a rear warning-type triangle fitted to alert vehicles approaching from behind that they are 'slow-moving vehicles'.

I also agree that recovery trucks use these light too often, i.e. beacons should generally only be used at the scene of an accident. After that the vehicle on tow is no different than, for example a truck towing a trailer i.e. beacon should be turned off when moving (and brake lights and indicators should be fitted to the rear of the vehicle on tow!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Ive one cheap magnetic amber flashing lamp in jeep. Apart from being on a site I would have used it at side of road or towing a car with a rope / strap to warn other motorist.

But it looks like I shouldn't be using it at all on the public road.

I was considering buying those led flashing lights and mount them in the front grill and rear back window. Guess thats a none runner on public roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Thelostcountry

Sorry, what do You mean Trailer license?

If you want to drive a combination of car+trailer which is over 3500kg (combined) gross vehicle weight, you need category E+B on your driving licence (i.e. a 'trailer licence').

@visual,
    I would agree with you using a beacon when towing another vehicle on a public road (and I reckon most boys in blue would not disagree either). While technically it's against the letter-of-the-law it makes absolute sense to do so when towing another car. (Likewise the grill/rear window lights when towing).

Silvera wrote: »
    If you want to drive a combination of car+trailer which is over 3500kg (combined) gross vehicle weight, you need category E+B on your driving licence (i.e. a 'trailer licence').

Oh yes I understand that. I tought the OP was sayin the trailer needed some kind of cert. MY BAD.

No probs.

Inidentially, a trailer DOES need a licence/DoE cert/seperate reg plate if it weighs 3500kg when empty ;)

Silvera wrote: »
    No probs.

Inidentially, a trailer DOES need a licence/DoE cert/seperate reg plate if it weighs 3500kg when empty ;)

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I think the reg have something about amber beacons on slow moving vehicles, under 30kph and work vehicles.