Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where's all the 08/09 3.0D BMW's gone?

• 23-08-2013 9:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭

What happened in 2008 and 2009 did nobody buy a 6 Cylinder BMW diesel, there's not one 3 series or 5 series in the country for sale that's not a 2.0d ticking time bomb.
    Did a space machine come down and magic them all away, what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,794 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

What happened in 2008 and 2009 did nobody buy a 6 Cylinder BMW diesel, there's not one 3 series or 5 series in the country for sale that's not a 2.0d ticking time bomb.

Very few bought them and I'd say those that have them now can't see any option to move up a year or two so maybe holding onto them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They were never here to begin with.

Was looking for one myself a few months back. The majority of the Irish just want ones that only cost €200 to tax per year. I looked at importing a 330d/530d also but thanks to Revenue's OMSP valuation and nothing to here to prove them wrong it just wasn't financially viable to import one. Plenty to choose from in the UK if you don't mind getting shafted on VRT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

All broken.

Na people are hanging onto stuff like that. Its only when someone buys another new one they appear and with decent deals on trade in its main stealers that have them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

bazz26 wrote: »
    They were never here to begin with.

Was looking for one myself a few months back. The majority of the Irish just want ones that only cost €200 to tax per year. I looked at importing a 330d/530d also but thanks to Revenue's OMSP valuation and nothing to here to prove them wrong it just wasn't financially viable to import one. Plenty to choose from in the UK if you don't mind getting shafted on VRT.

In the same boat my options or a 07 with stupidly high tax or a 10 which I just can't afford. What do you do, pay the high tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

In the same boat my options or a 07 with stupidly high tax or a 10 which I just can't afford. What do you do, pay the high tax?

Faced with that conundrum myself earlier this year, I went for an 06 rather than stump up an additional 8-10k to move up to an 08 "for de cheep taax"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

But you don't have to write a cheque every year for depreciation, therefore in most peoples eyes it doesn't exist:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

hi5 wrote: »
    But you don't have to write a cheque every year for depreciation, therefore in most peoples eyes it doesn't exist:rolleyes:

You should tell them that when they're on about negative equity.

That's the conundrum, buying a 08 now over a 07 will mean in 5 years time the 08 will be standing me 1700 more than the 07, but the 08 will probably be worth 1700 more, so it works out nearly the same to buy either, problem is there isn't even one 08 for sale, nada, nothing, zilch. :(
    The other worry is a 10% year on year tax increase on CC based cars, putting the 530 tax up to 2000 a year by 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Scortho wrote: »
    You should tell them that when they're on about negative equity.

I was telling them about negative equity, the Dutch tulip bubble, moral hazard, dead cat bounces(watch scd prices;)), etc, etc back in 2005 when I got laughed out of it.
    These days I'm just cynical:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,144 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Sure why would ANYONE buy a car new? It's plain daft........*

* - with a serious hint of sarcasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,144 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Just a bit of background, there have been two threads lately, probably in this forum, where some people we saying it was daft to buy cars new, far better value second hand etc etc etc without realising that if at least SOME people didn't buy cars new the second hand car market would be non existent.
    I suppose this thread is an example of what can happen when people tend to shy away from buying new.

There is no guarantee either that the cheaper based tax system will be around forever.

BTW I remember seeing a few 2008 525d/530d on sale from dealers here and they were looking for upwards of €21k for them and even they were a bit leggy. Seen a nice 2010 335d for sale last year in Dublin but never got around to travelling up to view it. Regret it now.

Even this 325d is overpriced and has been on sale for an eternity plus I wouldn't be gone on the spec either:

http://www.driving.ie/used-cars/BMW/3-Series/325D-M/34513664502586070/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Do BMW dealers even bother importing petrols into the country any more? On carzone 3657 bmws for sale. 1315 petrols, 2342 diesels.

Although I can't talk, I have a 2l diesel :D

Why would they need to import petrol models when any here are cheaper because there is little or no demand for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

Are the 08/09 2.0Ds really that bad? A ticking time bomb? :eek:
    Is that in relation to the timing chain issue?

Should I be trying to get rid of mine now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

BraveDonut wrote: »
    Are the 08/09 2.0Ds really that bad? A ticking time bomb? :eek:
    Is that in relation to the timing chain issue?

Should I be trying to get rid of mine now?

No-one seems to know definitely. All that's known for sure is, if it goes you're on your own.

There must be tens of thousands on n47 based cars going around. Surely most of them are fine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Suasdaguna1

There must be tens of thousands on n47 based cars going around. Surely most of them are fine?

Yeap you only hear of the ones that go wallop.

Really depends how lucky you are/feel, it's a big bill if it does go.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Really depends how lucky you are/feel, it's a big bill if it does go.

There are many that are fine, seems that there is a higher percentage of bad ones than in other mass produced cars.

No-one will know the exact % of bad eggs unfortunately :P. Or OP, save yourself the bother and buy a 3.0d on the pre 08 tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I''ve a feeling that decently specced E92 Petrol Coupé's are going to be hard to find in a few years too, bloody diesel.

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Or OP, save yourself the bother and buy a 3.0d on the pre 08 tax

I just did 1500 tax here I come:( , there wasn't even a 08 or 09 to go have a look at, picked up a nice one owner 07 with 55k on the clock.
    Must not think of tax, must pray for reduction in the budget.

I just did 1500 tax here I come:( , there wasn't even a 08 or 09 to go have a look at, picked up a nice one owner 07 with 55k on the clock.
    Must not think of tax, must pray for reduction in the budget.

Haha I'm in the same boat. But I can only see a f******* 10% increase across the board on the cc rates. Meaning next year my motor tax will be nearly 1650 p/a :mad:

Still though, to have bought a '08 535d with the 750 tax, would have cost me an additional 10-12k. So I have about 12-14 years before I lose money!

Same as, it was costing an extra €10,000 to get a car 8 months newer with more milage but €750 less tax, my brain nearly exploded trying to justify it. All I need is a remap now on the 530 and i'll be chomping at your 535's heels :)

Jaysus between yourself and ybfocus I will be a marked man at this track day if it ever happens :D

Not to mention the clouds of black smoke that will engulf everyone else :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Jaysus between yourself and ybfocus I will be a marked man at this track day if it ever happens :D

Not to mention the clouds of black smoke that will engulf everyone else :P

Noone will know whos ahead over the clouds of black

Haha you can remap a 530 to the same bhp and torque as the 535d but you cant match the twin turbo, no lag!

Unless of course you get an m550d triturbo! Which I would love one of btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I wouldn't be mad about the remapping, there has to be some bit of trouble caused, especially at the likes of a trackday.
    That's great now, I'll throw the faulty injector back in and it'll be like trying to drive behind an f1 car in the rain ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

YbFocus wrote: »
    I wouldn't be mad about the remapping, there has to be some bit of trouble caused, especially at the likes of a trackday.
    That's great now, I'll throw the faulty injector back in and it'll be like trying to drive behind an f1 car in the rain ;)

I wouldn't worry about the remapping like that unless you drove the arse out of it everyday..I've mine (520D) done over 16months now with no issues..

Blazer wrote: »
    I wouldn't worry about the remapping like that unless you drove the arse out of it everyday..I've mine (520D) done over 16months now with no issues..

No it usually gets an easy time, I may just look into it.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

all ye with the fat ass 5 series ill be in front with the remapped and nimbler 3 series lol if there a track day

Hah
    What 3 series do you have? Unless it is a 335 I can't see you beating the likes of my 535d

Hah
    What 3 series do you have? Unless it is a 335 I can't see you beating the likes of my 535d

If I remember it's a 330d, this is beginning to sound more like a race weekend than a meet now :)

Should be a good contest between a remapped e90 330d and my 535. He will have turbo lag, which should make the difference!

Not a race weekend, but a contest for the fastest lap surely!

Should be a good contest between a remapped e90 330d and my 535. He will have turbo lag, which should make the difference!

Not a race weekend, but a contest for the fastest lap surely!

I'd say you might not be quickest ;) fastest laps will be hearsay without transponders :)

Versus a 330? Cant see him beating olga tbh
    I wont be quickest, the 335i e92 that a couple of people on here have would be quicker than me. (by a couple of tenths 0-60)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭s14driftking

Hah

E46 330d remapped. Straight line your car should beat me but with the bends in Mondello I'd probably win as the car is lighter and should get through the bends quicker and be able to brake later

With the bends, where you will need to accelerate out of with the turbo lag?
    Versus my 535d with the two turbos (no lag) I think it should not be the 330d that won (if it does I think I will have some explaining to do) :P
    Especially as it is an e46. They are sub 200 bhp to start with no? I drove one that was remapped to 220 bhp. While it was a fast car it was no match for the 535, not even in the same league.

Come to the trackday, it will be fun finding out either way :D

This is getting out of hand lads. . . Nobody will be able to prove lap times anyway :)

I thought they would have a way of doing that
    So what is the 185 squid for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,525 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I''ve a feeling that decently specced E92 Petrol Coupé's are going to be hard to find in a few years too, bloody diesel.
    There is nothing decent up for E92 coupes if you want a 6 pot petrol. I want the 2.5l or 3l in m sport... good luck finding that here. Will probably end up importing from uk or go for a 630...

Idbatterim wrote: »
    There is nothing decent up for E92 coupes if you want a 6 pot petrol. I want the 2.5l or 3l in m sport... good luck finding that here. Will probably end up importing from uk or go for a 630...

There is an e92 335i for sale on carzone atm, looks in good nick from photos. Its in sarsfield motors.

I thought they would have a way of doing that
    So what is the 185 squid for?

Insurance, marshals etc.
    Unless you have a transponder you won't have lap times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

Yeah even worse for petrol.

I'll be looking for an 08/09 5 series in about two years and will have to go UK for a 528i.cant imagine too many sold here, so nothing to guess what VRT might be like either.