Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Remember When HipHop Was Good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Handy as a playlist but that's about it. Hip hop is still good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 florestblunt

I'm thinking, is good when you don't know that much then it's good.
    Also, the anticipation of whats next. lol

I'm going to add to my original review. I listened to one track and then got sidetracked by going onto Youtube and listening to Tom Petty. It's all right.

lol. fair call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

Hip Hop is better than its ever been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭horsebox09

HighClass wrote: »
    Hip Hop is better than its ever been.

I'm not sure about "better", but hip hop right now is definitely more diverse than it's ever been

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Am I right in saying that this website just plays a playlist of youtube videos?

Seems alright though, decent selection of songs that I've skimmed through.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Am I right in saying that this website just plays a playlist of youtube videos?

Seems alright though, decent selection of songs that I've skimmed through.

Naah, there isn't such a youtube playlist. They're individually added.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

I grew up on the hip hop of the nineties when theclassics were being released, I wouldn't even bother with what's coming out today its mostly radio noise besides so much good stuff came out in the 90's that I'm still discovering.. you have to dig a little.!

beano345 wrote: »
    I grew up on the hip hop of the nineties when theclassics were being released, I wouldn't even bother with what's coming out today its mostly radio noise besides so much good stuff came out in the 90's that I'm still discovering.. you have to dig a little.!

Hmmm...

Hmmm...

Hmmm away ya probably need an excavator to find anything a patch on the nineties

People who have mentalities like that are the reason hip hop got so stale for a long time. Thank **** in the last few years there is loads of artists trying new things, be it with the production they use or subject matter, flows etc..

Hip hop heads who are stuck in the 90's are almost as bad as classic rock fans who hate Nirvana and think grunge is the worst thing ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Hip hop progress's and most fans stay in the past. We've all been brought up in different eras , today's era is different just as the 90s was to the early 00's etc.

Gems like kendrick , cole, krit etc are all quality artists.

People who have mentalities like that are the reason hip hop got so stale for a long time. Thank **** in the last few years there is loads of artists trying new things, be it with the production they use or subject matter, flows etc..

Hip hop heads who are stuck in the 90's are almost as bad as classic rock fans who hate Nirvana and think grunge is the worst thing ever.

hip-hop is stale at the moment id happily stay in the nineties if beats and rhymes like that were being released daily look under the comments of any hip-hop track from the nineties were most are saying they wish hip-hop was still like this,you make it sound like every track sounded all the same,ever notice how some of the best hip-hop beats are fairly simple,samples loops etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

If people think hip hop is better than what it was in the 90's or even 00's they're delusional as f*ck. There are like a hand full of decent to great albums these years compared to 10's and 20's and more from the prime years of Hip Hop. It's not being stuck in the 90's it's the truth. The garbage being released today is occurring far more often and is getting far more exposure than the good Hip Hop, something that never happened before.

There isn't an artist out there who's doing better things than the artists of before, and in particular I think production and lyrics have been atrocious this year...even guys like Freddie Gibbs who has great potential disappointed greatly with his studio album.

If people think hip hop is better than what it was in the 90's or even 00's they're delusional as f*ck. There are like a hand full of decent to great albums these years compared to 10's and 20's and more from the prime years of Hip Hop. It's not being stuck in the 90's it's the truth. The garbage being released today is occurring far more often and is getting far more exposure than the good Hip Hop, something that never happened before.

There isn't an artist out there who's doing better things than the artists of before, and in particular I think production and lyrics have been atrocious this year...even guys like Freddie Gibbs who has great potential disappointed greatly with his studio album.

even the underground tracks from the nineties ,you know the ones with just the vinyl imprint pictures (probably independent label released) on the you tube videos with about a thousand views would blow most modern hip hop out of the water

even the underground tracks from the nineties ,you know the ones with just the vinyl imprint pictures (probably independent label released) on the you tube videos would blow most modern hip hop out of the water

Definitely. Juggaknots. Siah & Yeshua DapoED etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

This song always sums to hip hop of old. It was simple, but effective. One of my favourite of Ems' too.

like throwing a lot of noise and rhymes together and hoping it works plus models,gold chains and limousines for their videos,nearly fast food package it,label it hip-hop to sell to the masses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Wouldn't say hip hop is better these days at all but there are lads who are making quality hip hop right now, there's no denying it.

Hip hop is pop culture now though that's how popular it has become IMO.

like throwing a lot of noise and rhymes together and hoping it works plus models,gold chains and limousines for their videos,nearly fast food package it,label it hip-hop to sell to the masses

Yeah because that's exactly what I was talking about..

^^ actually that is what im talking about if your trying to tell me any of the above is better than material from the 90's then its a hard sell, but hey depends on your taste

Lil Ugly Mane....oh how I laughed

title track is well named..serious s**t is right!

Lil Ugly Mane dropped one of the best album of last year tbh

fair play to him! if thats anything to go by hip-hop really is in a bad way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭horsebox09

Love Lil Ugly Mane's production, that old Memphis Three 6 Mafia sound is one of my favourite styles of beat making, Uneven Compromise, some track!

Expecting big things from Denzel Curry's mixtape, too (think Lil Ugly Mane has some imput on this project)

I don't think we'll ever see a time when hip hop was as prolfic as the '90s, for plenty of reasons, (record labels, sample clearances issues, etc) but there's a lot of quality material still being released

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭TheBza

Beano, i have the exact same mind set/ear as you judging by the videos you post on this, im a 80s baby with a 90s brain, you cant beat the 90s, but there is a selected few of artitsts i like nowadays that are still keeping to the 90s style and try to encorparted a modern twist, but still sticking to the simple drum loops over samples and scratching etc. My own personal opinion theres a couple of irish artists that are the best at it. GI, Costello, 4Real, Lethal Dialect, you might not like the accents at first but lyrics, delivery and production are unbelievable, i think though out of the irish artists i love you would really appreciate Sons Phonetic, check out the latest offering from them, its Kav from Sons Phonetics new EP - perception tunnel, its a free download, and if you look to the right of the page you can see a few more ep's from the lads and even there first album, all free downloads, let us know what you think.

http://sonsphonetic.bandcamp.com/album/kav-perception-tunnel-ep

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I f*cking love the 90's, it's what I grew up on, all I knew growing up when i started exploring Hip Hop.

But, I still love hip hop from the 2000's and onwards. There are many faces of Hip Hop now and I love the creative directions that are being taken. I love the sounds being experimented with.
    I also hate alot of hip hop nowadays, which is something I wouldnt say about the 90's.

The best part, I can always go back and listen to golden era stuff if my ears get too annoyed with new stuff.

It all boils down to the ease in which music can be made nowadays. In the 90's there where a core group of studio's where the bulk of recording would be done. So people would be in on each others sessions, hearing what is being done, jumping on tracks, then going off to thier own sessions to make something better.

Now, someone makes a track in thier bedroom, and if it has something unique to it, it may catch on and propell them to stardom. This is the stuff I would generally hate, as it's quite obvious how low rent it is but popular because of the use of a certain word or phrase in the hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭baddebt

I'm for sure a 90's fan, the Golden Era,

but i think 2012 and so far 2013 are full of excellent hip hop albums/mixtapes/EP's ,
    yep you gotta dig a little deeper , but thats the fun part (I always start with DJ Premier blog radio on Mixcloud and the Rap is outta control show as well on mixcloud , + boardies post some really gems, also use twitter ) , its more of the fact that there is simply no mainstream media outlet for REAL HIP HOP now ,
    in the 90's Yo MTV raps , kept most of us up to date with real ****

thats the thing about a lot of modern hip-hop it tries too much!...of what i dont know? theres no hook or flow to the beats it just sounds dreadfull,like that lil ugly mane track it all sounds very samey! put it this way if i was stranded on a desert island and could pick 10 no make that 20 albums i know what decade they'd be from,not to say their isnt artists out there at the moment who are decent but gone are the days when you could buy an album and be guaranteed some good tracks on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭baddebt

beano ,
    you might throw out some examples of current albums your not diggin ?

baddebt wrote: »
    beano ,
    you might throw out some examples of current albums your not diggin ?

to be honest baddebt i dont really put much past on anything thats released now im just not into it,ive tried, mostly what i see on here and hear on the radio the odd time and even after a few seconds i can tell its not my cup of tea(but thats my opinion),ive about as much interest as the man in the moon! i couldnt tell you what artist is dropping an album this year for most of them!if them four videos high class posted are anything to go by im not missing a whole lot!not alot of that hip-hop gets recommended to me or uploaded by people i subscribe to on youtube

Did you check out them eps/albums i linked ye?

TheBza wrote: »
    Did you check out them eps/albums i linked ye?

i did indeed although never a big fan of irish hip-hop( partially because of the accents) most have good beats and delivery! i used to be an on irishhiphop.ie alot the old one were they had free mp3 downloads ive got an album by yer man collie lying around here somewere..."homegrown" is what its called!

think these are a half irish half english group that never really took off despite a good premo beat on this one

Noway Premo producing an irish artists, thats madness, not really into collie and the likes he does be working with myself, find em a bit cringey, as i said theres a selected few i respect, i thought you'd be into a bit of Sons Phonetic. Theres a few class underground english artists as well sticking to the principles, what ye make of these.

(class, talking about the state of hip hop)

(w/ Roc Marciano)

Shes gone back underground man, nowadays the shít outweighs the good, whereas in the golden era the good outweighed the shít!

some decent uk stuff the brotherhood had a quality album, and lewis parker seems to be making quite a good name for himself

Have a few lewis parker albums there he's class, must try get that brotherhood album, and that's nice.

TheBza wrote: »
    Have a few lewis parker albums there he's class, must try get that brotherhood album, and that's nice.

i wore out two cassettes of it from playing in it :pac: no real fillers on it mostly bangers

That's sick man! Nice one! Definitely have to find that!