Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anelka Quits

• 22-08-2013 3:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭

Lots of reports around that he has walked out of training and is retiring from football.....Does he not understand the ramifications of FF :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Time to get on Vydra.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Sure look at the sheer excitement on his face when he signed

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v37suDoylik

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

jaysus, that means wildcard after GW2 for me then so.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Baldie

wardie101 wrote: »
    Lots of reports around that he has walked out of training and is retiring from football.....Does he not understand the ramifications of FF :p

Anelka, the inconsiderate b***ard!!!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,208 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

BBC Sport ‏@BBCSport 1m
    West Brom striker Nicolas Anelka will miss Saturday’s game at Everton after being released from duty on compassionate grounds, the club says

• Registered Users Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

West Brom's site are running with the headline: "Anelka to miss Everton game, striker excused on compassionate grounds"

http://www.wba.co.uk/news/article/anelka-to-miss-everton-game-1007910.aspx

May be a lot more to this story. I'm glad I wildcarded this week. Otherwise I'd have had no Anelka, Lukaku unlikely to play, No City coverage, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Is his brother his agent?

Good call - it use to be (Claude anelka)

http://www.transfermarkt.com/en/nicolas-anelka/transfers/spieler_3226.html

Very sad if true.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

The guy leading my private league has Anelka! Sweet! He also has 3 Chelsea players and 2 Villa players.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

The guy leading my private league has Anelka! Sweet! He also has 3 Chelsea players and 2 Villa players.

With 5 DGW players, I'd say he was intent on using his WC before GW3 anyway, so it's probably an advantage that he can deal with the Anelka situation now, for free.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭Fowler87

That's the most ridiculous transfer I've made to my team so far this year! Just as well he was cheap

• Registered Users Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

posted by Ben Smith of BBC on twitter

Ben SmithBenSmithBBC 33m
    Anelka's agent (not brother) has died. #WBA will give him time to get his head right. Suggestions he may retire are premature

• Registered Users Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Hogey007 wrote: »
    posted by Ben Smith of BBC on twitter

Ben SmithBenSmithBBC 33m
    Anelka's agent (not brother) has died. #WBA will give him time to get his head right. Suggestions he may retire are premature

That's terrible news.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

@LaurensJulien: Just spoke to Anelka's agent (who obv is not dead!) One of NA closest friend died last week. He is not retiring but wont be involved on Sat.”

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭NN215

inital plan was to get rid of lukaku this week.
    but now, i think i have to take a 4 point hit because of anelka.
    whats the best 2 to replace them ?
    any suggestion ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭tom_k

I think I'll see how this pans out, if he'll just be out for a week or two I can live with that and concentrate on GW 3 plans of squeezing RVP into my squad.

Worst case scenario, there'll be a couple of Cardiff and Palace defenders coming off my bench for likely 1 or 2 point appearances.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I thought he quit long ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

NN215 wrote: »
    inital plan was to get rid of lukaku this week.
    but now, i think i have to take a 4 point hit because of anelka.
    whats the best 2 to replace them ?
    any suggestion ?

crouch and dzeko

• Registered Users Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭touts

A friend died last week and Anelka wants to quit football this week as a result?

Not to sound unsympathetic but this is exactly why I opted not to have him in my team and exactly why he was just 5.5. He has too many issues going on and the slighted thing seems to set him off and he misses a few games.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    I thought he quit long ago.

Exactly - he now has as much chance as last weekend of scoring.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,535 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

He's been very good in pre-season.

This is a big spanner in the works for me. :(

'It is better to walk alone in the right direction than follow the herd walking in the wrong direction.'

He's been very good in pre-season.

This is a big spanner in the works for me. :(

Danny Graham was good in pre season last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

touts wrote: »
    A friend died last week and Anelka wants to quit football this week as a result?
    It's his agent who died

• Registered Users Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

He's decided to come back . Back training tomorrow .

• Registered Users Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Invincible

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    He's decided to come back . Back training tomorrow .

Fair play to him, a lot of transfers in for next week by those that moved him out :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Red flag removed, he shouldnt drop in price for another 5/6 days.