Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

training success or is it ?

• 22-08-2013 1:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭

so ok,me and two other lads bought 3 pups from the same litter 12 months ago ,my lad was hunting and tipping cover good enough at 7-8 months without being pushed as too was the second lads dog ,now we walked them exercised them,spent time with them and my lad just turned out les than average,now the third lads dog is left in the pen since he was got ,hardly knows his name and wont walk on a lead but this dog can hunt hunt hunt ! he will run any cover and i mean any he will burst cover and has no interest in green fields and he wont retrieve either . has any one ever came across this ,that no time has been put into a dog and he turns out a miller or is it the dopg knows nothing only what he was bred for. he is a bridevalley bred dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

Its the part of the brain thats had most development the trick is to get a dog that, will hit cover and take training anyone can lock a dog in a pen for 12 months and then let it hunt hunt hunt, now is the time the dog needs training because hes twigged the hunting part now train him,,,, one is no good without the other id say the dog already had it hes just been realising what hunting actually is and his drive is coming out plus hes at the right age to hit cover andnot turn back from it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i know that i soured my lad of cover and i hold my hand up to that. but apart from "having it" naturally I've seen this to happen alot. so would lads be in favour of letting a dog loose till twelve months or keep training to a basic standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

i wouldnt be in favour of it,iv seen it manys the time but the dog usually will take no direction but hit cover all day. it works sometimes depending where/what your hunting but the majority of the time it doesnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

In my opinion i would much rather an average dog in cover than a dog that wont recall walk to heel etc hitting cover isn't everything

As long as your willing to put in the work charlie I think myself the trick is to not give em cover till later like starting a terrier give him a taste to see he will do it then let em get hardy this is wat ive learned this time round ,,, better to do too little rather than too much when they are young

all my dogs had manners and would take directions cause i thought them on left and right retrieves its just i think i am gonna pull back a bit from now on cause to me its all about the cover and less the circus stuff . are you still coming down next week snipe02

charlie10 wrote: »
    all my dogs had manners and would take directions cause i thought them on left and right retrieves its just i think i am gonna pull back a bit from now on cause to me its all about the cover and less the circus stuff . are you still coming down next week snipe02
    Yep cant wait willbring the 2 dogs with me ,,,, I completely agree with what your saying will be holding off a bit myself but I would not call it circus stuff it stimulates and nurtures a dogs intellegence and ability to think and solve problems for themselves

ah dont get me wrong basic obiedience is paramount in any dog , i saw this pup and it was unreal to see him in action such a raw dog doing what he was bred to do and do it well. he was hunting ,he wasnt only running cover he was oblivious to us and just in full flight,i always over done the obiedience and i think it took from the pup in the early stages well not anymore so heres another question ,how much do ye want out of yer dogs and at what stage , e.g:stop and recall. e.g:stop recall direction steady to shot/flush ,and why u do or dont have these things trained into the dog.

But hat dog was huntinv for himself no partnership there buy a pair of asics...

if i end up shooting with him ill need them alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

I would have to agree all of the above, as I was present with charlie10 and I saw this pup and I am the owner of one out of that litter, crazy how that dog was milling cover and was locked in the pin continuously! But would also agree with Jap Gt as my first springer tested me a lot when she would just hunt, hunt, hunt and was close to getting rid of her, but when she was reeled in to what I want and still hunts its great! But if my younger pup doesn't make the grade over the next few months I will try the "keep in the pin"(not literally) option with a new one.....Great thread and would love to hear other opinions also!!! Also Snipe02 should release a book on training pups :D:D

i agree snipe02 has got the gift of getting the best out of a dog. id like to hear what way people introduce pups to cover i have my methods what's yers

Ffs lads im not sure if yer takin the piss or what but im only learning and following others im no expert complete beginner just lucky with pups I got

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

The one bit of info you told me in Kilkenny pulled my pup from tipping cover to going in and along cover after 2/3 days.....so not piss taken my friend! Well we all learning and fair enough, you should write a book on what you have learned then :cool:. Everything you and Charlie10 have told me bout training pups I have put into practice as much as I can and always get positive results. Ye both should write a book together!!! Cheers boys :)

well the first man on boards that i got help from is e pointer and i some times refer back to his pms that he sent me three years ago. this is why id like to meet up with lads from here and have an auld chat. alot of lads on here fell on lucky dogs but yet train yours to a brilliant field standard . they are a dream to shoot over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭Beretta man

well the first man on boards that i got help from is e pointer and i some times refer back to his pms that he sent me three years ago. this is why id like to meet up with lads from here and have an auld chat. alot of lads on here fell on lucky dogs but yet train yours to a brilliant field standard . they are a dream to shoot over

Just wondering what field standard is because I've got a dog that I would like to train myself..
    Would trial standard be too much for the man that just wants to go rough shooting with a springer..

Sit ,stay, retrieve take blinds and marked , take hand signals on land and water, recall ,drop whistle , and hunt where you point no matter whats in front of them and hunt independantly of you when allowed , over command for rivers wall fences etc, take a line hunt close in or far out where ever you want them, sit quietly in a hide or beside a flight pond

all of the above with making sure that the hunt is there and there strong . Im going to leave this pup run mad until i can see her with her nose stuck to the ground. easily pull a rope in as trying to push one out. the rest can be thought easily enough. what i found with last pup it that he was trained that bit too early for my liking and it took from him.