Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Release Run

• 20-08-2013 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭

Finished a new release run the other day. Gonna try releasing birds in another spot to see how they get on. Layout of the trees worked well. Not putting a top net on this one. Idea being once they are in they are in & they fend for themselves same as the old runs. Area has been well trapped etc for awhile now. Will throw up a few photos once the birds go in. Must add some grid bars to the cones also.

15D44093-EA43-410E-9350-C7E164225AD4-682-000000D35211B629_zps3ffe40c3.jpg
    A3BBB09B-1511-48E5-9C0F-821C910551D9-682-000000D362820F05_zps26481ae9.jpg
    1B94B1CE-D675-45CA-9968-FB01DF7B908D-682-000000D36B73AE2C_zpscc5af34d.jpg
    BAE8002C-BA06-4E04-9A4A-ACB85CD430A8-682-000000D347B78342_zps76427bd8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

how many are you planning on getting, looks to be a nice spot for a pen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

jap gt wrote: »
    how many are you planning on getting, looks to be a nice spot for a pen

Will likely be putting 30-40 in this one. Area will be a sanctuary this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

nice set up lad fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Like the fence posts. Well done looks like a great job.

Cheers lads. For 100 quid was well worth it.
    If had the time would do another 2 or 3 of em dotted around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

Thats a brilliant idea with the traffic cone pop holes EP. Is that the first time you used them or have you used then before?

mallards wrote: »
    Thats a brilliant idea with the traffic cone pop holes EP. Is that the first time you used them or have you used then before?

Used one on the old release run but that was an afterthought as they were all queing outside it & one got pinned by a dog. Sitting ducks.
    Just cut a hole drilled 3 holes in the base & cabled tied it. Cut a stake for the inside & stabilized it. Simple as. Few bars or lats for the front will make it like a proper grid but beauty is it has the traditional loster trap effect from the inside so makes it easy get in but not out without flying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭vincentf

Looks good, best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Very good I like the way you have wrapped the wire around the tree's, and it really looks part of the forest, very unusual as we would use post cut to size the very best of luck, and well done it has given me an idea for another Pen we proposed to build next season Thanks Very much.

A very BIG Cheers mate.

Tawny Owl.:D:D:D;)

The final push!!
    Flat out all day, drowned wet & sore from lugging wheat & all sorts all over the place. Getting old! Big effort last few Saturdays making more hoppers, the pen, tagging etc but I'm a firm believer of doing new things, moving with the times & always trying different things. We've added every year without fail. This year a few white marker birds to see what is hanging around as well as the novelty if any survive.

80C4DA71-7E79-431E-A92B-DA752E21D4FB-508-00000090FD065355_zps893100fc.jpg

49F3A427-EF88-4CE3-B811-5CAF7D329C95-508-000000910771780F_zps7af09c69.jpg

Will let ye guess what this is :pac:
    43045DE4-DDB3-4C90-9E7D-FF24C7E2F51B-508-000000912C1C74A8_zps04485f36.jpg

The catch up!
    8A0A37CC-E877-400B-A111-202CA824225D-508-0000009080051299_zps723c6d57.jpg
    91314397-C451-4BDF-9180-3B87BF0D1D50-508-000000909C5327A9_zps035cd55d.jpg
    3A24F6B7-D46A-4B53-8612-AA15B01504E0-508-00000090BD5234E8_zpsb529aa78.jpg

B5FA9D7E-D502-4438-AE73-824B932EB6B7-508-00000090DB648F64_zps538dbee7.jpg

A40F0FFE-5BD3-45EB-BFD9-95B36A96EBDE-508-00000090CFB5160F_zpsdfcfd60f.jpg

CF86C291-4B0D-4981-812A-8EC672DBEE7E-508-00000090AAFC4C0C_zpsc0ce8184.jpg

95549E45-07E6-40C6-AED3-255F4FDC8EF7-508-00000090F10739B6_zps3ce98075.jpg

E2BC814E-1EC5-4241-B2E5-D16D34CCA2EA-508-0000009114C8039C_zpsa8f91886.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭mallards

Nice job EP, your birds are three weeks ahead of mine I would say. I like the big feeders you have, its a pain in the ass filling the small ones every week. I made two large auto feeders for my duck pond also.

IMG_20130720_112818_zpsf4c619ef.jpg

They are the only job mallards. Those ones take 3.5 bags of wheat. I think they are 25 or 30kg bags. Either way there is 8 bags in the run now. Should last weeks. Maybe another big fill before the season. There are another 3 big ones out & about & 5 smaller ones.
    We should've painted em like your ones so they blend in more. Some of the others are.
    They are 13 weeks or so. Bit longer than planned for different reasons but time enough they went. Should be a nice mix this year

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Very good I like the way you have wrapped the wire around the tree's, and it really looks part of the forest, very unusual as we would use post cut to size the very best of luck, and well done it has given me an idea for another Pen we proposed to build next season Thanks Very much.

A very BIG Cheers mate.

Tawny Owl.:D:D:D;)

Why wait til next year? Get craicing now ;)
    Will let ye know how it works out. Plan is to centralize the birds in another part of the club away from the borders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Can't start to build a pen now I was hoping your joking, up to my neck with other things for the Club, the chap up the ladder would he be fitting a camera ;) anyway best of luck nice work done there.

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Can't start to build a pen now I was hoping your joking, up to my neck with other things for the Club, the chap up the ladder would he be fitting a camera ;) anyway best of luck nice work done there.

Maybe maybe not. :D