Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Good Nordie Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Pensivepuca

The fleadh is not my thing, but made me happy up the town yesterday to see the crowds enjoying themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

What's a flad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Spent a weekend in Derry a few years back, had a ball.
    Beautiful city, and jaysus that accent.... *drool*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Pensivepuca

Also, I was pleasantly suprised at how relaxed the police were. They got it easy up here compared to the ones in Belfast. Lovely to see no one wrecking a great week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Was brilliant - great craic every time I went this week. And our local accordion band won the All-Ireland there today......again :)

Derry really is a great city and totally misunderstood by a lot of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Also, I was pleasantly suprised at how relaxed the police were. They got it easy up here compared to the ones in Belfast. Lovely to see no one wrecking a great week.
    Yeah, it was great, very well policed as well, I'd say the organisers were determined that not one visitor would lose a fiver over the week. Also saw numerous people with tricolours or GAA jerseys having their photos taking with PSNI officers, something you wouldn't have dreamed of seeing a few years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Dont you mean Londonderry??

Sorry :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

It's like they went the low profile policing so as not to make folk nervous thinking "why dafuq do they need all these police at a trad fest?!"

Great to see it so successful and hopefully challenge people's misconceptions about the North :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Haven't been to a Fleadh since Tullamore. Nearly recovered now! By all accounts though, LegenDerry did a great job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

All Derry men are rides.

(heard from a very reliable source):pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Whilst divided I've read Derry has never had the same levels of sectarian bile and animosity as Belfast, there must be varying reasons why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Belfast is a brilliant city with a lot of soul and mostly lovely people.

Lived there for a few years and would live there again despite all the bollocks from a minority of the population.

Go up to Derry once or twice a year on football trips and a decent town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

430,000 attended, brilliant, on the Derry !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

anncoates wrote: »
    Belfast is a brilliant city with a lot of soul and mostly lovely people.

Lived there for a few years and would live there again despite all the bollocks from a minority of the population.

+1 love belfast never had a problem up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Derry really went all out to make the Fleadh a success, didn't get to any of the events myself, but was over on Monday and you could see all the businesses, shops, restaurants etc had made a huge effort spread the whole theme and create a good buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Very friendly people and none of the shops or pubs seemed to be overcharging.
    Will definitely go back soon when the city isn't so crowded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

What a city!!

They say the place is rockin most of the time. Not just fleadh weekend.

Such a beautiful place.

The crowds were unreal! Very well organised by the city and PSNI. I was expecting some trouble with the amount of drink consumed, but not a bit of it! Really friendly place.

Drink prices were set more like Dublins for the weekend. But I think that is not the norm and will return to normal after today.

Im going back before Christmas for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Was at the Fleadh last nite and had a serious session. Derry is a wonderful city, I'll be back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

The North West of Ireland is the best bit imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Galaxie

The fleadh is really, really not my thing but I was up in derry a while back, its a nice place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

policarp wrote: »
    Very friendly people and none of the shops or pubs seemed to be overcharging.
    Will definitely go back soon when the city isn't so crowded.

They actually were overcharging a bit, but everything up is normally so cheap yous never even noticed:p

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

donvito99 wrote: »
    What's a flad.

Drug-free fleadh. No E, no Hash, no notin'.

(I feel slightly ashamed after writing that "joke" for some strange reason...)

Really happy that it worked out, it's fantastic for Derry, it'll blow a few prejudices out of the eater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Have just got back to Birmingham after a few days over in Derry.

It didn't really feel like a fleadh (was a bit too spread out, less music on the streets than normal, mainly seemed to be aimed at non-trad people, and had very very strict licencing laws), but it was still a great weekend. All who organised it deserve all the praise they're getting.

Also, the people of Derry were great. I'll definitely visit again.

Derry was a great place for it because it is bigger and can accommodate the crowds better than the smaller towns. Still takes ages to walk through it though, the streets were so crammed.

Good police presence by the PSNI and security too. City looking great and very clean and tidy.

I still was a little uneasy in there in case of a high profile attack. Dissidents really do not like the UK City of Culture title and how it is embraced as normal by the Nationalists. They have bombed the City of Culture offices in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

its a bit of a dump no?
    id liken it to Limerick or Waterford.
    however i haven't been in several years so maybe its changed beyond recognition
    and the accent? i dont like it , whiney moany grating

all just my personal opinions and no offence intended

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

Halloween is the best time of year to visit Derry, its bigger than Christmas. Everyone dresses up, theres a big parade and fire work display... this year will be especially good.

@Hawkwind.. meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Brego888

Sauve wrote: »

The derry accent is just awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 aghost

Was up there yesterday. It was my first visit, absolutely beautiful city and people.
    Killed me to have to leave in the evening. As for the accent, I think its my favourite on the island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Liamalone

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    its a bit of a dump no?
    id liken it to Limerick or Waterford.
    however i haven't been in several years so maybe its changed beyond recognition
    and the accent? i dont like it , whiney moany grating

all just my personal opinions and no offence intended

lol at the pathetic disclaimer at the end.

Several years??? Could be four, could be forty. Musings of an aul fart so I'll go with the latter :)

All my personal opinions and no offence intended of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Never went to Derry yet, but the Derry City supporters are decent and nice. Had a great time with them when they came to Tolka :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,484 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Sauve wrote: »

Why how are you doing :P;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,484 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Keith wrote: »
    Dont you mean Londonderry??

Sorry :P

nah you mean Legend "wait for it" Derry

but in all serious it was a great week and wonderful advert for our wee city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭greenman09

Being from Derry was great to get up for the week for the fleadh. Great atmosphere and hope to get the fleadh back in a few years.
    Great to see good reports on our city.