Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you a hard worker and are you proud of it?

• 18-08-2013 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭

I would say I am a hard worker.
    I get alot done in the day, work most weekends, never do less then 10 ( normaly 11-12 )hours a day even though I'm only paid for 37.5 hours a week and usually skip lunch breaks.
    Even though I'm a hard worker and I've been told that I am, sometimes I think that this isn't something to be proud of. That I'm actually a fool for doing it.
    What do you think?
    Are you proud to be a hard worker? Don't care? or are you proud of the fact that you do the bare minimum and leave everyday at 5 on the dot laughing at the stupid ****ers still working?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I just do what I'm told to do. I can't do anymore or any less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I think, I can be proud of myself, I'm working in the community, looking after people with disabilities. No weekends for me, but I don't mind, I get loads of positive feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

You have a boss at work, when you clock out your are clocking on to your boss at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I work like a bastard. I don't know anyone who works harder or faster and I've a load of work done and have had dozens and dozens of employees over the years. I also know that it gets you a.money. and b.tired and worn out. and c.no-one gives a shyte. I wouldn't hugely reccomend it to anyone. My son is a lazy git and is loved by everyone, me included. I reckon he has it sussed compared to me. Only fools and horses work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I work hard, play hard
    Work hard, play hard.
    We work hard, play hard
    Keep partyin' like it's your job

Seriously though nothing wrong with a strong work ethic, just don't burnout somefeen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

A worker who stays late everyday isn't seen as a hard worker.

More likely to be seen as slow and it takes them 10 hours to complete what everyone else can do in 8

Get out on time OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I work hard, play hard
    Work hard, play hard.
    We work hard, play hard
    Keep partyin' like it's your job

Seriously though nothing work with a strong work ethic, just don't burnout somefeen.

I wonder if David Guetta has subliminal messages in his songs to motivate people during these recessionary times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I don't slack off in work and I'd never leave my workmates in the lurch.

I'll work late on the odd occasion that a project is late or whatever.

The idea, however, that hard work in itself is virtuous, is bollocks.

My Da is a prime example of this. He was one of those old school types that always prided himself on working long and late even though he wasn't paid extra for it.

That's a mug's game, tbh, and just fodder for whoever you work for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

Yeah I work as hard as possible, and get the job done right. Nothing worse than some lazy person who sits on their arse and moans when they're supposed to be working.

However, I hate a lot of physical work, and avoid doing it if I dont have it.
    I was recently offered a job cutting grass, painting, and gardening on a massive estate. I declined, simply because I really hate cutting grass and gardening. Why would I do a job I hate if I dont have to?

Where as I was cleaning a derelict house recently, and disassembling another set up another time, I had to do these seperate jobs, and I worked as hard as I could sweating and straining. I'm either in for the work, or not in it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

somefeen wrote: »
    I get alot done in the day, work most weekends, never do less then 10 ( normaly 11-12 )hours a day even though I'm only paid for 37.5 hours a week and usually skip lunch breaks.

Is this hard work or lack of efficiency?

mikemac1 wrote: »
    A worker who stays late everyday isn't seen as a hard worker.

More likely to be seen as slow and it takes them 10 hours to complete what everyone else can do in 8

Get out on time OP
    Having done a lifetime of 18 hour days, I've finished at 5 religiously the last two years. The world has not stopped turning. I'd have to agree with you, ish. If it can't be done between 8 and five, feck it. It'll still be there tomorrow. No-one else seems to have noticed either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    I wonder if David Guetta has subliminal messages in his songs to motivate people during these recessionary times.

He is a modern day Jim Jones for the working man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Is this hard work or lack of efficiency?

Lack of efficiency because we are short staffed :eek:
    The managing director mops the floors ffs :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I go above and beyond for my customers, because they're nice to me. I go above and beyond for my boss purely because I'm terrified he'll sack me if I don't (he doesn't exactly stick to employment law).

I work hard the majority of the time, but I'm not proud of it. I just do my job to the best of my ability, that's it. Nothing more, nothing less. I'm getting paid for the hours I put in, so may as well work my backside off so that the time til freedom passes faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Even though I'm a hard worker and I've been told that I am, sometimes I think that this isn't something to be proud of. That I'm actually a fool for doing it.
    What do you think?
    Are you proud to be a hard worker? Don't care? or are you proud of the fact that you do the bare minimum and leave everyday at 5 on the dot laughing at the stupid ****ers still working?

Whether you're a fool or not depends on why you're working so hard. If you are doing it because you take pride in doing a good job, or you enjoy the work, or you want to contribute to your company doing well, then keep it up. There is nothing wrong with this.

If you're doing it because you want more money, or career progression, then you'd have to pause and check if you are going to get these things or not. Only you know, because you know the company, you know your situation, and you know the likelihood of these things happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Shamrock231

I'm a hard worker, always go beyond the expectation, but I wouldn't be excessively proud of it, it'll stand to me some day I'm sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Am I proud that I work hard ~ no, but my job (member of the defense forces) gives me a lot of job satisfaction and something to be proud of.

I like being a soldier. It can have its difficult time (like most jobs), I'm not paid terribly well and I'm not appreciated by the Irish public (if I took boards serious) but for the people who do appreciate our efforts I'm proud to serve under our flag and wear it on my shoulder.

The laziest, most work-shy git who works for me is the last lad I'd sack - for the simple reason he charms the customers and they all love him. The lads who do the actual work he talks up are all a bit of a blur, tbh. Which is either a sad reflection on me, or a sad reflection on the world of work. If I asked yer man to work a saturday, he'd die laughing and go play golf.. but i pay him the most and would hate to see him leave... go figure.. push comes to shove, I'd sack the cnut though.(in case he's reading this)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah I'm a hard worker, my job is a physical one and the day goes quicker when I'm kept busy.

It's a bit sickening sometimes though when I see lazy bastards on the same money as me and getting away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

I work hard in general. But I'll be damned if I'm staying past home time on a regular basis. I've no problem staying an extra half hour the ODD time to get something done I said I'd do, but I wouldn't make a habit of it. No way. A good few people in work do it though. Not me. I'm not a manager nor paid a managers wage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

I work smarter not harder....

Anybody who works hard is a thick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

I've been working with machinery for about 10 years now, agri contacting in Ireland and earthmoving in Australia, so I tend to work long hours. Wouldn't say I'm proud of it, it's just a job but the money's decent and you can be damn sure I won't be doing extra work that I wouldn't get paid for! I also have a degree in construction management and am trying to get a start on that side of things to see what its like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

jobyrne30 wrote: »
    I work smarter not harder....

Anybody who works hard is a thick

That, it bugs me when people don't think a few steps down the line or how just doing something requiring common sense will save you, a customer and the company both time and money instead of being a jobsworth about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Sure i have the welts to prove it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

Does anyone say on their death bed that they wished they worked more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I'm a hard worker and I don't believe in doing anything unless it's done right. I don't slack off, I don't know how people do that, tbh. I'd rather just stay busy and make the day go faster. That has its benefit too because I usually get all my work done relatively quickly and I can then tackle something else or make a dent on tomorrow's work. I can usually head off early then because I've done everything and there's nothing else to do.

I do take pride in my work ethic and I genuinely think it pays off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

1ZRed wrote: »
    I do take pride in my work ethic and I genuinely think it pays off.

Are you the poster who wanted to become a porn star a few months ago?

Well done on the strong work ethic I suppose :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

krudler wrote: »
    That, it bugs me when people don't think a few steps down the line or how just doing something requiring common sense will save you, a customer and the company both time and money instead of being a jobsworth about it.
    I agree there are times when you can be flexible - usually when you're well used to the job and confident, but jobsworths get an awful hard time though. If being a jobsworth means I won't get into the height of sh1t and risk my job... then I'll be a jobsworth! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I work hard while i'm at work and have no problem with that. But i clock in at 9 and clock out at 5 and that is as regular as clockwork. It would want to be some kind of super emergency for me to stay later than 5. Rarer than hens teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Are you the poster who wanted to become a porn star a few months ago?

Well done on the strong work ethic I suppose :)

Yea, a strong, ridged work ethic definitely helps! :pac:

Tbh why the feck didn't I do it. Such easy money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Rarely get out on the dot of my finishing time - I aim to though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Rarely get out on the dot of my finishing time - I aim to though.

I'd be on a clockcard so come 3pm I'm outta there as i don't get paid overtime, I notice those on salaries e.g managers and supervisors would stay a bit later though if they had to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Ah but you see in my job, it doesnt matter if everything is done by 5 or 6, there is always more and that stuff needs to be done ASAP all the time.
    I wish working fast would let me finish earlier but it doesn't, I could work 24/7 and the work wont be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Lars1916 wrote: »
    I think, I can be proud of myself, I'm working in the community, looking after people with disabilities. No weekends for me, but I don't mind, I get loads of positive feedback.
    I do believe we've met!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

i'm a lazy bollocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Ah but you see in my job, it doesnt matter if everything is done by 5 or 6, there is always more and that stuff needs to be done ASAP all the time.
    I wish working fast would let me finish earlier but it doesn't, I could work 24/7 and the work wont be done.

If the work will never be done then it will always be there tomorrow. I used to try stay late to get stuff done but I found that after 5/6 it was taking me twice as long to get the same amount done. By leaving earlier I actually seem to get more done during the day as I know I am going to be leaving at a certain time and need to get as much as possible done in that time. Of course if I have deadlines which need to be met I will stay in if needs be but that's the exception rather than the rule.

If you don't value your time no one else will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I agree there are times when you can be flexible - usually when you're well used to the job and confident, but jobsworths get an awful hard time though. If being a jobsworth means I won't get into the height of sh1t and risk my job... then I'll be a jobsworth! :)

It's give and take alright, I won't bend to every customer for an easy life but it annoys me seeing people having to deal with red tape when I could fix something in a couple of mouse clicks, on the plus side when you show that rule bending/breaking is more beneficial to the company and they just change how something is done it works out. I'm convinced there's a department in our place who's sole job it is to make everyone else's life more difficult with stupidly convoluted ways of doing things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Damn you all and your structured jobs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

It's threads like these when I read other posters saying "I do my work, no more, no less" and I'm thinking, "What the fcuk have I done with my life?". I kinda can't help keeping busy. I'm self employed as my main "job" so to speak, but this gives me time to do things like voluntary work and applying for jobs just because I want to work in that particular organisation.

A typical example would be like last Wednesday I went for an interview in an organisation for an admin job, I'd do it with my eyes closed, but I didn't care about that, I just wanted to work with the organisation. In the interview there were three of the top brass in the organisation. I said to myself I have an opportunity here to sell myself to the top, I totally tore up the rule book on Interview 101 formalities, way off the script. Thursday morning she called me to say I hadn't got the job (quelle surprise), but that she wanted to meet me again to talk about some of the things I talked about in the interview (I was givin' it socks in fairness, can't remember a thing now, winged it all the way!), and she felt there were projects they were working on that I might be interested in.

There are days too when rather than being up to my tits in IT I like nothing better than to relax and do physically demanding manual labour, my brain isn't constantly in overdrive, I love digging, I would dig a whole garden, twice! I love working up a proper sweat from manual labor. I think it's thanks to working with my old man from an early age in his engineering business that gave me a love of manual labor, and the drive to be self employed, IT was just something I'm passionate about anyway as I'm all about integrating it into processes to enable people to work smarter and more efficiently.

I see now how my son has kind of picked up on it the way he helps out the maintenance man here and then he loves coming to work with me and then for extra money he helps out down in the car park. I don't particularly like people giving him money as he has enough of it and I'd prefer to see him work for the sake of working (my old man used say "sure aren't ya lucky I'm feedin' ya?), but my wife figures if he works he should get paid.

I work because I like to work, I don't consider it work, it's just something I do because I enjoy what I do. I work with some of the most amazing and inspirational people and that's more than enough reward for me tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

The laziest, most work-shy git who works for me is the last lad I'd sack - for the simple reason he charms the customers and they all love him. The lads who do the actual work he talks up are all a bit of a blur, tbh. Which is either a sad reflection on me, or a sad reflection on the world of work. If I asked yer man to work a saturday, he'd die laughing and go play golf.. but i pay him the most and would hate to see him leave... go figure.. push comes to shove, I'd sack the cnut though.(in case he's reading this)

jesus I read this and was instantly transplanted back to one job worked and the situation was the exact same, one of the staff was great with customers but in every other way couldn't give a crap about anything else, total airhead but buckets of charm and being one of her co workers was one of the most difficult things because we all did twice the work to carry her. Couldn't figure out why the boss kept her on, and now I know! (was happy enough to leave that place too, she was robbing the guy blind on the side but figured he deserved it ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

krudler wrote: »
    It's give and take alright, I won't bend to every customer for an easy life but it annoys me seeing people having to deal with red tape when I could fix something in a couple of mouse clicks, on the plus side when you show that rule bending/breaking is more beneficial to the company and they just change how something is done it works out. I'm convinced there's a department in our place who's sole job it is to make everyone else's life more difficult with stupidly convoluted ways of doing things.

I'm convinced there's one of those departments in every organisation, and if there isn't, you're usually guaranteed some bureaucratic believer will make sure to put up every barrier to efficiency possible for fear their own job might be at risk, or more usually just to stop you implementing change! Some people don't adjust or adapt well to change, and when they're so inflexible, they're harder to bend, but they're easier to break.

I don't like breaking people so I usually just go around them or over their heads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

What do you think?

I do what's expected of me and arrive on time every day and am nice to everyone. I work with people who go beyond that, stay late in the evenings, come in on a Saturday, brown nosing the managers, have a finger in every pie. In my experience they get roped into every crisis that comes up which increases their workload, get taken advantage of and never get any thanks for their efforts. It's better to keep the head down IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

When Im doing something for myself Im extremely diligent. Usually going way overboard and overdoing the amount of effort that's required. If something should take and hour to do, I'll take 3 just to be sure. I took this attitude into an office environment afew years back and quickly found out that that was a mugs game. Some of the people who got on best in the place, did the least amount of work and let people like me pick up the slack. So I did what was required. No more no less. Was always on time, didnt take the piss with absence, but equally never made myself an easy target for weekends or overtime and made sure to be gone at my finishing time everyday. People who went overboard got no special treatment, so why bother. My attitude to working for myself hasnt changed though.

Dont think its something to be particularly proud of. It takes all sort to make a world and some of the most interesting people I know or know of could never be described as hard working. I personally find people who live to work to be a bit tedious. Guy my Dad used to work for is a pure workaholic. Hates taking an annual summer holiday with the wife n kids, is on the phone to suppliers/clients all day everyday. He just lives to make money and has really no other interests in life. Sounds like a really tiresome existence to me but to each their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I'd consider myself a hard worker when I need to be.

Whilst on work placement last year I sometimes put in 100+ hour weeks. That was when I was applying for jobs, teaching all day, marking work, planning lessons, and travelling 45 minutes each way every day.

One week I had an interview on the Thursday and for the three days before that I got 3 hours sleep. I spent every waking minute pretty much working. I didn't have time to eat some nights. Then I travelled 2 hours on the Thursday to get to my interview. At that I taught a lesson for 45 minutes and then went into the interview. That lasted an hour and 45 minutes.

Thank **** I got the job.

I'm terrible at other times and, at the moment, I'm getting nothing done. Boards is taking up too much of my time. Realistically, I should be in bed now but I won't get to sleep for a few hours yet.