Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Epic names

• 15-08-2013 7:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭

So I was watching Reeling in the Years the other day, I think it was 1992, but anyway... There was coverage of Ben Dunne's little cocaine and hooker episode in Florida and there was an interview with his lawyer who was called...

BUTCH SLAUGHTER!

I once worked with 2 lads from the UK, one of whose surnames was also Slaughter, and the other one's was Savage. There was also a teacher in my School called Willy Long slightly less epic. but funny nonetheless.

What epic / funny names have ye come across in ye're travels?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I was watching the javelin this morning and saw one of the competitors is called Andreas Thorkildsen. The surname alone is fairly class.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Went to school with a kid called Mohammad. Thought it was funny then turns out few later realised its most popular name in the world apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭mutley18

It's all about Englebert Humperdinck for me. What a dude.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

No one actually believes this but I once went to college with a bloke called James Bond.

My son pals with a kid called dooby!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

No one actually believes this but I once went to college with a bloke called James Bond.

I remember his brothers !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭Amerika

"True Love" Her real name and not some baby born to hippies. She’s in her 90’s... if still kicking.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

"Epic"? You must be a crazy lad that does crazy lad things.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Appie

"Pocahontas Murphy come here to me when I call you!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭Amerika

I once dated a girl in high school with the first name of Gaye. She ended up marrying a classmate who's last name was Barr. Don't know if they're still married.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,239 ✭✭✭✭endacl

mutley18 wrote: »
    It's all about Englebert Humperdinck for me. What a dude.
    Particularly his operatic works.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Engelbert_Humperdinck

Indy car driver, Dick Trickle. You'd need to be pretty sure of your own epicness not to change that at the first opportunity!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Commander Flex Plexico.

He's a Pentagon spokesman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

willie stroker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Ulick McGee, used to do a poetry section in the Herald if I remember right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Bob is massively underrated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

wazky wrote: »
    Ulick McGee, used to do a poetry section in the Herald if I remember right.

I'm sure that was just a pseudonym,only a handful of us use our real names online.

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    I'm sure that was just a pseudonym,only a handful of us use our real names online.

The Herald as in the paper?

Had a picture of some old dude beside the name, fairly sure it was his actual name.

Bob is massively underrated
    Not by everybody!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I knew of a kid called Devon Creamer.

I taught primary school kids in China for a while. One of the girls was called Li Li - that's surname Li, first name Li. Thought it sounded like something you'd call a panda!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I taught primary school kids in China for a while. One of the girls was called Li Li - that's surname Li, first name Li. Thought it sounded like something you'd call a panda!

Ling Ling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Totes epic man lolz. Sick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

wazky wrote: »
    The Herald as in the paper?

Had a picture of some old dude beside the name, fairly sure it was his actual name.

Fucksake:mad:

Played football with a Spanish guy for a while, his name was Abel.

We nicknamed him Senor Ding Dong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Lando Griffin
    Fonzie
    MacGyver

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Working in China, too, a lot of students here choose their own English names. I've taught, over the years, kids called 'Phallic', 'Mania', 'Large', 'Thor' and 'Dong'.

Best one, though, was a teenage girl who called herself 'Eunice'. Thing was, she had a bad lisp and always spoke her name as something like 'Eunithh' or 'Unit'. Had to bite my hand to stop myself from laughing every time.

And now I have a baby boy on the way in 2 months and I'm calling him Virgil. How's that for a slice of fried gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I bought a jeep off him, I really did. Sound lad as it happens.

Ling Ling

Lang Lang. Renowned concert pianist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Lance Armstrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Nigerian's have a penchant for a flamboyant christian name followed by an unpronounceable surname, knew one called Evidence years back sadly no longer with us, RIP.