Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New to 80miles a week, any tips?

• 14-08-2013 5:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭

So i'll be biking 80 miles a week to college and back, any general tips?
    I've a bell, ordered some slick tires, oiled it all up, getting mud guards and panier rack and bag, will get helmet, I cycle around a bit but never did this kinda miles week in week out before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Lights and wet gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

What rasco said and some hi viz gear. Imagine soggy socks and shoes is last thing you want so may want to invest in some cycling shoes with waterproof overshoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

buy yourself a carradice barley bag fit a good rack. fill the bag with tools /wet gear/overshoes/spare lights mind you a dynamo set up would be better never need batterys./also food and a good lock for your bike/2 spare tubes pump.
    bobs your uncle you need never worry again:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

Switch to kilometres!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

buy yourself a carradice barley bag fit a good rack. fill the bag with tools /wet gear/overshoes/spare lights mind you a dynamo set up would be better never need batterys./also food and a good lock for your bike/2 spare tubes pump.
    bobs your uncle you need never worry again:D
    Food?...on what would appear to be a 13km trip?(assuming 10 journeys/5 days).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Switch to kilometres!!!!!!

I still work in miles as well.. !

As the lads advised you on gear and stuff you need to bring I'll tell you not to be going like a demon and burning yourself out early in the week ! Once you get used to the run and get fitter it will get a lot easier !

Always keep a bit in reserve if there is a bad headwind. There is nothing worse than going to work/college, being totally knackered and having to face into work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

travel light!

leave as much as possible at your destination, so you don't have to carry it every day (e.g. leave your lock locked to the bike rack in college)

leave a set of dry clothes in college..if you get wet, you'll have dry clothes to change into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I still work in miles as well.. !
    :eek: Aren't you aware of Rule 24?

Food?...on what would appear to be a 13km trip?(assuming 10 journeys/5 days).
    i'm not talking fish and chips ffs energy bar:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Slick tyres? If your going to be riding through winter then i suggest you get yourself tyres with some sort of thread on them. There are plenty of good commuter tyres out there catering for all budget types.

tyres you need puncture proof like marathon plus but there heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Take some days off if you feel tired. Depending on your current fitness levels it can take a while to get into the swing of commuting 5 days a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

CJC999 wrote: »
    Slick tyres? If your going to be riding through winter then i suggest you get yourself tyres with some sort of thread on them. There are plenty of good commuter tyres out there catering for all budget types.

What for exactly? Assuming he's riding on the road, there's no need for a thread.

http://sheldonbrown.com/brandt/slicks.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

Wel if you are going to college I would suggest above all else a good lock..

and dont leave anything on the bike that can be stolen and secure everything else as much as you can..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭abceire

Cheers guys, need clothes, better lock lights, what kinda clothes would you recommend, I'd like decent bike jacket that i could wear in college too.
    Yep it's 5 days a week.
    I am fit now, play squash 4 hrs a week and lift weights 2 hrs a week. I cycle a bit but nothing to mad, just when it's easier then paying for parking or traffic to annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭Seweryn

abceire wrote: »
    Cheers guys, need clothes, better lock lights, what kinda clothes would you recommend, I'd like decent bike jacket that i could wear in college too.
    Yep it's 5 days a week.
    I am fit now, play squash 4 hrs a week and lift weights 2 hrs a week. I cycle a bit but nothing to mad, just when it's easier then paying for parking or traffic to annoying.
    If you are fit, then it is going to be easypeasy. I am not, and still manage to cycle about 300km per week, mainly commuting.

If you are looking for a nice jacket that you can wear off the bike, have a look at Rapha stuff. Not the cheapest, but nice. And get yourself a good set of lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Rapha? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

abceire wrote: »
    I am fit now, play squash 4 hrs a week and lift weights 2 hrs a week.

Schedule in some rest, cycling 5 days a week on top of that sounds alot.

Wiggle's DHB range has some nice casual cycling gear. It's very good quality and value for money.
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/dhb/jackets/