Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on cheap small 4WD tractor.

• 14-08-2013 2:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭

Need to upgrade my current Tractor.

Want something with about 70hp and handy around a tight farmyard. Need a Loader and 4wd (to cope with carrying Silage bales on wet land).

Am looking at Ursus, possibly the 475 4wd version or maybe a mid size Zetor, something like this

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor-6340/5189937

any advice ?

I'm not interested in big auld awkward 'girls' who have seen better days or even worse, been tarted up as 'classics' in reality anything older than late 90's is of no interest to me...as I'm not a mechanic and have no plans to ever be so reliability and low maintenance is a must.

Have about €15,000 cash to spend so can't really afford the premium stuff, MF's or JD's etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Hard to beat the New Holland TL's or 35series. Simple and reliable. Two key words for the part timer.

My parting advice. Spend a bit more than you've budgeted for and when you get it, mind it like a babby!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Or a New Holland 7840. Pretty bomb proof, especially without the SLE gearbox. Local contractor has one with a TM160 engine in it. 15,000hours on the clock, still going like a good-un.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Or a New Holland 7840. Pretty bomb proof, especially without the SLE gearbox. Local contractor has one with a TM160 engine in it. 15,000hours on the clock, still going like a good-un.

Did you not read the bit about small tidy tractor around the yard?

7840 is a big yoke straight 6 engine with about 100hp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Massey 390-4WD,.....Fiat 80-90 or 90-90-4wd......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

yellow50HX wrote: »
    Did you not read the bit about small tidy tractor around the yard?

7840 is a big yoke straight 6 engine with about 100hp

OK, then how about a SAME 80, or a small Deutz? Fiat 90-90 pain in the neck, literally, for loader work, especially if your near 6 foot tall, poor view out the screen when loader raised. Any chance of getting a Kubota for 15k?

Good lock on most modern 4wd's, and two cylinders longer leaves them a lot steadier with the loader.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/lambourgini/5484923

I need to buy a new tractor in winter... 10k max .. what would ye make of these, few lads have recommended the lamburgini to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Bodacious wrote: »

I need to buy a new tractor in winter... 10k max .. what would ye make of these, few lads have recommended the lamburgini to me

Have you a local source of parts, that is always the question with lesser makes?

Some makes are better than others as they use industry parts from other manufacturers eg Perkins engines.

the lambo, huriliam and Same and all the same. you would need to have a loacl dealer for parts. there are a few knocking around down here as there was a dealship in teh area for a good while. soem people seemed very happy with them. most were bought on lease or HP so would have been bough new and kept for a few years. i dont know that many that have them long term

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Need to upgrade my current Tractor.

Want something with about 70hp and handy around a tight farmyard. Need a Loader and 4wd (to cope with carrying Silage bales on wet land).

Am looking at Ursus, possibly the 475 4wd version or maybe a mid size Zetor, something like this

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/zetor-6340/5189937

any advice ?

I'm not interested in big auld awkward 'girls' who have seen better days or even worse, been tarted up as 'classics' in reality anything older than late 90's is of no interest to me...as I'm not a mechanic and have no plans to ever be so reliability and low maintenance is a must.

Have about €15,000 cash to spend so can't really afford the premium stuff, MF's or JD's etc.

How about this?

http://www.midantrimtractors.co.uk/details.asp?CarID=7557&Make=&Model=&Engine=&Fuel=&GearBox=&Body=&min_pr=&max_pr=&Year=&SortOrder=MostRecent&offset=0#.UgyzFYlONaQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Brother in law has one of these and its fairly bullet proof as far as I can see. No price on this but it must be around the 10K

http://www.hfultontractors.com/content/case-3

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 94 ✭✭green_bow

great tractor and I say that as someone who hates ford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Am I the only one around here that thinks €15k is not a cheap tractor?! For me cheap means <€5k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

just do it wrote: »
    Am I the only one around here that thinks €15k is not a cheap tractor?! For me cheap means <€5k
    Id have to agree. loads oof lads with big flashy tractors that personally i couldnt justify buying. 15k should get a very good tractor. money spent on stock in a lot of cases would be way more beneficial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

4wd versions of the 1290 are rare as hens teeth, even the 1290s aren't too common at all. AFAIK though, they are basically a non turbo version of the 1390 (or 1394), which came with 68/72 bhp. Fairly reliable tractor in fairness, biggest problem is with the gearbox in them, selectors can wear, and the tractor will get stuck in gear, so make sure it changes gear without any stickiness etc.

Timmaay wrote: »
    4wd versions of the 1290 are rare as hens teeth, even the 1290s aren't too common at all. AFAIK though, they are basically a non turbo version of the 1390 (or 1394), which came with 68/72 bhp. Fairly reliable tractor in fairness, biggest problem is with the gearbox in them, selectors can wear, and the tractor will get stuck in gear, so make sure it changes gear without any stickiness etc.

thanks timmay,

its a bit far away from me to be honest but it looks very clean, by the name its a foreign chap and she looks very clean and yeah when I looked at it on tractordata.com they only made them from 1980-84 so you'd imagine pretty rare!

thanks timmay,

its a bit far away from me to be honest but it looks very clean, by the name its a foreign chap and she looks very clean and yeah when I looked at it on tractordata.com they only made them from 1980-84 so you'd imagine pretty rare!

Getting it back mightn't be cheap wither. Looks good but wonder why there is a concrete block behind the wheel. I'd say try to find one from a local dealer that way you might get some kind of come back.

I don't know what part of the country your in, or what use you need the tractor for (56hp isn't much at all, I wouldn't fancy too much loader work with that 1290), but anyways, I'd be snapping up the likes of this instead http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/case-1494-4wd-with-loader/5500744, in terms of the chassis/engine, I think the 12/13/1490s are all fairly similarly, except the 1490s are a 80hp 3.6L turbo (against a 3L non turbo in the 1290), then things like bigger wheels etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

Timmaay wrote: »
    I don't know what part of the country your in, or what use you need the tractor for (56hp isn't much at all, I wouldn't fancy too much loader work with that 1290), but anyways, I'd be snapping up the likes of this instead http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/case-1494-4wd-with-loader/5500744, in terms of the chassis/engine, I think the 12/13/1490s are all fairly similarly, except the 1490s are a 80hp 3.6L turbo (against a 3L non turbo in the 1290), then things like bigger wheels etc.

that's without VAT, you'd be paying closer to 6000 pounds.

does look pretty clean though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

RossieMan wrote: »
    that's without VAT, you'd be paying closer to 6000 pounds.

does look pretty clean though.

I reckon there would be good value in that case if it was delivered to the street for €6500 . There is a fine front bucket on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

moy83 wrote: »
    I reckon there would be good value in that case if it was delivered to the street for €6500 . There is a fine front bucket on it

a grand off the asking price? not a chance i'd imagine.

how much would VRT be on it i wonder.

Vrt is a flat rate of 100quid on all tractors I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Early 1490's weren't turboed though just in case anyway says :)

lads small 3 pot tractors and grand yokes but you also have to look to see what your plan to use them for. if your going to be pottering around the yard witha power box and drawing turf with a handy sized trailed they are perfect but if your going to be lifting heavy silage bales with the loader get a 4 cylinder.

the chopped silage bale can weight 700-800kg thats serious weight and with the shorter front on the 3 pots that is serious weight on a front axel even with a weight box. one of my neighbours has a ford 4610 with a loader he used to do pit silage so the tractor was only lifting a 3 foot silage grab so was ok. last year he did silage bales and while it could lift the bale it was under serious pressure, i gave him a loan of the digger a few times as he needed to replace the front bearings and the also burst a tyre. if he was going into a field with a silage bale he had to take off the weight box and put it on a bale spike. he has gone back to pit this year.

even with a 4wd a 3 cylinder would struggle with a bale on the loader, you would need to be putting a lot of ballast on the back. other thing is that many of the loaders on smaller tractors and not really rated for more then 500kg. i was in a garage one day and an old ford 5000 tractor came in to be sold for export, there was a loader on the front that was twisted, housing for the lift arm snapped lifting a bale and smashed the front window and bent the cab. they had to cut the loader frame off with a torch.

i have an old loader on the tractor, i would say is close on 40 years old it was on a 5000, 7000, 7600 and now 7610 only use it for light loader work like lifting straw and hay bales and cleaning out the calf pens. wouldnt chance a silage bale on it anymore. my advice would be get a 4 cylinder 4wd with a good loader last thing you want is to be pinned under a silage bale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Thanks for all the advice guys,

Theres a lot there to consider.

- Is there a dealer nearby who can provide parts and service.
    - Safety is a consideration too .. maybe worthwhile to spend a bit extra just to get something that although it might be over-specced for what I need .. but is still better than it tumblin over in a wet field or snapping a loader arm carrying a heavy bale of Silage.
    -

Something like these two

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/case-4240-xl-4wd-tractor/5361179

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/1995-deutz-agro-prima-4-51-power-plus/5233371

anybody have experiences good or bad with buying tractors at auction ? I see Ganley Craigue have this beast. (Prob more than 15K .. but maybe not too much more)

http://www.gc2000.ie/auction_details.php?id=13141?lot_no=&description=tractor&regi_no=&hours=&catagory=&order=&dir=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

That jbtractors in Longford. Anyone experience of dealing with them? They have some lovely clean case's with low hours for sale, some with new mx loaders

Thanks for all the advice guys,

Theres a lot there to consider.

- Is there a dealer nearby who can provide parts and service.
    - Safety is a consideration too .. maybe worthwhile to spend a bit extra just to get something that although it might be over-specced for what I need .. but is still better than it tumblin over in a wet field or snapping a loader arm carrying a heavy bale of Silage.
    -

Something like these two

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/case-4240-xl-4wd-tractor/5361179

http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/1995-deutz-agro-prima-4-51-power-plus/5233371

anybody have experiences good or bad with buying tractors at auction ? I see Ganley Craigue have this beast. (Prob more than 15K .. but maybe not too much more)

http://www.gc2000.ie/auction_details.php?id=13141?lot_no=&description=tractor&regi_no=&hours=&catagory=&order=&dir=[/QUOTE]

its been a while since we good in a tractor round here, have the digger 10years and the tractor 15, my dad usually only changed at tractor once every 10-15 years so when he had 2 or 3 on the farm there might have been a change every 5 years or so. i'd say there hasnt been more then 8/9 bought on this place so wouldnt have huge experince of buyign and selling them.

what i would say is if your like me an dont do this a lot get a tractor from a reputable dealer, unless you are well able to haggle and know what your buying (pitfalls and all) and know what price to pay buyying private is a risky job. get your spec right, know you budjet, and keep and eye out on local dealers or dealers witha good reputaion, they might only stand ove rit for a few months but at least you will soemthing to come back on.