Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Tippet Material

Options
  • 14-08-2013 12:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭

Looking for some advice on the best tippet material for dry fly fishing ideally in 4lb but 3lb would do. Hoping to find something thats clear and with a small diameter and also will sink readily without dragging the fly down.
    I have tried the 6x tapered leaders and they are great but as I'm still new to fly fishing I get snagged a bit and lose end few feet a bit and want to just add back onto them as it would break the bank to keep replacing them.

Cheers

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭thefisherbuy

This or Co-polymer
    FluoroCarbon Its Invisible in water,Where are Fishing Around?

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Bromium

Mainly the Tolka for the moment building up to branching out to other waters. I heard flourocarbon can be very dense and can drag flies down.

And You Should Get Gink ( Its Keeps The Dry Fly Up in the Water without Sinking For 6-8 Hours!
    http://www.fishingmegastore.com/gherkes-gink~1284.html

Yeah I am using Gink at the moment so that should hold the fly up with fluoro?

Not for me i use normal nylon when fishing i think Copolymer Probably is the best But i've caught my biggest River wild brownie (5lb) with nylon

• Advertisement

What breaking strain are you generally using and is there a particular brand and colour (clear or the brownish green) you favour ?

• Registered Users Posts: 689 ✭✭✭stylie