Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Suggestions For 1Ltr Car?

• 14-08-2013 8:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭

I'm looking to get a 1ltr car. My max budget is €5000. I do a return daily journey from Delgany to Blanchardstown. I'm looking for the most fuel efficient car possible.

I was thinking of something like an Aygo?:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Aygo/1.0-AURA/36513758083027860/advert?channel=CARS

Other possibilities are a Citroen C1, Peugeot 107. I love the look of the Toyota IQ but don't think I'd find one in my budget. Also is it true that the Aygo is more fuel efficient than the IQ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭TBi

I think the Aygo, C1 and 107 are all built on the same chassis. All the same car really.

The Aygo is a nice car. Also have a look at the yaris although that is more expensive. My better half bought an old 1997 micra and it's fantastic, way under your budget so you can keep the rest of the money for petrol and a holiday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

shuffles03 wrote: »
    I'm looking to get a 1ltr car. My max budget is €5000. I do a return daily journey from Delgany to Blanchardstown. I'm looking for the most fuel efficient car possible.

I was thinking of something like an Aygo?:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Aygo/1.0-AURA/36513758083027860/advert?channel=CARS

Other possibilities are a Citroen C1, Peugeot 107. I love the look of the Toyota IQ but don't think I'd find one in my budget. Also is it true that the Aygo is more fuel efficient than the IQ?

You're making an intelligent choice here in all three,

however if you see an I Q above budget , go and look at it and make an offer within your budget even if its a lot less because they are very hard to sell, so the seller might drop more than is usual
    However I have driven both an iQ an aygo C1 107, but the iq drives like a much bigger better car.
    I think a 1997 micra is not realistic for your commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭shuffles03

Also, I'm 6ft1........

My g/f has a 00 Yaris. Fantastic little car. Just keeps going. Toyota seems to be the way I think. Also, the Aygo appears to be cheaper than Citroen's offerings. So, you're saying an IQ would be better IF found within (or close) to my budget?

I read a few threads here where users/posters were saying that it was not as fuel efficient as the Aygo/C1/107 etc.

Here's an IQ for just above my budget:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/iQ/1.0-LUNA/201316214422134/advert?channel=CARS

Seems deceptively low in price compared to the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Slightly off topic, but out of interest how long is this commute taking you? You mentioned that work is taking care of the cost of the car in another thread, are they stipulating that you must buy a 1 litre car?

Commute takes roughly 35/40mins. Work aren't asking me to get a 1ltr - I just want to now. I'm currently driving a work car which is EXTREMELY un-economical: BMW 3 Series 2.5Ltr Petrol. I want to take care of running costs myself.

I've been driving the BMW for 2 weeks now and it pains me to watch the fuel gauge drop nearly a quarter of a tank with each commute. AND it costs over €90 to fill!!

I had been looking at a Mini previously when I posted that thread a few weeks ago but then work suggested the BMW that was sitting in storage (an old colleagues car). Driving it has really reinforced the idea in my mind to go for a 1 ltr car.

I hate the idea of watching the fuel gauge on a constant basis, always worrying about it's level when I embark upon an unexpected journey outside of my daily commute (cinema etc). I want to get a car that plods along nicely and cheaply.

How about the return journey. The back up that often happens after exit 16, how long does that normally add on? (just wondering, as my commute is similar, and I might have to go back to four wheels soon.)

On topic, obviously a 2.5litre petrol is going to be a glutton for gogo juice, but a 1 Litre car will become painful with that length of a commute. I don't think you're quite on the money for buying a diesel (depending on how much you drive outside of the commute), but a slightly larger petrol can be quite economical on fuel and yet provide a more comfortable drive.

How about the return journey. The back up that often happens after exit 16, how long does that normally add on? (just wondering, as my commute is similar, and I might have to go back to four wheels soon.)

Returns not too bad. I leave work at 5.30 and I'm always back in Delgany by 6.10/6.15 at the latest. There is a bit of a backup just before Bray but it looks a lot worse than it actually is. I'm usually only stopped/stuck there for 10/15 mins max each day - less other days.
    On topic, obviously a 2.5litre petrol is going to be a glutton for gogo juice, but a 1 Litre car will become painful with that length of a commute. I don't think you're quite on the money for buying a diesel (depending on how much you drive outside of the commute), but a slightly larger petrol can be quite economical on fuel and yet provide a more comfortable drive.

So by what you said, a larger car could be more economical for motorway driving? What would be the MPG difference with a Citroen C4 1.4 and an old Prius against an Aygo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

little cracker and bulletproof

No I don't necessarily think a larger car will be more economical than a 1 litre, only that you can take a slight bump in engine capacity for a larger increase in comfortability. There's a lot to be said for enjoying the car you spend a large portion of your time in.

I don't mind a bit of a bumpy ride. I drove/slept/lived/washed/ate/skulked in a 1996 Mitsubishi Chariot for 6 months while backpacking around New Zealand last year. :pac:

I'm definitely looking for the cheapest car to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭TBi

I agree. Larger car will be more stable at high speed, more comfortable, safer for overtaking and quieter than a smaller car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

am with Dob on this one

I wouldnt be surprised if a 1.2 / 1.4 would return better mpg on motorways vs the 1l. Presuming not doing 60-80kmph

If cost alone is your main concern, have a look at www.fuelly.com for average user economy figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Bigus

A Prius might be more suitable for your body size and the commute, definitely more relaxing to drive than an aygo, go for a high miles prius 07 rather than a lower miles 04 or 05. I've driven prius extensively too,great car much different to your original choice, safer too.
    That iq you posted is up on carzone for 121 days so if its still for sale there'd be room to bargain.

Bigus wrote: »
    A Prius might be more suitable for your body size and the commute, definitely more relaxing to drive than an aygo, go for a high miles prius 07 rather than a lower miles 04 or 05. I've driven prius extensively too,great car much different to your original choice, safer too.
    That iq you posted is up on carzone for 121 days so if its still for sale there'd be room to bargain.

Don't think I'd get a '07 for under €5K though.

Also, considering you'll be doing almost exclusively motorway miles a Prius probably won't provide the economical advantage you're looking for. They're suited to local runs and town driving where there's a decent mix of using the electric motor and IC engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

How about a Daihatsu Sirion? They are the same car mechanically as a Toyota Yaris and as a result they are very reliable cars. The one in the link below is a 1.3 and is suspiciously cheap(could be a bargain if it's genuine). However they also come with a 1 liter engine.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car/5225570

Full-20898229.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Imo 2,400 euro will get you a far better car than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

What's going to happen to the 325? :D

She's currently up on Carzone

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Imo 2,400 euro will get you a far better car than that.

But would it fare well on a daily commute from Delgany to Blanchardstown? Could probably knock it down to €2000.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

I find this thread kind of sad in a way. Isn't it such a pity we live in a Country where a bloke has to let go of his 3 Series Company Car and take a weasel little matchbox instead simply because fuel is so expensive?

Its fecking tragic so it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Buy a big car with a decent engine for €1500, keep the foot steady and enjoy yourself a bit more. :cool:
    You only live once, 1l cars are for learning and shopping.

Alternitavely, but a Kei car. A turbo one.

I've been told by a friend that I would not see any benefit (fuel saving) from a 1 litre car ie an Aygo, C1, 107 for my daily commute from Delgany to Blanchardstown on the motorway. They advised me to go for a diesel. Is this true?

They said the small engine would be revving really high and would burn through fuel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

No I don't necessarily think a larger car will be more economical than a 1 litre, only that you can take a slight bump in engine capacity for a larger increase in comfortability. There's a lot to be said for enjoying the car you spend a large portion of your time in.

Friend has a 1.2 97 Clio that he seems to like treating poorly on purpose, yet it refuses to die.

One which is a bit more up to date then? Costs him €50 to fill and goes and goes. Has a gauge for oil volume too. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I've been told by a friend that I would not see any benefit (fuel saving) from a 1 litre car ie an Aygo, C1, 107 for my daily commute from Delgany to Blanchardstown on the motorway. They advised me to go for a diesel. Is this true?

They said the small engine would be revving really high and would burn through fuel.

The revs would depend on the cars gearing and not the engine size, most city cars (what you're looking at) would have tight gears, not really designed for motorways.
    The great thing about motorways driving is that you will see good figures out of a decent sized petrol engine, otherwise you can get a boring economical diesel.

Economical is definitely what I'm looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Your fuel saving between a 1.0 and say a 1.6 diesel would be insignificant on that journey, both probably returning high 40's low 50's mpg. Saying that, stick four people in, fill the boot and up your speed and you'll be doing better in the diesel. Having a 1.0 litre and a 2.5 tdi myself the biggest savings are the cost of maintenance and repairs. 40/45 euro for a tyre instead of 80-100 for example. The choice is up to you and whether or not you need or want the extra space and comfort.

It was suggested that I look at a Golf 1.9 Diesel (2003ish). Right now in the 2.5ltr company car, it costs around €97 a week in petrol (and I barely get a week out of it).

I was told that by getting something like the Golf Diesel, it would cost around €80 to fill but that I'd get nearly 2 weeks out of the tank as opposed to my current 1 week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

It was suggested that I look at a Golf 1.9 Diesel (2003ish). Right now in the 2.5ltr company car, it costs around €97 a week in petrol (and I barely get a week out of it).

I was told that by getting something like the Golf Diesel, it would cost around €80 to fill but that I'd get nearly 2 weeks out of the tank as opposed to my current 1 week.

It's what happens in an Octavia.

It probably would ye. 250 miles over 5 days @ 50 mpg(golf) is 5 gallons so 23 litres or say 40 euro roughly. If your sitting in rush hour traffic alot this could drop quite a bit to 40 mpg so maybe 96 euro for 2 weeks rather than 1.

Your only getting about 20mpg out of the 325 so anything up around 40mpg would half the fuel cost. BMW are expensive to run on all other levels too.

And my final question is:

What would a 1 litre cost to run per week for the same journey? Close to a 1.9 Golf, a lot worse?

Bearing in mind, 99% motorway driving, hardly any traffic jams.

Also, the 1ltr's I'm looking in my budget at are 2006 and upwards. Golfs would be around 2003. Should this affect my decision?

And my final question is:

What would a 1 litre cost to run per week for the same journey? Close to a 1.9 Golf, a lot worse?

Bearing in mind, 99% motorway driving, hardly any traffic jams.

Also, the 1ltr's I'm looking in my budget at are 2006 and upwards. Golfs would be around 2003. Should this affect my decision?

As I said above, fuel wise roughly the same. An 1.0 should save you alot more though on tax, insurance, servicing and repairs. Golfs aren't the only hatchback. Have a look at corolla hatchbacks around 03. An 03 golf could be a mk4 or a Mk.5. I wouldn't drive a mk. IV. Not vw's best effort. I's go for a higher spec 1.4 petrol corolla over a paddy spec golf tdi anyday. Just the first one that came up but this sort of thing - http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-1-4-terra-vvt-i/5657401

If I was to get a MKIV it would be a really clean model ie no mods etc etc. Something like this except a little newer:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/vw-golf-1-9-tdi-comfortline-90-000-miles/5655403

Thanks for all the replies. I'll have a look around and decide between a 1ltr and diesel.

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

As a former 1.9 tdi mk4 golf owner, I can confirm I used to always get 50+ mpg cruising on the motorway, and around 40mpg on town driving (so that worked at 5-600 miles per tank, which cost about 75 to fill.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Commute takes roughly 35/40mins. Work aren't asking me to get a 1ltr - I just want to now. I'm currently driving a work car which is EXTREMELY un-economical: BMW 3 Series 2.5Ltr Petrol. I want to take care of running costs myself.

I've been driving the BMW for 2 weeks now and it pains me to watch the fuel gauge drop nearly a quarter of a tank with each commute. AND it costs over €90 to fill!!
    what age is the 325? I am in total agreement by the way, I have a 325 and they are heavy on fuel, its fine if your doing virtually no mileage like me and putting in E30 per week. But not a chance Id be keeping a car, regardless of the engine if it was costing that per week to fuel. You can get 316. Short of that the only bm that will be ok running cost wise, would be a 320d, but what you will save in running cost, you will spend on higher purchase price, interest if applicable...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/06-bmw-316-1-6-nct-07-14/5657443

Idbatterim wrote: »
    what age is the 325? I am in total agreement by the way, I have a 325 and they are heavy on fuel, its fine if your doing virtually no mileage like me and putting in E30 per week. But not a chance Id be keeping a car, regardless of the engine if it was costing that per week to fuel. You can get 316. Short of that the only bm that will be ok running cost wise, would be a 320d, but what you will save in running cost, you will spend on higher purchase price, interest if applicable...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/06-bmw-316-1-6-nct-07-14/5657443

It's a 2001 model. €4,000 is my limit I'm afraid.

yeah, its the engine I have, pity its not a 6 speed (for the motorway cruising). How about a 1.6 focus or similar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Could you stretch to €6K ?

Full-22815506.jpeg

50+ MPG (Parkers.co.uk)
    €225 PA tax.

Sorry lads. link added.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda-2-sport-2008-1-3-petrol/5581850

Can't I'm afraid. What car is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Can't I'm afraid. What car is that?
    Link doesnt work for me

Op, I think the 2.5 is over the top fuel wise, but do you really want to go for a 1L with mostly motorway driving?! Id try and find a 6 speed petrol with a 1.6ish engine if I were you, ideally with cruise control... Actually now that I think of it, would you consider an lpg conversion?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-1-6-litre-petrol/5562174

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-tiida-5dr-hatch-1-5-diesel-2008/5633501

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-1-6tdci/5532893

http://autogasdublin.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=40&Itemid=92