Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barker v Geale SS1 - Saturday night

• 13-08-2013 10:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭

Always liked Barker, has been very unlucky with injuries. Good solid fighter who is good enough to be competitive at world level. He won't get a better chance to win a world title than this weekend and i would love to see him do it and think he has a decent chance.

Would be great for him to bring the title back to the UK as it could set up a few domestic fights between the likes of Murray, Barker, Macklin who I would class as competitve at world level but not quite world class. I think this would give them all a great opportunity so come on Barker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Charlie George

Barker not in same league,Brits always pump up there middleweights,easy ok for Beale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Barker not in same league,Brits always pump up there middleweights,easy ok for Beale.

We'll see! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,363 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Barker, world middleweight champion. It even sounds so ordinary!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

I really hope Barker pulls this off, its now or never for him to win a world title, no way he would beat any of the other champions, Geale is poor for a champion and cant crack an egg, he has good work rate, and Barker sometimes doesnt throw enough leather, think Geale will win a close UD, but wont be suprised if Barker wins, Murray is the best middleweight in the UK and will beat Barker or Macklin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

walshb wrote: »
    Barker, world middleweight champion. It even sounds so ordinary!

It might sound ordinary, but he's certainly no ordinary fighter anymore.
    Since he got his hip sorted out and started working with a good quality Strength & Conditioning coach his performances have improved immeasurably.
    His hand speed seems to have improved a bit and he's punching a lot harder, which is allowing him the option to come forward aswell and not have to box off the back foot all the time.

This is a cracking 50/50 fight between two very good fighters. Geale has shown his class of late beating guys like Karmazin, Sylvester, Sturm and Mundine, and looking good in the process during those fights too.
    I think a win for Geale here could see him become Martinez's next opponent, while a Barker win and I think we'd see a big fight in the UK vs either Lee or Murray (if he signs with Matchroom).

Beating Kerry Hope has shown me no improvements. Hope had one good win over a hyped middle called Proksa. Barker is not even as good as Macklin. Not for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭el flaco

Big Ears wrote: »
    I think a win for Geale here could see him become Martinez's next opponent, while a Barker win and I think we'd see a big fight in the UK vs either Lee or Murray (if he signs with Matchroom).

It seems there's a rematch clause between Geale and Barker and then Sturm is the mandatory after winning an eliminator, so if Barker does win, any British(/Irish) matchups may not happen for quite a while yet.
    Listening to Barker talk, with his continuous mood shifts in relation to boxing, I wouldn't be surprised to see him pack the lot in in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

walshb wrote: »
    Beating Kerry Hope has shown me no improvements. Hope had one good win over a hyped middle called Proksa. Barker is not even as good as Macklin. Not for me anyway.

Ya Hope isn't up to much, but the manner Barker got rid of him was still impressive. I was still sceptical, but he looked every bit as good vs Rotolo. Now don't get me wrong, these aren't top guys, but the Barker of 2-3 years ago wouldn't be doing this to these opponents, he'd be winning wide decisions against them probably without even hurting them.

Previously I thought Macklin was much better than Barker, nowdays I'd say it's 50/50 between them really and more a difference of styles between them than quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

Big Ears wrote: »
    Ya Hope isn't up to much, but the manner Barker got rid of him was still impressive. I was still sceptical, but he looked every bit as good vs Rotolo. Now don't get me wrong, these aren't top guys, but the Barker of 2-3 years ago wouldn't be doing this to these opponents, he'd be winning wide decisions against them probably without even hurting them.

Previously I thought Macklin was much better than Barker, nowdays I'd say it's 50/50 between them really and more a difference of styles between them than quality.

Totally agree with this.

Barker is a classier operator than Macklin, but Macklin may bring too much intensity to the table for Barker and grind him down.

Theres not much between them in overall quality but they are vastly different fighters.

I actually fancy Barker to win tonight, thats not to say hes anywhere near the level of the top guys in this division.

Geale is a good fighter but very beatable. If Barker is fully fit (and there are rumours of a persistant back injury picked up in camp) then I fancy him to do it.

He'll probably win the title and lose it in his first defence if its a mandatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

i hope Barker wins comes across as a good guy
    the loss of his brother hit him hard

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Dont know if anyone will agree but ive a total dislike for Barker after he pulled Purdy out the ring against Alexander,no way should he have thrown the towel in hope he gets smashed tonight.

Jaysus Kiko Martinez nearly became world champ in that first round, landed some bombs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Jaysus Kiko Martinez nearly became world champ in that first round, landed some bombs

If he goes to the body more he will win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Wow

What a fight!

What a fight! Kiko Martinez world champ

Jim Watt saying he can't think of anyone who deserves to be world champ at this weight more than Kiko. Dig at Frampton there?

Wow Kiko the champion jasus didnt see that coming, Frampton must feel good seen as he beat him before and can now fight him again for a world title, Romaro is ****ing terrible how did he ever win a world title

Good sing proves how good Frampton is aswell, seen as how he took Kiko out, Glad for Kiko but really believe Frampton will be a world champion now, i'd fancy him to beat kiko again

Well if Dunne was good enough to be a world champ then Kiko is. :pac:

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Barker's doing excellently after three. Hope he can keep this up.

Really good stuff from Barker so far! Come on!

Barker looking like the boss here, looks strong.

Wow what a round! I thought barker was gone there!

Wow.

Brilliant response from Barker. Win or lose, he can hold his head very high.

Excellent fight imo!

x PyRo wrote: »
    Brilliant response from Barker. Win or lose, he can hold his head very high.

Excellent fight imo!

Great fight! Brilliant effort from Barker!

Unreal Johner! Plenty of close rounds but hope to hell Barker can win these last two and take it. 'mon!

Have Barker up by 1 atm after 10 fair play to him what an effort thought he was done after he went down

To come back from a body shot like takes some guts! One more round come on Barker!!!!

Even if Barker looses the last round i have him the winner, as long as he doesnt get himself knocked down

Nearly did there! :( hang on Darren!

Super human effort! What a man!

Jesus Christ. That was a horrible last minute - thought he was going to get sparked.

Please, please, please let Barker have it. It's going to be awful close I'd say.

Heroic effort, regardless. Really likable fellow.

Barker for me deserves it for sure will be pissed if Geale gets this

Yessssss get in there! :) AND THE NEW! absolutely delighted for him! Britains best middleweight!

Yessssssssssssssssssssssssssssss. Get in!!!

This is the happiest I've ever been seeing someone win a world title.

Yess fair play to Barker, so deserved and to such a nice guy, They all look so emotional his trainers and Hearn both in bits fair play hope he gets some mega money now deserves it so much

Barker will take a voluntary defence against Andy Lee I reckon

He'll see it as easy money before a mandatory challenger

article-2396482-1B59C24C000005DC-10_634x434.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Just caught the fight and have to say it was a terrific scrap. Waaaaay better than I had expected.

I had it to Geale by one point, but really there were so many close rounds that it could have gone either way.

Delighted for Barker considering the tough knocks he's had and he seems a genuinely nice guy, but have to credit Geale with the classy interview after as well.

Hope this sets up a few big British/Irish fights now.

Has anyone a link to the fight i'd love to watch it again was a great scrap

Barker certainly went for the win. He put a lot more effort into this title shot. Planting the feet better and generating more power in his shots. Close fight, but deserved win. Geale isn't up to much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Will have to watch this one soon. Wouldn't it be ideal to have all day every day to watch boxing.

Pretty decent action fight. Plenty of skill throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

Has anyone a link to the fight i'd love to watch it again was a great scrap

Here's a link:

http://www.allthebestfights.com/darren-barker-vs-daniel-geale-full-fight-video-2013/#more-31250

Delighted for Barker didn't think he'd get up after that bodyshot but fair play.
    Will be interesting to see if the Macklin fight gets back on the radar after they were supposed to fight twice before and it didn't happen

I think Barker beats Macklin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Charlie George

Would be great if he fought an Irishman,Lee stands out and will be a great fight.