Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean o rourke to replace Pat Kenny

• 10-08-2013 7:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭

Well the decision is made, let the battle commence :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Maybe I'm underestimating him, but I find it hard to see a non-nonsensense news guy like Sean doing the cookery items and suchlike. I reckon they're gonna stick Today on straight after MI, turn it into a down-the-line current affairs programme, and get Tubridy back to do the 'lite' stuff between 11 and 1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Either this is going to be a dry political/current affairs programme or we are about to discover whole new aspects to Sean O'Rourke.

So who takes over News at One?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭RadioRetro

RTE Radio 1's 'new' weekday schedule;

7.00-9.00am: Claire Byrne is announced as new co-presenter of Ireland’s number one radio show, Morning Ireland, joining Rachael English, Gavin Jennings and Cathal MacCoille.

9.00-10.00am: Miriam O’Callaghan will continue to present the key 9am slot for the autumn.

10.00-12.00pm: Sean O’Rourke has been named as the new presenter of the Today programme.

12.00-1.00pm: Ronan Collins will continue to present Ireland’s number one lunchtime music show.

1.00-1.45pm: Richard Crowley and Aine Lawlor are announced as alternating presenters on RTÉ’s flagship lunchtime radio news programme.

1.45-3.00pm: Joe Duffy presents Liveline, Ireland’s second most-listened-to radio programme.

3.00-4.30pm: Derek Mooney presents the nation’s biggest afternoon radio show

4.30pm-7.00pm:Mary Wilson presents Ireland’s number one drivetime radio programme.

Source; RTE press release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

best decision they couldve made IMO.

Miriam wouldve died a death and they need someone with clout to go up against pat and i reckon seans good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

It's a pity Boucher-Hayes didn't get it. It was time something like this came his way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Would of preferred to see PBH but I can see why RTE want to give O'Rourke a push into an earlier slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

the guy is a FF lackey

thought myles dungan was a shoe-in for that job

RadioRetro wrote: »
    RTE Radio 1's 'new' weekday schedule;

7.00-9.00am: Claire Byrne is announced as new co-presenter of Ireland’s number one radio show, Morning Ireland, joining Rachael English, Gavin Jennings and Cathal MacCoille.

9.00-10.00am: Miriam O’Callaghan will continue to present the key 9am slot for the autumn.

10.00-12.00pm: Sean O’Rourke has been named as the new presenter of the Today programme.

12.00-1.00pm: Ronan Collins will continue to present Ireland’s number one lunchtime music show.

1.00-1.45pm: Richard Crowley and Aine Lawlor are announced as alternating presenters on RTÉ’s flagship lunchtime radio news programme.

1.45-3.00pm: Joe Duffy presents Liveline, Ireland’s second most-listened-to radio programme.

3.00-4.30pm: Derek Mooney presents the nation’s biggest afternoon radio show

4.30pm-7.00pm:Mary Wilson presents Ireland’s number one drivetime radio programme.

Source; RTE press release.

So then not a single new voice to be heard. Pity someone could not have been squeezed in somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Maybe I'm underestimating him, but I find it hard to see a non-nonsensense news guy like Sean doing the cookery items and suchlike....
    That is indeed an unknown. Perhaps he has talents that have not yet been exploited on air.

I'd be happy to see the music bits dropped from the show (unless , perhaps, something particularly interesting is involved, like a really interesting story with a bit of music linked to it).

Stuff like cookery, if it's not O'Rourke's type of thing, could be made as inserts, with somebody like Valerie Cox recording pieces with the likes of Domini Kemp, and O'Rourke limiting himself to introducing the segment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Maybe I'm underestimating him, but I find it hard to see a non-nonsensense news guy like Sean doing the cookery items and suchlike. I reckon they're gonna stick Today on straight after MI, turn it into a down-the-line current affairs programme, and get Tubridy back to do the 'lite' stuff between 11 and 1.
    There would be other advantages in starting the Today program at 9.00 instead of 10.00, RTE would get first run on the big news stories and interviewees, they would hold on to the 'lazy' listeners who don't bother changing stations unless there is a very good reason and they would not be competing directly with Pat for the first hour anyway.
    The early bird does sometimes catch the worm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭GSF

So Clare Byrne is giving birth, presenting prime time and morning ireland this autumn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I can imagine Cathering Fulvio bouncing in to the studio, only to receive a grilling herself.. :o

Can you imagine.
    Sean O'Rourke: "And how long do I leave that in the oven for?"
    Fulvio: "you leave it in the oven for twenty minutes".
    Sean O'Rourke: "But on a TV3 demonstration on Aug4th 2012, you said that it should be left in the over for fifteen minutes. Have you changed your position on this?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

GSF wrote: »
    So Clare Byrne is giving birth, presenting prime time and morning ireland this autumn?
    If they all happen at the same time we are in for an interesting program.:D

That is indeed an unknown. Perhaps he has talents that have not yet been exploited on air.

I'd be happy to see the music bits dropped from the show (unless , perhaps, something particularly interesting is involved, like a really interesting story with a bit of music linked to it).

Stuff like cookery, if it's not O'Rourke's type of thing, could be made as inserts, with somebody like Valerie Cox recording pieces with the likes of Domini Kemp, and O'Rourke limiting himself to introducing the segment.

Or maybe they should have drafted in someone like Grainne Seoige as a 'secondary' presenter to cover the fluffier stuff. Oh well, I'm sure they've thought about this and they're not just chucking SOR into the studio and telling him to just copy everything Pat did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Or maybe they should have drafted in someone like Grainne Seoige as a 'secondary' presenter to cover the fluffier stuff. Oh well, I'm sure they've thought about this and they're not just chucking SOR into the studio and telling him to just copy everything Pat did.
    No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

IMO Sean O'Rourke is by far the best choice in Pat's slot but I do not understand the thinking behind the light 9 -10 slot. It's really 9:15 - 10 when you allow for the news (twice) & It says in the Papers.

Do RTE believe their serious listeners are all tied up parking the car, getting the coffee etc between 9:15 - 10? or, and I think this is the more likely explaination, they are still in the 1970s midset when the mammies were gettting the kids to school & hubby to work and by 10am mammie had the kitchen to herself, breakfast wash up done & she could sit down with a cup of coffee and Uncle Gaybo. I know that was my mothers daily morning routine for years. They need to catch up with 2013.

Personally I loved PK but I regularly changed station at 9am & it occasionally happened that I was late changing back at 10 and missed the early part of the show - the important bit when he gave the advance warning so I could avoid the OTT slots .... MLOD & Ms Fulvio.

Really looking forward to seeing what Seán will do with it & Richard Crowley to look forward to a 1pm :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I'm willing to give him a chance, certainly in current affairs he is second to none in this country. The poster above who said he's a FF lackey hasn't a clue what they're on about. he is one of the few broadcasters that politicians don't like being interviewed by, but as he is on such a major slot they have no choice.

As regards the easy listening stuff I've never met the man myself but two friends are close friends of him and they reckon he's very laid back with a sharp sense of humour away from the job, maybe this will be reflected in the programme. I should point out that they have nothing to do with the media or RTE, they've known him since college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

Yawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Red Kev wrote: »
    I'm willing to give him a chance, certainly in current affairs he is second to none in this country. The poster above who said he's a FF lackey hasn't a clue what they're on about. he is one of the few broadcasters that politicians don't like being interviewed by, but as he is on such a major slot they have no choice.

As regards the easy listening stuff I've never met the man myself but two friends are close friends of him and they reckon he's very laid back with a sharp sense of humour away from the job, maybe this will be reflected in the programme. I should point out that they have nothing to do with the media or RTE, they've known him since college.

Absolutely agree, no evidence whatsoever of any bias when Seán interviews politicians - he had grilled and eviscerated all sides fairly and evenly & took no bull. The same also applied to Pat in fairness.

being interviewed on RTE now about filling the role.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

He's on the Marian Finucane Show now, with Aíne Lawlor.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭P.lane78

Shedding tears as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

padd b1975 wrote: »
    No.

she would be better than sile

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Excellent idea. Two Galway presenters at the helm would ensure a top quality programme. :)

I really hope they don't simply "copy everything Pat did".

There is room in the 10 -12 slot to give the entire show to news and current affairs as well as reports on issues like those covered by Valerie Cox and Paddy O'Gorman and his dog.

I'd like to see the music, cooking, gardening, and other frippery like Marie Louise O'Dramatic ditched altogether and see the second hour focus more on international news and events.

There is great potential here and no better man than Seán O'Rourke handle it.

Although I would have liked to see Phillip Boucher Hayes get the job too.
    RTÉ really need to find something more permanent for him. Drivetime would be a good move.

Lapin wrote: »

There is room in the 10 -12 slot to give the entire show to news and current affairs as well as reports on issues like those covered by Valerie Cox and Paddy O'Gorman and his dog.

I'd like to see the music, cooking, gardening, and other frippery like Marie Louise O'Dramatic ditched altogether and see the second hour focus more on international news and events.

There is great potential here and no better man than Seán O'Rourke handle it.

I would prefer that too but you know RTE's civil service mindset, you have to play it safe and try to be all things to all men. But maybe the fact they've apppinted Sean O'Rourke means they do intend tighten the focus of the programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭washiskin

The inevitable a*s kissing has started on Twitter already... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

I can imagine Cathering Fulvio bouncing in to the studio, only to receive a grilling herself.. :o

Can you imagine.
    Sean O'Rourke: "And how long do I leave that in the oven for?"
    Fulvio: "you leave it in the oven for twenty minutes".
    Sean O'Rourke: "But on a TV3 demonstration on Aug4th 2012, you said that it should be left in the over for fifteen minutes. Have you changed your position on this?"

Absolute genius - post of the day! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

It's a decent enough choice.

I really hope the rumours about Ivan Yates coming back to Newstalk's Breakfast show are true because I just can't be doing with Claire Byrne at that hour of the day, or at any other time either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

From the Press Release
    Speaking today, Sean O’Rourke said: “It’s 40 years ago next month since I began a lifelong love affair with journalism and I can honestly say I am as excited about this move as I was the first day I climbed the stairs in the Connacht Tribune in September 1973. I love radio and I love news.

Friends and colleagues however will know me as a huge sports fan and an avid reader. Not only will we break news, drive the debate and analyse the stories of the day, we’ll be getting stuck into much more than that. I hope people will come for the news and stay for the craic. Here’s to September 2nd.”

I think Sean O'Rourke will be more than capable of handling the less serious content (whatever it may be). He seems to have a good sense of humour, I don't think he will have any problems with moving beyond Hard News.

Also, good move by RTE starting the new show the same day (and same time) as Pat begins on Newstalk.

Radio dials may never have been subject to so much twiddling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

Oh well, I'm sure they've thought about this and they're not just chucking SOR into the studio and telling him to just copy everything Pat did.

One would hope not. It would defeat the purpose of getting a considerably better presenter on the job!

(Glossing over the fact that there's absolutely no signs of any "masterplan" whatsoever here, and that RTE management are making up as they go.)

Callan57 wrote: »
    IMO Sean O'Rourke is by far the best choice in Pat's slot but I do not understand the thinking behind the light 9 -10 slot. It's really 9:15 - 10 when you allow for the news (twice) & It says in the Papers.

Do RTE believe their serious listeners are all tied up parking the car, getting the coffee etc between 9:15 - 10? or, and I think this is the more likely explaination, they are still in the 1970s midset when the mammies were gettting the kids to school & hubby to work and by 10am mammie had the kitchen to herself, breakfast wash up done & she could sit down with a cup of coffee and Uncle Gaybo. I know that was my mothers daily morning routine for years. They need to catch up with 2013.

Personally I loved PK but I regularly changed station at 9am & it occasionally happened that I was late changing back at 10 and missed the early part of the show - the important bit when he gave the advance warning so I could avoid the OTT slots .... MLOD & Ms Fulvio.

Really looking forward to seeing what Seán will do with it & Richard Crowley to look forward to a 1pm :)

9 to 10 is pretty much the only time till 12 that newstalk have me as i just cant abide the stuff before pat kenny came on.

thats not to say its any good

but its better than what RTE was puting out.

todays the first saturday that i got a good look at newstalk saturday line up.

havent tuned in all day. usually i have sarah carey(? could be brenda power) on at 9 for the media show she does but fecking heny mckeen was on instead so just streamed off youtube and never came back when the show was meant to come on.

all things being equal i think playing back to back fankie boyle videos was probably the saner choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Safe choice is about all that can be said. Mr O Rourke will bring with him his robotic qualities and keep the slot on a steady keel.

Lapin wrote: »

Not too gone on Valerie Cox to be frank. Too often displays the sycophantic like qualities trademarked by Miriam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I'll be listening to Pat Kenny, so it makes no difference.

Anyone know what is wrong with John Murray? Thought he was suppose to be back this autumn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭newcavanman

BX 19 wrote: »
    It's a pity Boucher-Hayes didn't get it. It was time something like this came his way.
    The guy is a waste of space . Have you forgotten his cock up in the Pamela Izevbekhai case? He broadcast an interview that was a complete fabrication

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

The guy is a waste of space . Have you forgotten his cock up in the Pamela Izevbekhai case? He broadcast an interview that was a complete fabrication

That was eight years ago. Time to let it go.

RobertKK wrote: »

Anyone know what is wrong with John Murray? Thought he was suppose to be back this autumn.
    Another waste of space . Who told him he had a sense of humour, casye as far as i can see he has none .

It's a decent enough choice.

I really hope the rumours about Ivan Yates coming back to Newstalk's Breakfast show are true because I just can't be doing with Claire Byrne at that hour of the day, or at any other time either.
    Couldnt agree more, Yates was the dogs , and as for Claire Byrne, i mean come on, thousands are emigrating to Australia etc, could someone not take her with them? please ?

Skid X wrote: »
    That was eight years ago. Time to let it go.

Well yes and no. You are right, it is a good while ago, but i think in usual RTe manner, they didnt really address it, it was more or less passed over . Tbh im a bit sick of rtes insider club . If you happen to be on the inside anything is pssible . look at the speculation this last week as to who would replace Pat, it was entirely centred on existing rte insiders, who best would filll the spot. Perhaps they should have looked around more . They are the people with the TV license money so they are supposed to take the risks that commercial broadcaster cant or wont take .
    Having said all that, SOR will do very well on political and perhaps current affairs, its likely the other bits that will let him down .
    TBh if Pat had brought Paddy o Gorman to newstalk with him, it would have been a slam dunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭giftgrub

I find "Fill-in" Boucher Hayes a bit grating to be honest. He comes across as a bit of a know it all.

Sean O Rourke is a good choice for the Today programme. Razor sharp, a tough interviewer, in terms of knowledge of national politics no one comes close.

The news at one slot is always guaranteed to hold its own regardless of who's presenting. Thats not meant to put down either Aine Lawlor or Richard Crowley, who i think is great. He doesn't give a b****cks who's on the other side of the desk.
    He made mincemeat of James Reilly on Primetime last year

giftgrub wrote: »
    Thats not meant to put down either Aine Lawlor or Richard Crowley, who i think is great. He doesn't give a b****cks who's on the other side of the desk.
    He made mincemeat of James Reilly on Primetime last year

Crowley is an underused gem in the RTE current affairs department. On a par with Kenny for breath of knowledge and would have been a much better choice to take over from Pat imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

RobertKK wrote: »

He has been quite open in the past about his troubles with arthritis, so his problems could be related to that.

Don't really feel comfortable speculating too much.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    He has been quite open in the past about his troubles with arthritis, so his problems could be related to that.

Don't really feel comfortable speculating too much.

Back trouble was the official line given iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,823 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Callan57 wrote: »

Its 9.02 to 10 - short news summary.

'What it says in the papers' is aired at 7.07 and 8.07 approx only - its many years since it was on after 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Would love to know if in the absence of Pat kenny and his near half a million salary are RTE actually saving money? If you look at Sean o Rourke, Aine Lawlor, Robert Crowley and Claire byrne, they've all essentially been promoted, they would hardly be on the same money as they were before ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

I am a bit surprised by Seán O'Rourke getting the programme. I think Gavin Jennings would have been a good gamble to take on Pat Kenny. I like his style of presenting-he asks good questions and actually listens to the interviewees. I used to love listening to Myles Dungan on Rattlebag but he imposes his "knowledge" too much during programmes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

heybaby wrote: »
    Would love to know if in the absence of Pat kenny and his near half a million salary are RTE actually saving money? If you look at Sean o Rourke, Aine Lawlor, Robert Crowley and Claire byrne, they've all essentially been promoted, they would hardly be on the same money as they were before ?

What do you mean "near"? Wasn't he on 630K, and refusing to take a penny less? i.e. more than the presenter of the LLS. More than anyone else, indeed, though you wouldn't have thought so from the bizarre way it was reported. ("Oh, it doesn't really count what we're paying him now, because it's 'pending renegotiation'.")

I have no idea what any of those are now being paid, and on past form, we might not find out for another couple of years. I know SO'R was on "top earner" money already, but I'm hoping he got more of a "slowing the rate we're cutting your pay" type of deal, rather than an actual increase. I don't think any of those others featured in the "silly money" category.

Let's face it, though, there's quite a few "wage increases" as most of us would understand it one could pay out of the obscene cash PK was raking in.

And if what you're angling for is a rebate in your licence fee, don't hold your breath. A more realistic expectation would be "fewer cuts elsewhere".