Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

claas axos

• 09-08-2013 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭

anyone know much about these? one of my uncles has decided he has had enough of f**king around with ol yokes and has decided he is going to get himself a new tractor. there is a claas dealership near here and they have a few of these, i think there was a finace deal going for them a while back.

anyway i know they were once renaults which doesnt bode well but apperntly the newer claas tractors are a mix of massey and JD too. class have a very good name when it comes to forage and grass gear so maybe the tractors are good too.

he wants to get something around 85-95 HP that he will be using mostly for loader work (feeding bales, in the feed passage and also to cattle in the fields) so good visibility will be needed, topping, spreading fertilzer, cleaning out sheds, a bit of ploughing and harrowing and the usually gereral work. Main thing he wants is a bit of comforat and reliability, LH shuttle box but not too many fancy gear changes, LP cab will be required to get in and out of his sheds (he nearly took the roof of his contractors 7840 last year). He dosen like zetors, and reckons JD and NH are too expensive. He might go for a case but likes knowing the dealship is near enough to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

The LP catch is probably going to limit him a bit as all tractors seem to be getting taller.

I personally wouldn't be a Claas fine but there are a few around performing okay.

He may be pleasantly surprised with the prices of a mainstream manufacturer as they are keen for sales.

A few months ago I would have said a NH T5000 series as they were selling out the older stock due to the newer model so probably bargains around.

The same will happen soon with newer MF's but they are tall tractors.

Deutz Agrofarm / Hurlimann /Same may also warrant a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Had a look at one this evening with him. It's a bit wider then he was expecting but height wise it's ok. He liked the shuttle and view out the front and the glass roof and the way it opens. However he didn't like the pto lever, I didn't either it aquward and he on off is low and behind the seat on the right with the speed selector low and behind the left. Also there is a really bad view out the back there is no lower window so you have lean out the back to see down to hitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Have a claas 340cx Here since jan
    very happy with it
    competitive price
    good finance package
    but until I have a few more hours on it I won't say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

epfff wrote: »
    very happy with it
    competitive price
    good finance package

Quigleys?

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Quigleys?

Yep
    they came highly recommended from my contractor
    some quantity of stuff sold this yr
    not far from them here
    so bought the men as much as tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Yep
    they came highly recommended from my contractor
    some quantity of stuff sold this yr
    not far from them here
    so bought the men as much as tractor

Yep nice fellas. They'd talk for Ireland. Yeah they seem to be able to shift some bigger HP models to contractors too as well as the 80 - 100 hp stuff to drystock farmers. You down Ballyforan way?

jimmy G M wrote: »
    Yep nice fellas. They'd talk for Ireland. Yeah they seem to be able to shift some bigger HP models to contractors too as well as the 80 - 100 hp stuff to drystock farmers. You down Ballyforan way?

Yep dysart

very happy with it
    competitive price
    good finance package

Yeah that's the yoke alright, I wonder how long the rear arm extral control handle lasts before they knocked off?

Uncle still looking around, was in the Case spot today. Was looking at a jxu and a farmall a. While I like the jxu's as they are very like the TL new hollands. Is the farmall from the TS new holland side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

grazeaway wrote: »
    Uncle still looking around, was in the Case spot today. Was looking at a jxu and a farmall a. While I like the jxu's as they are very like the TL new hollands. Is the farmall from the TS new holland side?

I think those farmall A s are based on the case CS seris. The fiat and ford based ones are supposed to be better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

yellow50HX wrote: »
    I think those farmall A s are based on the case CS seris. The fiat and ford based ones are supposed to be better

was talking to a lad in the co-op the other day who had a case cs 105 think it was 2010, said it was pure useless wouldnt pull the socks of ye

Was looking at a farmall u today they remind me of a TS 115, too big really for what he wants. There was a jxu 95 and 105. I like the look of them. Would be fair pissed off to stump up about 50k for a bucket of shi*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

grazeaway wrote: »
    Was looking at a farmall u today they remind me of a TS 115, too big really for what he wants. There was a jxu 95 and 105. I like the look of them. Would be fair pissed off to stump up about 50k for a bucket of shi*

Those Farmall's come with different level of specs though.

Still if it was me I'd prefer the old JXU!