Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accident

• 09-08-2013 10:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭

Hi all had an Accident last night, what happened was I was driving along the road heading to a junction to turn right, there was a car stopped waiting to turn right, I slowed down but as the road was wet could not stop my self hitting the back of their car. The diver was shaken but seemed OK the passenger was fine, we had a look at both cars and I have more damage than they have. We exchanged insurance details and names plus phone numbers. they reported it to the guards as it was her mothers car, the guard came to see me got all my details and looked at my car, he said as far as he could see the other car had no visible damage and there were no injuries, we were just shaken.

the car was a Skoda Octavia and I drive a Toyota Yaris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Watch out for claims of compensation for injury...while it is true that the effects of whiplash can take one or two days to effectively kick it, it is more true that many times the kids go home, talk to their parents about what happened, mommy/daddy sniff money and spool up the cash-milking process.

If this happens, there's very little you can do as you rear ended them...even though the Gardai said there were no injuries, as I said they can always claim "I felt fine initially, but woke up with a stiff neck".

Of course there's always the possibility that you got involved with honest people who will only claim for the car repairs, if any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭dasa29

Thanks H3llr4iser I agree with that, I think they are honest people, they were more worried about the car and the passenger was the one who was the most able to take down details as me and the other driver were shaken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Must you always notify the police/gardai?

I had a tip last week (left the handbrake only half up, car rolled down into a parked car), minimal damage the other party said they were happy to leave it as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I wouldn't take the Guard's word on the damage - it's not their job. Rear bumpers/bumper covers can hide a bit damage. The cover might pop back into shape, but the actual bumper might be warped behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Watch out for claims of compensation for injury...while it is true that the effects of whiplash can take one or two days to effectively kick it, it is more true that many times the kids go home, talk to their parents about what happened, mommy/daddy sniff money and spool up the cash-milking process.

If this happens, there's very little you can do as you rear ended them...even though the Gardai said there were no injuries, as I said they can always claim "I felt fine initially, but woke up with a stiff neck".

Of course there's always the possibility that you got involved with honest people who will only claim for the car repairs, if any.
    There's a strong implication in this that only dishonest people claim for personal injuries. The OP may well have injured the occupants of the other car, in which case they're perfectly entitled to be compensated. The OP has insurance, I'd advise letting them deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

Sorry to hear it OP.

Back pain can appear after a couple of days later, genuinely as can whiplash.

To be honest it's the people that cry pain straight away in a small tip.

As stated under the plastic bumper the damage could be big.

But as much as it may sting if anything does arise, you pay insurance to sort this out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

OSI wrote: »
    Yep, wouldn't take their word on a lack of damage. We got rear ended years ago, and everything looked fine. Couple of days later I went to close the boot and noticed it took a lot more force than before. Seems the frame got bent slightly in the impact, but the plastic bumper just flexed.

Similar thing. Boot was harder to close. When it was put up on a lift, there was a big dent into the underside of the boot and part of the rear suspension was stretched. €2500 repair bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Anan1 wrote: »
    There's a strong implication in this that only dishonest people claim for personal injuries. The OP may well have injured the occupants of the other car, in which case they're perfectly entitled to be compensated. The OP has insurance, I'd advise letting them deal with it.

Exactly. I think a lot of people tend to forget that whiplash is an actual injury and not just something that was invented by the little scrotes looking for a quick and easy few quid. Its not something that shows up immediately either, so just because they come back in a week and say they are injured does not mean they are trying to pull a fast one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Anan1 wrote: »

It is dishonest to claim for injuries that are not there, and it is something that happens more frequently than it should. Being alert is never a bad idea, especially when somebody that just got rear ended goes the "ah it's grand" way.

Thanks guys, just an update I brought the car to the local Toyota dealership and had them look at it, they fixed the bumper and fixed the auxiliary catch lever for the hood back straight. They told me to keep an eye on the coolant level and if it is going down fast to take it straight back to them, otherwise to come back in a week and they will give it the once over to see how it is and to give me a bill. At present the other driver has not got in touch about any problems regarding their car or themselves yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

Eoin wrote: »
    I wouldn't take the Guard's word on the damage - it's not their job. Rear bumpers/bumper covers can hide a bit damage. The cover might pop back into shape, but the actual bumper might be warped behind it.

Tell me about it tipped a micra once at 20mph,small dent in bumper ang got a bill over 2k boot floor,bar painting etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

20mph is a little more than a tip in fairness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

I been rear ended a few times but i often tend to have a tow hook so often no damage to me so i often don't bother with claiming or details just open boot check no big damage and drive off.

However Its all to do with the impacts mine were slow speed stuff les than 10MPH and my car didnt move much so no risk of whip lash

Any accident where you are probably in the wrong best notify your insurance company preferably the same day or asap so they are on notice . Then sit back to what happens .Some people like me after a not big rear ending wont bother to take it further .However once was rear ended by large 4X4 in bosses car and that was seriously bent so claim went in to fix that car .

Good luck

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

derry wrote: »
    I been rear ended a few times but i often tend to have a tow hook so often no damage to me so i often don't bother with claiming or details just open boot check no big damage and drive off.

You may wish to have a look under the car next time and also check the tow bar isn't bent. The flex easily enough in an impact and can cause chassis damage underneath after an impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Been there, done that OP. You did everything by the book.

Remember: eventually this will all have happened years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

djimi wrote: »
    20mph is a little more than a tip in fairness.

Meant to say 10mph as was slowing,still the bill was nasty as the micra was a 96 reg.

Just an update guys, had a lad have a look at it as well and he says the other car had a tow bar, now I did not see one but he said it would have been a lot worse if they did not have one. There is a metal bar behind the bumper and the centre is cracked and bent towards the radiator. the reason I asked him to look at it is because I am going to Athlone tomorrow and forgot to mention it when I was over at the garage. he said just check the coolant in the morning before I go, and if I have a problem to ring him as he is going to.