Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coven of witches drinking coffee and reading a book about sex

• 09-08-2013 3:13am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭

http://www.examiner.ie/lifestyle/so-is-wild-sex-what-women-really-want-239302.html
    A new book claims women’s desires are more varied than men’s. Are females really aroused by any kind of coupling, asks Barbara Scully
    IT seemed an easy task. Write an article on the explosive new book, by Daniel Bergner, on sex: What Do Women Want? Adventures in the Science of Female Desire.

In one chapter, Bergner examine if it’s true that men are ‘animals’ and that women crave emotional connection, making them more monogamous. The author quotes research involving women watching porn videos, while a light-bulb yoke is fitted inside their vagina to measure blood flows (thereby measuring their arousal).

The result was that women (both straight and gay) were aroused by all kinds of porn (including gay men having sex), whereas the male group were only turned-on according to their sexual orientation. The clincher was that the women were even turned on by apes having sex.

I needed help. I have never seen apes having sex, but I couldn’t imagine it would do it for me. But could I be wrong? Could our Daniel Bergner be onto something? Have our natural desires and appetites been subdued, due to a need to control our unfettered sexuality?

I needed to talk to women; women whose lives were different to mine. So, I met Jillian Godsil, a writer aged 48, and Ruth Kennedy, aged 44, a freelance radio-news presenter. Both women are single, both have had committed, long-term relationships and both are mothers. We discussed the book. !!

Reading it annoyed and discomforted me, and I was cynical about most of Mr Bergner’s assertions.

“Oh my God and I was going ‘yes, yes, yes’ while I was reading it,” said Jill, while Ruth said it was a “discomforting book to read” as it challenged the fairy tale notion of monogamy.

So do we accept the thesis that women are sexual volcanoes who have been brainwashed to believe that we need emotional connection for good sex and to prefer monogamy? “Yes,” said Ruth. “He says that monogamy works in every possible way, except for women’s sexual fulfilment. He maintains that women get bored quicker and seem to have more variation in their sexual interests that men do.”

Of the monkeys, Ruth said “the most interesting thing about that research was the self-reporting of their reaction later. The women generally said they were not turned on by the monkeys, straight women by gay sex, when, in fact, the scientific testing said different.”

I thought that just proved that, unlike men, women are not controlled by their genitals. Is monogamy out of date? “Well, in fairness, the book is about sexual fulfilment as opposed to relationships,” Ruth said. “It’s about what women want sexually.”

“What interests me, after reading it, is that I now wonder if I met someone special again, would I be able to be fulfilled in a monogamous relationship ... now that the genie is out of the bottle, so to speak,” said Jill.

While Bergner was talking about women being conditioned to accept monogamy so society could control their volcano of sexuality, he also said that women needed to feel safe.

“That ‘safeness’ sounds very boring,” says Jill. But, to me, that safety is one of the best things about being married. Yeah, I know, the fizz dies down.. it’s a bit like flat 7UP. “Ah, but can you still taste the sugar?” Jill said. !I guess I can’t separate sex from relationships. The book says you could have this amazing sexual adventure with other people. I don’t think I’d fancy that. If my husband proposed that we embark on a more open relationship, with both of us finding this sexual nirvana with other people, I would make tea and read.

EDITED WHAT I SAID MIGHT GET ME BANNED xD

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭uch

Good for You

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Quoting full articles can also earn a clip in the ear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Butt <minion laugh>

• Registered Users Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Chucken wrote: »

Edited. But anyway I bet they haven't had sex in 30 years auld bats

Can see this thread getting locked now xD

Chris___ wrote: »
    Edited. But anyway I bet they haven't had sex in 30 years auld bats

You Win, close thread please

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭worded

Any lovely ladies want to "go ape" in the back garden tonight PM me.

On a hot summers night ......

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

A light bulb yoke? Don't they mean thingy majigger

worded wrote: »

Wouldn't recommend the ones in the picture.

worded wrote: »

I look like the MEP for Coventry, Nikki Sinclaire so yes, I'm on

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I've heard similar studies before - the conclusion was that women they studied seemed to be reacting with physical arousal when they were shown basically anything regardless of their orientation.

It took a few years before it occurred to anybody that maybe, just maybe, inserting a probe into their vagina was having an effect, and that was why they seemed to be as hot for bread or tables as they were for Ryan Gosling.

So basically, this result was completely discredited. Sorry to be the killjoy, all.

But anyway back to the book. I bet those women read books like this because they know they are past it and will probably never have sex again in their lives

I've heard similar studies before - the conclusion was that women they studied seemed to be reacting with physical arousal when they were shown basically anything regardless of their orientation.

It took a few years before it occurred to anybody that maybe, just maybe, inserting a probe into their vagina was having an effect, and that was why they seemed to be as hot for bread or tables as they were for Ryan Gosling.

So basically, this result was completely discredited. Sorry to be the killjoy, all.
    Chris___ wrote: »
    But anyway back to the book. I bet those women read books like this because they know they are past it and will probably never have sex again in their lives

Nah really, Feck off

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Stupid bitches!
    Who do they think they are with their their vagina's bleeding all over the gaff!

If I had a woman beside me right now, I'D BEAT THE BLEEDIN ****E OUT OF HER!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

linkage? Most women who use tampons don't exactly find them arousing. Actually there's not much in the way of nerve endings inside the vagina that would induce arousal, the vast majority of nerve endings are in the clit (twice as many as you will find on the tip of a penis)
    The results of the experiment if anything demonstrate that sexual arousal for women is very much more psychological for women than physical, as it is for men.

If you're a really good lover you could probably talk your gf to orgasm, if you had one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

The author quotes research involving women watching porn videos, while a light-bulb yoke is fitted inside their vagina to measure blood flows

Is there anything science can't teach us?!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Chucken wrote: »

hush puppy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 305 ✭✭Jimminy Mc Fukhead

What did they do with the bulbs afterwards.
    I hope they were used - recycling is important for the environment and preventing waste.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

So what you're saying is that men and women are different? Even sexually?

Hey guys I just noticed! We even have different looking genitals! I think you could be onto something here.