Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Switching from SPD-SL to Flat pedals for commuting?

• 07-08-2013 10:11pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭

Well lads.

Basically I currently have 105 SPD-SL pedals on my bike and they are grand but I'm moving to Dublin in a few weeks to go back to college (hurrah) and it's looking like I'll be commuting from the city centre to the Dun Laoghaire area.

I was thinking, seeing as I don't want to have to lug about a spare pair of shoes to change into when I get to college, of changing the pedals on my bike to a pair of normal flat pedals.

Is this just a daft idea seeing as I'd be losing a lot of power transfer efficiency for the sake of a little less to carry or would it be worth the hassle of one less think to pack into a pannier to switch from clipless to flats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭hueylewis

Why not meet in the middle and get some clips? I can't imagine worrying too much about power efficiency around commuting hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mp31

What about SPD pedals... shoes look like normal runners and the cleats are recessed so you can walk about without the slip sliding of SPD-SL shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

I would never advise getting clips, worst of both worlds rather than best in my opinion. I'd get a comfy, casual pair of SPDs instead. The pedals and cleats are easily found secondhand, but shop carefully on the shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Thinking about moving from stock pedals with straps to spd for triathlon. One thing holding me back is similar to you that I don't want to carry around extra shoes on some journeys. Not sure but these might be worth looking at.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/bbb-bpd-90-feetrest-spd-pedal-adaptors/

Any one got any ideas what they are like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Nice set of mountain bike pedals and SPDs would do the job, won't look too out of place and will still be better than flats/clips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Maybe pick up something like these? : http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-m324-combination-pedals/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

mp31 wrote: »
    What about SPD pedals... shoes look like normal runners and the cleats are recessed so you can walk about without the slip sliding of SPD-SL shoes.

SPD shoes aren't really all day shoes though, the are grand for poping in and out of a shop/cafe but you couldn't walk very far comfortably on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

I have commuted with these bear traps for many years - iron grip, any sort of runners or soft sole shoes never slip

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/wellgo-bear-trap-platform-953-flat-pedals/rp-prod5207

gerrowadat wrote: »
    Maybe pick up something like these? : http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-m324-combination-pedals/

Could be an option as it would give me the option of using the "flat" with normal trainers for everyday/commuting and the SPD for when I want to do longer spins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Seaneh wrote: »
    SPD shoes aren't really all day shoes though, the are grand for poping in and out of a shop/cafe but you couldn't walk very far comfortably on them.

SPD shoes have come a long way lately, have a pair of these, really comfy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

gerrowadat wrote: »

Or these - http://www.wiggle.co.uk/shimano-a530-spd-single-sided-touring-pedals/ ? I've been using a set of these for commuting and like the flexibility they give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Is this just a daft idea seeing as I'd be losing a lot of power transfer efficiency for the sake of a little less to carry or would it be worth the hassle of one less think to pack into a pannier to switch from clipless to flats?

If your current it takes 20mins37secs on clipless pedals would you be prepared to spend 20mins 42secs commuting on flat pedals. I dunno. A loss of multiples of whole seconds on a work commute is utter madness in my eyes.

You could buy an aero helmet and gain back the losses of going flat. Throw on a skinsuit if you have a meeting and need to be early.

If your current it takes 20mins37secs on clipless pedals would you be prepared to spend 20mins 42secs commuting on flat pedals. I dunno. A loss of multiples of whole seconds on a work commute is utter madness in my eyes.

You could buy an aero helmet and gain back the losses of going flat. Throw on a skinsuit if you have a meeting and need to be early.

Ah boards, where someone is always going to be a smartarse.

I was talking about the loss in the event of using the bike for weekend or evening spins as the idea of switching pedals between uses is a bit more effort than I'd like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I was talking about the loss in the event of using the bike for weekend or evening spins as the idea of switching pedals between uses is a bit more effort than I'd like.

It's a balance of annoyances.

If you are going to cycle in normal shoes then it may rain and you'll need a spare set anyway. So I think whatever you do you're gonna need to have dry shoes for work/college. Either carry them with you or leave them at your destination.

See if you can get a locker. Most colleges should have them.