Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do I need, to get hunting?

• 07-08-2013 6:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭

I have a .22lr and I got it with a view to target shooting ( IOW I produced membership to a club as apposed to Land Permissions on the FCA1). While I love target shooting, I'm getting an itch to go hunting. I have it licensed and have my insurance, what do I need to go shooting rabbits? Is it just a case of knocking on doors and getting permission or do I need something more official? I'm in Dublin and don't know any farmers or land owners. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭peteshamrock

My best advice is to contact the nargc and get the contact for your local game club. I was told that they are all closed shops but when I contacted the nearest they were recruiting so worth a punt.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

You just need land with rabbits on it.

Start knocking on a few doors and been civil and willing to stand around talking for a while is a must. If a farmer starts talking to you generally be is thinking about it so you may wait it out for your ans.

Don't forget your insurance to show the farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭skinnylizzy

Thanks for the advise lads. I appreciate it.

No bother hope it works out hunting is great crack. You just never know what's going to face you. As in targets , range , position of target/angle of target , lenght of time you have to wait to get a shot. Shooting positions etc.

What type of 22 have you got. Ammo used etc

No bother hope it works out hunting is great crack. You just never know what's going to face you. As in targets , range , position of target/angle of target , lenght of time you have to wait to get a shot. Shooting positions etc.

What type of 22 have you got. Ammo used etc

Cheers man. You make a good point about the varieties of situations that I could face. You get so used to going to the range, using the same old positions and distances that you don't try to get out of your comfort zone. Unfortunately I'm quite limited with what I can do on the range but hopefully the other stuff will come with experience. I suppose as long as I'm as safe as possible, I'll learn various positions, distances, shot selection in time.

I'm using a Savage Mark II with a Nikko Stirling Platinum Nighteater at the mo. nice little rifle, amazing groups at 50yds and respectable at 100. I'm very limited with what ammo I can use. I'm only aloud to use ammo that the club provides on the range, I can't bring my own unfortunately. I've mostly been using CCI Sub Sonics but I'd love to 'play the field' with ammo.

Cheers man.

That's a bit man with the ammo. How's it that. If it were me I'd try putting other ammo into the old boxs bit I don't see why you should have to do it anyway.

I wouldn't worry about shooting positions etc it will come natural to you if your a shooter. Which you are. You will enjoy it every shot is different for some reason or another.

That's a bit man with the ammo. How's it that. If it were me I'd try putting other ammo into the old boxs bit I don't see why you should have to do it anyway.

I wouldn't worry about shooting positions etc it will come natural to you if your a shooter. Which you are. You will enjoy it every shot is different for some reason or another.

Yeah I think they just don't want you to sit down there all day with a box of 500 rounds and your own targets and them not making money if you get me. Probably more so a rule for 'non-members' so they can make a few bob ya know. Good idea about the old boxes though ha ha 😜. I'm gonna have a chat with them when I'm out again, I'm sure they'd be ok with me bringing my own at this stage, I've been a member there for a while now at this stage.

Thanks for the advise man, I appreciate it. 😀

No bother lad. I wouldn't ask I'd just work away. At the end of the day they could sell more ammo and I'd be very surprised if everyone is using the same ammo. Having said that cci subs aren't that bad anyway there good enough and it sounds like your getting decent results. Grouped Winchester super x and lapua and rws all subs and all good results. The Winchester and the subs were exactly the same poi. Tryed the cci but light was fading and I only fired 5 shots so ill try do more with them tomorrow.

Ha good stuff. Sure ill give it a go and see what happens. I'll pick up a few rounds of each of the ones you mentioned there. The previous owner of the rifle said it loves the cheapo Federal bulk stuff so I might have a go of that too. If the subs are grand for target shooting, would they be any use for rabbits or would ya be looking at using something else. Cheers One shot on kill.

Ye you could no problem at all. I personally find with the subs that there is a lot of drop from 50 out to 100 yards and you really need to know the difference every ten yards. I tend to use stingers for hunting there not as accurate ok, buy the travel faster and don't tend to fall as fast.

Trying subs at the min because I have loads of them. Plus it can only make me better. The mod is a big big plus aswell.