Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The new look Curragh

• 07-08-2013 4:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭

Anyone know what the deal is with the crowd of travellers making themselves at home on the once-pristine Curragh?

Wouldnt mind if it was just caravans but theres already rubbish piling up around them and they aint cleaning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I have a few suggestions but I wouldn't be allowed to air them here as they're mostly all illegal....unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

OP's Racist ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

If you want rational ideas and opinions on Travellers you have come to the right place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭topcatcbr

I see it also. Drives me mad. If I did the same or less I'd have the law on my case in a flash.

I must be racist also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭**Vai**

wazky wrote: »
    If you want rational ideas and opinions on Travellers you have come to the right place.

Just wanna know why they are being allowed to defile the place.

OP's Racist ;)

Even white extremists think Im a bit much :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭photofinish

**Vai** wrote: »
    Anyone know what the deal is with the crowd of travellers making themselves at home on the once-pristine Curragh?

Wouldnt mind if it was just caravans but theres already rubbish piling up around them and they aint cleaning it.

Your not allowed to post any f̶a̶c̶t̶u̶a̶l̶ ̶ bigoted comments about the travelling community.

You must remember they are people just like us there may be one or two bad apples.
    They pay their taxes.
    They bring many positive things to the community at large like :confused: well you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

They come every summer. They will most likely be moved on in 2 or 3 week. And yes a few skip loads of rubbish will be left behind that the Co Council will clean up.

P.s, at one point I witnessed one of them do a poo poo in the bushes:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Just wanna know why they are being allowed to defile the place.

Because we don't have the organisation or the pride in our enviroment to have the littering laws enforced,not just for the travellers but for everyone that sees the countryside as a dumping ground and there are many.

They come every summer. They will most likely be moved on in 2 or 3 week. And yes a few skip loads of rubbish will be left behind that the Co Council will clean up.

Jesus. Even wild animals bury their sh1t. Whoever owns those sheep better sort out different accomodation for 3 weeks then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

Any photos?

kneemos wrote: »
    Because we don't have the organisation or the pride in our enviroment to have the littering laws enforced,not just for the travellers but for everyone that sees the countryside as a dumping ground and there are many.

I agree totally but this isnt down some country lane in the middle of nowhere. Its right in front of everyone and right beside the main train line. Its brazen and presumably illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Peter B wrote: »
    Any photos?

+1 I would like to see photos.

Are they clearly visible from the M7? If so they should be dragged out of there kicking and screaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Be careful what you say lads..

I've a feeling this thread will be locked fairly swiftly ;)

Nemeses wrote: »
    Be careful what you say lads..

I've a feeling this thread will be locked fairly swiftly ;)

Yes and so it should be.
    People should get out and welcome their new guests and if the place gets a tad untidy sure give them a helping hand.
    People living in the area should drop in a few welcome gifts and maybe extend and invite to tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Maybe their little hearts are glad?
    Ah, but mine is very sad
    Since my true love is far away from me

Not gonna lie and not naming names. A specific group that live in caravans year round disgust me. They think they can just set themselves up wherever they want and ruin the surrounding environment before moving on elsewhere leaving a ****heap behind them. In this instance they have decided it's perfectly fine to set up camp on one of our heritage sites.

A high % of aforementioned group contribute zilch to society and a firmer hand needs to be taken in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I have a few bags of rubbish from clearing out the shed and back garden , am I allowed go down and just fling it in to the curragh somewhere or will I get in trouble?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Not gonna lie and not naming names. A specific group that live in caravans year round disgust me. They think they can just set themselves up wherever they want and ruin the surrounding environment before moving on elsewhere leaving a ****heap behind them. In this instance they have decided it's perfectly fine to set up camp on one of our heritage sites.

A high % of aforementioned group contribute zilch to society and a firmer hand needs to be taken in this case.
    Why the fnuck wouldn't you name them?

They're travellers. The vast majority of whom are not wanted in any local community and the reason for this is their behaviour in a local context and also in their often leech like behaviour at a more broad level

Uriel. wrote: »

They're travellers. The vast majority of whom are not wanted in any local community and the reason for this is their behaviour in a local context and also in their often leech like behaviour at a more broad level

You can not name them here because certain people call it racist to tell the truth and will not hold this group responsible for their actions.
    Furthermore threads about this group of people get locked and posters get banned.

So not only are these people free to do what they want nobody is allowed discuss it either.

Uriel. wrote: »

I'd probably get banned for naming them here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Its their culture blah blah racism blah blah nobody understands them blah blah.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Its interesting how Travellers won't be paying the Household Tax for their caravan's but yet the funds to clean up their mess will probably have to come from the local councils.

Travellers and caravans don't bother me that much, Its the mess they leave around that's the main problem..If they actually gave a shít and bothered to keep their places clean then most people wouldn't care where they set up home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I'd probably get banned for naming them here.

I named them and didn't get a ban...

... Oh wait

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Ah go on gizza clue, is it a pop group? Would I know any of their hits?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

You can not name them here because certain people call it racist to tell the truth and will not hold this group responsible for their actions.
    Furthermore threads about this group of people get locked and posters get banned.

So not only are these people free to do what they want nobody is allowed discuss it either.

The question is, What is "Politically Correct" to call them?

Travellers, travelling communities, gypsies...

Someone help me out here! Or is there a someone who is part of the community that can clarify this..

Oh wait there was,.. that didn't end well.

side note : interesting read Wiki Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Discussion of travellers is allowed.

Calls for ethnic cleansing, threats of "mob justice", racism and general f*ckwittery are not, and are the reason why nearly all threads involving travellers get locked.

So if people want to discuss this, discuss it like adults and civilly. If you want to rant, go elsewhere.

Well the earlier poster was right, they have been moved on, leaving their mess behind them.
    Cant imagine whoever owns the sheep that graze there will be too pleased about his sheep eating god knows what.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Well the earlier poster was right, they have been moved on, leaving their mess behind them.
    Cant imagine whoever owns the sheep that graze there will be too pleased about his sheep eating god knows what.

But nothing will happen or come of it,they'll move on somewhere else and destroy that place too.

Seriously,are councils willing to leave this kind of thing continuning in fear of offending them?

Its not just councils, its every authority, gardai included but yes, that seems to be ok for travellers for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It's so AH to make racist oppressor remarks about valid and non-mainstream cultural expression such as littering, trespassing and bare-knuckle fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

We're all racist.

If everyone is racist does that mean no one is racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

I got banned the last time I talked about travellers.

A great bunch of lads they are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I got banned the last time I talked about travellers.

A great bunch of lads they are.

they should be renamed "unmentionables"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

As regards to what is the PC term for those people..

I have an anecdotal story.

They moved back near the lake where I live. (Rubbish still there)

One day my neighbours dog was missing. Dog had a collar with phone number on it. My neighbour received a text THIS IS THE KNACKERS. WE HAVE YOUR DOG. COME BACK AND GET IT.

So this particular group referred to themselves as knackers.

Can I use that word? Or is it like the n-word?