Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Louis Copeland Customised Suit €499

• 06-08-2013 12:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭

Saw the attached offer and was wondering where it stands in relative bargain terms??

[HTML]http://www.rewardingtimes.ie/[/HTML]

Over the last couple of years, I've travelled around a bit and always got tailor made suits made for work whenever I was passing through various locations (Hong Kong, Singapore, Vietnam, Thailand). Nearly always got great results and therefore I've never had to rely on an off the shelf suit.

I have a family wedding coming up and was considering buying a new suit when I saw this offer. Has anyone ever tried Louis Copeland for this? What was the result like? I note it says suit customisation rather than tailoring so I think it's basically an off the peg suit with customised alterations?

Any feedback greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭luketitz

Sure that'd get ya around 7.3 top notch suits on the Khoasan Road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I've bought cheaper cars than the price of that suit. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

I might pick one up. I always find off the peg suits a bit tight around the crotch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Sounds very expensive to me me, better value elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭d@rk l0rd

Seems very expensive to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

500 for a bespoke suit doesn't sound that bad? This isn't an off the shelf suit that's been altered; it's fully tailored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭veetwin

Hootanany wrote: »
    Sounds very expensive to me me, better value elsewhere.

How much would you expect to pay for a custom fitted Louis Copeland suit and silk tie? Where is there better value to be had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 BatterUp

I'd recommend TM Lewin on Anne St, I buy all my suits, shirts etc in the London stores and they're great quality and long lasting. Not fully tailored but you'll get two very nice, good fitting suits for the Louis Copeland price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,402 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I've no opinion on this particular offer, but from my experience, Louis Copeland is a very professional outfit.

Lotus Elan turbo for sale:

https://www.adverts.ie/vehicles/lotus-elan-turbo/35456469

My ads on adverts.ie:

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭tigershould

If I was wanted a tailored suit in Dublin, Louis Copeland is probably the first name I'd think of, however, I'm just a little suspicious of the term 'customised' suit rather 'tailored'.

Too cynical ?

If I was wanted a tailored suit in Dublin, Louis Copeland is probably the first name I'd think of, however, I'm just a little suspicious of the term 'customised' suit rather 'tailored'.

Too cynical ?

No, not too cynical at all - I was wondering at the wording too.

Here's the text from the website that was linked to, which makes it sound like a fully bespoke suit to me:
    With this exclusive offer from Rewarding Times, you get to create your very own customised Louis Copeland suit. You get to be the designer and have fun customising a one off design. You can choose from a range of styles, fabrics, linings and buttons for a unique suit and perfect fit. This exclusive deal also includes one pure silk tie from a selected range.

Customise......your own suit - to your taste and style.

Select...... from the finest wool fabrics.

Choose......from numerous design options and fit tools.

Order......your personally created suit.

Wear......your unique suit within 4-5 weeks
    <snip>
    With this offer you can choose from 22 fabrics, 34 linings, 14 buttons & 10 styles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Customize your own suit is that an alteration on one you already own. Sorry for the spelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It seems as if you're picking from a range of styles rather than having a tailor made suit.If there's any or much of a difference or not I have no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭niallam

Have gotten a suit from them before and got all the same options as above.
    It was a strellson suit, tailored to fit me. Shirt was a Louis copeland brand.
    They just let the hem down and lengthened the arms on the suit is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭tigershould

niallam wrote: »
    Have gotten a suit from them before and got all the same options as above.
    It was a strellson suit, tailored to fit me. Shirt was a Louis copeland brand.
    They just let the hem down and lengthened the arms on the suit is all.

that sounds like they've tailored an existing suit rather than made a bespoke suit to your exact measurements?

ie i'd want them to measure my neck, shoulder blades, chest, waist, arm length and cut the cloth accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

a little OT, but I picked up three suits and a tie from the suitable company on duke street last week for €485. All super 120/130's, Italian suits.

Normally, I pay about €200/250 in suitable company per suit, but they were having some sort of mad sale on there at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭will56

A few other suit shops in town do something similar.
    I got a suit last year, got to pick the fabric, style and lining and it was tailored to fit.
    I got the impression that the company they purchase the suits from carry blanks in the different styles that are altered to fit rather than it being a bespoke suit
    Couldn't fault them though, James Herren, end of Anne Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭vintagecosmos

Looks like a good discount on Celtic Tiger prices. But there are others which would represent good value like TM Lewin. Albeit not completely tailored.

Tailored suits though really are the biz :)

Lots of confusing wording, so I've taken the radical step of emailing them to see if they can clear it up. I'll post the reply.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I usually go through 5 suits a year.So instead if paying over here I go for a holiday in laos,get my suits custom tailor fitted for 40-50 euro a pop and still save money.Ive had Louis Copeland suits before and to be honest,its just the name you pay for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,727 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Too cynical ?

Not at all, I reckon customised means that it is an off the shelf suit that is then fitted on you and they make adjustments where they can to make it a better fit.

If it was tailored they would have said so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,727 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

I usually go through 5 suits a year.So instead if paying over here I go for a holiday in laos,get my suits custom tailor fitted for 40-50 euro a pop and still save money.Ive had Louis Copeland suits before and to be honest,its just the name you pay for.

Would you not think that if you're going through 5 suits a year then the quality is a bit sh1te ? Like most people work 230 days a year so if each suit is only lasting you 46 days wear then I'd seriously be questioning the quality of the material.

Don't get me wrong- I'm all down for cheap suits in Asia, I have a tailor who I use whenever I pass through Bangkok and he's makes great suits and doesn't compromise on the quality of his matierals. But if he made me a suit that only lasted six weeks before it fell apart then I wouldn't be using him again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Would you not think that if you're going through 5 suits a year then the quality is a bit sh1te ? Like most people work 230 days a year so if each suit is only lasting you 46 days wear then I'd seriously be questioning the quality of the material.

Don't get me wrong- I'm all down for cheap suits in Asia, I have a tailor who I use whenever I pass through Bangkok and he's makes great suits and doesn't compromise on the quality of his matierals. But if he made me a suit that only lasted six weeks before it fell apart then I wouldn't be using him again.

Well my job isn't a sit down a the desk all day job if you get me,so they go through quite a bit.I also like new suits,i dont need to change them but I do anyway.The suits are on par if not better than the tailored stuff over here.

I guess im just fussy about my suits,I prefer not to wear them down but change regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

Eoin wrote: »
    No, not too cynical at all - I was wondering at the wording too.

Here's the text from the website that was linked to, which makes it sound like a fully bespoke suit to me:
    With this exclusive offer from Rewarding Times, you get to create your very own customised Louis Copeland suit. You get to be the designer and have fun customising a one off design. You can choose from a range of styles, fabrics, linings and buttons for a unique suit and perfect fit. This exclusive deal also includes one pure silk tie from a selected range.

Customise......your own suit - to your taste and style.

Select...... from the finest wool fabrics.

Choose......from numerous design options and fit tools.

Order......your personally created suit.

Wear......your unique suit within 4-5 weeks
    <snip>
    With this offer you can choose from 22 fabrics, 34 linings, 14 buttons & 10 styles.

To be honest, that sounds like a made-to-measure suit to me.

I don't see how else you'd be able to choose your own combination of fabric, lining & style without them holding massive amounts of stock.

I'd expect they measure you, you pick the fabrics & style, the suit is made overseas, they sell it to you and make any final alterations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

AltAccount wrote: »

I don't see how else you'd be able to choose your own combination of fabric, lining & style without them holding massive amounts of stock.

I'd expect they measure you, you pick the fabrics & style, the suit is made overseas, they sell it to you and make any final alterations.

No doubt made on a production line somewhere then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭bluesteel

A properly tailored suit should mean 2-3 visits to the tailor where the suit is adjusted exactly to your fit. This offer seems like only one visit to get your measurements taken, so probably wouldn't meet the traditional Savile Row etc definition of "tailored". It should still better than off the peg fit wise .

HTH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭AltAccount

kneemos wrote: »
    No doubt made on a production line somewhere then?

No idea. I had it done with a different company. They did the measuring/consulting here and then the suit was made in Egypt before it was shipped back here. I then had 3 more visits with them before I was happy with the fit and left with the suits (I was very finicky about a ripple in the inner pocket fabric).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭vintagecosmos

bluesteel wrote: »
    A properly tailored suit should mean 2-3 visits to the tailor where the suit is adjusted exactly to your fit. This offer seems like only one visit to get your measurements taken, so probably wouldn't meet the traditional Savile Row etc definition of "tailored". It should still better than off the peg fit wise .

HTH

If its a skilled tailor one set of measurements would be enough.

If anyone does go for a tailored suit, ask for the adjustable waist band (very useful around Christmas time) :)

AltAccount wrote: »

Step 1 - Take your measurements
    Step 2 - Offer you a selection of 30-40 materials and colours
    Step 3 - Log onto http://www.suitopia.com/en/
    Step 4 - Think this is the easy step to figure :D

Custom suit with lining can be as little as €195 on that site, add in a shirt that costs €15 for them and that's a great mark up on the whole lot...

Looks like you've to add at least another 100 to get a 90-100% wool fabric - but even at 300 or so, that's the going rate for a half decent off the peg suit in M&S these days (a bit to my shock).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,688 ✭✭✭Heroditas

i dont need to change them but I do anyway.The suits are on par if not better than the tailored stuff over here.

I guess im just fussy about my suits,I prefer not to wear them down but change regularly.

Is it wrong that I read that using the voice of Barney Stimson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Heroditas wrote: »
    Is it wrong that I read that using the voice of Barney Stimson?

I read it in the voice of Swiss Tony :pac:

As I did this
    I have a tailor who I use whenever I pass through Bangkok and he's makes great suits and doesn't compromise on the quality of his matierals.

_55635802_swisstoni.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭HeadPig

Anyone get one?

Not at that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I'm more interested in these Asian holiday suit purchases. How much would you pay / save compared to here? And what are the flight prices like? :pac:

reply back from LC:
    It is a customised suit meaning that it is made specifically for you and a one off template is made for your measurements. Alterations may be made on the second fitting. We do not alter an existing suit to you measurements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Jeez lads,

That's not a bad offer in some regards. A Saville Row (the street, not the brand!) suit would cost you a £750 to a grand minimum sterling. I'm 6'6" and the only brand I can wear off the peg is Hugo Boss; aside from those all my suits are made. For my wedding I went all out and got an Oswald Boateng bespoke suit, I'll not divulge how much it cost as judging by some of the comments above I'd get lambasted; but when it comes to a suit, you get what you pay for IMO. I'm suited for work but outside of work I'm only ever in jeans, tee shirts and sneakers....I view them as an occupational hazard. A good suit though should last you years, not months as posted by a previous poster.

The formal hierarchy is bespoke, made to measure and then off the peg. I haven't heard the term customised before, but assume it's somewhat similar to made to measure. I say similar as assume they're being very deliberate in the wording here, i.e. that it's not exactly made to measure, but something close to same.

If you're interested, this will explain the differences between the categories:
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/quora/2013/01/16/what-is-the-difference-between-made-to-measure-and-bespoke/

there's a documentary that was BBC a while back on Saville Row on YouTube, there's about 10 parts but it is quite interesting:

http://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=plpp&v=WD9XVpaRcZU

And the perfect suit (4 parts):
    http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=TdTD0K66f8o&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DTdTD0K66f8o

Sorry to go all nerdy on ye!

I'm 6'6" and the only brand I can wear off the peg is Hugo Boss

I'm 6'8" and i've always found german brand suits best for size, Digel are the best off the shelf brand i've found, still about 10-15mm hem that could be let down and perfect sleeve length.