Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 8 Episode 6, "A Little Reflection" [SPOILERS]

• 06-08-2013 2:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭

I don't know about anyone else but I thought this was somewhat stronger than the rest of the season so far. It may be just that I've lowered my expectations sufficiently so that the gaping plot holes and hammy acting don't grate on me as much as they did at the start of the season.

I'm really pleased to see Hannah McKay back- she seemed pi$$ed but she does hate Deb. Hopefully now that Deb's back to her usual feisty self there will be some good onscreen tension between the two of them. It would beat the snore-making building relationship between her and her boss. All of those scenes seem like a waste of space. Did anyone else think that Deb seemed to be deliberately provocative micing up in front of yer man- you'd think it would have been more subtle if she'd taken it in a bag and done it in the jacks.

Dexter seems so sloppy this season compared to his previous self- I think he's setting himself up to be caught, possibly by Quinn. The whole him not making sergeant and being out to prove himself storyline seems so dull and pointless that it feels like its a set up for him to catch Dexter.

It seems utterly brainless and in direct conflict with the first rule of the code (Don't get caught) to release and try to train Zac Hamilton while he is already suspected of a murder and under surveillance by Quinn. Dexter already came very close to being caught when Quinn drove by while Dexter was in the lane with an unconscious Zac. If Quinn is tailing him its going to be obvious that they have some kind of relationship.

Similarly letting Harrison keep the dog that's covered blood that links him to a (very sloppy) murder just because he feels guilty about lying to his son is crazy. In fairness everyone lies to their kids for their own good/the good of the family. Hopefully he has the good sense to retrieve and destroy the thing at the first possible opportunity.

I quite enjoyed the date scene where Dexter comes across as a total bore. It was funny because anyone else would have found it awkward but Dexter just didn't give a sh!t.

How do you rate this episode? 36 votes

Excellent
    0% 0 votes
    Very Good
    0% 0 votes
    Good
    19% 7 votes
    Fair
    44% 16 votes
    Poor
    36% 13 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I definitely think that toy dog might come back to haunt him in the end!

I also thought this episode was stronger than most of the rest of this season so far, but that might be because the show finally gave me a 'WTF!?' moment (in a positive way) for the first time in ages with the return of Hannah. Looks like next weeks is set up to be very interesting after the ending to this one.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I suppose I could call that episode out on its myriad of problems, potholes and arbitrary character switches, but where's the point? I'd just be a broken record & we all know Dexter is a bit of a mess by now.

The release of Zac made zero sense, but it's just one more crime against narrative sense the show's happy to commit. The return of Hannah was a surprise, but I was never a fan of her in the first place so I don't see what she could add. She's an uninteresting character, and Strahovski isn't a particularly good actor so we'll see how that goes I guess...

Side note: it's kinda weird but now that Burn Notice has moved to Sundays, I'm spending my Monday TV time watching two Miami-based shows. Given how both are broad comicbook serials, the line is beginning to blur between the two: I keep thinking we might see a crossover episode, Weston and Dex going after the same target perhaps ... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

Which murder was the dog from...i can't remember. I can't see how it is going to end with only 6 episodes left, but there are too many people out there now who know about Dexter. I think you could be onto something there Rosy Posy about Quinn and Zac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

mel.b wrote: »
    Which murder was the dog from...i can't remember. I can't see how it is going to end with only 6 episodes left, but there are too many people out there now who know about Dexter. I think you could be onto something there Rosy Posy about Quinn and Zac

When he murdered the jewel thief that Deb was sleeping with in order to get info on for her job. In Dexter's lowest parenting moment yet, he brought his kid to the seedy motel and left him sleeping in the back seat with the window open and the door unlocked while he went to warn Deb that the dude was being set up by a hitman. They had an argument, Dexter lost his cool and stabbed the dude. He then left the motel covered in yer man's blood and Harrison had gone walkabout from the car. He found him walking around the carpark with the teddy and picked him up and hugged him getting the blood all over the kid and toy. Deb called in the murder so Dexter didn't get a chance to dispose of the body. One of the reasons that there is little evidence of Dexter's killing is because he does such a good clean up job and the bodies are never found (at least not since the Bay Harbour Butcher debacle). The robber dude's murder was sloppy because it was done in anger, not cleaned up and was in violation of the code, so its fitting that it could be instrumental in his downfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭The Browser

Jamie will find the bloody dog, Quinn will see it some time and test the blood...maybe that's how -- which if it happens will be highly disappointing. Hey Quinn -- remember Kyle Butler and Stan Liddy and the fact that you know Dexter is the Ice Truck Killer's brother and that LaGuerta thought Dexter was the Bay Harbor Butcher and then died with the man who ordered the death of Dexter's and the Ice Truck Killer's mother???

This show is really bad now. There's none of the tenseness of season 2 which was so good that it felt claustrophobic in some episodes, such as the ones where Doakes was caged and Dexter was unraveling. This season is a damp squib. There's zero adrenalin or apprehension. It's just one predictable subplot after another almost cartoonish in its simplicity and obviousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Hmmm wild hunch but Vogels's husband turns out to be the surgeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

The heady days of Season 4 seem so long ago, this season is the poorest by a long shot....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

I find any scene with Deb and Elway incredibly tiresome. I am sick to the death of Deb and all her men and her neediness. Hannah should have upped the dosage and eradicated Deb for good.

Releasing Zac will probably be part of Dexter's downfall. It's really building up that he'll be caught and it will probably be Quinn and Jamie who catch him.

I was reading the other day, I forget where, of the possiblility of a Dexter spinoff. So perhaps Dexter will teach Zac everything he knows and Zac will kill him and then Zac's character gets his own show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

With the whole Zac thing I am now officially just watching to see how it ends. I dont care about any of the current story lines or most of the characters. If it wasnt the last season, I wouldnt even bother watching it anymore.
    Hmmm wild hunch but Vogels's husband turns out to be the surgeon.

I think they are expecting us to just believe that it was Yates despite the fact that nobody was buying him.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    With the whole Zac thing I am now officially just watching to see how it ends. I dont care about any of the current story lines or most of the characters. If it wasnt the last season, I wouldnt even bother watching it anymore.

Totally agree with you. I'm finding it a chore to watch. Sticking with it because there are only six episodes left.

Miguel Prado, you are forgiven!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Pang wrote: »
    Totally agree with you. I'm finding it a chore to watch. Sticking with it because there are only six episodes left.

Miguel Prado, you are forgiven!

Strange but if this Zach kid is as annoying as he seems, Prado will seem tolerable in comparison. Also the whole monologue in Dexter head about meeting a kindred spirit loses it's appeal with it's the seventh or eighth time its happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

Dexter: "Could this be? Have I finally found a fellow murdering psycho to confide in who won't totally screw me over down the line?"

Jesus ****, you'd think after 7 seasons of this ****e he'd cop on. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭DBK

I think the way american tv land is that they'll try set up a spin off when Dexter is finished. He's going to get caught, killed or do a Hannibal and saw off his hand and escape with Hanna or some other fairy tail ending. So, annoying as the rich kid is, they might actually be setting him up to continue on.

I'm thinking the code won't work on actually psychos as Dexter wasn't a psycho in the first place, they just made him think he was with the code. I dunno, thought I wouldn't say this but I just want it to be over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭Cale

Pretty disappointing episode. Disappointing season so far.

There's no tension whatsoever and the way it's all playing out so far is very stagnant.

I'm glad Deb has stopped whinging. Good to see Hannah back, but again her intro just looks like lazy/bad writing.

I miss the Dexter from seasons 1, 2 and 4.

DBK wrote: »
    I think the way american tv land is that they'll try set up a spin off when Dexter is finished. He's going to get caught, killed or do a Hannibal and saw off his hand and escape with Hanna or some other fairy tail ending. So, annoying as the rich kid is, they might actually be setting him up to continue on.

I'm thinking the code won't work on actually psychos as Dexter wasn't a psycho in the first place, they just made him think he was with the code. I dunno, thought I wouldn't say this but I just want it to be over.

There is actually a lot of talk of a spin off. No mention of who it would be, but no smoke without fire. Hopefully nobody gives them the green light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,799 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    There is actually a lot of talk of a spin off. No mention of who it would be, but no smoke without fire. Hopefully nobody gives them the green light.

like breaking bad basing their spin off on the comedy character, id imagine Dexters spin off will be based on Masuka

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

like breaking bad basing their spin off on the comedy character, id imagine Dexters spin off will be based on Masuka

sweet ..I'd watch that for the laugh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

That would make sense with their random sideline story with him and his daughter. It'd be better than a Dexter-a-like with Zac. I thought Vogel's character would be good inspiration for a spin off. Not that I'm going to watch it whatever it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Sweet Jebus not Hanna F*cking MacKay ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,693 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Wouldn't be surprised to see Zach learn the code and because he's a bit of a hothead, think he's better than Dexter and get Dexter on his own table at this stage.

I really thought this show would be my favourite of all time at one stage, how thats so far away from it now..

I think a Masuka show would get old very quickly. You'd be lucky to get past one season.

Doakes would have been the best for a spin off but it's a bit too late now. Too late even for a prequel I think. A Quinn/Batista cop show might be the only good option they have.

Once there's no Deb spin off, I'll be happy. She wrecks my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

If Dexter seriously thinks teaching Zac the code and "mentoring" him is gonna work then he deserves to be killed out of sheer stupidity.
    It probably wasn't the worst episode but several parts of it made me wanna do this
    217.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭vetinari

Gah!

There's six episodes left!

The only reason anyone is watching this season is to presumably finally see Dexter get caught.
    Him getting caught by say one of his numerous slip ups would at least lend the show an air of realism.

Instead, we've had the brain killer, Vogel and now this new kid as small arcs within the series.
    If Dexter getting caught happens over a two episode story arc at the end, I'll be pissed.
    There's one great storyline left in Dexter. Him getting caught should have started by now as a storyline.

I'd echo others, why bother introducing 3 new characters (Vogel, new Kid, Deb's boss) in the final series.
    Fans care about wrapping up the story for the main characters. Has anyone told the writers this is the final season?

vetinari wrote: »
    Has anyone told the writers this is the final season?

I think they are hoping for one of two things.

1. Another season.
    2. A spin off.

They seem to be avoiding wrapping up stuff which leads me to think they dont want to end it just yet, despite everyone else wanting it to end. If this wasnt billed as the final season, I wonder how many people would have stopped watching by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

(I'm an episode behind, and watching on Fox, so commenting here rather than on latest episode)

OP wrote:
    It seems utterly brainless and in direct conflict with the first rule of the code (Don't get caught) to release and try to train Zac Hamilton while he is already suspected of a murder and under surveillance by Quinn. Dexter already came very close to being caught when Quinn drove by while Dexter was in the lane with an unconscious Zac

OMG, that what I thought...not that he'd kill Vogal, as he's shown to struggle with killing 'innocents' throughout the show. But he should've been p!ssed at the DVD's and wanted them destroyed. And yet, he's only bothered about the "experiment" and not the actual damning evidence?

I wasn't surprised that he released Zac at all. Isn't the first time. Dexter is desperate for a "companion" in his killings.

Which always played out to me that, perhaps he wasn't inherently a psychopath and could've been pushed away from this path..but thats a different argument.
    Hopefully Zac will be the last one to betray him.
    Jamie will find the bloody dog, Quinn will see it some time and test the blood...maybe that's how -- which if it happens will be highly disappointing. Hey Quinn -- remember Kyle Butler and Stan Liddy and the fact that you know Dexter is the Ice Truck Killer's brother and that LaGuerta thought Dexter was the Bay Harbor Butcher and then died with the man who ordered the death of Dexter's and the Ice Truck Killer's mother???

~chuckle~ Brill,
    There's been too many "dexter suspicions" that the whole department would be on guard around him, and watching him closely. How many people have to say "I think Dexter is a killer"..before the majority goes ..hmm, maybe there's something to it. :confused:

_______
    I'm glad to finally Hannah back, don't ask me why, just liked her.

I HATE Vogal. I cringe everytime she's up. Terrible acting and just so so unrealistic.
    She never needed to be brought it in, she hasn't added anything to the show. Apart from pushing that Dexter is somehow "perfect" and a hero? (of sorts). Whats that about it. I always liked his "Dark Passenger" and that he knew he was a 'monster'.
    Idk, I don't like it.

Finally Deb has found her backbone again!? Will they just give her a stable/permanent relationship already! Ugh, I'm tired of those..uh arcs...

Why didn't Dex bleach the toy? .. I mean all he tried was water, surely someone who deals with blood all the time would know how to wash it out :mad:, at least so that it wasn't so obviously stained with blood. Dye the damned thing at worst, buy a new toy? It's just a teddy, a sheep..surely not the hardest find :rolleyes:

Thats gonna be found, for sure. I hope that they finally catch Dex and he doesn't escape yet more charges. Though I'm not sure I want him to get the chair or if Zac should kill him. Idk, but I do think he needs to be found out as a murderer.