Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a Tractor - thinking CASE.

• 05-08-2013 9:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭

I need to purchase a new or almost new tractor.

I need recommendations. I only need it for light work, topping, fertiliser, etc. I have a ts 115.

I was thinking of a case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

19driver83 wrote: »
    I need to purchase a new or almost new tractor.

I need recommendations. I only need it for light work, topping, fertiliser, etc. I have a ts 115.

I was thinking of a case.

why do you NEED to get a new tractor for light work?

the TS115 is a fine tractor but would proabaly be a bit heavy for light work? I assume your talking about a JXU105 or NH T5060 that kinda thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭19driver83

yellow50HX wrote: »
    why do you NEED to get a new tractor for light work?

the TS115 is a fine tractor but would proabaly be a bit heavy for light work? I assume your talking about a JXU105 or NH T5060 that kinda thing.

The TS has a loader on it. I currently have a Ford 5000 for topping, fertiliser, etc. but I think the head gasket is gone on it and not worth repairing.

Does anyone know what I'd get for the 5000? It has 2 new back tyres and cab is good.

I'm open to suggestions on a new tractor. I'd like a new holland but I think too expensive for the work is use it for.

The TS has a loader on it. I currently have a Ford 5000 for topping, fertiliser, etc. but I think the head gasket is gone on it and not worth repairing.

Does anyone know what I'd get for the 5000? It has 2 new back tyres and cab is good.

I'm open to suggestions on a new tractor. I'd like a new holland but I think too expensive for the work is use it for.

repairing the head gasket on a 5000 is not a huge job as long as you dont have to take out the block. There are plenty of lads looking for them for export, not sur eont eh prices but it could be anything from 2-5k. If the rest of the tractor is good then you might get more. a new tractor say a T5050 would be between 40-50k, thats a lot of money to splash out on a tractor that wont be used that much. a 10 year old TL90 2wd would be around 20k. Depending on how much you are willing to spend that'll set what you can buy.

what about a 6610 2wd with a SQ cab, great tractor, plenty of comfort and you could proably pick a 2wd up for about 8k, you could even swap the rear tyres off your 5000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

would it not be a lot cheaper to fix the ford, than buy an almost new case?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

are you keeping the ts and want to buy a new tractor aswell?
    massey 5455?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭stanflt

How many hours a year are you doing- if below 500 do you really need a second tractor at all

Judging by your user name your young and want shinny machinery- invest in stock that will make a return not something that will depreciate and cost big bucks to run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

stanflt wrote: »
    How many hours a year are you doing- if below 500 do you really need a second tractor at all

Judging by your user name your young and want shinny machinery- invest in stock that will make a return not something that will depreciate and cost big bucks to run

yeah have to agree, i assume you use the TS for lifting the fertilzer bags and any heavy work. Get some one who knows a bit about the old fords to have a look at your 5000, if its not used much and everything else is good on it then a few thousdand would have the engine running perfect again. if your only putting up a few hundred hours a year on it and use the TS for eveything else id keep it. if you really want to get a second smaller tractor then i'd go with a late 80's seris 10 ford 5610, 6410, 6610. you could pick up a 2wd good one easy enough as many of them are getting traded for 4wd's. they are a good yoke and have plenty of comfort too, plus you seem to be used to the fords so any repair work woul dbe similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Going forward...

stanflt wrote: »

Huh? 83 makes him 30yo, goodness knows why that matters to you anyhow? Have you any recommendations for the man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭stanflt

Huh? 83 makes him 30yo, goodness knows why that matters to you anyhow? Have you any recommendations for the man?

Yeah fix current tractor and use money to buy stock as mentioned above

He wants a tractor though, why not stay on topic?

If I was up on what's available off the shelf today I would be of some help to you. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

putting aside what was said earlier, dont go for anything near new for that knid of work. 10 series ford is a good starting point. Even a 4wd version could be picked up for around 9 grand or so

or something like this?
    http://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/massey-ferguson-575/5458017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

New Air Seat????? :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

If that Ford 5000 is good even as it is it should be worth €5k to a collector.

The head gasket is not a big job but you might want to get the head skimmed at the same time.

A full engine rebuild for one of these should only come in at €2k to €2.5k and that tractor will appreciate.

I would not be a fan of an older 10 series like some posters above - rust problems with many of them and also always the threat of porous blocks. :(

Perhaps the new ones are improved in those areas, Nashmach?

A very late Ford Generation III from 1989 to 1991 can still be affected by rust and porous blocks - especially four cylinder models.

If it is anyway decent, they make too big of money for what they are IMV.

Much like those dreadful 9880's then?

Absolutely :D

But at least Landini had the cop on to zinc coat the cab later on and then replace the tin doors with all glass ones.

Never seen Perkins 236's giving much trouble.

Anyways, we are off topic now :cool:

nashmach wrote: »
    If that Ford 5000 is good even as it is it should be worth €5k to a collector.

The head gasket is not a big job but you might want to get the head skimmed at the same time.

A full engine rebuild for one of these should only come in at €2k to €2.5k and that tractor will appreciate.

I would not be a fan of an older 10 series like some posters above - rust problems with many of them and also always the threat of porous blocks. :(

the porous block was more of an issue with the older blocks, from the mark 2 seris 10's they brought in the ribbed block which is a lot less supceptile to the holes. rust was an issue with all the tractors up the early 90's.

grazeaway wrote: »
    the porous block was more of an issue with the older blocks, from the mark 2 seris 10's they brought in the ribbed block which is a lot less supceptile to the holes. rust was an issue with all the tractors up the early 90's.

Sorry, I'll have to correct you :D - hope you don't mind.

Ribbed block only came in on Generation III.

Also Generation III had a special inhibitor filter to counteract porousity as it was believed that this came about due to the coolant.

we had a seris II 7610 with a rib block, orginal engine and it was never changed. we were the 3rd owners and the it came from NI.

yeah i think the coolant filter gets a good bit of the credit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Newer models are all basically the same no, right? ie CNH.

But I often wondered value and depreciation wise, are new Holland viewed to be a better purchase?? ie do they hold their value better than it's red equivalent?

grazeaway wrote: »
    we had a seris II 7610 with a rib block, orginal engine and it was never changed. we were the 3rd owners and the it came from NI.

yeah i think the coolant filter gets a good bit of the credit

Perhaps it was late Series II :o - I'll have to revise my book again :pac:
    Muckit wrote: »

But I often wondered value and depreciation wise, are new Holland viewed to be a better purchase?? ie do they hold their value better than it's red equivalent?

Correct apart from styling and some operator controls.

I think your final point is correct but perhaps a bit early to say.

But then in saying that it certainly applies to the MXM range from the mid 00's and MXU/TSA range too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Muckit wrote: »

From what I can see nh hold their value better but I wouldn't be afraid go case either because of that

mark II 7610 with a ribbed block here too, have it about 15 years and were told it was all orginal when we got it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

He wants a tractor though, why not stay on topic?

I'll agree with going forward here, let yourman buy whatever new tractor he wants, its good for any of us who want to buy a clean cheap tractor afew years old, some other poor bugger will have suffered the worst of the deprecation for us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

OP if you can get your own tractor fixed and reconditioned for a few grand I do it. In the long term a simple straight tractor is better for light farm work than a newer tractor keep you money in your pocket.

Exporters are paying fairy nice money for older tractors and something like the MF 575 in an earlier post would do a lot of work for you it will lift any round bale of silage and is easy to maintain.

However if you want to spend money foolish by all means do as Timmaay said we all need good second hand tractors down the line.

we had a few 5000's it was the 1st tractor i drove back in the early 80's and there were a load of them round here, of a 1 mile radius of our place i'd say there were a dozen i can think of, 2 of them are still in use.

we bought one as a 2nd tractor about 18 years ago to go with the 7000, it belonged to a neighbour who had bought it new back int the early 70's and was well minded. mad to think of it now but it cost £2,000 as he offered it to us for what he would get as a trade in. the pick up was fecked but we didnt need it for that. power steering, cab, lift, engine and gearbox were all perfect, never had a loader on it so front axel was good. we used it mostly for spraying, sowing and cleaning out the yard and shed in winter plus a few odd jobs when we needed to have 2 tractors. i'd say the most it did was about 2-300 hours a year and most of that was proably cleanig out the cubicles sheds and yard. was very handy to have the 2nd tractor for when were were doing tillage work. sold it for export about 10 years ago after one of my uncle turned it over on a hill but made a profit on it. we would still be using it i'd say if it wasnt for that.

OP if you can get your own tractor fixed and reconditioned for a few grand I do it. In the long term a simple straight tractor is better for light farm work than a newer tractor keep you money in your pocket.

Exporters are paying fairy nice money for older tractors and something like the MF 575 in an earlier post would do a lot of work for you it will lift any round bale of silage and is easy to maintain.

However if you want to spend money foolish by all means do as Timmaay said we all need good second hand tractors down the line.

all depends on how much he is willing to spend on a tractor that will have low hours on it. that machine woul ddo him for his lifetime, but i'd it hard to justify getting a second tractor for €40k. that said even a decent 20yo tractor will set you back the bones of €15K

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Collect 10 tokens in the indo id say

Lots of food for thought here on my thread! Not too many recommendations for new or almost new tractors though!!

Im surprised that so many people are saying to fix the 5000 as I thought people would be advising im only wasting my money plus with good prices being offered for export. So maybe i'll re-think a new purchase and spend the money on stock as suggested.

Thanks for all posts and knowledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Have you looked at any Ford/New Holland 7840's? Very good machine, avoid the sle models for a quiet life. Or a good Case 5140/ 5150? Or a Deere 6600, if you can find a good one? Nearly new Kubota? they have a growing band of followers. I would be happy with any of these tractors. Don't know anything about Masseys, so no advice there for you.

Lots of food for thought here on my thread! Not too many recommendations for new or almost new tractors though!!

Im surprised that so many people are saying to fix the 5000 as I thought people would be advising im only wasting my money plus with good prices being offered for export. So maybe i'll re-think a new purchase and spend the money on stock as suggested.

Thanks for all posts and knowledge.

what size type of tractor are you looking to replace the 5000 with? will 2wd do? what about HP 80-90? do you need a shuttle gearbox, electronic lift etc etc etc. and most importantly what your budjet?

yellow50HX wrote: »
    what size type of tractor are you looking to replace the 5000 with? will 2wd do? what about HP 80-90? do you need a shuttle gearbox, electronic lift etc etc etc. and most importantly what your budjet?

Id prefer 4WD. Alot of the land is fairly hilly which is why the TS115 with a loader is not suitable. 90HP would be minimum id go.

Electronic lift I would like to have. Id live without the shuttle gearbox.

No real budget set as long as im getting value for my money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Id prefer 4WD. Alot of the land is fairly hilly which is why the TS115 with a loader is not suitable. 90HP would be minimum id go.

Electronic lift I would like to have. Id live without the shuttle gearbox.

No real budget set as long as im getting value for my money!

What would the benefit of the electric lift be?

I'd be keen on a shuttle gearbox in any future tractor that I would buy - especially a yard tractor with a lot of directional changes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

If your looking for a reliable 2nd hand case id go with the cs. They are a great tractor made in austria same as steyr, i think they have cs86 and cs94.

case885 wrote: »
    If your looking for a reliable 2nd hand case id go with the cs. They are a great tractor made in austria same as steyr, i think they have cs86 and cs94.

For second hand, I would agree or indeed a smaller McCormick may also suit the OP.

Otherwise if new, I would look at a NH T5 or whatever they are called by Case IH now - Farmall range I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

reilig wrote: »

I'd be keen on a shuttle gearbox in any future tractor that I would buy

Do you not have a shuttle in your NH?