Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fertliser in august

• 05-08-2013 8:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭

normally don't fertilise at this time of year as have good bit of grass...however this year is different and the place is coming back to normal after the dry spell but too slowly..so was thinking in putting a bit of fert to help growth..will i get much response at this time of the year??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,534 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Response will be very good,Going with bag and a half of pasture sward across all grazing are next week and then either bag and a half of can or 3/4 bag of urea end of first week of sept weather premitting.One thing i have learnt this year is that by ising your full fert allowance and a bit more of it re p and k(shh!!)i can grow a hell of a lot more grass than i thought was possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,828 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Put out the fert a bit lighter than usual in Spring to allow for putting out a bit more now,with ground so warm after the dry spell I reckon money spent on fert now will save a lot on feed in back end if grazing conditions allow it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Yous all still use urea this time of the year? My dads still bloody putting out can, I told him it works out way more expensive, but the last lot of urea we got was all lumpy, his theory is that urea gets manufactured in the early part of the year, so any stuff now is going to be like that. Probably was just a bad bag, which on hindsight we should have complained about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Of all August's that have come this the one to fire out fert. Urea perfect at the moment if it can be got. I still have a P allowance not used so will go with 2-3 bags 18-6-12 on index 1&2 and top up to 50 unite 1st Sept. Bag of urea every where else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Going forward...

It really is. Unreal response and the weather is set fair, good milk price and meal on the way down. Happy days.

Like others, I've noticed a huge response to P and K this year. All the home farm in Index 3 or 4 (based on 2012 soil tests) but it must have been last year's incessant rain or something because it's clearly noticeable places that got left over 18-6-12 or slurry lately.

It really is. Unreal response and the weather is set fair, good milk price and meal on the way down. Happy days.

Like others, I've noticed a huge response to P and K this year. All the home farm in Index 3 or 4 (based on 2012 soil tests) but it must have been last year's incessant rain or something because it's clearly noticeable places that got left over 18-6-12 or slurry lately.
    Have no fear that nothing will bring down milk price more than cheap grain:mad::mad:
    Wait till the big indoor guys wind up production. People say that abolision of quotas will effect price, nonsence, grain price is the driver.

Actually thats an interesting question, how low can the next dip potentially be? Obviously anything like 20cent/l in 09 would spell a much bigger disaster than back then given costs have rocketed since, but that was a combination of many things, including the protein scare in China etc.

Can I just live in the moment?:pac: Unlike Delboy's friend splashing the cash on needless things, this is a blessing for us after last year.

:confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

delaval wrote: »
    nonsence, grain price is the driver.

When I asked about the treat of low grain prices I was fobbed off a few months ago. Low price grain could be here to stay. Would be an ideal time for me to set up an indoor herd of high maintenance Holsteins:rolleyes:, Feck it I will go robots and all

Do you need an equity investor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Do you need an equity investor?

yes, I can offer you a guaranteed return..........

terms and conditions apply, regulated by the Financial regulator and Central Bank of Ireland

yes, I can offer you a guaranteed return..........terms and conditions apply
    So long as I dont have to milk I'll sign anything

Delaval ya can buy up the bita land for sale beside me and rent it to me longterm if you want a nice safe "equity" stake here! The return on investment would be fairly sh&te though with land prices though.

So long as I dont have to milk I'll sign anything

Bob will have ya milking them 4times a day when the robots breakdown!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Delaval ya can buy up the bita land for sale beside me and rent it to me longterm if you want a nice safe "equity" stake here! The return on investment would be fairly sh&te though with land prices though.
    Land at 5k/acre rented to you for at 300/ acre we'd both be ok;);)

:confused::confused::confused::confused:
    The thread you started about the perils of good milk price? It was only a few days ago.

;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Lads don't be on about ye're milking decisions in " real land" On marginal land it is def worth putting out fert now...soil is warm and for the grass it grows it hopefully means a shorter winter as long as it doesn't piss rain in September.