Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

medicine/spray storage

• 04-08-2013 2:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭

hey,
    just wondering how do ye keep you're medicines, needles, syringes and herbicides safe and well, and to keep the bord bia/department inspectors happy?
    as we are we got a bad old tin box thats falling apart, and just want your opinions on what the best way is. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hey,
    just wondering how do ye keep you're medicines, needles, syringes and herbicides safe and well, and to keep the bord bia/department inspectors happy?
    as we are we got a bad old tin box thats falling apart, and just want your opinions on what the best way is. thanks

they will find a problem, two stores is the answer :rolleyes:, and get a contractor to do your spraying - sure I havnt a clue what he uses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

For medicines a locked cupboard and a glass jar for sharps.

Came across a chest freezer with a lock that was about to be dumped so saved it from the wee collection for sprays storage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭brian_t

hey,
    medicines, needles, syringes and herbicides

You need that stuff locked away securely for your family's safefy anyway.

Regarding the herbicides if you are inspected - you need to have your locked containers marked as containing chemicals.

You also need to keep the phone numbers of your Doctors and the Fire Brigade nearby.

And they also check to make you have a bucket of sand available to soak up spillages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

We keep the medicines in an old fridge, keep the syringes i there too and have jar jar for the old needles, give them to the vet once a vet for disposal.

Have an old freezer for storing sprays, lid is heavy enough to stop small hands lifting it. Keep them in a room with a padlock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

X2 for the old fridges.exact same. chest freezer as well,good for holding left over bags grass seed as well.keep mice out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

might just be able get my hand on an old american style fridge freezer. seems like a good idea alright. thanks everyone. maybe sprays in the freezer side and medicine in the fridge side? that should keep them happy i'd imagine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

49801 wrote: »
    For medicines a locked cupboard and a glass jar for sharps.

Came across a chest freezer with a lock that was about to be dumped so saved it from the wee collection for sprays storage.
    Those of you that had an inspection do you have to be able to lock the cupboard/freezer

Not if the room they are in can be locked

A chemical store can be defined as a stand-alone building, container, a press/cupboard/cabinet/filing cabinet, which is independently lockable, and is capable of containing spillages appropriate the volumes stored in it. It is advisable that such a store is ventilated in some way. The store should be used exclusively for the storage of Pesticides.

Pesticides and Cross Compliance

It's also covered in pages 20 and 21 of the Teagasc Cross Compliance Workbook

When I was inspected they went through all the points covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭nhg

We converted the old dairy into the veterinary medicine store, bought an old fridge & plug it in when needed, we bought the blue lockable cabinet for the items that are not stored in the fridge & a clear plastic storage box for syringes, scissors etc, we use a labeled clear plastic jar for the used needles, sink etc is still in it & is near to the crush where you would be using the medicines anyway

We turned the old parlour into a chemical store, it is also where we store the power washers etc. Made a concrete shelf from where used the be the feeding
    troughs which is great as chemicals up at an easy level to read instructions etc

Both rooms are securely locked with 'keyed alike locks'

It's as much for our own safety & ease of use as the department/bord bia inspection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

We got two damaged personnel lockers which were being dumped.
    Stuck in a few shelves and new locks.

One for medicines, the other for pesticides and a few tools needing extra minding.

We're not bord Bia certified or anything. Just like to keep all safe and out of reach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

might just be able get my hand on an old american style fridge freezer. seems like a good idea alright. thanks everyone. maybe sprays in the freezer side and medicine in the fridge side? that should keep them happy i'd imagine

Don't think American freezer is bunded so won't work for pesticide store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

just stick them in a locked room, when nosey people call around say the key is on the keyring that herself is gone off for the weekend with.

I don't think the "nosey people" do weekend calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭FineFilly

We use 2 old filling cabinets,both lock so are safe around children etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

I have a medicines inspection tomorrow ,its a follow up inspection to one my vet had.
    What would i need to watch out for ,anyone an here have one of these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

caseman wrote: »
    I have a medicines inspection tomorrow ,its a follow up inspection to one my vet had.

In that case, make sure you have everything g you bought from the vet documented and any remains still in the locked present.

If you do everything correctly, it should be nothing to be bothered about.

caseman wrote: »

only have what is in date,
    have the old neddles ina seprate jam jar
    have all your syringes and needkles that you use clean
    have your farm book updated to list all teh meds bought and thier usage.

they may pick an animal and ask to see when it was injected. make sure you have no animals that were sold or off loaded prior to thier withdrawel date.
    they may ask you what you do it a needle breaks in an animal? the answer is you call the vet to remove it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

I had the inspection all well, he checked date an all medicines,he also checked medicine records and cross checked the presciption from the vet with these.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

brian_t wrote: »
    I don't think the "nosey people" do weekend calls.

I see on this week's comic that Tipperary seems to be very hard hit by the 'nosey people' around half nitrate inspections resulted in a penalty.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I got my hands on a small lockable cabinet. It's ideal for the cattle vetinary medicines, syringes, needles etc. The only problem is, I would prefer to keep it in the garage or shed. Now some of the bottles say not to store below zero degrees.
    Will this really be a problem? I can keep it in the hose, but would prefer not to.

I got my hands on a small lockable cabinet. It's ideal for the cattle vetinary medicines, syringes, needles etc. The only problem is, I would prefer to keep it in the garage or shed. Now some of the bottles say not to store below zero degrees.
    Will this really be a problem? I can keep it in the hose, but would prefer not to.

How small is the cabinet.

Could you not store it inside a slightly larger wooden cabinet or box lined with polystyrene insulation.

Or maybe just throw an old rug or blankets over it on cold nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭DarByrne1980

we actually talked nicely to the boyos in the local recycling depot. the ould buck seen two grand big fridges dumped for recycling. Recycling says he and we gave ya man 20 each for them and poped them on the trailer. they are handy 2 lock and all.