Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Celebrities and TDs using boards to defend themselves anonymously

• 03-08-2013 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

In my view it's rampant here on boards. We saw it here with that McSavage in the past. But it seems to be in every thread now.
    It makes you wonder what the polititians are up to...
    Is this modern day propaganda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

no, now it is called pr and really shouldn't be in conspiracy theories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

sheesh wrote: »
    no, now it is called pr and really shouldn't be in conspiracy theories
    Well there's no real proof is there?
    I believe there are ministers on this site who are actively trying to influence people and smear other politicians using an anonymous handle/username.
    If that thought doesn't worry you, you need to wake up and take your head out of the sand.

If Georgia Salpa is knockin' about, hit me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

I believe there are ministers on this site who are actively trying to influence people and smear other politicians using an anonymous handle/username.
    If that thought doesn't worry you, you need to wake up and take your head out of the sand.

No I assume they are doing what you describe above. I would imagine that there are PR teams keeping an eye on the site not just individual politicians and putting in stories to damage rivals. Boards is a very powerful communication tool. how many times have I seen a story here first and then turn up on national media? loads.

Modern social media usage is based on the notion that the source of the information is paramount if the source is not reliable then neither is the story. second to that is the notion that the person presenting that information is doing it for a reason, that they have an axe to grind. you will see plenty of these people over in the politics forum nationalists, unionists, ffers, fgers etc if you are in any board for anyamount of time you will see the patterns forming.

so yeah, you are right, I'm agreeing with you

I'd say alot of PR money is burnt with people on boards all day planting links to stories showing peoplein a bad light and I want in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭claypigeon777

The cheek of them! They have no right! I'm in one of my moods now!:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

LOL Kenny looking boards in case they spelt his name wrong so they can send Garda to come raid the gaff for the big baddy boggie monster cyber bully for hurting his feeling .

Well if Kenny didn't do that he might get depressed and go find a tree and like his late mister for something with the help of few Hench men lifting him up take a dive from office and then let them blame the big baddy bogie monster cyber bully.
    Sh1t that's a real conspiracy theory all wrapped in one

I must remember my programing the filth stream media always tell the truth and the big baddy boggie monster cyber bully can kill you so he has got to be banned now take your pills be happy

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

A conspiracy theory giving out that every user on boards should be "sheeple" and all like/dislike the same things? Is it so hard to believe that other people might like the politicians in question?

Same thing happens when someone comes on ranting about a perceived injustice in a shop or with a company. Then if anyone dares say something that's siding with the company they are accused of working for them/being a clamper/gard/etc.

So basically boards is made up of politicians, Gards, clampers and the evil people that work in shops that are just out to get you (yes YOU)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 blue onion

In my view it's rampant here on boards. We saw it here with that McSavage in the past. But it seems to be in every thread now.
    If it's done anonymously how do YOU know if they are DEFENDING themselves..
    How dare any one who wants to defend themselves that they be allowed to defend themselves.
    If politicians were involved in this there is only one thought that I would be thinking off and that is that they have too much spare time
    Also how do we know if you are a politician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

To be doing that Irish celebs and politicians would need to have nothing better to do all day long but stroke there own egos....oh..eh...wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Anton McSavage?
    If so point me in the direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

go on so, give us say 10? examples since it so rampant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Torakx

That doesnt worry me at all actually.The game they are in is all about acting, lying and deceiving people, to get a good retirement.
    The rules appear to be, don't get caught.

The game is rigged.The voters are chumps and are running this country into the ground...that might worry me a little.

I dont vote at all, so from my view they can slander each other till the cows come home, I probably wont know who those nobodies are slandering anyway.
    Politics in Ireland is such a joke, even compared to the greater joke that is democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

It's terrible, OP, just terrible, but that Michael D Higgins fella knows the score.