Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car hit from the back now other driver won't pay

• 02-08-2013 11:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Hi I'm wondering if I can ask some advice. My car was hit from behind last week. At the time I was a bit shocked so I trusted the other driver when he gave me his phone number and told me he would sort out the damage. (I know now I should have taken his insurance details and also called the guards). He appeared visually only to have caused damage to my bumper, but on driving the exhaust was making a loud noise and it felt heavy at the back as if something was pulling it back. I took the car to a crash repair garage and they told me that the chasis was bent and boot was out of alignment etc and it would cost 1000 euro approx to fix . I then contacted the other driver and had to ring him a few times as he would not answer the phone. When he finally did answer, he was very cranky and put it across in such a way that I was trying to gain off him. I explained the situation to him, and he said that my car was not worth €1000 which is not true as the same type of cars make approx 1500 - 2000. He could not seem to understand how it would cost so much to fix it. He finally agreed to ring his insurance company and told me they would contact me. I left it a few days and heard nothing, so I rang him t his evening and he told me his insurance company would not be paying as people are making too high of claims for minor damage and that my car was not worth 300, he also said that he seen no brake lights, which is untrue(my car passed the nct only last month). His manner was aggressive and he told me that I would not be getting anything off him and he would be sending me a solicitors letter if i called again. My problem is that I do not have his insurance details.I do have his name, address and phone number and I know where his house is. I do not have the reg of his car but I think I could probably get it. I did report the incident to the guards but they more or less said that I should get my insurance to deal with it. (my insurance company is not being that helpful on the situation. I rang the guards again this evening, and they said to bring in my licence and insurance details tomorrow and they can get on to him to get the insurance details. Will they be able to do this without an car registration and has anyone got any advice as to what else I can do?? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

what a tosser,hope you dont get left to pay :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

Always call the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

wesf wrote: »
    Always call the guards.

As in call them now or go back in time and call them straight away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Get his reg, ring your insurance company, tell them what happened and they will initiate a claim against the other driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

what a tosser,hope you dont get left to pay :)

Sorry for your trouble. This happened to me years ago guy thought he was a smart arse wouldn't pay guards no help. He turned out to be owner of a car dealership so I turned up at his place and bad mouthed him to customers. He wasnt long changing his tune and paid up.

wesf wrote: »
    Always call the guards.

never call them.they might be busy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Go to the guards and report it. Tell your insurance company, when the guards have more info inform your insurance company again.

Next time just use your phone to take a picture of his insurance disc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

never call them.they might be busy

Let them decide if it's a priority. Report it to have it on record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

I heard the guards were only interested if there was an injury.

Lots of photos of the road positions of cars etc tax disk / ins / other driver licence if poss and a hair sample for DNA .... Well scrap the DNA.

Best of luck OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

- The Gardai will have no interest unless someone is injured - as the OP has found out in her dealings with them so far

- Her best bet is to get the Garda's name who said they'd contact the other party for his details, pass this on to her insurer and let them deal with it.
    If the Gardai drag their heels on this (likely as it's low priority to them) I'd take a late night drive up to the guy's house - preferably with a friend and in another car - and get the reg of his car myself (seeing as the OP has those details at least)

- For future reference, ALWAYS get the full details of the other party/car involved, don't admit liability or agree to anything between ye there and then, take plenty of pictures of any damage to BOTH cars (not unknown for some people to exaggerate the damage to their car), and notify your insurer first thing REGARDLESS of whether you pursue a claim or settle it yourselves (but I really don't get this obsession with "sorting it out between ye", as it almost never works out as the regular threads here prove)

That said OP I hope you get things cleared up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Get his reg, ring your insurance company, tell them what happened and they will initiate a claim against the other driver.

That really is all you need to do in as clear cut a situation as yours, Ela.ine. Stick to V.oo.d.oo.me.l.o.n's advice ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Ela.ine

Thanks for the replies everyone. Would it be of any benefit for me to go to a solicitor and threaten to take him to court and would I have a reasonable chance of winning the case? That's assuming if all else fails?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ela.ine wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies everyone. Would it be of any benefit for me to go to a solicitor and threaten to take him to court and would I have a reasonable chance of winning the case? That's assuming if all else fails?

Don't bother with that.. your insurer will do that for you if it comes to it

Just get his reg/insurer details (from the Gardai or yourself) and let your insurance co sort it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Let the insurance companies handle it, that's why you pay them a premium every year. I would not waste anymore time dealing with the other party if he is not happy with the cost of fixing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

^^

This. And do report the accident. Go to the station nearest the accident. They'll do it at the counter. Perfectly routine and will take about 5 mins. Pm me if you want the number of the solicitor I used, OP.

His insurance company will stack the deck in their own favour. You may not even know what cards you hold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Happened a few years ago to me and it turned out the other guy was uninsured and he still basically told me it was my tough luck and he wasnt doing anything to sort it out. Guards and insurance company were useless so I got tough myself and got it sorted. Dont be afraid, it was his fault after all. This guy sounds exactly like the guy that reversed from a side street onto a main road into the side of my car causing serious damage. Dont let him away with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

I had a guy before, something similar, hit my wife's car, gave his mobile number but when we got quotes he refused to give his insurance details. I had the reg, it was a company van and I got the company name form it. Call to the Gardai, they take a very dim view of people refusing to give over insurance details after an accident.

OP call him again, tell him you have taken legal advise and it is illegal for him to with hold insurance information, you will have to give yours, tell him unless he gives you his details you will be passing his reg to the Gardai who will be calling to him. He is trying to scare you off, turn the tables on him

I presume you have his reg? If not don't let on to him that you don't, you will need to call his bluff on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Sorry to hear about this. Stressful.

Who does this guy think he is? Rod Stewart is it?

I wouldn't be long setting myself about softening his cough.

Report to the garda asap and have them carry out an incident report, as it was a rta. That will be an important document.

Equally have your engineer do up a report with photos and his opinion as to whether the damage is consistent with the information provided to him, including speed of impact.

Immediately inform your insurance.

Do go to a solicitor.

I would plain and simple get his reg and details from the window of his car.

Alternatively just send the letter. Fill out piab form, or ib as they now call themselves, with as much info as you have.

If he doesn't reply etc you'll get what is effectively a judgement in default of defence. Piab will sort it all.

If you want your solicitor to manage it all, don't dare pay him more than 1,200 quid for a piab application. And only pay him after it's over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Right job for this fella would be a garnishee order or attachment order. This has put manners on many a fella.

What a scumbag.

Ultimately his insurance will indemnify him.

It's just the hassle. Again, what a reprobate scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

you mention you have his address. Just take a drive passed his house I'm sure you'll recognise the car that hit you and I'm sure you'll take note of the reg this time and possibly his insurance details if it's parked on the street.

Call your insurance co. with the details and leave the rest in their hands.

I wouldn't be bothered calling him again he's clearly an ignorant pr!ck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

If you know where he lives it's easy to get his reg. Just don't go onto private property and be accused of trespass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

In the interim, it would be advisable to go to your doctor and get an xray and mri. Neck problems can take up to five years to manifest after a rear shunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 WhichCar

Had a similar experience myself. Don't let him get away with it. He's taking you for a fool because you've been so good-natured so far. Don't beat yourself up about the fact that you didn't take the insurance details and call the gardai at the time - you live and learn. I agree with the other posters' advice and think it might be best to drive by his house and take a photo of his car's reg. Then leave it with your insurance company to follow up with his insurance company. Maybe double-check with your own insurance company that you won't lose your no claims or step back by doing it that way? Good luck and try not to stress too much about it :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Dubl07 wrote: »
    In the interim, it would be advisable to go to your doctor and get an xray and mri. Neck problems can take up to five years to manifest after a rear shunt.

Very good advise, I could have sworn I posted something similar, strange, where could my post have gone, must be going senile...

was wondering how long it would be before the ambulance chasers made an appearance :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

was wondering how long it would be before the ambulance chasers made an appearance :mad:

Would never condone this and have been hit twice due to no fault of my own (granny deciding she wanted to be on my side of the road as I was approaching at 80 k and rear-ended at traffic light, bad enough to cause damage similar to OP).
    In both cases I was OK and all i wanted was my car sorted. Matters where settled quickly without fuss and no arguments. This is the preferred way of doing things.
    But if someone hit me and then decided they might be able to intimidate or bully me into going away?
    I would pile on the claims till they won't know what hit them. I hate ambulance chasers and people who try to get money when they stub their toe, but I hate bullies like the guy who hit the OP even more. They have learnt in life that if they just blow themselves up to look big they can intimidate the other guy into backing down.
    He now has to learn that this is not the case. Go get 'em OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

I am in NO way an ambulance-chaser. It is a fact that nice people tend to shrug off initial pain and think 'it'll be fine'. Sometimes it isn't 'fine' and neither goes away nor improves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Cartel Mike

I had same accident but in the North and guess was lucky there was a pnsi van passing & stopped. Before van stopped the guy was blaming me but he had no choice but to change his tune in the face if the obvious.

It's stressful especially if you hate conflict & agro. It does matter that you are in the right as im sure the guy will exhaust himself lying and dodging eventually ....especially if the Guards do ring him.
    When you get the reg , his name all you need is the name of insurance company.
    Ring them , make your claim .Mention you did ring the Guards eventually ( give which station) only after he did a u-turn on you.

They will ring you back when they've contacted him. He will have no choice but to accept responsibility...eventually.

Then you have ro worry about the assessor and wheather his insurance co want to write your car off.
    That depends on your car's worth and availabillity of parts.
    I had to find all parts myself cause it was a rover & uncommon.
    Hopefully you wont.

Don't worry. When your in shock its easy to forget procedure and turn onto 'solicitor' type mode. You already have your garage quote .You won't have ti talk ti him again just his insurance co. Keep reminding yourself that the guy has no case whatsoever which he dosn't.
    Your boot's wheel well (inside) & lower chassis is probably crumpled and requires bench work. The guy obviously didn't count on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Would never condone this and have been hit twice due to no fault of my own (granny deciding she wanted to be on my side of the road as I was approaching at 80 k and rear-ended at traffic light, bad enough to cause damage similar to OP).
    In both cases I was OK and all i wanted was my car sorted. Matters where settled quickly without fuss and no arguments. This is the preferred way of doing things.
    But if someone hit me and then decided they might be able to intimidate or bully me into going away?
    I would pile on the claims till they won't know what hit them. I hate ambulance chasers and people who try to get money when they stub their toe, but I hate bullies like the guy who hit the OP even more. They have learnt in life that if they just blow themselves up to look big they can intimidate the other guy into backing down.

I normally agree with your posts, but you're way off on this one. Get your logic straight before you start making the general population pay for your temporary anger. Only one party ends up stubbing the vast majority of a claim like this and it's not the other driver.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

Rule one I never call the garda if nobody is injured as often they arrive look at the stuff make the idiots often blocking the roads with their car move them of the road and then hop back into patrol car and take off as for the Garda its civil matter nothing to do with them . Garda dont do fender benders unless there is chance one driver is drunk over the limit or one driver is exceptionally aggressive and there is risk of breach of peace

Several fender benders that I know of one was my cousin he had his car rear ended by high speed car not spotting the traffic was all stopped by garda near Dublin airport and the Garda were directing traffic The Garda noticed it and went for dangerous driving and careless driving charge to the offending driver but later dropped it to careless driving .Damage to cousins car worth about ~€2000 in local garage quote because tow hook protected the car .The driver was was in the repair trade and offed to fix it to perfect standard . I advised cousin take the offer .If the guy offers to fix it and my cousin refuses the offer two times then the guy can walk away from the damage costs as your acting unreasonably as he only has obligation to repair the damage and not fork out €2000. If he didn't fix it correctly then it became a separate claim My cousin didn't want €2000 he wanted the car fixed so car was collected and fixed to full standards .I called to collect the car after few days when it was repaired and the workshop was high quality work shop.So my Cousin was a happy camper .

I had friend who was also in the spray paint trade .He was driving his medium sized Automatic diesel car on dame street region or the quay s i forget .He was at lights stopped behind a nice car 30k plus type .He looked down to something and his car creeped forward and hit the car in front doing less than 2mph .There was no signs of damage of any sort to either car .They swopped details in case .The next day the guy claimed there was some damage costing about ~€3000 euros to fix .My friend offered not just twice but three times that he would fix the damage just arrange the time for the repair to be done and the next day car would be fixed to full standards of the trade .The guy refused 3 times so then my friend was able to tell him to take hike .The insurance company was advised of the whole thing and the guy lost out .

The guy in fancy car probably thought this was his chance to get one of the months payment for the top end car paid for for nothing claiming for impossible stuff broken from fender bender .

If you rear end somebody or damage some car and its your fault your only obliged to return the car back to similar standard eg if it brand new top range thing it has to be well repaired.If the damage is some €200 euros they claim it €10000 you can contest it and get your own independent advise and direct that you appoint this garage of your choice to fix the damage . You are only obliged to fix the damage there is no requirement to pass money over .Its only after the garage you appoint to fix it does a bad job can the other car owner can then complain .Again it will be civil court judge that will look the issue .Many people would rather repair the car they hit and pay from their own pocket so as to keep the premiums for next year down .However many opportunists will get crazy quotes to try one on .If for example you hit a car that has value of €2000 and they claim it worth 10,000 and you happen to know of similar year model with similar mileage of similar condition and you could buy it for €500 because your in the trade or some reason why you can get it cheap then you can offer this as solution .If they refuse 2 times and want for example the €10,000 then tough they lose out as they are proving to be unreasonable and on the make

While out on the town with My friend while reversing his company car he barely touched another parked cars door and removed at most one layer of paint if that probably only dust that was on surface. Not being clued up on the full story of the laws at the time but being mechanical I did know one tub of certain paint rubbing repair stuff would with a bit of elbow grease repair the barely noticeable claimed for scratch .The guy arrived on the scene from his house across the road . A few days later he got a quote for €1500 to repair and the car wasn't worth €1500 if you asked me .The company my friend worked for didn't want to know my friend was on six moi nth contract and the work was finishing so the company passed it to insurance and they i presume paid up .

I was in private shop parking and stationry to let car in front out and a guy reversing didn't spot my rear end and he reversed into my car bending the right back wing slightly and cracking the back lens. The car was old 12 years so the wing damage was just another ding but the cracked back light was a problem as the car was going to the NCT in a few days. he agreed to give me €20 spot to get another second hand lens so I took it . I fixed the lens with glue I bought for €10 and 20 minutes work and car past the NCT .A year later car was stolen and burnt out and insurance offered something like €200 even though it was perfect and worth in my opinion ~€2000 so told insurance to shove it where the sun don't shine and changed company and now i don't do comprehensive insurance and save the money for me
    In private car parks like shops there is no such legal thing thing as somebody fault with insurance claims .If like my friend your T boned in a Dunne's store car park and the car is written off the insurance companies will go for equal fault as that isn't the public roads .That way both parties will suffer with higher premiums the insurance companies win so its not interesting for the Insurance companies to entertain the debate who fault it is so they wont.

I have been rear ended several times while sitting at traffic lights but the tow hook proteced my car .I get out inspect the damage to me and there was non say be more careful and drive off often their cars are seriously wrecked as the tow hook eats cars front ends . One time while exiting a small road T junction a big Beamer whacked my small 1000cc car and sent me flying 10 feet plus into the junction . Lucky nothing coming .I got out expecting to see massive damage .Nothing a few minor scratches on the rear bumper and bent bar that held the bumper on .Quick bend back and it was straight again .The car was old 12 years so just another few scratches to add to the list so nothing to worry about no back lights broken no rear hatch back broken or bent door so just the normal smile your lucky day drive more carefully and i am gone .

I picked up my Bosses Beamer 3 series from the garge after a service a 2.5 liter nice toy to drive .Turning right Crossing with green filter light a busy junction 6 lane wide road noticed a car aerial moving at 50MPH plus on the very outside service left lane turn but he wasnt going to turn left and he was going to catch the green light as the filter light time was very short so i stood on the brakes .The Car passed in front of me just getting the green light on time an there was inches to spare as I nearly T Boned him .However a really large 4 wheel drive also catching the short filter light turn right rear ended me .He destroyed the boot region of the beamer and really destroyed the front of his thing .He tried to blame me . Insurance were not to long telling him it was his fault rear ending is always your fault .Basically it was the car trying to catch the green light on the empty inner left turn lane that triggered the crash but he was long gone having not turned left but gone straight through junction.Worse the boss wasn't happy his beamer was creased .

In the snow and ice a few year back near Dublin airport I slid a tad and rear ended another Guy small car with my small car doing maybe ~5mph .Nothing damaged a few scratches at most to his bumper He was polish I think used to fender benders in snow and ice in his region of the world happy enough he drove off.

When driving anything Sh1t happens

For the OP get second quote . preferably third .If the the 3 quotes are the same hand it to insurance and let them sort it The having several quotes the same or similar will ensure your not on the make .
    If your insurgence company wont help you the small claims courts will for €6 do the case as its civil damage claim and the small claims courts do up to €1250 euros of costs .Post the three quotes to his address registered letter say you will pursue it with small claims courts he will if he is intelligent fork up the €1000 .If not the sheriff will come to his gaff and take €1000 plus of stuff to pay you the cost as the sherrif has to take extra to cover his costs

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

derry wrote: »
    Rule one I never call the garda if nobody is injured as often they arrive look at the stuff make the idiots often blocking the roads with their car move them of the road and then hop back into patrol car and take off as for the Garda its civil matter nothing to do with them . Garda dont do fender benders unless there is chance one driver is drunk over the limit or one driver is exceptionally aggressive and there is risk of breach of peace

Several fender benders that I know of one was my cousin he had his car rear ended by high speed car not spotting the trafic was all stopped by garda near Dublin airport and the Garda were directing traffic The Garda noticed it and went for dangerous driving and careless driving charge to the offending driver but later dropped it to careless driving .Damage to cousins car worth about ~€2000 in local garage quote because tow hook protected the car .The driver was was in the repair trade and offed to fix it to perfect standard . I advised cousin take the offer .If the guy offers to fix it and my cousin refuses the offer two times then the guy can walk away from the damage costs as your acting unreasonably as he only has obligation to repair the damage and not fork out €2000. If he didn't fix it correctly then it became a separate claim My cousin didn't want €2000 he wanted the car fixed so car was collected and fixed to full standards .I called to collect the car after few days when it was repaired and the workshop was high quality work shop.So my Cousin was a happy camper .

I had friend who was also in the spray paint trade .He was driving his medium sized Automatic diesel car on dame street region or the quay s i forget .He was at lights stopped behind a nice car 30k plus type .He looked down to something and his car creeped forward and hit the car in front doing less than 2mph .There was no signs of damage of any sort to either car .They swopped details in case .The next day the guy claimed there was some damage costing about ~€3000 euros to fix .My friend offered not just twice but three times that he would fix the damage just arrange the time for the repair to be done and the next day car would be fixed to full standards of the trade .The guy refused 3 times so then my friend was able to tell him to take hike .The insurance company was advised of the whole thing and the guy lost out .

The guy in fancy car probably thought this was his chance to get one of the months payment for the top end car paid for for nothing claiming for impossible stuff broken from fender bender .

If you rear end somebody or damage some car and its your fault your only obliged to return the car back to similar standard eg if it brand new top range thing it has to be well repaired.If the damage is some €200 euros they claim it €10000 you can contest it and get your own independent advise and direct that you appoint this garage of your choice to fix the damage . You are only obliged to fix the damage there is no requirement to pass money over .Its only after the garage you appoint to fix it does a bad job can the other car owner can then complain .Again it will be civil court judge that will look the issue .Many people would rather repair the car they hit and pay from their own pocket so as to keep the premiums for next year down .However many opportunists will get crazy quotes to try one on .If for example you hit a car that has value of €2000 and they claim it worth 10,000 and you happoen to know of similar year model with similar mileage of similar condition and you could buy it for €500 because your in the trade or some reason why you can get it cheap then you can offer this as solution .If they refuse 2 times and want for example the €10,000 then tough they lose out as they are proving to be unreasonable and on the make

While out on the town with My friend while reversing his company car he barly touched another parked cars door and removed at most one layer of paint if that probably only dust that was on surface. Not being clued up on the full story of the laws at the time but being mechanical I did know one tub of certain paint rubbing repair stuff would with a bit of elbow grease repair the barely noticeable claimed for scratch .The guy arrived on the scene from his house across the road . A few days later he got a quote for €1500 to repair and the car wasn't worth €1500 if you asked me .The company my friend worked for didn't want to know my friend was on six moi nth contract and the work was finishing so the company passed it to insurance and they i presume paid up .

I was in private shop parking and a guy reversing didnt spot my rear end and he reversed into car bending the right back wing slightly and cracking the back lens. The car was old 12 years so the wing damage was just another ding but the cracked back light wa problem as the car was going to the NCT in a few days. he agreed to give me 20 spot to get another lens second hand so I took it .In private car parks like shops there is no such legal thing thing as somebody fault with insurance claims .If like my friend your T boned in a Dunnes store car park and the car is written off the insurance companies will go for equal fault as that isn't the public roads >That way both parties will suffer with higher premiums the insurance companies win so its not interesting for the Insurance companies to entertain the debate who fault it is so they wont. I fixed the lens with glue I bought for €10 and 20 minutes work and car past the NCT .A year later car was stolen and burnt out and insurance offered something like €200 even though it was perfect and worth in my opinion ~€2000 so told insurance to shove it where the sun don't shine and changed company and now i don't do comprehensive insurance and save the money for me

I have been rear ended several time but the tow hook .I get out inspect the damage to me and there was non say be more careful and drive off often thier cars are seriously wrecked as the tow hook eats cars front ends . One time while exiting small road junction a big Beamer whacked my small 1000cc car and sent me flying 10 feet plus into the junction . Lucky nothing coming .I got out expecting to see massive damage .Nothing a few minor scratches on the rear bumper and bent bar that held the bumper on .Quick bend back and it was straight again The car was old 12 years so just another few scrathes to add to the list so nothing to worry about no back lights broken no rear hatch back broken or bent door so just the normal smile your lucky day drive more carefully and i am gone .

I picked up my Bosses Beamer 3 series 2.5liter nice ttoy to drive .Crossing with filter light busy juncion 6 lane wide road noticed a car aerial moving at 50MPH plus on the very outside lane and he was going to catch the green light as the filter light time was very short stood on the brakes .The Car passed in front of me just getting the green light on time an there was inches to spare as i nearly T Boned him .However a realy large 4 wheel drive also catching the short filter light turn right rear ended me .He destroyed the boot region of the beamer and really destroyed the front of his thing .He tried to blame me . Insurance were not to long telling him it was his fault rear ending is always your fault .Basically it was the car tring to catch the green light on the empty inner left turn lane that triggered the crash but he was long gone having not turned left but gone straight through junction.Worse the boss wasn't happy his beamer was creased .

In the snow and ice a few year back near Dublin airport I slid a tad and rear ended another Guy small car with my small car doing maybe ~5mph .Nothing damaged a few scratches at most to his bumper He was polish I think used to fender benders in snow and ice in his region of the world happy enough he drove off.

When driving anything Sh1t happens

Derry

And all of that helps the OP how?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Your damages are exactly the same regardless surely?

Your neck won't be any more injured because the 3rd party is an arse and/or won't pay up quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Derry, you don't walk under ladders or break mirrors for a living do ya? :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭derry

mb1725 wrote: »
    Derry, you don't walk under ladders or break mirrors for a living do ya? :eek:

LOL no some years I get jobs with lots of driving 50k miles a year and other years just drive normal 15,000 miles and many years driving it all adds up
    I wont bore you with how i rolled my car or my several near head on my from drivers on my side of the road or the LOON i encounter in far way places like Greece ,Turkey Africa who drive trucks and don't stop at red lights .My biggest accidents were as pedestrian must be I didn't see the ladders
    Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Ive been involved in three relatively minor incidents (ie no injuries) of varying severity, and in each case the Gardai were called, arrived in good time, and were extremely helpful. In one of the cases their notes were vital in ensuring that the correct outcome was reached between insurers. A lot of people seem to have this notion that the Gardai will not arrive unless someone is injured, and to be honest its completely and utterly wrong to say that. I will always call them, no matter how minor the incident may seem. If they dont deem it worthy of their time then they will say so, but in a case of any insurance dispute the Gardas notes of the scene and the incident could prove the difference between a 50/50 and a claim being settled in favour of either party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

LOL no some years I get jobs with lots of driving 50k miles a year and other years just drive normal 15,000 miles and many years driving it all adds up
    I wont bore you with how i rolled my car or my several near head on my from drivers on my side of the road or the LOON i encounter in far way places like Greece ,Turkey Africa who drive trucks and don't stop at red lights .My biggest accidents were as pedestrian must be I didn't see the ladders
    Derry
    Ah! Derry you can't leave us hanging. How'd you roll your car?