Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Father charged over murders of Eoghan and Ruairi Chada

• 01-08-2013 9:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭

THE FATHER OF two boys whose bodies were found in a car near Westport in Co Mayo earlier this week has been charged in connection with their murders.
    Sanjeev Chada, 43, has appeared at a special sitting of Swinford District Court in Mayo tonight where he has been charged over the murders of Eoghan, 10, and Ruairi Chada, 5, RTÉ reports.

http://www.thejournal.ie/man-held-eoghan-ruairi-chada-1017748-Aug2013/?utm_source=facebook_short

Don't know about anyone else, but I find this just heartbreaking. Their poor mother has lost her babies and husband. It genuinely does bring tears to my eyes

I can imagine that there is some psychological issues with their father, and god knows there is enough of that all over the world, but it begs the question what would drive a father to kill his two sons? Did he truly believe they were better off dead? It's also alleged that he wanted to commit suicide.

I know that these stories are becoming more prevalent, but are their signs that people should look out for?

May Eoghann and Ruairi rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I can imagine that there is some psychological issues with their father, and god knows there is enough of that all over the world, but it begs the question what would drive a father to kill his two sons?

People with severe mental problems don't tend to think very logically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

People with severe mental problems don't tend to think very logically.

I know, still though it's beyond sad, that poor woman in Carlow, her heart must be shattered.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Did he leave his seatbelt on when he drove into the wall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Very sad indeed.

The guy has to have some severe mental disorders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

beertons wrote: »
    Did he leave his seatbelt on when he drove into the wall?

...no, the airbag saved him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

RachaelVO wrote: »
    http://www.thejournal.ie/man-held-eoghan-ruairi-chada-1017748-Aug2013/?utm_source=facebook_short

Don't know about anyone else, but I find this just heartbreaking. Their poor mother has lost her babies and husband. It genuinely does bring tears to my eyes

I can imagine that there is some psychological issues with their father, and god knows there is enough of that all over the world, but it begs the question what would drive a father to kill his two sons? Did he truly believe they were better off dead? It's also alleged that he wanted to commit suicide.

I know that these stories are becoming more prevalent, but are their signs that people should look out for?

May Eoghann and Ruairi rest in peace.

Read that according to 'sources' the relationship between mother and father was fine. So F'k knows. Most times you read of these kinds of stories, it's because one parents threatened the other parent with divorce and taking the kids. But that doesn't seem to be the case...according to the news.

It's all just speculation until the trial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Isn't there money missing from some project he was involved with ?

These children/parent murder/suicides have become far too common in recent years, if you have to go then go but leave the kids at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Joe10000 wrote: »

These children/parent murder/suicides have become far too common in recent years, if you have to go then go but leave the kids at home.

When people are that irrational death seems better than abandonment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Don't know about anyone else, but I find this just heartbreaking.
    Most people would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,779 ✭✭✭✭fits

It is just so unbelievably sad. Everyone in locality is heartbroken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

If i cant have them then noone can.
    If i cant raise them properly then noon can.
    If i cant ensure they are safe then noone can.

Either or, but if your head is ****ed then one of the above would drive some people to kill their kids.

Joe10000 wrote: »

Totally agree, I just don't get it, I'm sickened by what he did, and I'm so sad for their mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,779 ✭✭✭✭fits

dreamers75 wrote: »

Either or, but if your head is ****ed then one of the above would drive some people to kill their kids.

Or maybe "I dont want to mess up their lives when I kill myself so I will kill them too"

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

My heart goes out to the family.. 2 beautiful young boys have been robbed of their futures and a Mother has been robbed of her babies.

It's unthinkable.

I just hope to God it was quick whatever he did to them.. may they rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

dreamers75 wrote: »

Ok fair enough, but I don't get how he failed to kill himself. Apparently the boys were dead a few hrs before the crash.
    If he really wanted to he could have made sure to kill himself.

So he killed them and lost his nerve, or his sense of self preservation kicked in.

All I can think is how empty that poor mothers life is now.
    It is an unimaginable nightmare .

Totally agree, I just don't get it, I'm sickened by what he did, and I'm so sad for their mother.

It's sad whichever way you look at it. I'm not sure if discussing it and making assumptions is a great idea either tbh. It might affect any future investigation or trial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Lisha wrote: »
    Ok fair enough, but I don't get how he failed to kill himself. Apparently the boys were dead a few hrs before the crash.

So he killed them and lost his nerve, or his sense of self preservation kicked in.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=85800933&postcount=6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Lisha wrote: »

All I can think is how empty that poor mothers life is now.
    It is an imaginable nightmare .

I read they died before the crash of asphyxiation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I can't imagine the pain the Mother is going through.

God bless those two little boys, I can't bear to think of their last few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Some people end up in very dark places and they see no way out even if it's quite obvious to rational people that there are many solutions / resolutions to their problems & issues
    It's all very sad

Honestly couldn't give a fcuk about it. The only thing I have an issue with is how these idiotic parochial matters are considered worthy of the worlds attention.

Just Wow!.....:(

No words.......

Mods you can delete my post too...........don't like to even see that in print.......GSW..

Fair play to URL, this was not meant for this thread. See below.

Just Wow!.....:(

No words.......

I'm sorry about that.. the post was meant for and is now in another thread.

I had a few tabs opened and posted on the wrong one.

Sod it, we all make mistakes! :)

In the great scheme of things it's not that big a deal...

:D Ya dope!

Thanks for that post URL,

GSW.....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Triangular

It genuinely does bring tears to my eyes

This is a terrible tragedy, I know, but maybe you should stop bothering with the news if it has such an impact on your personal life.

It's just an understandable gut reaction. Not enough reason to stop bothering with the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

He's a 'suspected' child killer.

Triangular wrote: »
    This is a terrible tragedy, I know, but maybe you should stop bothering with the news if it has such an impact on your personal life.

Ah yeah, empathy, that rarely used emotion :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Just hope one of the kids didn't witness the other being killed. Dreadful to think of what happened. Better off trying to block it out.

How on earth can harming your children become part of a solution to any problem? Beyond belief.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

bohsboy wrote: »
    Just hope one of the kids didn't witness the other being killed. Dreadful to think of what happened. Better off trying to block it out.

How on earth can harming your children become part of a solution to any problem? Beyond belief.

This is one of the first things I thought of.

Imagine the horror of any child realising what was happening.

I truly hope that whatever else, neither child had to experience their brother being killed and wondering if they were next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

I was wondering if maybe the fact that the Gardai raised alertness so rapidly and nationally maybe made the killer act quicker with his actions?

Maybe if he felt panicked?

I was wondering if maybe the fact that the Gardai raised alertness so rapidly and nationally maybe made the killer act quicker with his actions?

Maybe if he felt panicked?

Kinda begs the question should it have been a personal appeal from their mother as apposed to an alert. Dunno if the outcome would have been different, but it might have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Triangular

Ah yeah, empathy, that rarely used emotion :rolleyes:

different strokes for different folks but i just cant understand how the death of a stranger(s) can make another stranger be tearful.

people die everyday in all sorts of crazy circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

This case is before the courts so it's not appropriate to discuss it here.