Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How bad is the Shimano Sora groupset

• 31-07-2013 6:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,181 ✭✭✭✭

I hear a lot of talk about staying away from low entry groupsets when getting a bike and get at least 105 etc etc. But I was wondering is Shimano Soraa as poor quality as people think. On my previous bikes I have had 105 minimum, but due to budget constraints I was considering getting a low level entry road bike for winter use and the odd day commute of a 50km round trip for around 700-800 euro. The only bikes available at this price have sora or Shimano 2300. I was planning to use the bike for not only commuting but fast training spins aswell. The intention was to upgrade the groupset and entry level wheels of the bike after about a years usage (next summer) to at least 105 and Mavic Krysiums or Elites. I suppose I am really looking for feedback on the groupset. I understand aswell that you cannot change gear on descents which is a negative. Also would anyone suggest a decnet bike at this price range (700-800) that would have the room for the upgrades mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I've been using a road bike for a couple of years with sora, not sure where the idea that you can't change gear on a descent came from, either someone told you wrongly, or I'm doing it wrong but I find it not a problem.

Anyway, I don't have any issues with it, it's easy to maintain and I've never slipped a gear of dropped a chain, yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

When set up and maintained properly both work perfectly, the main difference is sora is now 9 speed and doesn't have the thumb shift.I ride 2300 all winter and commute on it, it's as smooth as anything plus it's cheaper.
    billyhead wrote: »
    I understand aswell that you cannot change gear on descents which is a negative.

I don't see how the gradient of the road would effect on shifting, maybe you mean the thumb shift on the 2300, but it's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

I hear a lot of talk about staying away from low entry groupsets when getting a bike and get at least 105 etc etc. But I was wondering is Shimano Soraa as poor quality as people think. On my previous bikes I have had 105 minimum, but due to budget constraints I was considering getting a low level entry road bike for winter use and the odd day commute of a 50km round trip for around 700-800 euro. The only bikes available at this price have sora or Shimano 2300. I was planning to use the bike for not only commuting but fast training spins aswell. The intention was to upgrade the groupset and entry level wheels of the bike after about a years usage (next summer) to at least 105 and Mavic Krysiums or Elites. I suppose I am really looking for feedback on the groupset. I understand aswell that you cannot change gear on descents which is a negative. Also would anyone suggest a decnet bike at this price range (700-800) that would have the room for the upgrades mentioned.

Sora has improved quite a bit in the latest incarnation, with the thumb shifter being done away with, and proper dual control levers now. 2300 still has the thumb button though. I have old Sora (8 speed and thumb levers, so at least 2 generations old) on a Trek 1000 and am currently in a similar situation to what you expect to be in, considering upgrading it to Tiagra 4600 now (105 is not worth the premium for the bike that I'd be putting it on since I'd get 10 speed and dual control levers with 4600)
    ThisRegard wrote: »
    I've been using a road bike for a couple of years with 2300, not sure where the idea that you can't change gear on a descent came from, either someone told you wrongly, or I'm doing it wrong but I find it not problem.

Anyway, I don't have any issues with it, it's easy to maintain and I've never slipped a gear of dropped a chain, yet.

If you descend in the drops, with that thumb shifter changing gears using it is very difficult, if not near impossible, so I would imagine the OP is referring to being limited to change in only one direction while descending, rather than not changing at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

cython wrote: »
    If you descend in the drops, with that thumb shifter changing gears using it is very difficult, if not near impossible, so I would imagine the OP is referring to being limited to change in only one direction while descending, rather than not changing at all.

Yes, that makes more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

The thumb shifters were the main problem, people couldn't shift while they were in the drops, but they've done away with this.

I personally think the problem was that it came on a lot of cheaper bikes so they weren't well set up from the start and had problems with shifting and indexing before they left the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭n-dawg

To be honest its not too bad. Breaks are fine, pads can be replaced with cartridge ones. Leavers are functional. Rear derailleur is perfect. Front derailleur is probably the worst bit, just gets cruded very easily and shifting down stops working.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

It's not bad. It's just not very good.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Brian? wrote: »
    It's not bad. It's just not very good.

This.

Its reliable, durable, consistent and cheap to replace.

Only real downsides are its heavy (in comparison to 105 etc) and the shifting can be a bit clunky.

But for the price on a commuter its a perfectly good groupset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Yarb. Less gears and thumb shifting are the only real issues.

Doesn't that Ribble Audax bike with tiagra fit your budget?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

It quite good functionally but I hardly ever got checked out by girls when I had it on my old bike. So I'd probably go for something a bit more hi-spec if you plan on using it to pick up women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I understand aswell that you cannot change gear on descents which is a negative
    It depends on how technical the descent is. I had thumb shifters on a Trek a few years ago and on relatively straight descents simply lifted my hand position or stretched up when on the drops
    n-dawg wrote: »
    Front derailleur is probably the worst bit, just gets cruded very easily and shifting down stops working.
    Yes - particularly if it isn't used much. I used to avoid too much climbing and spent most of my time on the big ring but occasionally I'd arrive at Howth or Stocking Lane to discover the front derailleur wouldn't drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,578 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

i'm still using 7 speed sora on my commuting bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,181 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Thanks for all the responses guys. I was also wondering does anyone use their bike with Sora fitted for trainig spins with their club etc. Can the shifting be problematic when trying to keep up with faster cyclists and the likes. Also out of the below bikes with a sora groupset which would you recommend. I presume the only difference etween these and the dearer equivilant is a better groupset and wheels but the frame would be the same.

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idproduct=56914
    http://www.cycleways.com/store/product/64355/Specialized-Secteur/
    http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_789253_langId_-1_categoryId_212536

As siad I would upgrade the wheels and groupset in about a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭n-dawg

I have used mine for club spins for 2-3 years... no real problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭mistermatthew

Thanks for all the responses guys. I was also wondering does anyone use their bike with Sora fitted for trainig spins with their club etc. Can the shifting be problematic when trying to keep up with faster cyclists and the likes.

No it won't effect you keeping up with other cyclists lol. It's a good groupset, it shifts easily and you won't be getting stuck in gears or anything in case that is what you are afraid of. It is simply heavier and has 9 cogs instead of 10, that is pretty much the only difference.

The weight you won't notice and as for the missing cog it doesn't matter.

If its a training bike, get a nice comfortable bike and use the spare money from going sora buying good winter gear such as mud guards and waterproofs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Billyhead - that Specialised is a triple (if that matters to you?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

I've had ultegra for the last few years, I recently renovated an old steel frame bike and put Sora on it (thumb shifter type, 8 speed). Very impressed with Sora so far, solid shifting and braking is about the same as ultegra.

I'd be happy using Sora on a club spin, commutes and long sportives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭cr17

Its absolutley fine. Although i wouldnt mind upgrading myself I think the money involved is silly sometimes and have held off. Regular cleaning and maintenance and its as smooth as any of them up to a certain level.

Although.. will be aiming for higher spec on a new bike maybe next summer :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Unless your buyi g your bike thru the BTW scheme you'd be better off spending that money on a used bike which should get you Tiagra groupset and maybe even 105 if you stretched it a little?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭mcgratheoin

Thanks for all the responses guys. I was also wondering does anyone use their bike with Sora fitted for trainig spins with their club etc. Can the shifting be problematic when trying to keep up with faster cyclists and the likes.

Not at all - the reason I can't keep up with people is that I'm not as fit or as good as them.

Seriously though, my current bike (Lapierre) was bought in 2007 and I haven't changed the groupset (Sora 8-speed) since (new cassette is all) and it's still working fine. I haven't even been tempted to use it as an excuse for some of my miserable showings on Strava! Knocked out the 100K tour of Meath in 3:20 last weekend and passed a lot of very expensive bikes along the way...

It depends on how technical the descent is. I had thumb shifters on a Trek a few years ago and on relatively straight descents simply lifted my hand position or stretched up when on the drops

Yes - particularly if it isn't used much. I used to avoid too much climbing and spent most of my time on the big ring but occasionally I'd arrive at Howth or Stocking Lane to discover the front derailleur wouldn't drop.

I had a sora front mech break one at the bottom of a climb when I went to shift down. Had to do a lot of climbing in the big ring to get home. It was a bit of a bastard but at least I felt hard core.

A FD is cheap enough to replace and it had plenty of mileage on it. That's the only negative I have about the Sora group set.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭joxerjohn

From I can see the latest 2013 Sora is positioned as Shimano's top end 9 speed group set. The shifters have been upgraded and so therefore the slightly awkward thumb shifting is a thing of the past. Effectively Sora 2013 is more or less the same as the older Tiagra 4600 9s group as far as I can tell.

The big advantage for a commutter/ training bike is that components such as 9s chains and cassettes are both cheaper and more hard wearing, also the shifting on a 9 speed is easier to tune and doesn't require as much adjustment as with 10s systems. A disadvantage might be if you have another 10s bike you won't be able to mix and match wheels etc. I think it represents very good value for money.

As far as bike choice of the three there is little to choose but the boardman looks good and if you have an Aviva insurance policy (I think ?) you could get a further 10% discount at Halfords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

Yarb. Less gears and thumb shifting are the only real issues.

Doesn't that Ribble Audax bike with tiagra fit your budget?

http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/sed/road-track-bike/ribble-7005-audax-winter-training-shimano-equipped?part=SE13RIB7005WINTSHIM&sub=conf_SERW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Just a thought - if you are planning on upgrades next year, would the frame that comes with a €700 bike be good enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

I've been using Sora on my commuter/too wet to take my good bike out bike for the last few months and i'd say i've done over 2,000km on it so far and have to say i'm pleasantly surprised how good it is. Took a bit of fiddling to get the gears working just right and the gear changes wouldn't be as smooth and on my good bike but not bad enough to make me wanna change the groupset.

Been out on Sunday spins with the bike and dunno if the spins are any harder on it but could keep up no bother, only thing about the bike is u feel the extra weight and lack of response on climbs. But having said that when i get back on my good bike it then feels like a rocket.

As joxerjohn else said it's a cheap groupset which means it cheap to replace when/if it breaks. Ah only annoying thing i've found it the brake levers rattle going over rough surfaces but even got used to that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,181 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Just a thought - if you are planning on upgrades next year, would the frame that comes with a €700 bike be good enough?

Thats what I was wondering aswell. If I was to get a low spec bike now could I upgrade the compenents and wheels easily enough in say a years time i.e is th frame on the cheaper bike equivalent apart from colour to the dearer bike with a better groupset etc.

Is 2nd hand a no go?

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭gombeen99

I must dispell the myth that the old Sora thumb shifters are hard to reach & use , especially when descending. They're fine ...as long as you have 6 inch long thumbs. I made the mistake of not taking my Allez Sport for a test cycle before buying it 3 years ago so didn't cop the problem till too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭triggermortis

I have Sora on my commuting Cube and its grand. The front derailleur is starting to give me grief at the moment, but that is the only issue I've had in over 2 years. I put better brake pads on and that is the only change I've made.