Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How should this cost have been divided?

• 30-07-2013 9:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Bit of a money dispute here:

Recently me, my sister and her 2 young children went on holidays. We rented a 2 bed apartment which I put on my credit card. The arrangment was she would pay me her share at a later date.

So today, we tried to settle bill however we disagreed on how the cost of the apartment should be split. I wanted to divide the apartment 4 ways, expecting her to pay for her, and her two kids. I would pay for the final 25%.

Her stance in the matter was the cost of the apartment should be split two ways, as I had my own room for the duration and children always go free in accommodation anyways. She also says the children being present had no impact on the cost of the accimdation because the price we recieved was for the entire apartment, and not per person.

I think this is unfair because had it been just me and her, we would have either rented a hotel room or, a one-bed apartment at the very most. The whole reason we got the 2-bed was because her children were coming along, making the accommodation more expensive anyway. (leaving the children behind was not an option and I was more than happy for them to join us).

I know this shouldn't matter, and fair is fair, but I cant help but feel a bit stung because I'm just finishing college this year and I don't have a huge amount of money to my name. I have no problem paying my own way but in this case I feel I am sharing some of the cost of her children. Meanwhile, she runs a very successful business (which I know shouldn't be an issue but I just want to point out money definitely isn't an issue for her).

I just want to do whatever is fair...I feel the cost should have been split 4 ways but maybe I'm wrong. What do other people think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Diziet

This is the kind of thing that should be agreed at the beginning, not at the time of paying! You had one room, they had the other, go halves. Seems a bit unfair otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Chara1001

I would say halves OP, and agree this should have been decided way before paying.

You can't come back now and say you'd have chosen different accommodation if the children weren't there, and i think its
    presumptuous to assume 75% would be paid for automatically. Its too late.

All you can do is clarify this issue in future before you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

To be fair:
    Realistically you should have clarified this with her before booking anything. You did shoot yourself in the foot by not doing so.

I think you should just split it 50-50 and let bygones be bygones. After all you did have a room to yourself.
    Etr29 wrote: »
    I think this is unfair because had it been just me and her, we would have either rented a hotel room or, a one-bed apartment at the very most.

As you've said, had the kids not come you would have booked a one bed apart or a hotel and would have been sharing with her. So in a roundabout way you benefitted the most in terms of accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

It goes without saying this should have been agreed on beforehand!!! I suppose the reason it wasn't was because she is my sister,were very close and I would never have anticipated this being an issue (if I did, I would have discussed it in advance!)

One poster said I benefited from the situation because I had my own room. I don't agree with this just because this was never really an issue for me. It didn't grant me any amount of alone time or anything - the children were in and out all the time (which I did not mind in the slightest). I'd have had no problem sharing a room with her if we had to have done that.

So far, everyone thinks it should be 50-50 which is fair enough. Just interested to hear other perspectives I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

If I am being honest I would say 50/50 because you had your own room and she had hers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

She should pay the charge for the kids, if any. The rest should be split 50/50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

Big Steve wrote: »

As you've said, had the kids not come you would have booked a one bed apart or a hotel and would have been sharing with her. So in a roundabout way you benefitted the most in terms of accommodation.

But the cost would be much lower then, that's the point. I'd split it into three parts, OP, the sister and the kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Two bed apartment should clearly be split two ways even with kids. I'd actually be pretty shocked/pissed if someone had the neck to try and claim it should be split 4 ways between two children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Ham Sambo

Sorry bud, but I would have to agree with the majority of posters here, 50-50 split sounds very reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,904 ✭✭✭✭ted1

50/50 or s your a student and I presume she works maybe 60/40.

How old are the kids? This would have a bearing, where they in a cot some places charge a bit extra for providing a cot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭StillWaters

Another one agreeing with 50-50. If it was a 3 bed and the kids had their own room, then maybe she should pay 2/3. But the kids were bunked in with her, and she is right, kids are normally free in hotels.

I have been in the situation of both your sister and yourself, and it has always been split amongst adults only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭simonsays1

Completely agree with the above post!
    50/50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭SurferRosa

Have to agree with all the other posters, and say 50/50 seems the fairest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

No brainer, its a 50-50 split

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

50:50 without a doubt.

Paying 25% of the cost for 50% of the accommodation doesn't make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

50 50 on accommodation it is rented by the room. If it was a food bill is be inclined to say 75/25 alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

Like others I'd agree that you should have decided this before.

Normally I'd say that a 50-50 split would be correct.

Maybe try to negotiate with your sister though. You say you're a student - is she working/ better off than you? In that case maybe she'd agree to a 60-40 or 65-35 split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭CarMe

I think you should probably acknowledge the fact you were wrong to expect it any other way, I'd be embarrassed myself but just explain that you weren't familiar with how these things work.

Definitely 50:50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Charging rent for the two kids is just silly. You got your own room, just as you would have if the kids were never there. I would be p'd off if I was your sister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Actually I'd be inclined to say it shouldn't be 50-50. If kids are free in a hotel anyway, then why didn't she want to go to a hotel?

The OP has said it cost more because the kids were there. Why should the OP have to fund that? If it were me I'd look at what the cost would have been for a 1 bed apartment of a similar standard as close as possible to where you stayed. The extra cost is what the kids cost.

For example, a place I looked at in Gran Canaria for a week is EUR225 for a 1 bed apartment, and EUR323 for a 2 bed. In that case I would say that the cost of the 1 bed should be split equally. So the starting point is that the OP and her sister both pay at least 113 each. The additional cost of the 2nd bedroom is 98 euro. OP got some benefit from it, but her sister also got to bring her 2 kids with her. I would be inclined to say that the OP should pay an extra 35 or so in that example and the sister make up the rest.

The OP's sister wanted to bring her kids, why on earth would the sister presume that the OP should pay for her kids? It doesn't matter that kids go free in lots of resorts (they don't always...), they had to get bigger accommodation to bring them than they otherwise would have needed. Thus, the kids were NOT free on this holiday. I think it's reasonable to presume that if someone's bringing the kids along they won't land the cost of the kids on someone else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Lacking anything previously arranged, 50:50 is fairest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

If for some reason the kids had their own money and had to pay their own way do you really believe that they should each pay the same amount as you?

It might have been a nice touch if she offered to pay 60%. And I think it would have been a fairer split for you to suggest.

I can understand that you might feel 50% is slightly unfair here but 75%-25% is even more so. It's one of these things that should be arranged in advance, as you now know.

I'd write it off if I was you and forget about it. Don't let it affect your relationship, it's not worth that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

It should be halves, kids don't have any money of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Lux23 wrote: »
    It should be halves, kids don't have any money of their own.

And yet they rack up costs. Why stop at accommodation, why not include flights? The kids don't have their own money so the cost of flights for all 4 should be split 50/50. The cost of tickets for days out should be split 50/50.

Nonsense. The parent is responsible for the cost of the kids. That cost is not necessarily 75% the cost of the accommodation, but it's also not nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Lacking anything previously arranged, 50:50 is fairest.

This is important here. There are arguments on either side here but before booking was the time to discuss them. Now 50:50 is the fairest thing to do.

I assume your sister paid for her kids flights and the bulk of their food and activities on the holiday?

If so, 50:50 on the accomodation is fair. Don't fall out over it and learn a lesson for next time. Worst hing of all would be for your sister to get the (unfounded) idea that you'd have preferred her kids hadn't come along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The problem is OP you had your own room so your sister feels like you had 50% of the apartment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

had it been just me and her, we would have either rented a hotel room or, a one-bed apartment at the very most. The whole reason we got the 2-bed was because her children were coming along, making the accommodation more expensive anyway

Honestly, if I was your sister I would have no problem with paying the extra costs incurred by bringing my kids ... along the lines Miss No Stars outlined above.

However, you've gotten this whole affair off to a bad start by suggesting:
    I wanted to divide the apartment 4 ways, expecting her to pay for her, and her two kids. I would pay for the final 25%

You could outline Miss No Stars proposal to your sister, which seems fair to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I would say 50/50 as you each had a room. She was sharing a room with 2 kids so I don't think she should have to pay 2/3 or 3/4 of the cost of the apartment when 3 of them were in one room and the OP had his/her own room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

You used 50% of the available bedrooms. Your sister and her children used the other 50% of the available bedrooms. Therefore the cost should be split 50/50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

OP, I get the impression you are regarding your sisters two kids as two other full board individuals. Her kids are going to school and therefore are unwaged.
    I also say split the bill 50:50. End Of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

I'd agree with those who said 50/50 is not fair. The OP said that if it were just her and her sister on hols, they would've shared a room. The sister decided to bring her kids so then they had to get a 2 bed apartment. 75/25 is probably not fair either - I think 60/40 or 65/35 would be more appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Blinder

tinkerbell wrote: »
    The OP said that if it were just her and her sister on hols, they would've shared a room. The sister decided to bring her kids so then they had to get a 2 bed apartment.

But if the OP wasn't on hols then the sister could have gotten a 1 room for herself and the kids. Because the OP was there, she had to get a 2 bed apartment.

OP, guess you'll know in future to sort out division of costs before hand, but at this stage, 50/50 seems fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Blinder wrote: »
    But if the OP wasn't on hols then the sister could have gotten a 1 room for herself and the kids. Because the OP was there, she had to get a 2 bed apartment.

OP, guess you'll know in future to sort out division of costs before hand, but at this stage, 50/50 seems fair

Using the same argument, if the oP had not gone, the sister would have had to rent a one bedroom place all by herself which would have cost her more than half of a 2 bed ...

If a 2 bed is 1000 say, a 1 bed is not gonna be 500 - it'd probably be around 750 or so. The sister is saving by the OP going 50/50 with her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭noah45

50/50 and I admire you OP you are getting replies that go against what you thought and you are not giving out about that, so many more would, You asked for opinions and are taking them, fair play to you.

You live and learn, sure we all make mistakes. It is good to get other's perspectives on things.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,917 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

I think as a gesture your sister should at least offer 60/40. Yes children are unwaged etc, but that's why they have parents to pay for stuff! She has effectively brought her 2 children on holiday and is looking for her student sister to subsidise it.

I know she shared a room with 2 kids... But they're HER kids!

Offer a 60/40 split.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭emuhead

I think 60/40 and I feel for you paying for it all upfront on your credit card, while still a student!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

emuhead wrote: »
    I think 60/40 and I feel for you paying for it all upfront on your credit card, while still a student!

Well -somebody had to put it on their credit card & only two of them had one!!!

I suppose it's a lesson learned -discuss costs & finances in advance so that you both know the expectations.

I personally would hope that the sister with kids would pay more but 75;25 is unreasonable ; 60;40 or 65;40 would really IMO be fairest - but the 10 or 15% is really not worth loosing a sister over or damaging a friendship over. She's probably fuming at you trying to exploit her to get a cheap holiday for yourself subsidised by her!

I'd go back , say you'd discussed if & got a few perspectives & see if from a different point of view, & re-negotiate.
    Next year, it's her turn to put it in her card, and sort the costs & charges out in advance. : (

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

I would agree with the poster who said your sister should pay the difference between the cost of a one bed and a two bed apt. So lets say a one bed was €500 and a two bed was €600, you should each pay half of the one bed cost and your sister the extra €100, so €250/350.

However, I think you totally went the wrong way about things by expecting your sister to stump up 75%! That's just crazy. That means you would have been getting off very lightly with your contribution and you've probably put your sisters back up.

Since this wasn't sorted out before you went, I would think a 50/50 split is probably the way to go now and just treat it as an expensive lesson learned i.e. sort out costs BEFORE you book!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

ncmc wrote: »
    I would agree with the poster who said your sister should pay the difference between the cost of a one bed and a two bed apt. So lets say a one bed was €500 and a two bed was €600, you should each pay half of the one bed cost and your sister the extra €100, so €250/350.

However, I think you totally went the wrong way about things by expecting your sister to stump up 75%! That's just crazy. That means you would have been getting off very lightly with your contribution and you've probably put your sisters back up.

Since this wasn't sorted out before you went, I would think a 50/50 split is probably the way to go now and just treat it as an expensive lesson learned i.e. sort out costs BEFORE you book!
    That's rediculous. Sure if the the sister didn't go at all, then the OP would have paid for a single apartment AND a singles supplement.
    All the mental gymnastics (and arithmetic) people are doing over this are mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

For the op and anyone saying "oh but if the kids weren't there the op could of got a 1 bedroom apartment",

surely the op knew the kids were coming and actually said she didn't mind and was very happy to have the kids there. So surely op you also knew that 2 rooms would be rented for the trip. It's not like your sister just landed at the airport with the kids, is it?

And if you were going to be splitting the bill 50/50 if it was just the two of ye, and you then found out the kids were coming and would stay for free but ye would be getting an extra room, then you obviously would have known that an extra room would up the price a little. If you weren't happy about still going 50/50 on the extra room you should have said so at the time instead of presuming your sis would suddenly turn around and offer to pay 75% of the accommodation fees.

You say you were happy for your sister's kids to be there but it sounds a bit like you would have preferred they weren't cos you could of gotten cheaper 1 bedroom accommodation 50/50 if they hadn't come.

Also are you sure your sister would have shared a bed with you even if ye were on your own? Maybe she would have always wanted her own room for her holidays? If that was the case would you have had any issue with paying 50/50 or would you just have have refused to bother going on holidays with her?

Normally I would be all in agreement with parents paying for their own kids etc., but this situation just seems to be a bit petty to me.
    You needed a 2 bed because of the kids. The 2 bed was going to a bit more expensive. If you weren't happy with going 50/50 you should have just said so. You didn't say anything, but quite happily used your own bedroom for the trip but then complained afterwards about having to pay for it.

Just be more careful and clear in future when making plans about payment of any kind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Lorna123

I feel that as your sister is not short of money and brought along her 2 kids that she should pay a bit more than you paid, considering you are a student. I would not think that the bill should be split 4 ways though. I think maybe you should pay 1/3 and she should pay 2/3. I would agree that you should have sorted this out in advance though. You learned a valuable lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭tatli_lokma

Count the kids as two half price guests. You and your sister are two full price guests. This gives you 3 full price guests, and split the cost 66%/33%. If there were any additional cleaning or booking charges the two adults should split these equally. Any credit card charges or interest should be split 50/50 between the adults also.

Expecting to have your sister pay 75% is a bit much. You are treating two kids as two full priced adults, even though they shared a room with your sister. At best they should only be a half price guest

Suggest this to your sister and if she still balks at the 66/33 split then just suck it up and go 50/50 and learn your lesson for next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

I think you are over complicating this. split it half and half, and move on. These kind of things can fester and cause problems way out of proportion to the few hundred euro involved. Personally, if the sister tried this on me , (75/25% split) she would be holidaying on her own the next time. I am male so the scenario of sharing a bed in a single apartment with either the brother or sister wouldn't be on. Id stay at home before id do that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

You seem to be negotiating with yourself at the moment..i.e. "I think it should be 51\49 or 63.5/36.5 because of xyz" or whatever, the fact is the sister had understood it to be 50/50 in good faith. trying to put a figure on it now is after the fact.

Also saying you are a student is irrelevant...this makes out look like you are trying to negotiate a better rate when in fact it it's too late for negotiations.

Your sister owns a business also means nothing. Its moot. She could easily say...well my sister is a student with no costs or commitments on her summer holidays so she should pay more!

She could turn around and argue that you should pay more