Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mothers Firends Child Attacked me

• 30-07-2013 12:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys i deeply shocked and upset over what just happened

My sisters child is down for the week to stay and my mothers friend child is the same age as him 9 years old.

So i went out to the yard to see if they where ok and i picked up my sisters child to give him a hug and told him to enjoy the film there going to see

I put him down and my mothers friend child attacked me by pulling and griping me and boxing me i have marks on my arms from him

I told him to stop angrily and gave out to him for it as i told him that was a very bold and not nice to thing to do as you dont go around attacking people and its wrong to do it. I dont think there was anything wrong for telling the child off as he hurt my arm

He went running into his mother and told her that he never touched me and that i gave out to him for no reason. Cue her running out to yard and started to shut at me and calling me a lair. My sisters child told her that he did hit me.

Then she told me i have no right to tell her child to stop and give out to him for being bold. I just told her he had no right to attack me and you have no right to call me a lair. I told her i told him off as it he has to be told when things are wrong. She ended up starting to insult me and i told her your child is a lair. My mother had to pull her away from me as she was going to attack me as well

I am deeply upset and shocked over everything as i dont think i did anything wrong to tell her child it was wrong to hit people.

What am i post to do about this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

A lot of people get really annoyed if you yell or try and discipline there children. I myself would be very careful how I act around other peoples children. You should in future go directly to the parent and explained what happened because if you yell at them or try and pull the kid off you. They could start making accusations about you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

My mother had to pull her away from me as she was going to attack me as well

Jaysus, the apples really don't fall far from the tree, do they? You can see why he's like that, right?

What did your mother say/do?

I would avoid these people like the plague if at all possible, there's really no reasoning with this kind. I absolutely understand that people don't like other people reprimanding their children, but this is nuts!

Oh, and keep an eye out for your nephew, wouldn't want him to be on the receiving end of that either!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Candy_Girl

You didn't do anything wrong at all, of course you were in your rights to tell the child to stop and that his behavior was bold.The reaction of the Mother says it all really, what happened to listening to both sides of the story!!! any way I'd say her child doesn't lick it from a stone!!

Best advice I can give is to just keep away from them, it will save you any further issues, there's no reasoning with people like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Bigdeadlydave

What does your mum make of all this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

My mother just pulled her inside and said noting about it as they have been with each other for the day. But my mother will more then likely take her side

But like the child attacked me and he is not a small 9 year old and it hurt getting graped and boxed of him and that's why i gave out to him. He only was smiling at me when i gave out to him

Like my mothers friends child has lied before about my nephew hitting him i seen it 1st hand when he told my nephew i going to tell your grandmother you hit me if you don't let me play your DS.

He did do that and i told my mother like my nephew done noting and she believed me as we know that the child has done this countless more times

I am still very shocked over it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Ham Sambo

Stay well away from this lunatic and her son, in fact keep them well away from your front gate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Koptain Liverpool

A lot of people get really annoyed if you yell or try and discipline there children. I myself would be very careful how I act around other peoples children. You should in future go directly to the parent and explained what happened because if you yell at them or try and pull the kid off you. They could start making accusations about you.

I don't agree. If this happened to me I'd also tell the child off and physically restrain them if necessary.

I remember one time I told a child on outside a shopping center to pick up some litter he had flung on the ground. Cue his mother giving me abuse. I took none of it and told her she should teach her child better manners.

If I was you OP I'd tell your sister to get bent unless she's prepared to apologize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

Like mother like son. They sound like a pair of headcases to me. I actually feel sorry for the child even though he did attack you. He didn't pick that behaviour up off the ground.

For your own sake have nothing more to do with either of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭thefeatheredcat

You were absolutely in your rights to tell him off. I would have done the same and probably have had the same argument with the mother. And I would suspect this is not an isolated incident. The mother doesn't want to know. She only wants to see what she wants to see and believe. She had 2 people, 1 adult and 1 child who knows what happened and chooses not to believe either one of ye. It's one thing to come to the defence of your child when they are accused of something, but to blatantly not believe 2 witnesses there at the time and not consider the possibility you might be telling the truth is denial. Her reaction was extreme to the point of attacking you.

The only time she might believe her child is a thug is when she witnesses the boy hitting someone else herself. But I wouldn't be surprised if she stays in denial about that too.

For yourself I'd give this woman a wide berth. If it's your home, don't have her there. If it's your mother's home, there's little you can do if she is invited there by your mother. Your mother is in a difficult position where she didn't witness it, and probably would be hesitant to chose sides BUT I would say if she were the one to witness her grandchild being hit or you by this child, it would make a difference and probably cause a similar confrontation and a falling out.

The only thing you can do is keep an eye on your nephew as suggested and make sure that he doesn't feel like he was in the wrong for telling the truth. I would also have a talk about bullying and make sure he isn't suffering as a result of this child's behaviour. And I would make your sister aware of that child's behaviour towards your nephew so she has an understanding of it. I personally wouldn't let that child play with the nephew again if he is going to be bullied by him in any way.

As for yourself.... I think you were absolutely right to do what you did. So don't think yourself at fault here. As I said I would have done the same. You didn't do anything to deserve being attacked by the child or by the parent. They are both at fault here, the mother completely is failing her child as a parent. You did absolutely nothing wrong. I think really unless there is a serious injury caused, it's just a matter of realising some parents are like that and some will be that way as a result but I wouldn't tolerate them one bit in being part of my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭hare05

You're fully in the right.

I'd say let it go for now, but if this becomes a regular thing, you can always contact child services and see if one of their social workers or a garda will pop over and have a word with the mother. Might make her realise that her own behavior is out of hand.