Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GEB , BEKELE and FARAH GREAT NORTH RUN!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Ummm lets see- two are washed up and old and one has the best modern "science" available to him. Think I'll go with Mo and his thyroid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭overpronator

Is Bekele going to step up to the full marathon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

drquirky wrote: »
    Ummm lets see- two are washed up and old and one has the best modern "science" available to him. Think I'll go with Mo and his thyroid.

love it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

On a previous thread you indicated that Mo Farah does not have the endurance to win a fast paced championship 5k. Yet here you think he will win a half against Bekele. What changed?

Seems that your just trolling here these days

Think I said Bekele is washed up? Well done stalking my posts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭grasscutter

I reckon it wont be Mo based on his current times for the 1/2 (> 1 hour ). The GNR is normally won in sub 1 hour so unless he has improved... Either way it is setup for a cracking race!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Yeah was watching Mo running in the 3k at the weekend and I was very concerned for his well being. Exerting himself like that in his condition.....poor lad, that underactive thyroid thing must be terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

I reckon it wont be Mo based on his current times for the 1/2 (> 1 hour ). The GNR is normally won in sub 1 hour so unless he has improved... Either way it is setup for a cracking race!!!

But we are talking about just these 3 runners? Mo will take those 2 easily i would think, only 23 secs from a sub 60, well within him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

Was Mo ever diagnosed with Hypothyroidism? I heard a few of Salazar's lads had it but hadn't heard about Mo suffering with the same condition.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

tunguska wrote: »
    ... that underactive thyroid thing must be terrible.

It is. :(

Think I said Bekele is washed up? Well done stalking my posts...

STALKING YOUR POSTS?

You do realize you made the mistake of telling Woodchopper that Mo Farah wouldnt win anything or be near the pack if the Kenyans set a fast pace in the 5k which I stated was utter nonsense. I would hardly call replying to outlandish and ill informed posts as stalking someone now.

Id also be worried about the behaviour of members of a certain Dublin club on this forum in their attitude towards hyperthyroidism which can be a dehabilitating illness for an endurance athlete.

Id also be worried about the behaviour of members of a certain North Dublin club on this forum in their attitude towards hyperthyroidism which can be a dehabilitating illness for an endurance athlete. We in the great South should know

ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh what are you on about? South Dublin maybe? Typical bogger not knowing one end of Dublin from the other!
    Id also be worried about the behaviour of members of a certain North Dublin club on this forum in their attitude towards hyperthyroidism which can be a dehabilitating illness for an endurance athlete. We in the great South should know

elaborate!

Sorry my Geography lecturer in NUIM wasnt the best!

I doubt it. More likely you had your head up your bum and weren't listening!

• Site Banned Posts: 52 ✭✭mikeoneill893

Explain to a simple man like myself

ya we all know you simple woodchopper

you already told us before

Explain to a simple man like myself how this relates to Mo Farah racing Geb and Bekele in the Great North Run?

Best to stay on topic I reckon

Well let's assume you wish to go and see this race. You have already shown us your lack of geographical skills! Therefore if you wish to go and see Mo Farah racing Geb and Bekele in the Great North Run, send me a PM and I'll send you directions and logistical information. I'll even write them in crayon and scan them as a jpeg so you can read them if you think it would help a simple man like yourself. Just let me know your favourite colours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Big Logger

TRR wrote: »
    ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh what are you on about? South Dublin maybe? Typical bogger not knowing one end of Dublin from the other!

elaborate!

haha, TRR, you sound like someone who'd be battering people at running stadiums if you weren't into the running yourself. We'll have to nick name you...Francis "Franco" Begbie...FFB for short :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Kinda back on topic (I know, typical bogger).

Recent results suggest Bekele is unlikely to medal in 5000 or 10,000 in the worlds. If the Ethiopians selection policy for the 10000 metres is based on time, then he wont make the team as it stands.

Even if he can somehow hang on to Farah deep into the GNR he has no way to win the race. Same for Geb.

This "contest" is a marketing ploy for company owner and BBC pundit Brendan Foster for the BBC covered race. The two Ethiopians will be well paid for turning up and talking it up but the local hero will win for the home crowd and everyone will be happy......especially Foster.

Not exactly as fixed as a cycling criterium but the result is as fixed as it can be. Farah to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

STALKING YOUR POSTS?

You do realize you made the mistake of telling Woodchopper that Mo Farah wouldnt win anything or be near the pack if the Kenyans set a fast pace in the 5k which I stated was utter nonsense. I would hardly call replying to outlandish and ill informed posts as stalking someone now.

Id also be worried about the behaviour of members of a certain Dublin club on this forum in their attitude towards hyperthyroidism which can be a dehabilitating illness for an endurance athlete.

Jesus Woddie you're fierce agro these days, you and Jerry Kiernan should hook up and start a blog or something.

Canova's take

"Given that the race takes place about a month after the World Championships, I think it will be hard for Mo against Bekele who, not competing in Moscow, is already in full training for his transfer to the marathon. From this duel forget Haile, which in my opinion was the greatest of all time, but now competes for fun and more..than to get top results."
    "... If the race was in a period far from the Worlds, I would not hesitate to bet on Farah. But, after the World Champs, however they go, his training will not be finalized. Whether he will win both competitions as in London, whether he will win one only, whether he will lose (and it would be a big surprise), the next 15 days will be devoted to the media, and the concentration will go to hell. Therefore, great reduction of the workout, and emptying nervous energy. So, for today, I would say Bekele - Farah - Haile in this order. But there's still so much time ..."

• Site Banned Posts: 52 ✭✭mikeoneill893

michele ferrari on mo farah:
    http://53x12.com/do/show?page=indepth.view&id=139

A few days ago, in Monte Carlo, another Englishman, Mo Farah, a specialist of the 5000 and 10000 meters, managed to improve the European record of 1500m, which was holding on for 16 years (Cacho, 1997): 3'28 "81, improving by more than 5 seconds his personal best.

Just like Froome, Farah, as well as for the outstanding performances, impresses for the ghastly, unhealthy thinness.
    Achieved how...? Only with a particularly strict diet?
    This is the question those who care about the physical and mental health of the athletes should try to answer to.

TRR wrote: »

elaborate!

Perhaps you should read up on Woodchoppers. You might learn something about them.