Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle not showing up tax office system

• 30-07-2013 1:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭

Re-taxing vs. non-use declaration??

Hi all

I'm sure I read something similar to my query somewhere on here in the past so apologies for a repost.

With this new non-use declaration being brought in I decided to try and declare a restoration project that is currently stripped in about 1000 pieces in a shed to avoid the arrears in the future.

Anyway the car has been in my family since the early 80s and has not been on the road since 90/91. At which time it was left in a field and then later a shed to stop it getting any worse.

I went into the tax office last week and asked could I declare the car off the road under this new system, the lady behind the counter said that it was not on their computer system,and told us we'd have to send the old log book away, then get the guards to sign such and such a form for this to be done. I wouldn't be eager to send the book away in case it gets lost.

Is this correct? as I seem to remember it being mentioned that the lack of an appearnce on computer systems refer to a new tax system being introduced in 1993(ish)? And that such a problem could be solved by ringing Shannon?

I am wondering could I just tax the car for the next year or 2 even though the project sill won't be complete by then, to avoid the hassle they seem to be making about trying to make this declaration of non-use?
    If anything paying the road tax might spur me on to try and get the project finished faster.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated from someone who has declared a vehicle for non-use, or retaxed a car after over 20 years. Do arrears apply to this already as my father cannot remmeber for certain if he declared the car off the road all those years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭trevorbrady

if they can't find it on the computer to sign it off road, they'll have the same problem if you try to pay the tax on it. I was through this with a car that had been off the road since the late '80s: there are old ledger books (made of real paper!) in Shannon where they have to send a flesh and blood person to scan through it to find the original details of your vehicle. Then they'll input that into the computer and carry on from there at your local tax office as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Iv had a few lads asking me with sad faces what are they going to do with all their old taxbooks now. I know of one clown that's putting all the old books in his name and on RF150 forms so he can possibly use them in the future.

Would be hilarious if some revenue guy wanted to see the cars...

My thinking is, if its not in your name, leave it alone. If you want to use it, put it in your name when you want to tax it and there will be no issue.
    If it is in your name and you don't bother doing anything before September, when you want to use it, get someone else to register it in their name, they tax it, and a month later you 'buy it back', thus avoiding the off the road tax you might owe in between.
    Or am I missing something there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

thats the situation now, but what if they close off that loophole ? I think that's bound to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭shineon23

if they can't find it on the computer to sign it off road, they'll have the same problem if you try to pay the tax on it. I was through this with a car that had been off the road since the late '80s: there are old ledger books (made of real paper!) in Shannon where they have to send a flesh and blood person to scan through it to find the original details of your vehicle. Then they'll input that into the computer and carry on from there at your local tax office as normal.

Thanks for the inforamtion.

So will I have to provide the book to them to do this do you think? or just give them the reg and vehicle particulars.

Or could I just ring them and ask the question could they check their records?

The car is in my father's name since 1982/3 and we intend on leaving it like that for the time being.

Would changing the owners twice on it, not make the 'new owner' liable for the arrears, and if it is then sold would the arrears not follow on to another owner with this new system, passing the blame somewhat?

with the current system, the arrears are written off when the ownership is changed. Got only knows if they'll keep that system though.

you're in the lucky position of having the log book. I wasn't with the car I wanted to sort out. I had to bring the vehicle to a main dealer who stamped the form to confirm the car was what it was and fill in the VIN on another form. Then I had to go to a Commissioner for Oaths to stamped the form to confirm I am who I claim to be and sent the lot off to Shannon to have someone manually check the ledgers to confirm all the details provided. I then got a new old-style brown log book for the car in my name.

Since you have the original log book, send it off to Shannon as per the local tax office's instructions and they'll update it on the computer system. You should get your old book back. I don't think they'll need to keep it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

trevor if I fill in an rf 200 and include the brown tax book will they send the brown tax book to the new owner ?

with the current system, the arrears are written off when the ownership is changed. Got only knows if they'll keep that system though.

you're in the lucky position of having the log book. I wasn't with the car I wanted to sort out. I had to bring the vehicle to a main dealer who stamped the form to confirm the car was what it was and fill in the VIN on another form. Then I had to go to a Commissioner for Oaths to stamped the form to confirm I am who I claim to be and sent the lot off to Shannon to have someone manually check the ledgers to confirm all the details provided. I then got a new old-style brown log book for the car in my name.

Since you have the original log book, send it off to Shannon as per the local tax office's instructions and they'll update it on the computer system. You should get your old book back. I don't think they'll need to keep it.

Ah I see whatever way I took it up is that that in this 3 month grace period the future arrears system would be in effect. I will see how I get on with this so.

Thanks everyone for the advice.

kasper wrote: »
    trevor if I fill in an rf 200 and include the brown tax book will they send the brown tax book to the new owner ?

that's what happens alright. I bought my '82 Golf from a scrap yard last year and despite me asking, they simply would not give me the brown log book. They insisted (and rightly so) that they send it off to the tax office. I got it 2 days later with my details filled in. :)

thanks a million great to know that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

I have a 1962 Berini autocycle which hasnt been taxed since c.1975 (in my fathers name). I didnt realise I would need to send it to Shannon to 'get it on the system'?? I'd be a bit wary of sending it there in case it gets lost.

Does anybody know if they will accept a photocopy of the log book instead?

(And then I could call to the tax and declare it off the road).

I am getting a few cars transferred over to me this week , the one I asked about is from a private seller one of the others is from a small time dealer and the reg number is not on the system (1986 car last taxed in 1989 ) Dublin reg meeting him in tax office Thursday morning at 10 o clock Mullingar to get it back on the system and transfer it over to my name
    I would think if you have the tax book and a rf200 filled out they should be able to transfer when you wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

I went in Friday to the Kilkenny coco office to test the water, brown tax book last taxed in May 1976, not in my name.
    I handed over the tax book, all 3 forms, rf100, rf150, rf200, garda stamp.
    I left it all with her behind the counter.
    I got the tax book and the receipt as its called this morning in the post, it came back from the tax office in Kilkenny and not Shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭The Big Red Fella

hi5 wrote: »
    I went in Friday to the Kilkenny coco office to test the water, brown tax book last taxed in May 1976, not in my name.
    I got the tax book and the receipt as its called this morning in the post, it came back from the tax office in Kilkenny and not Shannon.

Hi5 did you get the original taxbook back or a new one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

hi5 wrote: »

Good result!
    Though, technically speaking, you didnt need the RF100 form if you were transferring it into your name this month, and not taxing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Hi5 did you get the original taxbook back or a new one?
    Yep, I got the same tax book back.
    Silvera wrote: »
    Good result!
    Though, technically speaking, you didnt need the RF100 form if you were transferring it into your name this month, and not taxing it.

I didn't realise that, so I didn't need the garda stamp either:mad:. Makes sense of course with transfer of ownership.

Did This last week, log book handed back to me in tax office in my name now, got all sorted and declared off for 12 months.

THEN; this morning a new style tax book was sent out to me, very odd. Don't see it being a big issue as I don't ever plan on selling it.

I did teh same thing with a ferguson 20 tractor yesterday, do ye think the same thing might happen a second new tax book next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,749 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Taxed my brown-booked yoke for the first time since 1994.....and brown tax book came back in the post no problem. (Galway Co Co )

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road”